Jo Weaver - Little Tigers - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444937527
    • Publication date:21 Feb 2019

Little Tigers

By Jo Weaver

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Told through the eyes of a tiger and her two cubs, this beautiful book is a story of nature, migration, family and the strength of parental love.

Mother Tiger and her two cubs journey through their jungle habitat, searching high and low for the perfect new home where they will be safe. A beautifully illustrated celebration of the love between parent and child and the wonders of the natural world.

With its mesmerising, atmospheric charcoal drawings and lyrical storytelling, Jo Weaver's new picture book has the feel of an instant classic. Perfect for fans of BBC's Planet Earth.

Jo Weaver was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration New Talent Awards.

Biographical Notes

Jo Weaver had a career as a support worker in the non-profit sector before retraining as an illustrator. She completed an MA degree in Children's Book Illustration at the Cambridge School of Art in 2014, where she discovered a love of working in charcoal. Shortly afterwards she was shortlisted for the Association of Illustrator's newcomer's Awards. Jo lives with her young family in north London, and when she's not drawing she can be found escaping the city to walk and explore in the wild outdoors.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444937541
  • Publication date: 21 Feb 2019
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Orchard Books

Reindeer Recovery

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Hodder Children's Books

Mrs Blackhat and the ZoomBroom

Mick Inkpen, Chloe Inkpen
Authors:
Mick Inkpen, Chloe Inkpen
Wren & Rook

How Big is Our Baby?

Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Britta Teckentrup
Contributors:
Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Britta Teckentrup
Hodder Children's Books

The Hottentops at No. 87

Kes Gray, Chris Jevons
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Chris Jevons

Nelly isn't scared of monsters. In fact, she babysits for them. From the bestselling author of the OI FROG! and DAISY books comes this hilarious, action-packed series for fans of THE BOLDS and BARRY LOSER.'If monsters are real, how come I've never seen one?''Because they never go out.''Why don't monsters ever go out?''Because they can never get a babysitter.'Ever swum with a Water Greep, or played hotscotch with a Hottentop? Every time Nelly rings on a new monster family's doorbell she's up for a new challenge. Come on her monster-sitting adventures in this laugh-out-loud funny third book in the NELLY THE MONSTER SITTER series. Kes Gray is one of the Independent's top ten children's authors, and winner of the Red House Children's Book Award.This is a brand-new story in the Nelly the Monster Sitter series, never before published, and illustrated by the hugely talented Chris Jevons.

Wayland

Acorn to Oak Tree

Rachel Tonkin
Authors:
Rachel Tonkin
Wayland

Worms

Susie Williams
Authors:
Susie Williams
Franklin Watts

Cam's Kite

Jackie Walter, Tomislav Zlatic
Contributors:
Jackie Walter, Tomislav Zlatic

When Cam and Dad take a kite to the field, it flies up high... but when the kite gets stuck in the tree, Dad has to come to the rescue!Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Pat-a-Cake

Amazing Animals

Pat-a-Cake, Gwé
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Gwé

This special fold-out roundabout book with lots of animal friends is perfect for tummy time and for helping with first language development for babies.Talking to babies is absolutely vital from the day they are born. These books are specially created to help bathe babies in language - the key to later speech development.Babies will squeal with happiness when they see and touch all the friendly creatures in their different homes, in this special fold-out roundabout book that is perfect to set up on the floor for tummy time. From dolphins to foxes, there are lots of animals to spot, and the pages have large textured areas to touch and explore. This title also introduces animal sounds for carers and babies to roar, squeak and splash along with. The charming art and lots to talk about on every page mean that this book is sure to become a firm favourite. Also available: Farmyard Friends, Go, Car, Go!

Hodder Children's Books

Little Whale

Jo Weaver
Authors:
Jo Weaver

Told through the eyes of a whale and her calf, this mesmerisingly beautiful book is a story of migration, family and the strength of parental love."We're going home, Little Whale," said her mother. Travelling from the warm weather of the south, through coral reefs, kelp forests and glittering shoals of fish, Little Whale follows her mother north. For in the icy north is their family - but also great danger...With its evocative charcoal drawings and lyrical storytelling, Jo Weaver's illustrations have the feel of an instant classic celebrating the tender relationship between parent and child.Jo Weaver was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration New Talent Awards 2014.

Hodder Children's Books

Your Baby's First Word Will Be Dada

Jimmy Fallon, Miguel Ordonez
Contributors:
Jimmy Fallon, Miguel Ordonez
Hodder Children's Books

Little One

Jo Weaver
Authors:
Jo Weaver
Orchard Books

The Orchard Book of Bedtime Fairy Tales

Helen Craig
Authors:
Helen Craig
Orion Children's Books

The Boy Who Made Things Up

Margaret Mahy, Jenny Williams
Contributors:
Margaret Mahy, Jenny Williams

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.Michael loves to make things up, and when he and his dad go for a walk, they can't believe what they see. Islands. Giants. Even mermaids...A brand-new full colour Early Reader edition of this favourite story, with charming illustrations by Jenny Williams, illustrator of the beautiful and classic picture book, A LION IN THE MEADOW.

Orchard Books

The Memory Tree

Britta Teckentrup, Britta Teckentrup
Contributors:
Britta Teckentrup, Britta Teckentrup

A beautiful and heartfelt picture book to help children celebrate the memories left behind when a loved one dies.Fox has lived a long and happy life in the forest, but now he is tired. He lies down in his favourite clearing, and falls asleep for ever. Before long, Fox's friends begin to gather in the clearing. One by one, they tell stories of the special moments that they shared with Fox. And so, as they share their memories, a tree begins to grow, becoming bigger and stronger with each memory, sheltering and protecting all the animals in the forest, just as Fox did when he was alive. This gentle story about the loss of a loved one is perfect for sharing and will bring comfort to both children and parents.

Orchard Books

Pink Chameleon

Fiona Dunbar
Authors:
Fiona Dunbar
Orchard Books

The Lion Who Wanted To Love

Giles Andreae, David Wojtowycz
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, David Wojtowycz

From the author of international bestseller, Giraffes Can't Dance, comes this feel-good rhyming story about a brave little lion who dares to be different ...Leo isn't like other lion cubs. Instead of chasing zebras and antelopes, he wants to make friends with them. But can a lion who's so different ever fit in with the rest of his pride? Learn how Leo's kindness brings happiness to the jungle in this colourful picture book story. Winner of the Red House Children's Book Award.

Anna Claybourne

Anna Claybourne has written over 150 children's books on all kinds of subjects, from sharks, black holes and splitting the atom to how to draw, Shakespeare's life, and Greek myths and legends. She knows a lot about conservation in the rain forests of Costa Rica as she once volunteered there for three months. She likes space, sewing and music, plays the trombone and loves going camping.

Brian Moses

Brian Moses lives in the village of Etchingham with his wife Anne, a loopy labrador called Honey and a collection of bad-tempered chickens.He first worked as a teacher but has now been a professional children's poet since 1988. To date he has over 200 books published including volumes of his own poetry such as Holding the Hands of Angels (Salt) and Behind the Staffroom Door (Macmillan), anthologies such as The Secret Lives of Teachers and Aliens Stole My Underpants (both Macmillan), picture books such as Beetle in the Bathroom and Trouble at the Dinosaur Cafe (both Puffin) and non-fiction titles such as Titanic: Lost & Saved (Wayland). Over 1 million copies of Brian's poetry books have now been sold by Macmillan and in 2005 he was nominated for both the CLPE Award and the Spoken Word Award. Brian also visits schools to run writing workshops and perform his own poetry and percussion shows. To date he has visited well over 2500 schools and libraries throughout the UK. He has made several appearances at the Edinburgh Festival, been writer in residence at Castle Cornet on Guernsey, on the Romney, Hythe and Dymchurch Light Railway and at RAF schools in Cyprus. Recently he has visited several International schools in Germany, Switzerland, Belgium, Italy, Spain, France and Ireland.He has performed his poetry at Borders on Second Avenue, New York and in September 2006 he was invited to Iceland to take part in 'Kids in the Marsh' - a festival of children's poetry and song. At the request of Prince Charles he spoke at the Prince's Summer School for Teachers in 2007 at Cambridge University. He is one of ten children's poets invited by then Poet Laureate Andrew Motion to feature on the National Poetry Archive.Favourite book: 'Turtle Diary' by Russell Hoban.Favourite Movie: One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest Favourite Music: Bob Dylan

Britta Teckentrup

Britta Teckentrup is an illustrator, fine artist and writer. She was born in Hamburg, Germany, and went on to study at St. Martin's College and the Royal College of Art in London. Britta has created over 40 books, translated in 20 languages worldwide, and her artwork has been shown at exhibitions all over the world. She lives and works in Berlin with her artist husband and their young son.

Carly Gledhill

Carly Gledhill developed her distinctive style illustrating for clients including Paperchase, H&M and M&S. Inspired by a love of colour, character design and textiles she has worked on a wide range of products, including children's clothing, books and stationery. She lives and works in Stockport.