Jane Simmons - Come On, Daisy! - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408324936
    • Publication date:03 Jan 2013
Books in this series

Come On, Daisy!

By Jane Simmons

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Daisy the duckling is lost! Will she find her way back to Mamma?

Mamma Duck tells Daisy to stay close, but Daisy thinks that chasing dragonflies and bouncing on lilypads looks much more fun . . .

This warm and comforting story, starring Daisy the duck, has been delighting children for over 15 years.

Biographical Notes

Jane has tried her hand at landscape gardening, futon making, teaching basket weaving and soft toy making but claims the only thing that has held her interest was the idea of writing and illustrating children's books. \n \nAs a mature student, Jane studied illustration at Anglia University, Cambridge. During her course, her talent was recognised with several awards including the Association of Illustrators Images 20 Student Prize in 1995. \n \nThe success of Jane's Daisy titles has been phenomenal. Her artwork is irresistible and Daisy, the little duck with big feet, is loved the world over. Jane currently lives in France.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781843622727
  • Publication date: 02 Sep 2004
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
"A simple but universal idea, fabulously illustrated" — Sunday Telegraph
"a neat plot, a playful text and sensuous visual effects! — Times Educational Supplement
"written and illustrated with remarkable style and panache" — Publishing News
"The atmospheric illustrations are terrific and will leave children demanding more" — Book Start Guide
"as ducklings go, Daisy must be one of the most endearing" — Parent's Guide
Delightful. — Junior
A very special book... perfect for quiet time or reading just before bed. A real treasure. * * * * * — Bookbag
A touching picture book with very cute vivid illustrations. Perfect for beginner readers. — Primary Times
This reassuring and beautiful picture book from Jane Simmons is ideal for reading together, and has stood the test of time. — Booktrust
Hodder Children's Books

Mrs Blackhat

Mick Inkpen, Chloe Inkpen
Authors:
Mick Inkpen, Chloe Inkpen

An exciting new story from the bestselling team behind Kipper, I Will Love You Anyway and Fred.Over the gateat number 8,round the back,through the flapand onto the lapof Mrs Blackhat!Meet Mrs Blackhat, a witch who just loves the colour black. From her broom to her hat, all is black... apart from her cat. What can she do to fix this problem? Find out in this hilarious, rhyming story!Praise for I Will Love You Anyway:'Charming, sad and funny. The day it arrived, my three-year old insisted we read it thirteen consecutive times' - Huffington Post

Hodder Children's Books

How to Scare a Ghost

Jean Reagan, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Jean Reagan, Lee Wildish
Hodder Children's Books

A Home on the River

Peter Bently, Charles Fuge
Contributors:
Peter Bently, Charles Fuge
Orchard Books

A T-Wit for a T-Woo

Charlie Farley, Layn Marlow
Contributors:
Charlie Farley, Layn Marlow
Orchard Books

The Littlest Things Give the Loveliest Hugs

Mark Sperring, Maddie Frost
Contributors:
Mark Sperring, Maddie Frost

This glorious rhyming celebration of love and hugs introduces baby animals from the jungle to the Antarctic, the forest to the ocean - along with their adoring parents! Ducklings, seal pups, penguins, chicks and cubs . . . every mummy and daddy knows that the littlest things give the loveliest hugs!With the feel of an instant classic, this lyrical book is perfect for cuddle time.Mark Sperring is the bestselling author of Father Christmas on the Naughty Step and How Many Sleeps Till Christmas.

Hodder Children's Books

Oi Goat!

Kes Gray, Jim Field
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Jim Field

Created for World Book Day, the next hilarious rhyming picture book from award-winning Kes Gray and Roald Dahl Funny Prize winner Jim Field, following the bestselling Oi Frog!, Oi Dog! and Oi Cat! Dogs put on clogs,'Gators dress as waiters,And ants put on pants!Frog turns stylist in this boisterous picture book, making all the animals put on their glad rags for World Book Day. But will everyone be as fashion forward as Frog?Praise for Oi Frog!: 'An absolute treat.' - Daily Mail'Everyone will love it.' - GuardianKes is one of the Independent's TOP TEN children's authors and winner of the Red House Children's Book Award. Jim's first picture book Cats Ahoy! won the Roald Dahl Funny Prize in 2011. Oi Dog! is shortlisted for the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award 2016.

Hodder Children's Books

Little Whale

Jo Weaver
Authors:
Jo Weaver

Told through the eyes of a whale and her calf, this mesmerisingly beautiful book is a story of migration, family and the strength of parental love.Little Whale has never seen the cold, rich waters of the north. She and her mother travel from the warm southern ocean, passing coral reefs, kelp forests and shoals of shimmering fish - with her mother guiding her and protecting her all the way home. With the evocative charcoal drawings shot through with blue, and the lyrical storytelling, Jo Weaver's story has the feel of an instant classic, celebrating the tender relationship between parent and child.Jo's previous book, Little One, was longlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal 2016. Jo Weaver was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration New Talent Awards 2014.

Orchard Books

All I Want For Christmas

Rachel Bright
Authors:
Rachel Bright

Two penguins discover that love is the perfect gift at Christmas in this sparkling festive picture book!The countdown to Christmas has begun and there is so much for Little Penguin to be excited about: decorating the tree, cooking festive treats, sending a letter to Santa, wrapping presents, and much more. But what does Big Penguin want for Christmas? The answer will warm the hearts of every penguin, big or small!From the bestselling author of The Lion Inside and The Koala Who Could.Rachel Bright's card and gift range The Bright Side has sold over 7.5 million cards and over three million gifts worldwide. lookonthebrightside.co.uk

Hodder Children's Books

The Adventures of Egg Box Dragon

Richard Adams, Alex T. Smith
Contributors:
Richard Adams, Alex T. Smith
Orchard Books

The Squirrels Who Squabbled

Rachel Bright, Jim Field
Contributors:
Rachel Bright, Jim Field

Two greedy squirrels learn to share in the third hilarious rhyming adventure from the bestselling creators of THE LION INSIDE.Greedy squirrels Cyril and Bruce both have their sights on a very special prize: THE VERY LAST NUT OF THE SEASON! As the nut bounces crazily though the forest, the squirrels race after it, between the trees, over boulders, down the river and - ARGH! - right to the edge of a waterfall! Working together might be the only way to save themselves now ...A laugh-out-loud tale about friendship and sharing from the bestselling creators of THE LION INSIDE and THE KOALA WHO COULD. Perfect for competitive friends and sibling rivals!Praise for THE LION INSIDE:'A heartfelt message, delightfully conveyed' Parents in Touch 'A delight to read over and over again' WRD'Captivating' Books for Keeps 'Will easily win over readers' The Book List'Field is on top form, offering so many imaginative framings and irreverent characterizations that readers will feel carried along by his visual and comedic generosity.' Publishers Weekly 'Brilliant ... had me in hoots of laughter' The Bookbag

Orchard Books

The Koala Who Could

Rachel Bright, Jim Field
Contributors:
Rachel Bright, Jim Field
Hodder Children's Books

I Will Love You Anyway

Mick Inkpen, Chloe Inkpen
Contributors:
Mick Inkpen, Chloe Inkpen

I don't do 'sit!'I don't do 'stay!'But I will love you anyway.From the celebrated creators of Kipper, Wibbly Pig, and Zoe and Beans comes a picture book to treasure. Dog is very badly behaved - he destroys everything, chases cars and won't stop running away! But when he finds himself lost and alone there is one person he can count on.Praise for Mick Inkpen:'You simply cannot fail to win smiles with a new book about Kipper.' Daily Mail'The charmingly comical Inkpen, as always, hits the spot.' GuardianPraise for Zoe and Beans:'These books will become well-loved members of any child's book collection.' CarouselFor activities, competitions and other fun stuff check out www.chloeinkpen.com

Orchard Books

Belle & Boo and the Very Merry Christmas

Mandy Sutcliffe
Authors:
Mandy Sutcliffe

Enter the charming world of Belle and Boo, a bob-haired little girl and her adorable bunny friend. Follow the adventures of this curious pair as they enjoy the simple pleasures of childhood, drawing us into a magical world of imagination and discovery.It's almost Christmas Day. Time to decorate the tree, hang up stockings and bake delicious treats. Boo thinks the best thing about Christmas is the presents waiting for him under the tree. But, with a little help from his friend Belle, Boo learns that kindness and sharing will make for the merriest Christmas of all.This delightful tale with vintage-inspired illustrations is perfect for fans of Beatrix Potter and Winnie-the-Pooh.

Franklin Watts

Tiddlers: Henry's Favourite Friend

Jane Simmons
Authors:
Jane Simmons

Henry the dog loves playing, especially with his favourite furry friend, Sam the cat.The Tiddlers series features fun stories with a word count of fewer than 50 words for children who are just starting to read.A word list at the beginning of the story allows for a quick check of the  reader's ability to read and understand words before reading, and a puzzle at the end of the story encourages rereading for pleasure.

Orchard Books

Lily Gets Lost

Jane Simmons
Authors:
Jane Simmons

Curious Lily meets all the farm animals but discovers that she's happiest with her mamma, in this gentle and reassuring story by the creator of the bestselling Daisy series.

Orchard Books

Ship's Cat Doris

Jane Simmons
Authors:
Jane Simmons

When the owners of 'Prosperity' choose a little kitten to be their new ship's cat, they think he's a girl and name him Doris! But soon Doris finds this isn't his only problem: settling into life on board and finding his place alongside the ship's dogs, Little Madge and Big John, and Freda, their dotty bird, is going to be tricky. Not to mention facing the local shipyard bully, Jasper. Can Doris find his feet in this new world and learn to be proud to be a ship's cat?Meet a brilliant cast of animal characters in this charming story of friendship and belonging, with beautiful black and white illustrations throughout.

Orchard Books

Beryl Goes Wild

Jane Simmons, Jane Simmons
Contributors:
Jane Simmons, Jane Simmons
Hodder Children's Books

The Huge Bag of Worries

Virginia Ironside, Frank Rodgers
Contributors:
Virginia Ironside, Frank Rodgers

'This book can be read millions of times when you are worried.' - Books for KeepsA big book edition of the compelling and bestselling picture book which can be used as a spring board into what worries children today - perfect for the classroom.Wherever Jenny goes, her worries follow her - in a big blue bag. They are there when she goes swimming, when she is watching TV, and even when she is in the lavatory. Jenny decides they will have to go. But who can help her?The Huge Bag of Worries was written by Virginia Ironside, one of Britain's leading agony aunts, and has sold 140k copies to date.

Hodder Children's Books

Enormous Elephant

Mwenye Hadithi, Adrienne Kennaway
Contributors:
Mwenye Hadithi, Adrienne Kennaway

In the days before the Big Rains, many of the animals looked very different. This is the story of how Enormous Elephant came to wave his long trunk and swish his long tail on the Great Plains.

Hodder Children's Books

Laughing Giraffe

Mwenye Hadithi, Adrienne Kennaway
Contributors:
Mwenye Hadithi, Adrienne Kennaway