Jane Elson - Hachette Children's Group

Jane Elson



After performing as an actress and comedy improviser for many years, Jane fell into writing stories and plays. A Room Full of Chocolate was her first book for children and won Peters' Book of the Year and the Leeds Book Award as well as being longlisted for the Branford Boase and nominated for the Carnegie Medal. When she is not writing Jane spends her time running creative writing and comedy improvisation workshops for children with special educational needs. She is also a guest practitioner at Soho Theatre's Writer's Lab. Selected as a New Voice in the Guardian's guide to The Best New Children's Books 2014, Jane is described as 'A new author to watch.'
Books currently available by this author

Date published: New > Old

Hodder Children's Books

Will You Catch Me?

Jane Elson
Authors:
Jane Elson

From the author of A Room Full of Chocolate comes a heartwarming story about identity and courage, and a tremendous young girl who cares for her alcoholic mother. For fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Sarah Lean.Nell Hobson lives with a tortoise called Bob Marley, guinea pigs Asbo and Chaos, goldfish Beyoncé and Destiny, gerbils Fizz and Tyrone, Aunty Lou the Hamster ... and her mum, who drinks too much. Nell does everything she can to be a good daughter so that her mum will stop. But when things get really hard, Nell stands on her head. Everything looks better upside down, don't you know?Nell wishes she knew her dad was. When new teacher Mr Samuels makes history come alive and tells the class the story of Nell Gwynn, the Orange Girl who became one of the first actresses on the London stage, Nell is captivated and is determined to dress up as an Orange Girl for the Costume Parade. She hatches a plan with her best friend Michael: a way to make her dad step forward and claim her. Will she succeed?A charming middle grade story with a strong, positive message that celebrates community and friendship.

Hodder Children's Books

Swimming to the Moon

Jane Elson
Authors:
Jane Elson
Hodder Children's Books

How to Fly with Broken Wings

Jane Elson
Authors:
Jane Elson
Hodder Children's Books

A Room Full of Chocolate

Jane Elson
Authors:
Jane Elson

***Winner of Peters Book of the Year 2015 and the Leeds Book Award.***Grace's fun-loving Mum has found a lump. Her north London world of sleepovers, tap dancing and playing the clarinet fall apart when she is sent to live with her grumpy old granddad on his farm in Yorkshire while her mother goes into hospital to get better. Grace misses her mother so much it hurts, and doesn't quite understand what is happening to her. And things go from bad to worse when she starts school and becomes the bullies' latest target.But Grace is no longer alone when she meets Rainbow Girl Megan and her pig, Claude - when she's with them she feels as if she can confront anything. At Easter time when Grace misses her mum the most, she knows she must find a way to get to London. With Megan's help, she hatches a plan to run away that involves Claude, chocolate Easter eggs and a risky ID swap. But it's all worth it if it means that she finally gets to see her mum ... A gorgeous story of courage and friendship that will tug at your heart strings.'A touching, beautifully imagined debut about a young girl coping with her mother's cancer and her grandfather's stubbornness. It's atmosphere reminds me of the central relationship in Goodnight Mr Tom.' Amanda Craig'At times, desperately moving, and others riotously fun, this is a special book that is destined to charm readers old and young.' We Love This Book'This is a lovely tale of friendship, tenacity and family secrets.' The Bookseller