Andrew Matthews - Romeo And Juliet - Hachette Children's Group

Romeo And Juliet

By Andrew Matthews
Illustrated by Tony Ross

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

The perfect introduction to Shakespeare's classic play for 6-11 year-olds

But soft, what light through yonder window breaks? It is the east, and Juliet is the sun... A beautiful retelling of Shakespeare's most famous love story. With Notes on Shakespeare and the Globe Theatre and Love and Hate in Romeo and Juliet. The tales have been retold using accessible language and with the help of Tony Ross's engaging black-and-white illustrations, each play is vividly brought to life allowing these culturally enriching stories to be shared with as wide an audience as possible.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781841213361
  • Publication date: 28 Aug 2003
  • Page count: 64
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
Wayland

Save the Animals

Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen

Good to be Green is a series of six environment education books that help children age 6+ explore green issues and find out what they can do to help the planet. Each book features the story of a child who is exploring their world and learning why it's important to think green. Alongside the stories are fact boxes with extra information and at the end of each story there are activity ideas, teaching notes and a quiz. Each story is accompanied by bright illustrations by Diane Ewen.

Wayland

Save and Mend

Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen

Good to be Green is a series of six environment education books that help children age 6+ explore green issues and find out what they can do to help the planet. Each book features the story of a child who is exploring their world and learning why it's important to think green. Alongside the stories are fact boxes with extra information and at the end of each story there are activity ideas, teaching notes and a quiz. Each story is accompanied by bright illustrations by Diane Ewen.

Wayland

Let's Walk to School

Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen

This environment education story follows Tom who is usually driven to school by his mum, but they always get stuck in traffic. At last Tom walks to school, and he learns that walking is better for your health and so much better for the planet. Panels alongside the story explore topics such as pollution and climate change.Good to be Green is a series of six environment education books that help children age 6+ explore green issues and find out what they can do to help the planet. Each book features the story of a child who is exploring their world and learning why it's important to think green. Alongside the stories are fact boxes with extra information and at the end of each story there are activity ideas, teaching notes and a quiz. Each story is accompanied by bright illustrations by Diane Ewen.

Wayland

Don't Waste Your Food

Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Wayland

Turn off the Tap

Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Wayland

Rubbish or Recycling?

Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen

Twins, Nadia and Nasir are keen to enter the school recycling competition, but what should they make? As they explore the rubbish in their house, they discover what can and can't be recycled and what happens to their rubbish. They learn about reducing, reusing and recycling and come up with a clever plan to help everyone at school work out what is rubbish and what is recycling.Good to be Green is a series of six environment education books that help children age 6+ explore green issues and find out what they can do to help the planet. Each book features the story of a child who is exploring their world and learning why it's important to think green. Alongside the stories are fact boxes with extra information and at the end of each story there are activity ideas, teaching notes and a quiz. Each story is accompanied by bright illustrations by Diane Ewen.

Franklin Watts

Mammals, Birds and other Vertebrates

Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas
Contributors:
Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas

A fascinating insight in to some of the incredible invertebrates that lived on Earth millions of years ago. Hundreds of millions of years before humans had evolved, our planet was already teeming with life. In prehistoric oceans, stony deserts, warm swamps and vast grasslands, there lived an incredible variety of plants and animals.Vertebrate life came in many forms. Fearsome sabre-toothed cats hunted prey in wide grasslands, flying reptiles ruled the skies and terrifying monstrous sharks patrolled the ocean depths.Delve into Prehistoric Life and discover some astounding mammals, birds and other vertebrates that once lived on Earth. This stunningly illustrated series looks at life in the prehistoric era, focusing not just on dinosaurs, but looking at the world as a whole. The prehistoric era is absolutely fascinating for children and adults alike, and is useful for schools studying history chronologically. Amazingly detailed and accurate illustrations bring the prehistoric era to life. Engaging reading for children aged 7+.Prehistoric Life is a series of four books:Mammals, Birds and other VertebratesInsects, Bugs and other InvertebratesPlantsDinosaurs

Wayland

Poems About The Seaside

Brian Moses, Marcela Calderon
Contributors:
Brian Moses, Marcela Calderon

This anthology of poems, compiled by Brian Moses, contains a mix of light-hearted poems and more serious ones, poems that rhyme and those that don't. There are plenty of good 'read alouds', thumping choruses, and the sort of poems that children can use as models for their own writing. Poetry is a key feature of the new National Curriculum and these fantastic poems are perfectly suited for this.Beautiful illustrations bring each poem vividly to life.Poems include: Are We Nearly There Yet? by Brian Moses; Beach Counting by Tony Mitton; I Do Like to be Beside the Seaside by John A. Glover-Kind; The Seagull's Song by June Crebbin; Seagulls With Everything by Brian Moses; Seaside Sounds by John Foster: A Single Wave by Ian Souter; The 7th Wave by Jan Dean; There's An Ocean in this Seashell by Graham Denton; Shells by Debra Bertulis; Skimming Stones on the Sea by Jane Clarke; Treasure Chest Mystery by Kate Williams; Playtime Pirate (Action Rhyme) by Tony Mitton; Letters in Bottles by Clare Bevan; The Bucket by James Carter; Rock Pool by Matt Goodfellow; The Friendly Octopus by Mike Jubb; Crab by Irene Assiba D'Almeida; Man on the Beach by Joshua Seigal.Read poems compiled by Brian Moses on other topics such as Poems About Animals; Poems About Seasons and Poems About Festivals.

Hodder Children's Books

The Mystery of the Disappearing Cat

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

The Find-Outers is a clever mystery series from bestselling author Enid Blyton, and perfect for fans of The Secret Seven. A prize winning Siamese Cat has been stolen, and all evidence points to the Find-Outers' friend Luke. Fatty Larry, Daisy, Pip and Bets know Luke is innocent, but how can they prove it? The Find-Outers have another mystery to solve!First published in 1944, this edition contains the orginal text and is unillustrated.

Wayland

Samuel Pepys

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Read all about Samuel Pepys and the diary he wrote 400 years ago. Find out about the important events he recorded, such as the Great Fire of London and the Great Plague, and why he was known as the 'father of modern navy'. A simple fun picture quiz helps readers to recall what they have read. A perfect one-stop-shop for help with homework assignments!

Franklin Watts

Everyday Materials

Peter Riley
Authors:
Peter Riley
Wayland

What is Evolution?

Louise Spilsbury, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Louise Spilsbury, Mike Gordon

Looking at both the history of life on Earth and the scientific breakthroughs that led to our greater understanding of the living world, this book gives the definitive overview of the theory of evolution. It takes an in-depth look at the work of Charles Darwin, Thomas Huxley and Alfred Russel Wallace as well as topics such as genetic modification, artificial selection and bacterial resistance. Starting with fossils and early life forms, the book investigates the development and diversification of life on Earth over billions of years. Topics such as adaptation and specification, as well as convergent evolution, symbiosis and genetics help illustrate how evolution affects all living beings and has lead to the huge biodiversity we have on our planet today. Mike Gordon's illustrations lend a light touch and add a dash of humour.- Features biographies of key people, such as Charles Darwin, Alfred Russel Wallace, Thomas Huxley, James Watson and Francis Crick.- Matches the New Curriculum programmes of study for evolution, inheritance and genetics at KS2 and KS3.

Hodder Children's Books

First Term

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

For new girl Darrell Rivers, there are friends to be made, pranks to be played and fun to be had at Malory Towers in Enid Blyton's best-loved boarding school series.In book one, new girl Darrell is two terms behind her classmates and feels out of place and alone.Soon, however, Darrell makes friends as well as enemies as they induct new students, win and lose sporting matches and play tricks on teachers.Expect drama at Malory Towers!Between 1946 and 1951, Enid Blyton wrote six novels set at Malory Towers. This edition features the original text and is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

Last Term

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

New Term

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

Summer Term

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

Winter Term

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

For new girl Darrell Rivers, there are friends to be made, pranks to be played and fun to be had at Malory Towers in Enid Blyton's best-loved boarding school series.In book nine, Susan's in charge of the winter concert, but new teacher, Miss Tallant, won't let her make any decisions. When Miss interferes in a midnight feast, the girls realise that there's a spy in their midst.Expect more drama at Malory Towers!Between 1946 and 1951, Enid Blyton wrote six novels set at Malory Towers. Books 7-12 are authorised sequels of the series written by Pamela Cox in 2009 and focus on the adventures of Felicity Rivers, Susan Blake, and June Johns. This edition is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

Fun and Games

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

Secrets

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

Goodbye

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton