Anita Loughrey - Nature - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Nature

By Anita Loughrey

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

From dividing up cakes to reading timetables, this series shows how maths problem solving is needed in everyday life

Get kids engaged in maths with real-life problem solving. In each fully illustrated title maths topics are carefully explained in different scenarios. Children are then given problems to solve around the scenario. Topics covered include measurement (inches and centimetres, to litres and millilitres and units of time and days of the week), problems with numbers (by adding, subtracting, division and multiplication and using roman numerals), how to use fractions, decimal places and percentages, shapes (2-D and 3D) and statistics, such as tables, bar graphs, pie charts, and line graphs.
Each book is framed around a high interest area, perfect for children aged 7-9.

Biographical Notes

Anita Loughrey was a primary school teacher for seventeen years before becoming a full-time writer. She writes teacher resources, educational fiction and non-fiction on a wide variety of subjects for a wide range of publishers with over 85 books published in the UK and many more worldwide. She writes for the national writing magazine Writers' Forum and teaches creative writing.
Anita's favourite toy as a child was the typewriter she wrote her autobiography with at the age of ten. As nothing exciting ever happened, she made most of it up. Her interests include writing, reading children's books, knitting, jive dancing and camping with her family in their VW campervan. She reckons there is nothing better than sleeping under the stars and cooking in the great outdoors, as long as it isn't raining.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781526307965
  • Publication date: 13 Sep 2018
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Wayland
Wayland

Machines and Motors

Wayland

Your Body

Wayland

Our Universe

Orchard Books

A Purrfect Sleepover

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Wayland

Space

Anita Loughrey
Authors:
Anita Loughrey

Get kids engaged in maths with real-life problem solving. In each fully illustrated title maths topics are carefully explained in different scenarios. Children are then given problems to solve around the scenario. Topics covered include measurement (inches and centimetres, to litres and millilitres and units of time and days of the week), problems with numbers (by adding, subtracting, division and multiplication and using roman numerals), how to use fractions, decimal places and percentages, shapes (2-D and 3D) and statistics, such as tables, bar graphs, pie charts, and line graphs. Each book is framed around a high interest area, perfect for children aged 7-9.

Franklin Watts

Robin Hamster

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore

Take on the role of a cartoon hero in this fully interactive, wacky, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.The Sheriff of Snottingham is up to his old tricks - he's holding a 'find the best archer in the country' competition. It's sooooooo obviously a trap to capture Robin Hamster, outlaw of the forest. YOU are Robin! Can you escape from the Sheriff's men and save the day? Only YOU can decide... Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve Skidmore, and illustrated by the amazing Lee Robinson.Age appropriate for 6 to 8 year olds. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Franklin Watts

Invasion of the Botty Snatchers

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Orchard Books

Puppy in Peril

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Orchard Books

Fox Cub Danger

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

A brilliant animal series from multi-million selling author Lucy Daniels. With exciting animal rescues and real-life care tips, this is the perfect series for young animal lovers!Amelia and Sam love helping animals. But when they find an injured fox, they have to find new home for a whole fox family. Can they find the perfect place for the cute cubs, safely away from danger?

Orchard Books

Kitten Rescue

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

A brilliant animal series from multi-million selling author Lucy Daniels.With exciting animal rescues and real-life care tips, this is the perfect series for young animal lovers!Animal-mad Amelia is sad about moving house, until she discovers Animal Ark, where vets look after all kinds of animals in need. When they discover some baby kittens, Amelia and her new friend Sam are determined to help. But the kittens need thier mum, and she's gone missing! Can Amelia and Sam track her down in time?

Orchard Books

Bunny Trouble

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Wayland

Transport

Anita Loughrey
Authors:
Anita Loughrey
Wayland

Food

Anita Loughrey
Authors:
Anita Loughrey

Get kids engaged in maths with real-life problem solving. In each fully illustrated title maths topics are carefully explained in different scenarios. Children are then given problems to solve around the scenario. Topics covered include measurement (inches and centimetres, to litres and millilitres and units of time and days of the week), problems with numbers (by adding, subtracting, division and multiplication and using roman numerals), how to use fractions, decimal places and percentages, shapes (2-D and 3D) and statistics, such as tables, bar graphs, pie charts, and line graphs. Each book is framed around a high interest area, perfect for children aged 7-9.

Orion Children's Books

Iron Tide Rising

Carrie Ryan, John Parke Davis
Authors:
Carrie Ryan, John Parke Davis

Join Marrill and Fin in the fourth action-packed title in the epic adventure series from John Parke Davis and NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author, Carrie Ryan. Best friends and fearless explorers Fin and Marrill have shared countless thrilling adventures on the waters of the Pirate Stream, but neither could have predicted the evil that lies behind the mask of the Master of the Iron Ship.To stop him, they'll have to team up with their oldest enemy: the malevolent wizard Serth. As the iron tide surges across the Stream, Marrill and Fin must race from one bizarre world to the next, and even into the heart of the Stream itself, to challenge the most frightening foe they've ever encountered.This is the mind-blowing conclusion to the highly acclaimed and utterly original Map to Everywhere series.

Franklin Watts

Breath by Breath: A Mindfulness Guide to Feeling Calm

Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli
Contributors:
Paul Christelis, Elisa Paganelli
Franklin Watts

Dinner Ladies of Doooooom!

Tommy Donbavand, Kevin Myers
Contributors:
Tommy Donbavand, Kevin Myers

Written by the author of CBBC's Scream Street TV series!There's something weird going on at Penny Bridge School. Kids are asking for extra homework, demanding to stay in at break time to solve maths problems, and running their own spelling tests over lunch. It's unnatural!Two pupils set out to discover the cause of this very odd behaviour, and the trail leads them into the school canteen...Tommy Donbavand's Funny Shorts is a series of 4,000-word colour illustrated, chapter-based readers, which are perfect for bridging the gap between first chapter books and independent reading.Published by Franklin Watts EDGE, using off-white paper and a font recommended by the British Dyslexia Association.

Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed

This positive and empowering guide, by bestselling mindset author Matthew Syed, will help boys and girls build resilience, fulfil their potential and become successful, happy, awesome adults.I'm no good at sport ... I can't do maths ... I really struggle with exams ... Sound familiar?If you believe you can't do something, the chances are you won't try. But what if you really could get better at maths, or sport or exams? In fact, what if you could excel at anything you put your mind to?You Are Awesome can help you do just that, inspiring and empowering young readers to find the confidence to realise their potential. The first children's book from Times journalist, two-time Olympian and best-selling mindset author Matthew Syed, it uses examples of successful people from Mozart to Serena Williams to demonstrate that success really is earned rather than given, and that talent can be acquired. With hard work and determination, practice and self-belief, and, most importantly, a Growth Mindset, there's no reason why anyone can't achieve anything. Practical, insightful and positive, this is the book to help children build resilience, embrace their mistakes and grow into successful, happy adults.

Orion Children's Books

The Cloak of Feathers

Nigel Quinlan
Authors:
Nigel Quinlan

Every hundred years, in the magical town of Knockmealldown, fairies known as the Good Folk join the villagers for a Great Festival. It's a raucous, beautiful, enchanted celebration.Well, it's supposed to be.Except every time Brian helps to organise the Great Festival it's a disappointment. Worse, this time the Folk Princess has been stolen. Can Brian thwart the Princess's evil captor in time to avoid the wrath of the Folk King and Queen, and finally deliver a Festival to remember?A magical adventure filled with myth, mischief and misunderstandings, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones and those who love modern fairy tales with a comic twist.

Wren & Rook

Women in Sport

Rachel Ignotofsky
Authors:
Rachel Ignotofsky
Wayland

Our Planet

There are endless facts to learn about Planet Earth, but once you've absorbed them, do you really know how your own planet works? It continually changes thanks to some incredible processes - and understanding them is the key to understanding it. It's time to discover how volcanoes erupt, how rocks form and how rain falls. Pore over the step-by-step infographic art and fascinating facts to uncover the dazzling truth about this amazing planet - then try out the mind-bending challenges on each page!TOPICS:How the continents moveHow an earthquake happensHow a volcano eruptsHow to build mountainsHow rocks are formedHow tides workHow a river carves a gorgeHow the water cycle worksHow rain fallsHow lightning is madeHow a hurricane formsThe Infographic How It Works series is an exploration of the processes that make the world (and the universe) go round, from the activity in tectonic plates to the enzymes that break down food in our bodies. Each process is clearly explained using amazing infographics and essential facts - plus an experiment or challenge for readers to try, so they can keep the discovery going.Other titles in the Infographic How It Works series:Life on EarthMachines and MotorsOur UniverseToday's TechnologyYour Body