Emma Marriott - Violence Against Women - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Violence Against Women

By Emma Marriott

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

In-depth explorations of big topics in today's world.

Go behind the headlines to explore the wider background of news stories that are making a major impact across the world. In Violence Against Women we ask why so many women across the world are victims of violence, from domestic abuse and rape to forced abortions, female genital mutilation and murder. Why does it happen, who are the perpetrators and what can be done to stop it happening?

Biographical Notes

The author, Emma Marriott, is an experienced writer and editor of non-fiction for young people, specialising in history, popular culture and current affairs.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750282574
  • Publication date: 23 Oct 2014
  • Page count: 48
  • Imprint: Wayland
Franklin Watts

Heroes Who Help Us From Around the World

Liz Gogerly, Ryan Wheatcroft
Contributors:
Liz Gogerly, Ryan Wheatcroft

Think of a person who does a heroic job. Perhaps you're thinking of a firefighter who puts out burning buildings, or a doctor who makes sick people better? These people are definitely heroes, but our world is full of lots of amazing people who's job it is to help us. From police officers to park rangers, from lifeguards to librarians and from vets to volunteers, the heroes who help us are everywhere!Stunning artwork of our heroes in action is accompanied by easy-to-read text, which is great for sharing with your child as they learn to read, or for more confident readers who can read alone.A truly inclusive and positive book, Heroes Who Help Us represents the diversity of people on our planet and celebrates Earth's infinite varieties of race, gender, ethnicity and abilities. Perfect for children aged 5+ who are learning about values and citizenship, and for curious minds eager to find out a little more about the amazing people in our world.

Franklin Watts

An Adventurous History of Pirates

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Take a chronological look at a some very adventurous pirates. Blast around the world with the raiders of the high seas and find out what life was (and still is) like for these often ruthless criminals of the waves. Discover if you would have had what it takes to be the captain of a pirate ship, sail the 'pirate round', fight for your life or brave long voyages to hostile lands!Blast Through the Past takes a look at some of the weird jobs people in the past had to do and the skills they needed in order to explore new lands, win battles or make amazing breakthroughs in science. Get under the skin of the most famous and infamous, the cleverest and some of the the barmiest people who have shaped history.Blast Through the Past is a series aimed at children aged 8+. These books build historical skills at Key Stage 2 by encouraging children to consider cause and effect, and why certain events happened at certain times.

Hodder Children's Books

Rose, Interrupted

Patrice Lawrence
Authors:
Patrice Lawrence
Franklin Watts

Body Brilliant

Nicola Morgan
Authors:
Nicola Morgan
Franklin Watts

Beating Stress and Anxiety

Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Contributors:
Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Franklin Watts

Your Brain and Body

Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Contributors:
Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Franklin Watts

Your Emotions

Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Contributors:
Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Franklin Watts

Social Media and You

Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Contributors:
Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Wren & Rook

You Got This

Bryony Gordon
Authors:
Bryony Gordon

'A book that every teenage girl needs to read ... and every grown woman will wish she had read' Fearne Cotton'Bold. Brilliant. Bryony! This is the ultimate guide to growing up happy' Dr Max PembertonI wanted to be a unicorn. I wanted to be a lawyer. I wanted to be an astronaut. But the thing I really wanted to be more than anything else, was a little less like me.It was only recently that I realised not wanting to be me was at the heart of every dumb decision I ever made. And so now I am writing this book containing all the life lessons I wish someone had taught me. A book for the teenage girl in me. And for every teenage girl out there. Because the most powerful thing you can be when you grow up is yourself.

Orion Children's Books

The Astonishing Colour of After

Emily X. R. Pan
Authors:
Emily X. R. Pan
Orion Children's Books

They Saw Too Much

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

Two teenagers witness a murder - and now they're the next targets. An action-packed, edge-of-your-seat YA thriller from bestselling author, Alan Gibbons. Gripping and gritty, perfect for fans of Kevin Brooks, Patrice Lawrence and Malorie Blackman.Sixteen-year-old John has moved away from the tough inner-city neighbourhood he grew up in and started afresh. Ceri James is the guarded girl from the children's home who has captivated his attention. But when their lives are thrown together, it's not in the way John had hoped. They witness a man die.Not only are they eye-witnesses of the fatal shooting, but John caught the whole thing on camera - and the culprits know it. Now, John and Ceri must run for their lives in a deadly, heart-stopping chase that leads them in dark and ever more dangerous directions.So why does John refuse to call the police? As secrets are revealed and loyalties doubted, John and Ceri's world hinges on one question - when it's a matter of life or death, who can you really trust?

Franklin Watts

20th Century Russia

Heather Maisner
Authors:
Heather Maisner
Orchard Books

King Slayer

Virginia Boecker
Authors:
Virginia Boecker
Orchard Books

A Pocket Full of Murder

R J Anderson
Authors:
R J Anderson
Wayland

Did Anything Good Come Out of... the Great Depression?

Emma Marriott
Authors:
Emma Marriott
Wayland

Did Anything Good Come Out of... WWII?

Emma Marriott
Authors:
Emma Marriott
Franklin Watts

Remembering the Fallen of the First World War

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley

Remembering the Fallen of the First World War takes a fascinating and detailed look at how servicemen killed during the First World War were commemorated. Beginning during the war itself, the book investigates the options available at the time - repatriation and normal burial were intially considered, but the sheer number of the dead precluded this, so cemeteries close the battlefields became the only realistic option. The book chronicles the work of Sir Fabian Ware and the Imperial (now Commonwealth) War Graves Commission in setting up permanent and beautifully maintained cemeteries after the war as well as local war memorials, plaques in churches, books of remembrance and so forth. The book also includes poetry written and artwork created to honour the fallen, and offers advice on how young readers can find their ancestors' war graves. A must have book on World War One for ages 11 and up.

Orchard Books

Don't Even Think About It

Sarah Mlynowski
Authors:
Sarah Mlynowski

This is the story of how we became freaks. It's how a group of I's became a we.When Class 10B got their flu shots, they expected some side effects. Maybe a sore arm. Maybe a headache. They definitely didn't expect to get telepathy. But suddenly they could hear what everyone was thinking. Their friends. Their teachers. Their parents. Now they all know that Tess has a crush on her best friend, Teddy. That Mackenzie cheated on Cooper. That Nurse Carmichael used to be a stripper. Some of them will thrive. Some of them will break. None of them will ever be the same. A smart and funny story about friendship, first love and surviving high school from the bestselling author of Ten Things We Shouldn't Have Done.

Orchard Books

Fractured

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Kyla's memory has been erased,her personality wiped blank,her memories lost for ever.Or so she thought.Kyla shouldn't be able to remember anything. But she can - and she's beginning to realise that there are a lot of dark secrets locked away in her memories. When a mysterious man from her past comes back into her life, she thinks she's on her way to finding the truth. But the more she learns about her history, the more confusing her future becomes...Set in a disturbing future world, FRACTURED is an engrossing, fast-paced read that establishes Teri Terry as a master thriller writer.Book 2 in the acclaimed SLATED trilogy.

Orchard Books

The Nightmare Factory: Rise of the Shadowmares

L A Jones
Authors:
L A Jones

Andrew and his twin sister, Poppy, thought they had defeated Vesuvius, the master of the Nightmare Factory, once and for all. They were wrong. Now his power is rising, and his army of Shadowmares have managed to cross to Earth. They rule the night, feeding off humans' fear in 'fear farms' where they have build hundreds of fear pods. Andrew learns that the only way to stop them, and stop Vesuvius, is to find an ancient artefact, the Fender's feather, which holds enough magic to power a dream catcher for Earth. The mission will be long and difficult, and time is running out...