Related to: 'Coming Soon'

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Ella Kazoo Will Not Brush Her Hair

Lee Fox, Cathy Wilcox
Contributors:
Lee Fox, Cathy Wilcox

'Ella Kazoo will not brush her hair. She hides in the cupboard and under the stair, she roars at her mum like a big growly bear, she whines and she moans and she howls in despair, but Ella Kazoo will not brush her hair!'Ella Kazoo will do anything to avoid having her hair brushed. Her poor mother is beside herself with frustration as she watches Ella's hair get more and more out of control. But what happens when Ella's hair develops a mind of its own? Find out in this delightful tale, told in rollicking verse, about a girl who's got just what it takes to change a really bad hair day into a happy situation for all. This delightful and hilarious children's classic is now part of LOTHIAN AUSTRALIAN FAVOURITES, a collection of the very best Australian picture books.'Beautifully illustrated and written with wonderful rhyme and rhythm, it is a joy for parents to read and a treat for children to listen to. It's ideal for early readers and full of fun.' ABC Online

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Beth

Mark Wilson
Authors:
Mark Wilson

Beth is a child convict, caught stealing on the streets of London and sent to Australia on the First Fleet. Through Beth's story, we discover the unbearable hardships those first convicts suffered, not only on the long journey to Sydney Cove but also in the two years of near-famine following their arrival. The story also explores the new arrivals' relationship with the Indigenous population, and the devastation that the Europeans brought with them.But through Beth's experiences we also see the sense of hope that many in the new colony held for the future, and how they survived - and in some cases thrived.This moving story, illustrated with Mark Wilson's beautifully crafted and evocative artwork, was inspired by the experiences of Elizabeth Hayward, the youngest female convict with the First Fleet, and the journals of naval officer William Bradley and Arthur Bowes Smyth, the surgeon and artist from the First Fleet vessel 'Lady Penrhyn'.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Ugly (younger readers)

Robert Hoge
Authors:
Robert Hoge

Robert Hoge was born with a tumour in the middle of his face, and legs that weren't much use. There wasn't another baby like him in the whole of Australia, let alone Brisbane. But the rest of his life wasn't so unusual: he had a mum and a dad, brothers and sisters, friends at school and in his street. He had childhood scrapes and days at the beach; fights with his family and trouble with his teachers. He had doctors, too: lots of doctors who, when he was still very young, removed that tumour from his face and operated on his legs, then stitched him back together. He still looked different, though. He still looked ... ugly. UGLY is the true story of how an extraordinary boy grew up to have an ordinary life, and how that became his greatest achievement of all.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

A Soldier, A Dog and A Boy

Libby Hathorn, Phil Lesnie
Contributors:
Libby Hathorn, Phil Lesnie

Selected as a CBCA (Children's Book Council of Australia) Notable Picture Book of the Year 2017From award-winning Australian author Libby Hathorn and acclaimed illustrator Phil Lesnie, an exquisitely illustrated and deeply moving story of the Somme.A moving story, told completely in dialogue, about a young Australian soldier in the battle of the Somme. Walking through the fields away from the front, he finds what he thinks is a stray dog, and decides to adopt it as a mascot for his company. Then he meets Jacques, the homeless orphan boy who owns the dog. The soldier realises that Jacques needs the dog more - and perhaps needs his help as well.With stunning illustrations from Phil Lesnie, this is a deeply moving celebration of friendship in times of war.A Soldier, A Dog And A Boy was inspired by Libby Hathorn's months of research on her uncle, who survived Gallipoli but went on to fight at the Battle of the Somme and was killed there in 1917 at just twenty years old.

Orion Children's Books

The Dead House

Dawn Kurtagich
Authors:
Dawn Kurtagich

Chilling, creepy and compelling, THE DEAD HOUSE is a psychological thriller like no other from a stunning YA talent, for fans of Rick Yancey, Kendare Blake and Stephen King. Twenty-five years ago, Elmbridge High School burned down. The blaze killed three and injured twenty, and one pupil, Carly Johnson, disappeared. For two decades, little was revealed about what became known as the Johnson Incident.Until now. A diary has been found in the ruins of the school. In this diary, Kaitlyn Johnson, Carly's twin, tells of the strange and disturbing sequence of events leading to the incident. But Kaitlyn doesn't exist. She never has.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Stormy Day

Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty
Contributors:
Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Polly and the Puffin

Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty
Contributors:
Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty

Meet Polly and her puffin Neil in the debut children's book from Sunday Times bestselling novelist, Jenny Colgan. Illustrated throughout and with recipes, activities and rhymes in addition to the irresistible story.Polly heard a CRASH downstairs. Was it a monster? NO! Was it a spider alien? NO!It was a little puffin with a broken wing...When Polly discovers an injured puffin, she and her mummy look after him in their cottage by the sea.Slowly, Neil's wing heals and Polly must prepare herself to say goodbye to her new friend. Will she ever see him again? Perfect for bedtime stories and early readers. From the author of The Little Beach Street Bakery.Contains recipes, activities and jokes in addition to the story.

Orchard Books

Katie's London Christmas

James Mayhew
Authors:
James Mayhew

Discover the magic of London at Christmas time with classic picture book character, Katie. When Katie and Jack are woken up late on Christmas Eve by a loud sneeze, little do they realise that they are about to embark on the most amazing evening! Soon they are flying high across London, over snow-dusted landmarks, through the star-scattered sky with the one and only Father Christmas, in his sleigh, with his magical reindeer! But can they help Father Christmas to deliver all his presents and be back in time for Christmas morning? This is the perfect gift and why not collect all 13 Katie titles, including Katie in London:London comes to life in this magical adventure - Independent on Sunday This story features some of London's best sights, including: Big Ben, Buckingham Palace, Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and many more landmarks.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Petticoat Pirates Omnibus

Erica-Jane Waters
Authors:
Erica-Jane Waters
Hodder Children's Books

Nursery Time

Mij Kelly, Mary Mcquillan
Authors:
Mij Kelly, Mary Mcquillan
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Seahorses of Scallop Bay

Erica-Jane Waters
Authors:
Erica-Jane Waters

Together, Marina, Aqua and Oceana are the Petticoat Pirates!Living aboard their ship in the Periwinkle Lagoon, they are surrounded by the magical high seas which hold all sorts of adventure.This story will see the girls visit Scallop Bay: the home of their friends the seahorses!

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Pudsey: A Pup Star's Story

Pudsey
Authors:
Pudsey

Last year, a dog danced his way into the history books as the first canine winner of Britain's Got Talent. On their way to the title, Pudsey and his owner Ashleigh Butler won over Walliams, delighted Dixon, stole the heart of Holden, and utterly captivated Cowell. They charmed the nation, too - with millions of families tuning in to see them take the crown.As a young pup, Pudsey always knew he was somehow different to other puppies. While his brothers and sisters contented themselves with chasing their tails, he sat apart, hoping for something more. Pudsey: A Pup Star's Story tells the story of his incredible, inspirational journey, straight from the dog's mouth.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Artemis the Brave

Joan Holub, Suzanne Williams
Authors:
Joan Holub, Suzanne Williams

Artemis's friends and classmates see her as the most courageous goddessgirl at school. Little do they know that despite her expert archery skills, the smelly Geryon, ring-nosed Minotaurs, and scorpions in Beast-ology class scare her as much as they do anyone else! But what's really bothering her now is that funny feeling she has whenever she looks at Orion. She's never had a crush before. Will she find the courage to talk to Orion, to make him see her as more than a pal, and to ace Beast-ology class?The Goddess Girls series by Joan Holub and Suzanne Williams puts a modern spin on classic Greek myths! Follow the ins and outs of divine social life at Mount Olympus Academy where the most privileged godboys and goddessgirls in the Greek pantheon hone their mythical skills.

Hodder Children's Books

Rollo and Ruff and the Little Fluffy Bird

Mick Inkpen
Authors:
Mick Inkpen
Little, Brown

Books for Young Readers

Founded in January 2013, Little, Brown Books for Young Readers is the children's imprint of Little, Brown Book Group. We publish fantastic fiction for children aged 5 - 12, with a focus on growing talent for growing readers. From fantasy football to petticoat pirates, monsters to mythology, scary stories and lots of laughs, Little, Brown Books for Young Readers is the place to come for brilliant children's books. Founded in January 2013, Little, Brown Books for Young Readers is the children’s imprint of Little, Brown Book Group. We publish fantastic fiction for children aged 5 – 12, with a focus on growing talent for growing readers. From fantasy football to petticoat pirates, monsters to mythology, scary stories and lots of laughs, Little, Brown Books for Young Readers is the place to come for brilliant children’s books.

Orchard Books Press Release

Ultraviolet Shortlisted for Nebula Awards

Orchard Books are delighted to announce that Ultraviolet by RJ Anderson has been shortlisted for the Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy Book as part of The Nebula Awards.

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

David Almond

David Almond is an award-winning author and playwright with an international reputation, as well as being a Professor of Creative Writing at Bath Spa University; his books include Kit’s Wilderness, The Fire-Eaters, Clay and My Name is Mina. Here he talks to Graham Marks about life before and after his debut novel, Skellig, which is about to celebrate it’s 15th anniversary…

Hachette Children's Group

About Us

Hachette Children’s Books is one of the most successful children’s publishers in the UK, with an excellent track record in creating bestselling and award winning books for children of all ages and interests.

Hachette Children's Group

About Us

Hachette Children's Group is one of the largest children's publishers in the UK, with an excellent track record in creating bestselling and award-winning books for children of all ages and interests.

Homepage

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

We publish fantastic fiction for children aged 5 – 12, with a focus on growing talent for growing readers. From fantasy football to petticoat pirates, monsters to mythology, scary stories and lots of laughs, Little, Brown Books for Young Readers is the place to come for brilliant children’s books. Find out more on our homepage...