Related to: 'Books with Bite'

Hodder Children's Books

The Adventures of Egg Box Dragon

Richard Adams, Alex T. Smith
Contributors:
Richard Adams, Alex T. Smith

From the author of Watership Down, Richard Adams, comes an enchanting picture book about the adventures of a mischievous homemade dragon. Illustrated by the award-winning Alex T. Smith.Whatever you've lost, Egg Box Dragon will find it. He's retrieved missing footballs, glasses and watches aplenty. He's so expert at cracking mysteries that the Queen herself requests his services. Will Egg Box Dragon find the missing diamond from the Queen's crown?Richard Adams was awarded both the Carnegie Medal and the Guardian Award for children's fiction. Watership Down has sold over 50 million copies. A new mini series of Watership Down will premiere Christmas 2017 on BBC1 and launch globally on Netflix Spring 2018, featuring the voices of Olivia Colman and Freddie Fox, amongst others.

Orion Children's Books

Scaredy Cat, Scaredy Cat

Phil Earle
Authors:
Phil Earle

The fourth and final hilarious children's novel from DEMOLITION DAD, SUPERHERO STREET and THE WAR NEXT DOOR author Phil Earle, illustrated by Waterstones Children's Book Prize-shortlisted artist, Sara Ogilvie. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Liz Pichon and David Walliams.Kay Catt has a nickname - Scaredy Catt. And with good reason. You've never met a more timid, anxious girl in your life. And when you meet her dad, you'll start to understand why. But when a mysterious old man is spotted on Storey Street, it heralds the start of a great adventure for Kay. Because Wilf Wilkinson isn't your average, cardigan-wearing, sherbet lemon-sucking old codger. Oh no. Wilf wears a cloak, and a strange pointy hat, and his walking stick looks suspiciously like an over-sized wand.Wilf couldn't be a wizard ... could he?

Orion Children's Books

Shadows of the Lost Sun

Carrie Ryan, John Parke Davis
Authors:
Carrie Ryan, John Parke Davis
Orchard Books

Equestria Girls: Legend of Everfree

Perdita Finn
Authors:
Perdita Finn
Orion Children's Books

City of Thirst

Carrie Ryan, John Parke Davis
Authors:
Carrie Ryan, John Parke Davis
Orchard Books

Brutus the Hound of Horror

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Peril stalks the Good Beasts of Avantia as Kensa the Sorceress plans to invade Avantia with her new Evil Beasts. Tom must do battle with a ravening, winged hound who thirsts for his blood!

Orion Children's Books

Six of Crows

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo

Nominated for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2017, this fantasy epic from the No. 1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of the Grisha trilogy is gripping, sweeping and memorable - perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin, Laini Taylor and Kristin Cashore. Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams - but he can't pull it off alone. A convict with a thirst for revenge. A sharpshooter who can't walk away from a wager.A runaway with a privileged past. A spy known as the Wraith. A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums. A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes. Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz's crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destruction - if they don't kill each other first.An epic new exploration of the Grisha universe from the writer of SHADOW AND BONE, SIEGE AND STORM and RUIN AND RISING, totally consuming for both old fans and new.

Orchard Books

Veloth the Vampire Squid

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orion Children's Books

The Dead House

Dawn Kurtagich
Authors:
Dawn Kurtagich

Twenty-five years ago, Elmbridge High School burned down. The blaze killed three and injured twenty, and one pupil, Carly Johnson, disappeared. For two decades, little was revealed about what became known as the Johnson Incident.Until now. A diary has been found in the ruins of the school. In this diary, Kaitlyn Johnson, Carly's twin, tells of the strange and disturbing sequence of events leading to the incident. But Kaitlyn doesn't exist. She never has.Chilling, creepy and compelling, THE DEAD HOUSE is one of those very special books that finds all the dark places in your imagination, and haunts you long after you've finished reading.

Orion Children's Books

Far From You

Tess Sharpe
Authors:
Tess Sharpe

Nine months. Two weeks. Six days. That's how long recovering addict Sophie's been drug-free. Four months ago her best friend Mina died in what everyone believes was a drug deal gone wrong - a deal they think Sophie set up. Only Sophie knows the truth. She and Mina shared a secret, but there was no drug deal. Mina was deliberately murdered. Forced into rehab for a drug addiction she'd already beaten, Sophie's finally out and on the trail of the killer. But can she track them down before they come for her?

Orion Children's Books

Museum Mayhem

Sara Grant, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Sara Grant, Erica-Jane Waters

The exhibits aren't meant to move at museums, are they? Not unless you've got a witch with witching cough around! Trix has to ask her teacher Lulu for help after she sneezes her way to magical mayhem in the middle of a family trip.

Hodder Children's Books

Oliver (who travelled far and wide) and the Noisy Baby

Mara Bergman, Nick Maland
Contributors:
Mara Bergman, Nick Maland

Oliver's baby sister won't stop crying. Oliver gets in his plane and travels to distant lands to get away from the noise. But wherever he goes, there are babies crying. Oliver wonders if back home HIS sister might need him so he flies back to cuddle her to sleep!A new story from a talented prize-winning author/illustrator team praised for their rhythmic imaginative texts and gloriously detailed illustrations.

Orion Children's Books

Midwinterblood

Marcus Sedgwick, Marcus Sedgwick
Authors:
Marcus Sedgwick, Marcus Sedgwick

What would you sacrifice for someone you've loved forever? Winner of the Michael L. Printz Award, MIDWINTERBLOOD is a dark, breathtaking and cleverly crafted paranormal love story like no other, beautifully told in seven parts and spanning ten centuries.Have you ever had the feeling that you've lived another life? Been somewhere that has felt totally familiar even though you've never been there before, or felt that you've known someone even though you are meeting them for the first time?Eric and Merle loved and lost one another, and have been searching for each other through time ever since. This novel comprises seven short stories and travels in time, from 2073 back to the days of Viking sagas. Across the different tales, the two souls appear as lovers, mother and son, brother and sister, and artist and child as they come close to finding each other before facing the ultimate sacrifice . . .

Orchard Books

Tiger Without Teeth

Bernard Ashley
Authors:
Bernard Ashley
Hodder Children's Books

Volume 3: Evil Thirst & Creatures of Forever

Christopher Pike
Authors:
Christopher Pike
Hodder Children's Books

Yum Yum

Mara Bergman, Nick Maland
Contributors:
Mara Bergman, Nick Maland
Hodder Children's Books

Oliver Who Would Not Sleep

Mara Bergman, Nick Maland
Contributors:
Mara Bergman, Nick Maland

Oliver Donnington Rimington Sneep couldn't and didn't and would not sleep. It's not that he is afraid of the dark, or monsters, or robbers or sounds from the park. But Oliver Donnington Rimington Sneep likes staying awake more than going to sleep. Join Oliver on his journey to Mars and back before he finally, finally, finally goes to sleep. Superb bedtime tale, told in rhyme and great to read aloud, with stunning illustrations from award-winner Nick Maland.

Hodder Children's Books

Snip Snap

Mara Bergman, Nick Maland
Contributors:
Mara Bergman, Nick Maland

Carrie Ryan

Husband and wife Carrie Ryan & John Parke Davis have been in love with each other's writing (and with each other) since meeting in law school a decade ago. Carrie is the New York Times bestselling author of the critically acclaimed and multi-award winning Forest of Hands and Teeth series. J.P. is an Assistant Federal Defender in the Western District of North Carolina as well as a published author of short fiction. Though they've been important parts of each other's writing for years, The Pirate Stream is their first full collaboration. J.P. and Carrie currently live in Charlotte, North Carolina, with their two ornery cats and one gullible dog. Visit Carrie's website at http://carrieryan.com, read her blogs at http://carrie-me.blogspot.co.uk and http://carrieryan.tumblr.com, follow her on Twitter @carrieryan and like her on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/AuthorCarrieRyan.

Wikipedia

Christopher Pike (author)

Christopher Pike is the pseudonym of American author Kevin Christopher McFadden[1] (born November 12, 1954). He is a bestselling author of young adult and children's fiction, but whose expertise is in the thriller genre.[2] The pseudonym Christopher Pike is allegedly a reference to the captain of the USS Enterprise (NCC-1701) in the Star Trek: The Original Series pilot.[3] Kevin McFadden was born in New York in 1954, but grew up in California where he currently resides in Santa Barbara.[4] As a college dropout, Pike turned to house painting and programmed computers prior to becoming a bestselling author.[5] Pike was unsuccessful as a budding science fiction and adult mystery author, until his work was discovered by an editor who suggested he try writing a teen thriller. This suggestion resulted in Slumber Party (1985), a book about a group of teenagers who run into bizarre and violent events during a ski weekend. Well-known works include The Last Vampire series, the Final Friends and Remember Me trilogies, Witch, Whisper of Death, the Alosha series and Fall into Darkness. According to Amazon.com, Pike currently has four titles available on Audiobook cassette/CD: Fall Into Darkness, Witch, Bury Me Deep and Falling.[6] On November 25, 1996, Fall Into Darkness was released as a television movie directed by Mark Sobel, starring Tatyana Ali and Jonathan Brandis. This movie was produced by Christopher Pike Productions.[7] The movie is no longer in print, however, some DVDs can still be found online.[8] Also in 1996, fans created a website based on Pike's novel The Midnight Club to discuss the author and share their stories.[9] This site no longer exists. McFadden is also the author of the popular children's series Spooksville and the adult novels: Sati, The Season of Passage, The Listeners, The Cold One, The Blind Mirror and Falling. McFadden is an extremely private person; the little known about him is collected from his books and very rare interviews.[10] In the "About the Author" section of several of his books, McFadden lists his interests as astronomy, meditation, reading, running, surfing and making sure his books are prominently displayed in his local bookshop. He acknowledges Arthur C. Clarke, Isaac Asimov, Robert A. Heinlein, Agatha Christie, Carl Sagan and Stephen King as his influences.[11] Although his books are known as thrillers, they are often more focused on aspects of science fiction, spirituality, and whodunit. References to Egyptian, Greek and Hindu mythology are also common. According to the Simon & Schuster author page, The Last Vampire (Thirst) series and the Alosha series are slated to be released as feature films.[12] As of September 2010, FilmNation has acquired the screen rights to The Last Vampire series.[13] Because Pike didn't have time to write the sequel to The Cold One,[14] tentatively titled Seedling, and the fact that the next book in the Alosha series, Nemi, has yet to be written, fans have begun an online petition for the completion of Nemi at ipetition.com. Christopher Pike only wrote one book in this forty-seven book series. Other writers of this series include Caroline B. Cooney and Diane Hoh.[15]