Related to: 'Teen & YA'

Hodder Children's Books

Words in Deep Blue

Cath Crowley
Authors:
Cath Crowley
Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Hodder Children's Books

I Am Traitor

Sif Sigmarsdottir
Authors:
Sif Sigmarsdottir

At the end of the world, who can you trust? The story of one teen's fight against an extra-terrestrial invasion. For fans of Michael Grant, Suzanne Collins and Robert Muchamore.London has been targeted by extra-terrestrial life and victims are transported to a terrifying other world.Amy Sullivan is an unwilling hero. She runs until she can't run any more. Then, she is taken. To have a chance of saving herself, and her planet, Amy will have to put faith in those she fears the most. But what if it means becoming a traitor to everyone she has ever loved? A modern-day War of the Worlds from one of Iceland's bestselling authors.

Hodder Children's Books

The Pest in the Nest

Julian Gough, Jim Field
Contributors:
Julian Gough, Jim Field

'Rabbit's Bad Habits is a breath of fresh air in children's fiction, a laugh-out-loud story of rabbit and wolf and bear, of avalanches and snowmen. The sort of story that makes you want to send your children to bed early, so you can read it to them.' Neil GaimanFrom novelist and playwright Julian Gough, and the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, Jim Field, comes a brilliantly funny story of a rabbit and bear who discover that things are always better when they're shared with a friend ..."PEACE AND QUIET," shouts Rabbit. "THAT'S ALL I WANT."Owch. He's hurt his own ears again.What with Bear's snoring, and a BANG!BANG!BANG! noise from up in the tree, Rabbit knows that Something Simply Has To Be Done.But high in the branches, perhaps Bear can show Rabbit how to see the world from a different place ...A story of friendship, wisdom, and how to be REALLY NOISY.

Hodder Children's Books

Orangeboy

Patrice Lawrence
Authors:
Patrice Lawrence

WINNER OF THE WATERSTONES CHILDREN'S BOOK PRIZE FOR OLDER READERS, SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA CHILDREN'S BOOK AWARD AND THE YA BOOK PRIZE"A truly brilliant book." Malorie Blackman"Incredible book. Thank you Patrice Lawrence for such a fresh and riveting piece of fiction." Ben Bailey Smith (Doc Brown)"What a book! Such a gripping, gritty storyline, with such wonderful, believable characters. Loved it." Tanya Landman, author of Buffalo SoldierNot cool enough, not clever enough, not street enough for anyone to notice me. I was the kid people looked straight through.NOT ANY MORE. NOT SINCE MR ORANGE.Sixteen-year-old Marlon has made his mum a promise - he'll never follow his big brother, Andre, down the wrong path. So far, it's been easy, but when a date ends in tragedy, Marlon finds himself hunted. They're after the mysterious Mr Orange, and they're going to use Marlon to get to him. Marlon's out of choices - can he become the person he never wanted to be, to protect everyone he loves?

Hodder Children's Books

A Song for Ella Grey

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond
Orion Children's Books

Ketchup Clouds

Annabel Pitcher
Authors:
Annabel Pitcher

Winner of the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize 2013, KETCHUP CLOUDS tells the story of one teenage girl with a very big secret. Fifteen-year-old Zoe has a secret - a dark and terrible secret that she can't confess to anyone she knows. But then one day she hears of a criminal, Stuart Harris, locked up on death row in Texas. Like Zoe, Stuart is no stranger to secrets. Or lies. Or murder.Full of both heartache and humour, Zoe tells her story in the only way she can - in letters to the man in prison in America. Armed with a pen, Zoe takes a deep breath, eats a jam sandwich, and begins her tale of love and betrayal.

Hodder Children's Books

The Obsidian Mirror

Catherine Fisher
Authors:
Catherine Fisher

Jake's father disappears while working on mysterious experiments with the obsessive, reclusive Oberon Venn. Jake is convinced Venn has murdered him. But the truth he finds at the snow-bound Wintercombe Abbey is far stranger ... The experiments concerned a black mirror, which is a portal to both the past and the future. Venn is not alone in wanting to use its powers. Strangers begin gathering in and around Venn's estate: Sarah - a runaway, who appears out of nowhere and is clearly not what she says, Maskelyne - who claims the mirror was stolen from him in some past century. There are others, a product of the mirror's power to twist time. And a tribe of elemental beings surround this isolated estate, fey, cold, untrustworthy, and filled with hate for humans. But of them all, Jake is hell-bent on using the mirror to get to the truth. Whatever the cost, he must learn what really happened to his father.

Hodder Children's Books

Graffiti Moon

Cath Crowley
Authors:
Cath Crowley

'We've got at least seven hours to get what we want before the sun comes up.'School is over, and Lucy has the perfect way to celebrate: tonight she's going to find Shadow, the mysterious graffiti artist whose work appears all over the city. Somewhere in the glassy darkness, he's out there, spraying colour, birds and blue sky on the night. And Lucy knows that a guy who paints like Shadow is someone she could fall for - really fall for.The last person Lucy wants to spend this night with is Ed, the guy she's managed to avoid since punching him in the nose on the most awkward date of her life. But when Ed tells Lucy he knows where to find Shadow, the two of them are suddenly on an all-night search to places where Shadow's pieces of heartbreak and escape echo off the city walls. And what Lucy can't see is the one thing that's right before her eyes.

Hodder Children's Books

Red Moon

Rachel Anderson
Authors:
Rachel Anderson

Hamish is sensible, conscientious, and respectable, friends with the good boys, stays away from the bad ones. When his father is murdered in an act of random violence, Hamish's world turns upside down. Angry and alienated, Hamish begins to lose his tolerant beliefs and is drawn towards racist reactions.A move to France promises a much needed new beginning, but only builds Hamish's new attitudes as he becomes embroiled in the narrow-minded views of the locals. But then a boat of north-african refugees founders on the coast and Hamish encounters the sole survivor. Now his world is turned upside down again, caught between the violence of his past experiences and new realities unfolding in front of him.

Orion Children's Books

My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece

Annabel Pitcher
Authors:
Annabel Pitcher
Hodder Children's Books

Heartless Dark

J P Buxton
Authors:
J P Buxton
Hodder Children's Books

Crown of Acorns

Catherine Fisher
Authors:
Catherine Fisher
Hodder Children's Books

Sapphique

Catherine Fisher
Authors:
Catherine Fisher

Finn has escaped from the terrible living Prison of Incarceron, but its memory torments him, because his brother Keiro is still inside. Outside, Claudia insists he must be king, but Finn doubts even his own identity. Is he the lost prince Giles? Or are his memories no more than another construct of his imprisonment? And can you be free if your friends are still captive? Can you be free if your world is frozen in time? Can you be free if you don't even know who you areInside Incarceron, has the crazy sorcerer Rix really found the Glove of Sapphique, the only man the Prison ever loved. Sapphique, whose image fires Incarceron with the desire to escape its own nature. If Keiro steals the glove, will he bring destruction to the world? Inside. Outside. All seeking freedom. Like Sapphique.This refers to the newly jacketed edition available 2 May 2013.

Hodder Children's Books

The General

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore

The tenth title in the number one bestselling CHERUB series! James and Lauren are off to America to help train the army - and get into trouble in Las Vegas ... The world's largest urban warfare training compound stands in the desert near Las Vegas. Forty British commandos are being hunted by an entire American battalion. But their commander has an ace up his sleeve: he plans to smuggle in ten CHERUB agents, and fight the best war game ever. CHERUB agents have one crucial advantage: adults never suspect that kids are spying on them. For official purposes, these children do not exist.

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Chris Higgins

Chris Higgins is an ex English and Drama teacher turned award-winning writer. She has written the My Funny Family series for younger readers, but is probably best known for her teen novels, which have gained her two nominations for Queen of Teen. Here she talks to Graham Marks about how she became a writer, tells us some of her writing secrets and talks about her latest novel, The Day I Met Suzie.

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Emmy Laybourne

Emmy Laybourne is, in her own words, ‘a writer, teacher and a recovering character actress’ who lives in upstate New York with her husband ‘and two surprisingly well-mannered children’. Here she talks to Graham Marks, on Skype, about how she became a writer, the highs and lows of starting out on a writing career, and her novel, Monument 14.

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Teri Terry

Teri Terry arrived on the children’s book radar last year with her debut novel Slated, which was immediately shortlisted for a number of prizes, and has recently won the 14-16 category of the Leeds Book Awards. Here she talks to Graham Marks about the extraordinary journey she has taken to become an author – a story almost worthy of a book itself.

A list of our top children's books with global appeal and international relevance

It's International Children's Book Day!

A list of our top children's books with global appeal and international relevance

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Nicholas Allan

Nicholas Allan is the award-winning and best-selling author and artist behind some of our most popular picture books, including The Queen’s Knickers and Father Christmas Needs a Wee. Here he talks to Graham Marks about the journey down the creative road he’s travelled, how he works, as well as his latest picture book, The Big-Hearted Book…