Phil Earle - Grandad's Medal - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £4.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781510102361
    • Publication date:13 Jul 2017
Books in this series

Grandad's Medal

By Phil Earle
Illustrated by Sarah Horne

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A touching and hopeful red Early Reader about first experiences of grief and loss, from Carnegie-nominated author, Phil Earle.

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reaading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.

Marvin loves going on his adventures with his grandad - escaping from hairy yetis, taking daytrips to Mars, and hunting ferocious tigers - all without leaving the house. Marvin thinks his grandad is the bravest person he's ever met; he even has a medal from the war to prove it. And, more than anything else, Marvin wants to be brave too.

But when Grandad must go on his final adventure alone, Marvin finds he has to be braver than he's ever been before. Until he discovers that Grandad has left behind a very special surprise just for him . . .

A touching and poignant Early Reader story, perfect for children coming to terms with grief for the first time.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781510102378
  • Publication date: 13 Jul 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

Mr Penguin and the Catastrophic Cruise

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith

From the international bestselling creator of Claude comes a hero like no other: Mr Penguin. Indiana Jones meets Hercule Poirot in this series from Alex T. Smith. Mr Penguin is boarding a luxury cruise ship. He doesn't like water, and he can't swim, but his friend Colin is performing with the Ladies Choir on board - and anyway, Mr Penguin feels like a rest after some busy Adventuring. What's more, fish finger sandwiches are apparently available twenty-four hours a day. Heaven! But despite the glamorous film stars and party atmosphere, Mr Penguin can't help but feel that something shifty is happening on board. And when he befriends a young stowaway with a mystery of her own to solve, he soon finds that Adventures are lying in wait after all ...This is the third Mr Penguin book with plenty of slapstick humour, mystery and adventure. Highly illustrated throughout with a striking black and orange design.Praise for Mr Penguin and the Lost Treasure:'Addictive slapstick' - Guardian'The perfect introduction to mystery stories' - Scotsman

Orchard Books

Reindeer Recovery

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Franklin Watts

Sport

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley
Wayland

Who Ate the Penguin?

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley

All living things need food to give them energy to live. Plants that make their own food and animals that eat plants or other plant-eating animals are linked together by many different food chains. This book looks at an ocean food chain in Antarctica. The text introduces young children to the scientific vocabulary associated with food chains and big, beautiful photographs bring the ocean food chain to life.

Wayland

Who Ate the Snake?

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley

All living things need food to give them energy to live. Plants that make their own food and animals that eat plants or other plant-eating animals are linked together by many different food chains. This book looks at a desert food chain in Arizona, USA. The text introduces young children to the scientific vocabulary associated with food chains and big, beautiful photographs bring the desert food chain to life.

Franklin Watts

What Is Money?

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard

A friendly, first look at making money for young readersLeo is confused! Money is meant to make the world go round, but he never actually sees it. Then on his birthday, his aunt sends him some money. What will Leo do with it?An illustrated, child-friendly introduction to money, looking at the different forms it takes, how we use it and the importance of looking after it. Each story follows a child who is faced with a dilemma about what to do with some money and explores the many choices available to them in a clear and helpful way.

Franklin Watts

What a Mess!

Damian Harvey, Charlie Alder
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, Charlie Alder

Jazz wants to help her mum and dad with the painting. They are happy for her to help, as long as she doesn't make a mess!Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Orchard Books

The Llama Bridesmaid

Bella Swift
Authors:
Bella Swift
Orchard Books

Krotax the Tusked Destroyer

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Evelyn the Mermicorn Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Three stories in one! Join Rachel and Kirsty for a magical adventure with another fairy friend in this bestselling and much-loved series for girls aged 5 and up!Evelyn the Mermicorn Fairy has a very special magical pet. But when Jack Frost steals him away from her, the magic of the mermicorn is in danger! Can Kirsty and Rachel help get him back?Have you read any other Rainbow Magic books? Try Ruby the Red Fairy to find out how Kirsty and Rachel's adventures began.

Orion Children's Books

Scaredy Cat, Scaredy Cat

Phil Earle
Authors:
Phil Earle

From the author of DEMOLITION DAD, the CBBC Book of the Month June 2017, comes the fourth and final hilarious Storey Street by Phil Earle, illustrated by Waterstones Children's Book Prize-shortlisted artist, Sara Ogilvie. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Liz Pichon and David Walliams.Kay Catt has a nickname - Scaredy Catt. And with good reason. You've never met a more timid, anxious girl in your life. And when you meet her dad, you'll start to understand why. But when a mysterious old man is spotted on Storey Street, it heralds the start of a great adventure for Kay. Because Wilf Wilkinson isn't your average, cardigan-wearing, sherbet lemon-sucking old codger. Oh no. Wilf wears a cloak, and a strange pointy hat, and his walking stick looks suspiciously like an over-sized wand.Wilf couldn't be a wizard ... could he?

Orchard Books

Skalix the Snapping Horror

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!Evil Wizard Berric is trying to bring deadly Beasts back from the Isle of Ghosts to Avantia. Only Tom and Elenna can stop him. Next in their Quest they must battle Skalix the Snapping Horror! There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Zulok the Winged Spirit; Skalix the Snapping Horror; Okira the Crusher and Rykar the Fire Hound

Orion Children's Books

Superhero Street

Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie

'A laugh-out-loud read full of capes and japes! If you like Superheroes this is right down your Street!' - Danny Wallace, presenter and bestselling author. Illustrated by Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted artist, Sara Ogilvie, this is the second book in Demolition Dad author Phil Earle's children's series, Storey Street. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Liz Pichon and David Walliams, each book in this laugh-out-loud series focuses on a different neighbour.Mouse is desperate to be a superhero. To find that power that will make him stand out in the crowd. But his every attempt ends in failure. He can't even get any attention at home as his five brothers (triplets AND twins) take every second of mum and dad's attention. When mum foils a bank robbery while on duty as a lollipop lady, she and Mouse are lauded as superheroes. Joining forces with Mouse are The Z List - a group of unlikely crime-fighters. But in their midst is a traitor hell-bent on revenge. Will Mouse be super enough to spot this danger, and is he brave enough to do anything about it?(P) Orion Children's Books 2017

Orion Children's Books

Demolition Dad

Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Orion Children's Books

The War Next Door

Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Sara Ogilvie
Orion Children's Books

Elsie and the Magic Biscuit Tin

Phil Earle, Jamie Littler
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Jamie Littler
Orchard Books

Creta the Winged Terror

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orion Children's Books

Albert and the Garden of Doom

Phil Earle, Jamie Littler
Contributors:
Phil Earle, Jamie Littler

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Albert LOVES football. But he HATES the Garden of Doom next door. He's always kicking his footballs into it, and he can't go and get them back - Mr Creaky lives next door, and Albert is terrified of him. But when he kicks his friend Errol's ball into the Garden of Doom, Albert knows that he has to be brave. Could there be more to Mr Creaky than meets the eye? Could he be a jewel thief? A wizard? A secret agent?Albert doesn't know... but he's about to find out!The first Early Reader story from a talented and unique voice in children's fiction. Phil Earle is a CARNEGIE MEDAL shortlisted author whose hard-hitting YA novels have been widely acclaimed.

Hodder Children's Books

Emily Brown and the Thing

Cressida Cowell, Neal Layton
Contributors:
Cressida Cowell, Neal Layton
Orchard Books

Posy

Linda Newbery, Catherine Rayner
Contributors:
Linda Newbery, Catherine Rayner

Posy may be one of the cheekiest, most inquisitive kittens around but that doesn't stop her being the most lovable one too! Follow the delightful Posy kitten as she bounces and pounces through her adventure-filled day. This beautifully illustrated picture book by an award-winning author and illustrator team is bound to be adored by cat lovers of all ages, everywhere!Illustrated by Catherine Rayner, winner of the Kate Greenaway Medal.