Related to: '7-9 Years'

Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Egg of Glory

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Franklin Watts

I Don't Want Danny Here

Elizabeth Dale, John & Gus Art
Contributors:
Elizabeth Dale, John & Gus Art

Izzy doesn't like Danny. And Danny will be coming to live with them after his mum marries her dad. When Danny comes for a sleepover, things are very strained. Then Izzy starts to see things from Danny's point of view, and their relationship begins to change...Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Dog of Destiny

Kita Mitchell, Nathan Reed
Contributors:
Kita Mitchell, Nathan Reed
Orion Children's Books

Escape

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay
Orion Children's Books

Running on the Roof of the World

Jess Butterworth
Authors:
Jess Butterworth
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Prisoner of the Black Hawk

A. L. Tait
Authors:
A. L. Tait
Orion Children's Books

The Cake the Wolf and the Witch

Maudie Smith
Authors:
Maudie Smith

Max doesn't believe in happy endings. He doesn't even like stories. So when he finds himself whisked away in a giant cake to The Land of Ever After, Max is NOT impressed. But the people of Ever After are in trouble, and they need Max's help. Will Max agree to go on a dangerous quest to save their world? And if he doesn't, how will he and his brand new brother and sister ever get home?A mixed-up and fresh take on the fairy tale, with a sprinkle of Jacqueline Wilson and Liz Kessler, and perfect for fans of Enid Blyton's The Magic Faraway Tree.'Endlessly inventive' - Piers Torday, award-winning author of The Last Wild.

Orion Children's Books

Opal Moonbaby and the Best Friend Project

Maudie Smith
Authors:
Maudie Smith

Originally published as Opal Moonbaby, this is the first in a funny, warm-hearted series about friendship - and aliens! If you love Jacqueline Wilson, Cathy Cassidy or Liz Kessler, you'll love reading about Opal Moonbaby.Martha's decided that friends are stupid. Especially if they're anything like Colette and Chloe. She never wants another friend. Ever.But it's the first day of the summer holidays, and there's not that much to do ... until she spots a strange little furry creature who leads her to Opal Moonbaby. Opal's been sent down from her planet with a special mission: she needs to work out what on earth people are (and my goodness - people are strange) and make a friend. Can Martha help Opal make the Best Friend Project a success?

Franklin Watts

The Case of the Movie Set Mischief and Other Mysteries

Liam O'donnell, Michael Cho
Authors:
Liam O'donnell, Michael Cho

Whispering Meadows has plenty of secrets. Meet the duo that uncovers them. Amateur detective Max Finder and his aspiring journalist sidekick, Alison Santos, are on the case in this award-winning series of graphic novel 'solve-it-yourself' mysteries. Can you avoid the dead ends and red herrings to sort the victims from the villians? Test your detective skills to the max!

Franklin Watts

The Case of the Haunted Babysitter and Other Mysteries

Craig Battle, Ramon Perez
Authors:
Craig Battle, Ramon Perez
Franklin Watts

The Case of the Snake Escape and Other Mysteries

Liam O'donnell, Michael Cho
Authors:
Liam O'donnell, Michael Cho

Whispering Meadows has plenty of secrets. Meet the duo that uncovers them. Amateur detective Max Finder and his aspiring journalist sidekick, Alison Santos, are on the case in this award-winning series of graphic novel 'solve-it-yourself' mysteries. Can you avoid the dead ends and red herrings to sort the victims from the villians? Test your detective skills to the max!

Franklin Watts

The Case of the Trail Trap and Other Mysteries

Liam O'donnell, Michael Cho
Authors:
Liam O'donnell, Michael Cho

Whispering Meadows has plenty of secrets. Meet the duo that uncovers them. Amateur detective Max Finder and his aspiring journalist sidekick, Alison Santos, are on the case in this award-winning series of graphic novel 'solve-it-yourself' mysteries. Can you avoid the dead ends and red herrings to sort the victims from the villians? Test your detective skills to the max!

Middle Grade

9-11 Years

View all our books for 9-11 year olds here.

Updated June 2017

Our Ethical and Environmental Policy

Our ethical and environmental policy

Middle Grade

5-7 Years

Our books for 5-7 year olds.

Hodder Children's Books

7-9 Years

View all our books for 7-9 year olds...

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Teri Terry

Teri Terry arrived on the children’s book radar last year with her debut novel Slated, which was immediately shortlisted for a number of prizes, and has recently won the 14-16 category of the Leeds Book Awards. Here she talks to Graham Marks about the extraordinary journey she has taken to become an author – a story almost worthy of a book itself.

Homepage

Middle Grade

For more information on books for 5 - 11 year olds.

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Chris Higgins

Chris Higgins is an ex English and Drama teacher turned award-winning writer. She has written the My Funny Family series for younger readers, but is probably best known for her teen novels, which have gained her two nominations for Queen of Teen. Here she talks to Graham Marks about how she became a writer, tells us some of her writing secrets and talks about her latest novel, The Day I Met Suzie.

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Emmy Laybourne

Emmy Laybourne is, in her own words, ‘a writer, teacher and a recovering character actress’ who lives in upstate New York with her husband ‘and two surprisingly well-mannered children’. Here she talks to Graham Marks, on Skype, about how she became a writer, the highs and lows of starting out on a writing career, and her novel, Monument 14.