Mary Gribbin and John Gribbin - The Science of Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444946697
    • Publication date:16 Nov 2017

The Science of Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials

With an Introduction by Philip Pullman

By Mary Gribbin and John Gribbin

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

The amazing true science behind the fiction of His Dark Materials, ideal for fans of the original trilogy and The Book of Dust, with an introduction by Philip Pullman.

The amazing true science behind the fiction of His Dark Materials, ideal for fans of the original trilogy and The Book of Dust, with an introduction by Philip Pullman.

Award-winning science writers Mary and John Gribbin reveal how the world of Pullman's His Dark Materials trilogy (Northern Lights, The Subtle Knife and The Amber Spyglass) is rooted in astonishing scientific truth. Drawing on string theory and spacetime, quantum physics and chaos theory, they answer fascinating questions such as: could parallel worlds like Will's and Lyra's really exist? How does the subtle knife cut through anything? Could there be a bomb like the one made with Lyra's hair? And, of course, what are the Dark Materials?

Biographical Notes

John Gribbin is an internationally successful science writer and broadcaster whose many books for adults include 'In Search of Schrodinger's Cat', 'Almost Everyone's Guide to Science', 'Q is for Quantum' and 'Science: A History'. His wife, Mary, is a teacher with a special gift for communicating difficult concepts. They have co-written several titles for adults and children - the latter include 'Time and Universe', winner of the TES Junior Information Book Award (Hodder), 'Eyewitness: Time and Space' (DK) and 'Big Numbers' (Icon).

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444946680
  • Publication date: 16 Nov 2017
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

Sea Spell

Jennifer Donnelly
Authors:
Jennifer Donnelly

Six mermaids battle to save their hidden world in Disney's epic series finale for fans of Percy Jackson and The Girl of Ink & Stars.The mermaids prepare for war. The powerful Volneros is invading all the mer realms and in a foolish attempt to stop him, founding father Orfeo plans to unleash an ancient and dangerous monster from its icy prison. While Astrid faces her powerful ancestors to steal the black pearl talisman from Orfeo's stronghold, Ava must travel to the treacherous swamps of the Mississippi where the evil Okwa Naholo spirits kill with a single glance.In an epic battle, the Black Fin resistance, lead by Serafina, must defeat both Voleneros and Orfeo and prevent the destruction of their world.

Orchard Books

Mia the Bridesmaid Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Mia the Bridesmaid Fairy helps make weddings wonderful with her three magical items. But when these are stolen by mean Jack Frost and his naughty goblins, weddings everywhere descend into chaos! Kirsty and Rachel are about to be bridesmaids for Kirsty's cousin, Esther, so the race is on to help Mia find her magical objects (a silver sixpence, some golden bells and the moonshine veil) so everyone can enjoy a really special day.

Hodder Children's Books

Princess Smartypants and the Missing Princes

Babette Cole
Authors:
Babette Cole

Princess Smartypants rules her kingdom of Totaloonia on her own - she certainly doesn't need the help of a silly Prince of a husband. However, she is always willing to help her friends, and agrees to host the engagement party of three would-be princesses.But the trouble starts when the princes fail to turn up to the party - they've gone missing.Princess Smartypants is determined to uncover the plot and rescue the princes. With the help of Eric, her friendly giant handyman, she sets off on a wacky adventure to track the princes' last moves.Can Princess Smartypants solve the case of the missing princes and get them to the chuch on time before her next case waits?Hold on to your tiaras; there's a rescue mission to solve and a riotous wedding to plan!

Wayland

What is Humanism? How do you live without a god? And Other Big Questions for Kids

Michael Rosen, Annemarie Young
Authors:
Michael Rosen, Annemarie Young
Hodder Children's Books

Five on a Treasure Island

Enid Blyton, Babette Cole
Contributors:
Enid Blyton, Babette Cole

Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timmy the dog find excitement and adventure wherever they go in Enid Blyton's most popular series. In their first adventure, the Famous Five find a shipwreck off Kirrin Island. But where is the treasure? The Famous Five are on the trail, looking for clues, but they're not alone. Someone else has got the same idea! Time is running out for the Famous Five - who will follow the clues and get to the treasure first?A beautiful full-colour gift edition featuring the text from the Classic edition, Quentin Blake's popular cover and brand new illustrations by Babette Cole.

Hodder Children's Books

Dark Tide

Jennifer Donnelly
Authors:
Jennifer Donnelly

Six mermaids battle to save their hidden world.Leaders of a resistance to the barbaric new regime, Serafina and Neela, are working hard to destabilise Vallerio, the new ruler of Cerulea. Becca, Ava and Ling are still hunting for their ancestors' talismans; the keys to keeping an ancient evil locked in its icy prison. Astrid finally returns home to Ondalina to find that all is not as she left it, and a sinister human with empty, black eyes offers her power she never dreamed of ...The third book in the Waterfire Saga.

Hodder Children's Books

Rogue Wave

Jennifer Donnelly
Authors:
Jennifer Donnelly
Orion Children's Books

The Glory

Lauren St John
Authors:
Lauren St John
Orion Children's Books

Rendezvous in Russia

Lauren St John
Authors:
Lauren St John
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Frankie and the World Cup Carnival

Frank Lampard
Authors:
Frank Lampard

Frankie and his friends and their dog, Max, are magic-ed to Brazil where they must track down three key items to help England win the World Cup: the referee's whistle, a football and the trophy. Their adventures take them through a jungle, a Rio carnival and onto the beach for a game that could change the history of the tournament.

Hodder Children's Books

Hello H2O

John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura
Contributors:
John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura

From water-vapour to robots and outer-space to water, this highly original collection from John Agard, winner of the Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry, explores everything exciting about science. Delighting in the wonder and oddities physics, biology and chemistry have to offer, these poems will bring out the scientist in you!

Orchard Books

Snow Bear Sanctuary

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

Wicked Queen Malice has cast a spell on Summer's storybook and unleashed all the fairytale baddies into the Secret Kingdom. Ellie, Summer and Jasmine are thrilled to visit the snow brownies' animal sanctuary and help look after all the cute animals. But a hungry ogre has been eating their food! Can the girls catch the ogre, get him back in the book and save the animals?

Orion Children's Books

Kentucky Thriller

Lauren St John
Authors:
Lauren St John
Orchard Books

Belle the Birthday Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Belle the Birthday Fairy uses her magical objects to make sure that all birthdays are filled with joy and laughter! But nasty Jack Frost has stolen these magical items... Can best friends Kirsty and Rachel help Belle find them?

Orchard Books

Dive Bombing

Bernard Ashley
Authors:
Bernard Ashley
Orion Children's Books

The White Giraffe Series: The White Giraffe and Dolphin Song

Lauren St John, David Dean
Contributors:
Lauren St John, David Dean

11 year old Martine's African adventures begin in THE WHITE GIRAFFE and DOLPHIN SONG, as she meets a magical white giraffe, rescues beached dolphins, and learns of an ancient prophecy that says the child who rides the white giraffe will have power over all the animals.Martine is eleven when she goes to live on a game reserve in South Africa. One night she looks out of her window and sees a giraffe - silver, tinged with cinnamon in the moonlight. In that instant, she knows that she is prepared to risk everything for it, and her thrilling adventures as the child who can ride the white giraffe begin.Join Martine in these heart-warming stories, as she discovers her special gift of healing, and rescues beached dolphins in the islands of Mozambique.These are books full of charm and atmosphere and stunning African landscapes, which will enchant animal lovers everywhere.

Orchard Books

Grabber

Chris d'Lacey, Adam Stower
Contributors:
Chris d'Lacey, Adam Stower

There's a burglar on the loose in Scrubbley! What will happen when he steals one of the Wayward Crescent dragons? Will Grabber become a robber too?

Orion Children's Books

Dead Man's Cove

Lauren St John
Authors:
Lauren St John
Orion Children's Books

Oath Breaker

Michelle Paver
Authors:
Michelle Paver
Orchard Books

Seriously Silly Stories: Little Red Riding Wolf

Laurence Anholt, Michael Rosen, Arthur Robins
Contributors:
Laurence Anholt, Michael Rosen, Arthur Robins