Related to: 'Teen & YA'

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

From the bestselling author of How to Train Your Dragon comes an exciting high-adventure series - set in an ancient, magical time, full of Wizards, Warriors, Giants and Sprites. #1 Sunday Times Bestseller This is the story of a young boy Wizard and a young girl Warrior who have been taught since birth to hate each other like poison; and the thrilling tale of what happens when their two worlds collide.Perfect for boys and girls who love fantasy adventure...Once there was Magic, and the Magic lived in the dark forests. Until the Warriors came...Xar is a Wizard boy who has no Magic, and will do anything to get it. Wish is a Warrior girl, but she owns a banned Magical Object, and she will do anything to conceal it. In this whirlwind adventure, Xar and Wish must forget their differences if they're going to make it to the dungeons at Warrior Fort. Where something that has been sleeping for hundreds of years is stirring...

Hodder Children's Books

I Am Traitor

Sif Sigmarsdottir
Authors:
Sif Sigmarsdottir

At the end of the world, who can you trust? The story of one teen's fight against an extra-terrestrial invasion. For fans of Michael Grant, Suzanne Collins and Robert Muchamore.London has been targeted by extra-terrestrial life and victims are transported to a terrifying other world.Amy Sullivan is an unwilling hero. She runs until she can't run any more. Then, she is taken. To have a chance of saving herself, and her planet, Amy will have to put faith in those she fears the most. But what if it means becoming a traitor to everyone she has ever loved? A modern-day War of the Worlds from one of Iceland's bestselling authors.

Hodder Children's Books

The Pest in the Nest

Julian Gough, Jim Field
Contributors:
Julian Gough, Jim Field

'Rabbit's Bad Habits is a breath of fresh air in children's fiction, a laugh-out-loud story of rabbit and wolf and bear, of avalanches and snowmen. The sort of story that makes you want to send your children to bed early, so you can read it to them.' Neil GaimanFrom novelist and playwright Julian Gough, and the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, Jim Field, comes a brilliantly funny story of a rabbit and bear who discover that things are always better when they're shared with a friend ..."PEACE AND QUIET," shouts Rabbit. "THAT'S ALL I WANT."Owch. He's hurt his own ears again.What with Bear's snoring, and a BANG!BANG!BANG! noise from up in the tree, Rabbit knows that Something Simply Has To Be Done.But high in the branches, perhaps Bear can show Rabbit how to see the world from a different place ...A story of friendship, wisdom, and how to be REALLY NOISY.

Hodder Children's Books

Orangeboy

Patrice Lawrence
Authors:
Patrice Lawrence
Hodder Children's Books

I Will Love You Anyway

Mick Inkpen, Chloe Inkpen
Contributors:
Mick Inkpen, Chloe Inkpen

I don't do 'sit!'I don't do 'stay!'But I will love you anyway.From the celebrated creators of Kipper, Wibbly Pig, and Zoe and Beans comes a picture book to treasure. Dog is very badly behaved - he destroys everything, chases cars and won't stop running away! But when he finds himself lost and alone there is one person he can count on.Praise for Mick Inkpen:'You simply cannot fail to win smiles with a new book about Kipper.' Daily Mail'The charmingly comical Inkpen, as always, hits the spot.' GuardianPraise for Zoe and Beans:'These books will become well-loved members of any child's book collection.' CarouselFor activities, competitions and other fun stuff check out www.chloeinkpen.comMick Inkpen has been a bestselling children's author for over 25 years. He is one of today's most popular picture book author/illustrators and the famous creator of both Kipper and Wibbly Pig. Mick has won the Children's Book Award for Threadbear and the British Book Award twice, for Penguin Small and Lullabyhullaballoo. Kipper won a BAFTA for Best Animated Film. It wasn't until Mick became a father that he began his career in children's books. Now father and daughter have come together for a unique and exciting picture book partnership. Chloë Inkpen grew up surrounded by picture books and has a natural gift for storytelling. A love of language and art saw her swap an English degree course at Nottingham University for a degree in Illustration at the Glasgow School of Art. In her final year Chloë was awarded second place in the Macmillan Prize for Illustration. Chloë's events in schools, libraries and festivals across the UK regularly receive glowing reviews. Mick and Chloë are the co-creators of Hole in the Zoo, the Fred series and the Zoe and Beans series.

Hodder Children's Books

A Song for Ella Grey

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond
Orion Children's Books

My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece

Annabel Pitcher
Authors:
Annabel Pitcher
Orion Children's Books

Ketchup Clouds

Annabel Pitcher
Authors:
Annabel Pitcher

Winner of the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize 2013, KETCHUP CLOUDS tells the story of one teenage girl with a very big secret. Fifteen-year-old Zoe has a secret - a dark and terrible secret that she can't confess to anyone she knows. But then one day she hears of a criminal, Stuart Harris, locked up on death row in Texas. Like Zoe, Stuart is no stranger to secrets. Or lies. Or murder.Full of both heartache and humour, Zoe tells her story in the only way she can - in letters to the man in prison in America. Armed with a pen, Zoe takes a deep breath, eats a jam sandwich, and begins her tale of love and betrayal.

Hodder Children's Books

The Obsidian Mirror

Catherine Fisher
Authors:
Catherine Fisher
Hodder Children's Books

Graffiti Moon

Cath Crowley
Authors:
Cath Crowley
Hodder Children's Books

Red Moon

Rachel Anderson
Authors:
Rachel Anderson

Hamish is sensible, conscientious, and respectable, friends with the good boys, stays away from the bad ones. When his father is murdered in an act of random violence, Hamish's world turns upside down. Angry and alienated, Hamish begins to lose his tolerant beliefs and is drawn towards racist reactions.A move to France promises a much needed new beginning, but only builds Hamish's new attitudes as he becomes embroiled in the narrow-minded views of the locals. But then a boat of north-african refugees founders on the coast and Hamish encounters the sole survivor. Now his world is turned upside down again, caught between the violence of his past experiences and new realities unfolding in front of him.

Hodder Children's Books

Heartless Dark

J P Buxton
Authors:
J P Buxton

Tog has fulfilled his destiny - but destiny bites back. He's got it all: power - he's the high king; friendship - those who fought for survival alongside him are still at his side; love - Jenna, his extraordinary young warrior queen, who seems to hold the key to some all-powerful mystery in her very being.Then a savage warlord called the Dragon rips it all away. What do you do? If you're Tog, you set off to win it back, even though the quest seems hopeless, even though everyone tells you it's hopeless. Alone, guilt ridden, you push down the rivers of Britain into the heart of country to pit your courage and resolution against the Dragon, this byword of evil and depravity who rules with a powerful war band that includes vicious child soldiers. He's terrorizing the country round his stronghold, turning everything to a blasted ruin, corrupted and corrupting. There is no way forward for Tog but to face the forgotten armies, the hostile tribesmen, the ancient mysteries he can barely grasp - and his own demons.

Hodder Children's Books

Crown of Acorns

Catherine Fisher
Authors:
Catherine Fisher

In an absorbing mystery thriller, a teenage girl with a past arrives in a city: new name, new identity, new foster family. She has chosen the city herself, and is fascinated by its harmony and beauty, but is clearly in fear of discovery. She is nursing a secret from her early childhood, a secret that produces new terrors for her the moment she fears her identity has been spotted. A parallel narrative tells of a young architect's apprentice, Zak, in 1750 - working with Jonathan Forrest, a man obsessed with past Druidic mysteries and a new architectural vision for the city. He plans to create the world's first circular terraced street, the King's Circus - a plan greeted with scorn and derision. Zac soon realises there's more than just obsession with an architectural vision; there is some secret associated with building a hidden chamber in the centre of the Circus. But Zac himself has his own confused and highly destructive agenda ... These narratives are framed by the voice of Bladud - mythical first builder of the city, destined to die in trying to fly. And ultimately his narrative brings all together in a clever and brilliantly intriguing climax.

Hodder Children's Books

Sapphique

Catherine Fisher
Authors:
Catherine Fisher
Hodder Children's Books

The General

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Chris Higgins

Chris Higgins is an ex English and Drama teacher turned award-winning writer. She has written the My Funny Family series for younger readers, but is probably best known for her teen novels, which have gained her two nominations for Queen of Teen. Here she talks to Graham Marks about how she became a writer, tells us some of her writing secrets and talks about her latest novel, The Day I Met Suzie.

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Emmy Laybourne

Emmy Laybourne is, in her own words, ‘a writer, teacher and a recovering character actress’ who lives in upstate New York with her husband ‘and two surprisingly well-mannered children’. Here she talks to Graham Marks, on Skype, about how she became a writer, the highs and lows of starting out on a writing career, and her novel, Monument 14.

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Teri Terry

Teri Terry arrived on the children’s book radar last year with her debut novel Slated, which was immediately shortlisted for a number of prizes, and has recently won the 14-16 category of the Leeds Book Awards. Here she talks to Graham Marks about the extraordinary journey she has taken to become an author – a story almost worthy of a book itself.

A list of our top children's books with global appeal and international relevance

It's International Children's Book Day!

A list of our top children's books with global appeal and international relevance

Author Spotlight with Graham Marks

Nicholas Allan

Nicholas Allan is the award-winning and best-selling author and artist behind some of our most popular picture books, including The Queen’s Knickers and Father Christmas Needs a Wee. Here he talks to Graham Marks about the journey down the creative road he’s travelled, how he works, as well as his latest picture book, The Big-Hearted Book…