Related to: '7-9 Years'

Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Dog of Destiny

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Hodder Children's Books

Will You Catch Me?

Jane Elson
Authors:
Jane Elson
Orion Children's Books

Escape

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

Don't stop running . . . the second edge-of-your-seat thriller with bite from international bestselling author Linwood Barclay for ages 9+.12-year-old Jeff and genetically-engineered spy dog Chipper are on the run from the mysterious and sinister government organisation knows only as The Institute. Due to a combination of bravery, luck and some of Chipper's more useful modifications, they've managed to evade their pursuers so far. But The Institute is closing in and is Chipper and Jeff will have to be stay one step ahead if they want to stay alive..Danger, secrets and thrilling suspense collide in Linwood Barclay's action-packed series for children.

Orion Children's Books

Running on the Roof of the World

Jess Butterworth
Authors:
Jess Butterworth

Join 12-year-old Tash and her best friend Sam in a story of adventure, survival and hope, set in the vivid Himalayan landscape of Tibet and India. Filled with friendship, love and courage, this young girl's thrilling journey to save her parents is an ideal read for children aged 9-12. There are two words that are banned in Tibet. Two words that can get you locked in prison without a second thought. I watch the soldiers tramping away and call the words after them. 'Dalai Lama.' Tash has to follow many rules to survive in Tibet, a country occupied by Chinese soldiers. But when a man sets himself on fire in protest and soldiers seize Tash's parents, she and her best friend Sam must break the rules. They are determined to escape Tibet - and seek the help of the Dalai Lama himself in India. And so, with a backpack of Tash's father's mysterious papers and two trusty yaks by their side, their extraordinary journey across the mountains begins.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Prisoner of the Black Hawk

A. L. Tait
Authors:
A. L. Tait

Tomas laughed. 'You think that's terrifying? Wait till you meet the pescarn . . . they will eat the flesh off your bones in minutes.'In the second book in this thrilling series, Mapmaker Quinn is far from home in an exotic land filled with dangerous creatures and ruthless enemies. When he is betrayed by someone close to him and comes face-to-face with blood-thirsty pirates, he has to decide once and for all who is a friend and who is a foe . . . Is this the end of the race for Quinn - or just the beginning of another incredible adventure in THE MAPMAKER CHRONICLES?Praise for PRISONER OF THE BLACK HAWK:"a really good read for both boys and girls of 9-14 years." 103.1 FM Grafton"The story unfolds in such a gripping way that I found this second book in the series almost impossible to put down and read 95% at one sitting. This series is a great read by an Australian author and children will be transported to a world of action and human endeavour in a most exciting and satisfying way ... Book Three will be eagerly awaited." Buzzwords"The story is filled with a wonderful sense of old-fashioned adventure with sword fights, narrow escapes, daring plans, betrayed trust and the exciting discovery of new people, ideas, animals and places. The work of Australian author A L Tait, The Mapmaker Chronicles is a fantastic series for readers who love stories filled with adventure and suspense. The story has a slight edge of danger that is just enough to thrill the reader and keep pages turning." Kids' Book Review"THE PRISONER OF THE BLACK HAWK is an exciting book filled with sword fights, strange creatures and pirates. If you're a buccaneer who thirsts for adventure, this thrilling book is for you. Buy this book, batten down the hatches, weigh anchor and let the author take you on a swashbuckling adventure!" William, 9, and James, 8, for The West Australian

Orion Children's Books

The Cake the Wolf and the Witch

Maudie Smith
Authors:
Maudie Smith

Max doesn't believe in happy endings. He doesn't even like stories. So when he finds himself whisked away in a giant cake to The Land of Ever After, Max is NOT impressed. But the people of Ever After are in trouble, and they need Max's help. Will Max agree to go on a dangerous quest to save their world? And if he doesn't, how will he and his brand new brother and sister ever get home?A mixed-up and fresh take on the fairy tale, with a sprinkle of Jacqueline Wilson and Liz Kessler, and perfect for fans of Enid Blyton's The Magic Faraway Tree.'Endlessly inventive' - Piers Torday, award-winning author of The Last Wild.

Orion Children's Books

Opal Moonbaby and the Best Friend Project

Maudie Smith
Authors:
Maudie Smith

Originally published as Opal Moonbaby, this is the first in a funny, warm-hearted series about friendship - and aliens! If you love Jacqueline Wilson, Cathy Cassidy or Liz Kessler, you'll love reading about Opal Moonbaby.Martha's decided that friends are stupid. Especially if they're anything like Colette and Chloe. She never wants another friend. Ever.But it's the first day of the summer holidays, and there's not that much to do ... until she spots a strange little furry creature who leads her to Opal Moonbaby. Opal's been sent down from her planet with a special mission: she needs to work out what on earth people are (and my goodness - people are strange) and make a friend. Can Martha help Opal make the Best Friend Project a success?

Franklin Watts

The Case of the Movie Set Mischief and Other Mysteries

Liam O'donnell, Michael Cho
Authors:
Liam O'donnell, Michael Cho
Franklin Watts

The Case of the Haunted Babysitter and Other Mysteries

Craig Battle, Ramon Perez
Authors:
Craig Battle, Ramon Perez

Whispering Meadows has plenty of secrets. Meet the duo that uncovers them. Amateur detective Max Finder and his aspiring journalist sidekick, Alison Santos, are on the case in this award-winning series of graphic novel "solve-it-yourself" mysteries. Can you avoid the dead ends and red herrings to sort the victims from the villians? Test your detective skills to the max!

Franklin Watts

The Case of the Snake Escape and Other Mysteries

Liam O'donnell, Michael Cho
Authors:
Liam O'donnell, Michael Cho

Whispering Meadows has plenty of secrets. Meet the duo that uncovers them. Amateur detective Max Finder and his aspiring journalist sidekick, Alison Santos, are on the case in this award-winning series of graphic novel 'solve-it-yourself' mysteries. Can you avoid the dead ends and red herrings to sort the victims from the villians? Test your detective skills to the max!

Franklin Watts

The Case of the Trail Trap and Other Mysteries

Liam O'donnell, Michael Cho
Authors:
Liam O'donnell, Michael Cho

Whispering Meadows has plenty of secrets. Meet the duo that uncovers them. Amateur detective Max Finder and his aspiring journalist sidekick, Alison Santos, are on the case in this award-winning series of graphic novel 'solve-it-yourself' mysteries. Can you avoid the dead ends and red herrings to sort the victims from the villians? Test your detective skills to the max!

Middle Grade

9-11 Years

View all our books for 9-11 year olds here.

Updated June 2017

Our Ethical and Environmental Policy

Our ethical and environmental policy

Middle Grade

5-7 Years

Our books for 5-7 year olds.

Hodder Children's Books

7-9 Years

View all our books for 7-9 year olds...

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Teri Terry

Teri Terry arrived on the children’s book radar last year with her debut novel Slated, which was immediately shortlisted for a number of prizes, and has recently won the 14-16 category of the Leeds Book Awards. Here she talks to Graham Marks about the extraordinary journey she has taken to become an author – a story almost worthy of a book itself.

Homepage

Middle Grade

For more information on books for 5 - 11 year olds.

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Emmy Laybourne

Emmy Laybourne is, in her own words, ‘a writer, teacher and a recovering character actress’ who lives in upstate New York with her husband ‘and two surprisingly well-mannered children’. Here she talks to Graham Marks, on Skype, about how she became a writer, the highs and lows of starting out on a writing career, and her novel, Monument 14.

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Chris Higgins

Chris Higgins is an ex English and Drama teacher turned award-winning writer. She has written the My Funny Family series for younger readers, but is probably best known for her teen novels, which have gained her two nominations for Queen of Teen. Here she talks to Graham Marks about how she became a writer, tells us some of her writing secrets and talks about her latest novel, The Day I Met Suzie.

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Sarah Mussi

Sarah Mussi started out with every intention of following a carer as an artist; that did not turn out to be what happened, and now she is now an award-winning and critically acclaimed YA author - as well as being a teacher. Here she talks to Graham Marks about her fascinating and well-travelled life, and the story behind her latest novel, Siege…