Lydia Ripper - Early Reader: The Ant's Pants - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781510101845
    • Publication date:09 Aug 2018
Books in this series

Early Reader: The Ant's Pants

By Lydia Ripper

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

A red Early Reader full of humour, with a message about facing your fears, from writer and illustrator Lydia Ripper

A red Early Reader full of humour, with a message about facing your fears, from writer and illustrator Lydia Ripper.

Scaredy Pants is an ant who is scared...of EVERYTHING. When his younger sibling gets into a dangerous situation, will Scaredy be able to drum up his courage to save her?

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.

Biographical Notes

Lydia Ripper is an artist with a playful, versatile style who loves bold ideas and playing with colour.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781510101838
  • Publication date: 09 Aug 2018
  • Page count: 64
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
They're brilliant stories told by amazing authors and illustrators. Stuffed full of colour, not many words per page, they're perfect for children moving from picture books into reading chapter books. — Steve Cole, THE SUN
Hodder Children's Books

Fly, Tiger, Fly!

Rikin Parekh
Authors:
Rikin Parekh

Riku's family have all achieved something special - and Riku wants to be special too. His dream? To be the world's first ever flying tiger! Only Riku's friend Jim has doubts . . . Tigers don't have wings. (And Jim should know - he's a parrot!) But Riku is one determined little tiger. With help from Jim and some feathered friends, will Riku make it off the ground and into the air . . .?The hilariously funny debut book from Rikin Parekh celebrates the power of friendship - and is a must-read for any little person with BIG dreams!

Orchard Books

Rainbow Magic: Hazel the Librarian Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Three stories in one! Join Rachel and Kirsty for a magical adventure with another fairy friend in this bestselling and much-loved series for girls aged 5 and up!Hazel the Librarian Fairy looks after readers in both the fairy and human worlds. But when Jack Frost steals her magical objects, it spells trouble for libraries everywhere! Can Rachel and Kirsty help defeat him, before the magic of reading is ruined?Have you read any other Rainbow Magic books? Try Ruby the Red Fairy to find out how Kirsty and Rachel's adventures began.

Orchard Books

Padma the Pirate Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Kirsty, Rachel and Padma for some perilous pirate fun!Padma the Pirate Fairy is here to take Kirsty and Rachel on a wild adventure! The two best friends must hold on to their hats as they set off on a rollicking journey to defeat dastardly Jack Frost and his goblins.

Wayland

Seasons

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Franklin Watts

MORE!

Enid Richemont, Shahab Shamshirsaz
Contributors:
Enid Richemont, Shahab Shamshirsaz

When Sanjay is given a magic bowl that produces food by a kind goddess, he and his family need never be hungry again. Then the greedy Maharajah takes the bowl from him. But the Maharajah cannot control the magic and the food keeps coming... This traditional tale clearly echoes with 'The Magic Porridge Pot'.Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Orion Children's Books

Swimming Against the Storm

Jess Butterworth
Authors:
Jess Butterworth

An adventure story set in the swamplands of Louisiana about sisters, rising sea-levels and saving the environment, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell and Lauren St John.Our land is sinking. It's disappearing into the water. And no one knows how to save it.Twelve-year-old Eliza and her sister Avery have lived their entire lives in a small fishing village on the coast of Louisiana, growing up alongside turtles, pelicans and porpoises. But now, with sea levels rising, their home is at risk of being swept away.Determined to save the land, Eliza and her younger sister Avery secretly go searching in the swamp for the dangerous, wolf-like loup-garou. If they can prove this legendary creature exists, they're sure that the government will have to protect its habitat - and their community.But there's one problem: the loup-garou has never been seen before. And with a tropical storm approaching and the sisters deep, deep in the swampland, soon it's not just their home at risk, but their lives as well...

Hodder Children's Books

Seaside Sprint!

Mo Farah, Kes Gray, Marta Kissi
Contributors:
Mo Farah, Kes Gray, Marta Kissi
Orchard Books

Sianne the Butterfly Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Sianne the Butterfly Fairy has a very special job. She provides butterflies with the special magic they need to carry messages between the fairy and human worlds. But when Jack Frost steals her enchanted objects, the connection between the two worlds is at risk. Can Kirsty and Rachel help defeat the wicked Ice Lord before it's too late?

Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Encyclopedia

Orchard Books

Mimi the Laughter Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Everyone knows Kirsty and Rachel are best friends. But when Jack Frost steals the Friendship Fairies' magical objects, the special bond of BFFs everywhere is at risk! Can they fight the Ice Lord and his goblin minions to restore the magic of friendship in both the Fairyland and worlds?

Orchard Books

Mary the Sharing Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Everyone knows Kirsty and Rachel are best friends. But when Jack Frost steals the Friendship Fairies' magical objects, the special bond of BFFs everywhere is at risk! Can they fight the Ice Lord and his goblin minions to restore the magic of friendship in both the Fairyland and worlds?

Orchard Books

Heather the Violet Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

When Rachel and Kirsty meet on the ferry to Rainspell Island one summer holiday, they have no idea that such magical adventures with the fairies await them! In the last exciting book in the series, the girls must find Heather the Violet Fairy and then go with the fairies to Fairyland to make sure that all the colours have returned to the magical kingdom!

Orchard Books

Ten Little Dinosaurs

Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty
Contributors:
Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty
Orchard Books

Mad About Dinosaurs!

Giles Andreae, David Wojtowycz
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, David Wojtowycz

Join all your favourite dinosaurs in this colourful, rhyming picture book, from the author of international bestseller, Giraffes Can't Dance!Silly Diplodocus, fierce T-Rex, Brontosaurus, Stegosaurus and more - they're all here in this bright, bold book! Packed with lively rhymes, fun facts and colourful pictures (plus handy pronunciation guides) this is perfect for young dinosaur fans everywhere.Previously published under the title Dinosaurs Galore.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Frankie vs The Knight's Nasties

Frank Lampard
Authors:
Frank Lampard
Orchard Books

The Dark

Lemony Snicket, Jon Klassen
Contributors:
Lemony Snicket, Jon Klassen

A universal and empowering story about conquering your fears, from Lemony Snicket and Jon Klassen.Laszlo is afraid of the dark. The dark lives in the same house as Laszlo but mostly it spends its time in the basement. It doesn't visit Laszlo in his room. Until one night it does . . . Join Lazlo on his journey to meet the dark, and find out why it will never bother him again.With emotional insight and poetic economy, two world-renowned talents of children's literature bring to light a powerful story about overcoming fears.The originality of The Dark is breathtaking - The TimesA reassuring story for any children who may be afraid of the dark - Sunday ExpressIf ever there was a perfect creative pairing of words and pictures, surely this is it - Daily MailThoughtful, perceptive and very reassuring - Parents In Touch

Orchard Books

Jewel Cavern

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Cloud Island

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orion Children's Books

Wolf Brother

Michelle Paver
Authors:
Michelle Paver

The first, bestselling novel in the million-copy-selling CHRONICLES OF ANCIENT DARKNESS series, WOLF BROTHER is a compelling page-turner like no other written by renowned author Michelle Paver.Thousands of years ago, the land is one dark forest. Its people are hunter-gatherers. They know every tree and herb and they know how to survive in a time of enchantment and powerful magic. Until an ambitious and malevolent force conjures a demon: a demon so evil that it can be contained only in the body of a ferocious bear that will slay everything it sees, a demon determined to destroy the world.Only one boy can stop it - 12-year-old Torak, who has seen his father murdered by the bear. With his dying breath, Torak's father tells his son of his burden. He must lead the bear to the mountain of the World Spirit and beg that spirit's help to overcome it.A terrifying quest in a world of wolves, tree spirits and Hidden People, a world in which trusting a friend means risking your life. Audio edition also available, read by Ian McKellen.

Orion Children's Books

The White Giraffe Series: The Elephant's Tale

Lauren St John, David Dean
Contributors:
Lauren St John, David Dean

The fourth instalment in Lauren St John's heartwarming White Giraffe series, in which Martine must travel to Namibia to save an elephant and the home she has come to love.It's the first day of the December school holidays and Martine has lots of fun planned for the next few weeks, not least spending time with Jemmy, her beloved white giraffe, and her best friend, Ben. But her plans for a peaceful holiday are soon shattered when a sinister man informs Martine and her grandmother that Sabuwona is about to be repossessed. The nature reserve, and everything in it, will no longer belong to them.Martine is determined to save the home she's grown to love. When Grace has a vision about a unique herd of Namibian elephants, she knows she must travel to Namibia to learn their secrets. This could be the answer to all their troubles ...The fourth thrilling African adventure, written with all the zest and skill that has endeared so many readers to THE WHITE GIRAFFE, DOLPHIN SONG and THE LAST LEOPARD.