Related to: 'Coming Soon'

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Ascension

Olivia Chase
Authors:
Olivia Chase

For fans of Cassandra Clare and Buffy the Vampire Slayer, the second book in this kick-ass new series will keep you on the edge of your seat ...Diana, Minerva and Vesta are Demon Hunters, gifted with amazing powers. They can see truth with the touch of the hand, break down solid walls and shoot lightning from their fingertips ... basically all the things you could want in the battle against supernatural evil. When an eerie fog cloaks Edinburgh and the girls find a boy, bloodied and confused, they suspect a demon is up to no good. Before they can even grab their weapons, they're plunged into a fight agianst an ancient foe. Will the united strength of their Trinity be enough to keep them alive?With new faces, an old flame and one seriously blood-thirsty demon, things are about to get interesting ...

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Ryan Higa’s How to Write Good

Ryan Higa
Authors:
Ryan Higa
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Incredible Billy Wild

Joanna Nadin
Authors:
Joanna Nadin

A story about courage, sacrifice and family - and how everyone has something incredible inside of them, just waiting to be discovered. For fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and Eva Ibbotson.This cover comes in four different colours, supplied at random. Which one will you receive?When Billy Wild's teacher asks the class to write a letter to their god, Billy's request is simple: Please send me a dog.So when he discovers a greyhound hiding in the shed, he decides someone must really be listening. With the help of his brothers, Billy sets out to hide her from Dad, who's far too stressed to add a dog to the mix. But keeping a greyhound a secret is a difficult task, and when Billy's classmate Paris enters them all in a local talent show, it becomes even harder!Billy must make a big, brave, wild decision - but it's one that might save Dog and hundreds like her. And it might just make him incredible...

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Ella Kazoo Will Not Brush Her Hair

Lee Fox, Cathy Wilcox
Contributors:
Lee Fox, Cathy Wilcox

'Ella Kazoo will not brush her hair. She hides in the cupboard and under the stair, she roars at her mum like a big growly bear, she whines and she moans and she howls in despair, but Ella Kazoo will not brush her hair!'Ella Kazoo will do anything to avoid having her hair brushed. Her poor mother is beside herself with frustration as she watches Ella's hair get more and more out of control. But what happens when Ella's hair develops a mind of its own? Find out in this delightful tale, told in rollicking verse, about a girl who's got just what it takes to change a really bad hair day into a happy situation for all. 'Beautifully illustrated and written with wonderful rhyme and rhythm, it is a joy for parents to read and a treat for children to listen to. It's ideal for early readers and full of fun.' ABC Online

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Beth

Mark Wilson
Authors:
Mark Wilson

Beth is a child convict, caught stealing on the streets of London and sent to Australia on the First Fleet. Through Beth's story, we discover the unbearable hardships those first convicts suffered, not only on the long journey to Sydney Cove but also in the two years of near-famine following their arrival. The story also explores the new arrivals' relationship with the Indigenous population, and the devastation that the Europeans brought with them.But through Beth's experiences we also see the sense of hope that many in the new colony held for the future, and how they survived - and in some cases thrived.This moving story, illustrated with Mark Wilson's beautifully crafted and evocative artwork, was inspired by the experiences of Elizabeth Hayward, the youngest female convict with the First Fleet, and the journals of naval officer William Bradley and Arthur Bowes Smyth, the surgeon and artist from the First Fleet vessel 'Lady Penrhyn'.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Ugly (younger readers)

Robert Hoge
Authors:
Robert Hoge
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

A Soldier, A Dog and A Boy

Libby Hathorn, Phil Lesnie
Contributors:
Libby Hathorn, Phil Lesnie

Selected as a CBCA (Children's Book Council of Australia) Notable Picture Book of the Year 2017From award-winning Australian author Libby Hathorn and acclaimed illustrator Phil Lesnie, an exquisitely illustrated and deeply moving story of the Somme.A moving story, told completely in dialogue, about a young Australian soldier in the battle of the Somme. Walking through the fields away from the front, he finds what he thinks is a stray dog, and decides to adopt it as a mascot for his company. Then he meets Jacques, the homeless orphan boy who owns the dog. The soldier realises that Jacques needs the dog more - and perhaps needs his help as well.With stunning illustrations from Phil Lesnie, this is a deeply moving celebration of friendship in times of war.A Soldier, A Dog And A Boy was inspired by Libby Hathorn's months of research on her uncle, who survived Gallipoli but went on to fight at the Battle of the Somme and was killed there in 1917 at just twenty years old.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Stormy Day

Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty
Contributors:
Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty

Polly and Neil are back in the second gorgeous children's book from Sunday Times bestselling novelist Jenny Colgan. Perfect for reading aloud and including fun activities based on the story.The boat masts jangled louder and louder. Above their heads, black clouds gathered. Polly shivered, and then the rain started to fall: plop, plop, plop.Polly is waiting for something important to happen. But waiting is hard. It's even harder when it's raining and you can't go outside...Can Polly find enough to do to keep busy ALL day? And what will happen when her puffin friend, Neil, decides to fly off into the storm?Perfect for bedtime stories and early readers. From the author of The Little Beach Street Bakery.Contains recipes, activities and rhymes in addition to the story.

Orion Children's Books

The Dead House

Dawn Kurtagich
Authors:
Dawn Kurtagich
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Polly and the Puffin

Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty
Contributors:
Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty
Orchard Books

Katie's London Christmas

James Mayhew
Authors:
James Mayhew
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Petticoat Pirates Omnibus

Erica-Jane Waters
Authors:
Erica-Jane Waters

Together, Marina, Aqua and Oceana are the Petticoat Pirates, and this unabridged audio edition includes 2 of their fabulous adventures!The Mermaids of Starfish Reef:One day, three beautiful mermaids come to the lagoon to ask for help. A creature of the deep has come and set loose all the sea snails on their mer-farm, leaving behind nothing but a shiny scale. Can the Petticoat Pirates discover what happened and bring the sea snails back safely?One thing's for sure, they'll need all their pirate skills to solve this mystery!The Sea Fairies of Whirlpool Gully:When the other pirates of the Lagoon are struck by a mysterious curse, the girls must travel in search of sea fairies to find a cure. But to get there they'll have to face one of their greatest fears and steer their ship straight into a whirlpool!Can they be brave enough to save their friends?© Oakhill Publishing 2014

Hodder Children's Books

Nursery Time

Mij Kelly, Mary Mcquillan
Authors:
Mij Kelly, Mary Mcquillan

When Suzy Sue goes to nursery, the farm animals miss her so much that they come up with a plan to take her home! But they soon change their minds when they see how much fun Suzy Sue is having!The perfect nursery companion for young children, this wonderfully funny rhyming story is the fourth book in the popular Suzy Sue series.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Seahorses of Scallop Bay

Erica-Jane Waters
Authors:
Erica-Jane Waters
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Pudsey: A Pup Star's Story

Pudsey
Authors:
Pudsey

Last year, a dog danced his way into the history books as the first canine winner of Britain's Got Talent. On their way to the title, Pudsey and his owner Ashleigh Butler won over Walliams, delighted Dixon, stole the heart of Holden, and utterly captivated Cowell. They charmed the nation, too - with millions of families tuning in to see them take the crown.As a young pup, Pudsey always knew he was somehow different to other puppies. While his brothers and sisters contented themselves with chasing their tails, he sat apart, hoping for something more. Pudsey: A Pup Star's Story tells the story of his incredible, inspirational journey, straight from the dog's mouth.

Hodder Children's Books

Rollo and Ruff and the Little Fluffy Bird

Mick Inkpen
Authors:
Mick Inkpen

There are footprints all over the Cornershop yard. And something has been nibbling Rollo's little red ball. Could the stinky little creature fast asleep in the Little Fluffy Bird's nest have something to do with it?Sweeties from the Cornershop seal the friendship of three new characters from the creator of Kipper and Wibbly Pig.

Little, Brown

Books for Young Readers

Founded in January 2013, Little, Brown Books for Young Readers is the children's imprint of Little, Brown Book Group. We publish fantastic fiction for children aged 5 - 12, with a focus on growing talent for growing readers. From fantasy football to petticoat pirates, monsters to mythology, scary stories and lots of laughs, Little, Brown Books for Young Readers is the place to come for brilliant children's books. Founded in January 2013, Little, Brown Books for Young Readers is the children’s imprint of Little, Brown Book Group. We publish fantastic fiction for children aged 5 – 12, with a focus on growing talent for growing readers. From fantasy football to petticoat pirates, monsters to mythology, scary stories and lots of laughs, Little, Brown Books for Young Readers is the place to come for brilliant children’s books.

Orchard Books Press Release

Ultraviolet Shortlisted for Nebula Awards

Orchard Books are delighted to announce that Ultraviolet by RJ Anderson has been shortlisted for the Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy Book as part of The Nebula Awards.

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

David Almond

David Almond is an award-winning author and playwright with an international reputation, as well as being a Professor of Creative Writing at Bath Spa University; his books include Kit’s Wilderness, The Fire-Eaters, Clay and My Name is Mina. Here he talks to Graham Marks about life before and after his debut novel, Skellig, which is about to celebrate it’s 15th anniversary…

Hachette Children's Group

About Us

Hachette Children's Group is one of the largest children's publishers in the UK, with an excellent track record in creating bestselling and award-winning books for children of all ages and interests.