Search results for: '*'

Orchard Books

May Require Batteries

Jonathan Meres
Authors:
Jonathan Meres
Hodder Children's Books

Just Like My Mum

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling

One mischievous little lion cub is keen to show how he can act just like his mum. But when it comes to bedtime, there's no one as good as her!From the bestselling creator of Hugless Douglas, this humorous, touching tale is a celebration of mums everywhere.David Melling is one of the UK's best-loved author-illustrators and his stories combine brilliantly imaginative illustrations with an endearing sense of what it is like to be a small child learning about the world.

Orchard Books

May Cause Irritation

Jonathan Meres
Authors:
Jonathan Meres

The second hilarious title in the award-winning, laugh-out-loud series, The World of Norm. Perfect for fans of Tom Gates and Diary of a Wimpy Kid.Norm knew it was going to be one of those days when he woke up and found himself standing at a supermarket checkout, totally naked.It might be a dream, but Norm soon finds that things go from bad to worse - when his perfect cousins arrive for a walk. If there was one thing worse than spending time with his perfect cousins it was being forced to go on a flipping walk with them! What's the point in going for a walk - except to get from A to B?!Jonathan Meres follows up May Contain Nuts with another laugh-out-loud story about Norm, a boy who can't understand why everything always seems unfair...With brilliantly funny illustrations throughout from Donough O'Malley. Praise for Jonathan Meres:'Hilarious stuff from one of my comic heroes!' - Harry Hill'Jonathan Meres is flipping funny!' - Eddie Izzard

Orchard Books

May Contain Nuts

Jonathan Meres
Authors:
Jonathan Meres
Hodder Children's Books

Just Like My Dad

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling
Orchard Books

Cinderboy

Laurence Anholt, Arthur Robins
Contributors:
Laurence Anholt, Arthur Robins

Cinderboy needs some magical help from the TV Godmother. How else will he get to the big Cup Final?

Paul Mason

Paul's books cover a wide range of subjects, from whether the Romans ate crisps to how to build the world's best skatepark, but he writes mostly about sport. Whether you are interested in swimming or cycling, snowboarding, surfing or another sport, Paul has probably written something that will inspire you to get out and give it a try. Paul writes in a shack by the beach, which he shares with his one-eyed surf dog, Daisy.

Pete Williamson

Pete Williamson is an artist, illustrator and animation designer. His highly-acclaimed work includes the award-winning DINKIN DINGS AND THE FRIGHTENING THINGS and the wonderful gothic pottiness of Marcus Sedgwick's THE RAVEN MYSTERIES.Find his website at http://www.petewilliamson.co.uk/

Peter Bently

Peter studied languages at Oxford and has two young children. He is the author of the bestselling Lark in the Ark (shortlisted for Red House Book Award) and the hilarious The Great Bottom Swap (rated 5 stars on Mumsnet). He recently won the American Library Association Notable Book of the year with King Jack and the Dragon and in 2011 he won the Roald Dahl Funny Prize with Cats Ahoy!

Phil Earle

Phil Earle was born in the great city of Hull in 1974, and spent the next eighteen years playing a lot of sport, messing around in plays and trying to sing in bands. He has had jobs as a care worker in a residential kids' home and a bookseller, and now works as sales and marketing director for David Fickling books. In 2016, Phil was appointed as Reading charity BookTrust's new writer-in-residence. He lives on a hill in Yorkshire with his wife and three children and his favourite place to write is on the bus. Visit Phil's website, www.philearle.com, or follow him on twitter @philearle.

PJ Masks

By day, they are Connor, Amaya and Greg, and they go to school like everyone else. By night, they are Catboy, Owlette and Gekko - the PJ Masks! The PJ Masks work together to tackle any situation and have lots of exciting adventures along the way. PJ Masks are on their way - into the night to save the day!

Rachael Mortimer

Rachael had many successful years in advertising but is now a full time writer and mother. She lives in London with her husband and two daughters who are a constant source of inspiration for her children's books.

Richard Brassey

Richard Brassey is the author and illustrator of a host of colourful and original non-fiction books for children, among them the bestselling Nessie the Loch Ness Monster and The Story of Scotland, which won the TES/Saltire Society Award. He lives in Essex. Visit his website at http://www.richardbrassey.com.

Rosie Banks

Rosie Banks is in her late twenties, and grew up in a small village in the South West. She spent her childhood dreaming of magical creatures and faraway places, so it was natural that she grew up to write a series of stories where such dreams came true!Rosie has always been close to her best friends, and their special relationship provided her with inspiration for her characters.As a child, Rosie's ultimate ambition was to ride a unicorn. She hasn't managed that yet, but she does have a pony called Flip, and cute puppies called Moony and Max.

Roy Apps

Roy Apps is the author of more than fifty children's books, including The Twitches, Fang Gang and How To Handle. He is the author of the highly successful Dream to Win series for Franklin Watts.His novel The Secret Summer of Daniel Lyons won The Writers' Guild Children's Book Award and was shortlisted for the Whitbread Awards. It is now a successful musical.Roy writes extensively for radio, theatre and TV. In 2001 he was awarded a BAFTA for his children's TV work, which includes Byker Grove, The Ghost Hunter and Barmy Aunt Boomerang.Roy visits schools, libraries and bookshops to read from his books and to share the secrets of The Shed in Your Head . He runs Writing Projects for all ages and over the last few years has helped young and new writers make books, stage plays, films, performance poetry and most recently, an opera.

Steve Antony

Steve Antony - a graduate from the prestigious MA in Children's Book Illustration at Anglia Ruskin - is the author-illustrator of The Queen's Hat and Please Mr Panda. Only debuting in 2014, Steve has had enormous success: The Queen's Hat won the Evening Standard's Oscar's First Book Prize, and was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize. Please Mr Panda was chosen as Picture Book of the Month by US retailer Barnes & Noble, who held over 650 Panda events over one weekend. Steve aims to create picture books that are slightly 'off the wall', books that children will laugh at and adults will tweet about, but most of all, books that he enjoys.

Steve Cole

Steve Cole is the bestselling author of the ASTROSAURS books, which Amanda Craig from THE TIMES recently described as 'the kind of inspired, hysterically silly fantasy that boys adore.'Visit his website at http://www.stevecolebooks.co.uk, keep up-to-date with his blog at http://www.stevecolebooks.co.uk/steves-space/blog and watch his Youtube channel at http://www.youtube.com/stevecolebooks.

Sue Hendra

Sue Hendra is an author and illustrator. She graduated from Brighton University in 1994 and has worked on over seventy books, including the bestselling Dave series and Barry the Fish with Fingers. The Wanda the Alien TV series is showing now on Channel 5.

Trish Cook

Trish Cook has written the novelisation of MIDNIGHT SUN. She is also the author of five YA novels, and women's fiction aimed at 'teenagers trapped in a mom's body.' When she's not writing, Trish is a runner, rower, music and pop culture fanatic. She has run two full and four half marathons, rows with a master's crew, sees live music at every chance, writes songs, plays guitar and sings with her own basement-bound band. You can visit Trish at www.trishcook.com.

Virginia Ironside

Virginia Ironside is best known as one of Britain's leading agony aunts. She started on WOMAN magazine before moving to THE SUNDAY MIRROR and TODAY newspapers. She now writes a weekly column for THE INDEPENDENT. She also appears regularly on radio and television on such programmes as Radio 4's 'Woman's Hour'. Her many books include self-help titles on subjects such as bereavement, as well as the children's spooky adventure series BURLAP HALL.