Related to: '7-9 Years'

Hodder Children's Books

Will You Catch Me?

Jane Elson
Authors:
Jane Elson

From the author of A Room Full of Chocolate comes a heartwarming story about identity and courage, and a tremendous young girl who cares for her alcoholic mother. For fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Sarah Lean.Nell Hobson lives with a tortoise called Bob Marley, guinea pigs Asbo and Chaos, goldfish Beyoncé and Destiny, gerbils Fizz and Tyrone, Aunty Lou the Hamster ... and her mum, who drinks too much. Nell does everything she can to be a good daughter so that her mum will stop. But when things get really hard, Nell stands on her head. Everything looks better upside down, don't you know?Nell wishes she knew her dad was. When new teacher Mr Samuels makes history come alive and tells the class the story of Nell Gwynn, the Orange Girl who became one of the first actresses on the London stage, Nell is captivated and is determined to dress up as an Orange Girl for the Costume Parade. She hatches a plan with her best friend Michael: a way to make her dad step forward and claim her. Will she succeed?A charming middle grade story with a strong, positive message that celebrates community and friendship.

Orion Children's Books

Running on the Roof of the World

Jess Butterworth
Authors:
Jess Butterworth
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Prisoner of the Black Hawk

A. L. Tait
Authors:
A. L. Tait

Tomas laughed. 'You think that's terrifying? Wait till you meet the pescarn . . . they will eat the flesh off your bones in minutes.'In the second book in this thrilling series, Mapmaker Quinn is far from home in an exotic land filled with dangerous creatures and ruthless enemies. When he is betrayed by someone close to him and comes face-to-face with blood-thirsty pirates, he has to decide once and for all who is a friend and who is a foe . . . Is this the end of the race for Quinn - or just the beginning of another incredible adventure in THE MAPMAKER CHRONICLES?Praise for PRISONER OF THE BLACK HAWK:"a really good read for both boys and girls of 9-14 years." 103.1 FM Grafton"The story unfolds in such a gripping way that I found this second book in the series almost impossible to put down and read 95% at one sitting. This series is a great read by an Australian author and children will be transported to a world of action and human endeavour in a most exciting and satisfying way ... Book Three will be eagerly awaited." Buzzwords"The story is filled with a wonderful sense of old-fashioned adventure with sword fights, narrow escapes, daring plans, betrayed trust and the exciting discovery of new people, ideas, animals and places. The work of Australian author A L Tait, The Mapmaker Chronicles is a fantastic series for readers who love stories filled with adventure and suspense. The story has a slight edge of danger that is just enough to thrill the reader and keep pages turning." Kids' Book Review"THE PRISONER OF THE BLACK HAWK is an exciting book filled with sword fights, strange creatures and pirates. If you're a buccaneer who thirsts for adventure, this thrilling book is for you. Buy this book, batten down the hatches, weigh anchor and let the author take you on a swashbuckling adventure!" William, 9, and James, 8, for The West Australian

Orion Children's Books

The War Next Door

Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Orion Children's Books

A Very Good Chance

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

The third novel from bestselling Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted author Sarah Moore Fitzgerald. Set in Dublin and Siena, with its dizzying, dare-devil Palio horse race, this is a story about taking chances, being brave and learning the best way to see the world. Some people step through a wardrobe to find adventure, but Minty follows the twisty-turny trees into Nettlebog. There she finds Ned Buckley - the moody, mysterious boy who never talks at school. As Minty's world disintegrates around her she searches for refuge in Nettlebog, and she discovers more about Ned: he's able to ride wild horses. And he knows things about the human race that will save her. Or there's a very good chance at least.This book follows Sarah Moore Fitzgerald's debut novel BACK TO BLACKBRICK and Waterstones Prize shortlist THE APPLE TART OF HOPE.

Orion Children's Books

The Cake the Wolf and the Witch

Maudie Smith
Authors:
Maudie Smith

Max doesn't believe in happy endings. He doesn't even like stories. So when he finds himself whisked away in a giant cake to The Land of Ever After, Max is NOT impressed. But the people of Ever After are in trouble, and they need Max's help. Will Max agree to go on a dangerous quest to save their world? And if he doesn't, how will he and his brand new brother and sister ever get home?A mixed-up and fresh take on the fairy tale, with a sprinkle of Jacqueline Wilson and Liz Kessler, and perfect for fans of Enid Blyton's The Magic Faraway Tree.'Endlessly inventive' - Piers Torday, award-winning author of The Last Wild.

Orion Children's Books

Opal Moonbaby and the Best Friend Project

Maudie Smith
Authors:
Maudie Smith
Franklin Watts

The Case of the Movie Set Mischief and Other Mysteries

Liam O'donnell, Michael Cho
Authors:
Liam O'donnell, Michael Cho
Franklin Watts

The Case of the Haunted Babysitter and Other Mysteries

Craig Battle, Ramon Perez
Authors:
Craig Battle, Ramon Perez

Whispering Meadows has plenty of secrets. Meet the duo that uncovers them. Amateur detective Max Finder and his aspiring journalist sidekick, Alison Santos, are on the case in this award-winning series of graphic novel "solve-it-yourself" mysteries. Can you avoid the dead ends and red herrings to sort the victims from the villians? Test your detective skills to the max!

Franklin Watts

The Case of the Snake Escape and Other Mysteries

Liam O'donnell, Michael Cho
Authors:
Liam O'donnell, Michael Cho

Whispering Meadows has plenty of secrets. Meet the duo that uncovers them. Amateur detective Max Finder and his aspiring journalist sidekick, Alison Santos, are on the case in this award-winning series of graphic novel 'solve-it-yourself' mysteries. Can you avoid the dead ends and red herrings to sort the victims from the villians? Test your detective skills to the max!

Franklin Watts

The Case of the Trail Trap and Other Mysteries

Liam O'donnell, Michael Cho
Authors:
Liam O'donnell, Michael Cho
Middle Grade

9-11 Years

View all our books for 9-11 year olds here.

Updated June 2017

Our Ethical and Environmental Policy

Our ethical and environmental policy

Middle Grade

5-7 Years

Our books for 5-7 year olds.

Hodder Children's Books

7-9 Years

View all our books for 7-9 year olds...

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Teri Terry

Teri Terry arrived on the children’s book radar last year with her debut novel Slated, which was immediately shortlisted for a number of prizes, and has recently won the 14-16 category of the Leeds Book Awards. Here she talks to Graham Marks about the extraordinary journey she has taken to become an author – a story almost worthy of a book itself.

Homepage

Middle Grade

For more information on books for 5 - 11 year olds.

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Chris Higgins

Chris Higgins is an ex English and Drama teacher turned award-winning writer. She has written the My Funny Family series for younger readers, but is probably best known for her teen novels, which have gained her two nominations for Queen of Teen. Here she talks to Graham Marks about how she became a writer, tells us some of her writing secrets and talks about her latest novel, The Day I Met Suzie.

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Emmy Laybourne

Emmy Laybourne is, in her own words, ‘a writer, teacher and a recovering character actress’ who lives in upstate New York with her husband ‘and two surprisingly well-mannered children’. Here she talks to Graham Marks, on Skype, about how she became a writer, the highs and lows of starting out on a writing career, and her novel, Monument 14.

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Sarah Mussi

Sarah Mussi started out with every intention of following a carer as an artist; that did not turn out to be what happened, and now she is now an award-winning and critically acclaimed YA author - as well as being a teacher. Here she talks to Graham Marks about her fascinating and well-travelled life, and the story behind her latest novel, Siege…