Related to: 'See All Books'

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Where Do You Go, Birdy Jones?

Joanna Nadin
Authors:
Joanna Nadin

From the author of JOE ALL ALONE - now a major CBBC series.A story about finding yourself when everything changes and believing that love never runs out. Perfect for fans of A Boy called Hope and Jacqueline Wilson.Eleven-year-old Birdy Jones is all alone. She doesn't belong at school, at home, or even with her dad anymore. The only place she feels like herself is at her grandpa's pigeon loft, where the familiar warmth and birdsong block out the world. It's also where she meets Dogger - her only friend and the one person who really seems to know where she's coming from.Birdy used to be happy, when it was just her and Dad, but now she has a stepmum, a little sister, and another baby on the way. Worse, her growing family needs to move house, but Birdy doesn't believe there'll ever be enough room for her in Dad's busy life - and she can't leave Grandpa and the pigeons. She won't.Birdy dreams of a different family and future, and with Dogger's help she decides to find one - even if it means running away from everything she's ever known. But sometimes you need to fly away to find your way home again . . .

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Ugly (younger readers)

Robert Hoge
Authors:
Robert Hoge

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Fyrelit Tragedy

Nicholas Lochel, Alison Lochel
Authors:
Nicholas Lochel, Alison Lochel
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Home and Away

John Marsden, Matt Ottley
Contributors:
John Marsden, Matt Ottley

We're a typical Australian family. Barbeques, footy, gardening, school, Holden Commodores . . . Then one day things change. 'April 26, Dad burns the toast, yells at Toby, thanks me for cleaning the cab of the truck, kisses Mum and Toby, then he's gone . . . April 27, the war starts . . . May 21, the city's in ruins, blackouts nearly all the time, food is hard to find . . . September 13, Dad's hears news of a boat. We might get out of here yet . . . September 28, it's just after dawn. A boat from their Navy has found us. We wave and cry and cheer. But then, slowly, we realise they are shouting at us, telling us to go away . . . September 30, we are in a huge prison, with razor wire all around us . . .'Powerful and thought-provoking, HOME AND AWAY is a CBCA Honour Book.'so powerful, so moving and so heartbreaking that every Australian should be encouraged to read it' READINGS

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The New Friend

Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty
Contributors:
Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty

The third children's book featuring Polly and her puffin Neil, from bestselling adult novelist Jenny Colgan. With gorgeous two-colour illustrations throughout, Polly is perfect for reading aloud.Polly and her puffin friend, Neil, have wonderful adventures by the sea. But now the time has come for Polly to go to the place she calls 'Big School'. It might be fun, it might be exciting, and it's definitely a little bit scary. Making new friends can be harder than it sounds . . . join Polly on her quest and find out if there might be a new feathered friend for Neil too!Ideal for bedtime stories and early readers. From the author of The Little Beach Street Bakery.Contains lots of fun recipes and activities in addition to the story.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Cat Who Ate Christmas

Lil Chase, Thomas Docherty
Contributors:
Lil Chase, Thomas Docherty

A funny, heart-warming Christmas story about one little kitten and a very big turkey!It's Christmas, and everyone in the Hudson family is very excited - including their kitten. First he knocks the Christmas tree over, then he shreds the presents, and finally he eats the entire Christmas turkey! Mum gets cross, and the kitten runs away. But when he doesn't come back, the Hudson family have to venture out on Christmas Day to find their naughty kitten. Can they have a merry Christmas after all?This gorgeous book is illustrated in two-colour throughout, with a special section at the back for Christmas facts, jokes, craft activities and recipes.The kitten in this story will be named by one lucky reader, via a competition hosted by the Reading Zone. Check this space for the big reveal!

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Trapdoor Mysteries: A Sticky Situation

Abie Longstaff, James Brown
Contributors:
Abie Longstaff, James Brown

The first book in The Trapdoor Mysteries, a series about Tally, a code-breaking, animal-loving servant girl and her best friend, a squirrel named Squill, who solve mysteries with the help of a secret library...Ten-year-old Tally is a servant girl at Mollett Manor. She sleeps in the scullery sink, and spends her days scrubbing, polishing and ironing (when she's not secretly reading books). Then Tally and her squirrel friend, Squill, find a secret library hidden under the manor - a magical library where the books come to life! When Mollett Manor is burgled, can Tally use the knowledge she finds in the books to catch the criminals? Can they even help her solve the mystery of her missing mother?

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

A Soldier, A Dog and A Boy

Libby Hathorn, Phil Lesnie
Contributors:
Libby Hathorn, Phil Lesnie

Selected as a CBCA (Children's Book Council of Australia) Notable Picture Book of the Year 2017From award-winning Australian author Libby Hathorn and acclaimed illustrator Phil Lesnie, an exquisitely illustrated and deeply moving story of the Somme.A moving story, told completely in dialogue, about a young Australian soldier in the battle of the Somme. Walking through the fields away from the front, he finds what he thinks is a stray dog, and decides to adopt it as a mascot for his company. Then he meets Jacques, the homeless orphan boy who owns the dog. The soldier realises that Jacques needs the dog more - and perhaps needs his help as well.With stunning illustrations from Phil Lesnie, this is a deeply moving celebration of friendship in times of war.A Soldier, A Dog And A Boy was inspired by Libby Hathorn's months of research on her uncle, who survived Gallipoli but went on to fight at the Battle of the Somme and was killed there in 1917 at just twenty years old.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Stormy Day

Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty
Contributors:
Jenny Colgan, Thomas Docherty
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The League of Unexceptional Children

Gitty Daneshvari
Authors:
Gitty Daneshvari

Hilarious action adventure for readers aged 8 and up, featuring the world's most unexceptional spies. You think spies are clever and cool and mysterious? Think again . . .When Jonathan and Shelley are summoned to work for The League of Unexceptional Children they're more than a little bit surprised. Average in every single way, they've never been singled out for anything in their lives . . . scrap that, they've never even been noticed. But that's exactly what the League is after. Because if you're truly forgettable, you're perfect for acts of espionage - as Jonathan and Shelley are about to find out.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Ever After High: Hopper Croakington II and the Princely Present (A Little Drake Story)

Suzanne Selfors
Authors:
Suzanne Selfors

This short story by Suzanne Selfors is a companion to her novel Kiss and Spell. At Ever After High, Hopper Croakington II has a hopeless crush on Briar Beauty, but whenever he tries to talk to her he turns into a frog! When it's Briar's birthday, Hopper wants to give her a completely unique present -- he doesn't know what to do until he meets a little dragonfly with a fiery talent. Read this original short story about how Hopper got his pet dragonfly, Drake.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Ever After High: Ginger Breadhouse and the Candy Fish Wish (A Little Jelly Story)

Suzanne Selfors
Authors:
Suzanne Selfors

At Ever After High, Ginger Breadhouse is working on some hextra credit for Science and Sorcery class when a bit of potion spills on a gummy candy fish and brings it to life! Now Ginger has to figure out how to care for a pet made out of sugar! Read this original short story about how Ginger got her pet fish, Jelly.This short story by Suzanne Selfors is a companion to her novel Kiss and Spell.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Us Minus Mum

Heather Butler
Authors:
Heather Butler
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Twistrose Key

Tone Almhjell, Jan Schoenherr
Contributors:
Tone Almhjell, Jan Schoenherr
Homepage

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

We publish fantastic fiction for children aged 5 – 12, with a focus on growing talent for growing readers. From fantasy football to petticoat pirates, monsters to mythology, scary stories and lots of laughs, Little, Brown Books for Young Readers is the place to come for brilliant children’s books. Find out more on our homepage...

Information

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

About Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Little, Brown

Books for Young Readers

Founded in January 2013, Little, Brown Books for Young Readers is the children's imprint of Little, Brown Book Group. We publish fantastic fiction for children aged 5 - 12, with a focus on growing talent for growing readers. From fantasy football to petticoat pirates, monsters to mythology, scary stories and lots of laughs, Little, Brown Books for Young Readers is the place to come for brilliant children's books. Founded in January 2013, Little, Brown Books for Young Readers is the children’s imprint of Little, Brown Book Group. We publish fantastic fiction for children aged 5 – 12, with a focus on growing talent for growing readers. From fantasy football to petticoat pirates, monsters to mythology, scary stories and lots of laughs, Little, Brown Books for Young Readers is the place to come for brilliant children’s books.

Hachette UK announces the creation of a single publishing division for children’s books

Hachette Children's Group Announcement

Tim Hely Hutchinson, CEO of Hachette UK, today announces the creation of the Hachette Children’s Group, a single publishing division comprising Hachette Children’s Books, Orion Children’s Publishing and Little, Brown Books for Young Readers.

PRIVACY NOTICE FOR YOUNG ADULTS (13-17)

Privacy 13-17

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Press Releases

Find all the latest Little, Brown Books for Young Readers news stories and announcements here.