Katie Woolley - Pirate Bill - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Books in this series

Pirate Bill

Independent Reading Yellow

By Katie Woolley
Illustrated by Marcus Cutler

  • Hardback
  • £8.99

This story is part of Reading Champion, a series carefully linked to book bands to encourage independent reading skills, developed with Dr Sue Bodman and Glen Franklin of UCL Institute of Education (IOE)

Pirate Bill has a treasure map. He digs everywhere but cannot find the gold. Perhaps it will be somewhere he does not expect...

Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.

Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Biographical Notes

Katie Woolley (Author)
Katie Woolley is a creative and versatile editor and writer who has worked on children's books for all age levels, from board books, novelty books and picture books to non-fiction, licensed publishing and educational books and apps.
With more than 10 years' publishing experience working for companies such as Ladybird Books and Hachette Children's Books, she has written, commissioned, edited and project-managed a wide variety of titles for some of the biggest children's publishers.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445167800
  • Publication date: 11 Jul 2019
  • Page count: 24
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Hodder Children's Books

The Magic Faraway Tree: Silky's Story

Enid Blyton, Jeanne Willis, Mark Beech
Contributors:
Enid Blyton, Jeanne Willis, Mark Beech

The perfect introduction to the wonderful world of the Faraway Tree. Discover the magic! Explore the Enchanted Wood with Joe, Beth and Frannie and meet their very special friends, Silky the fairy, Moonface and Saucepan Man. When a runaway elephant visits the tree, there's a lot of mess for the friends to sort out . . .Perfect for reading with 3-6 year-olds, this picture book is a delightful way to discover the extraordinary world of the Magic Faraway Tree.This is a brand-new story, specially written by bestselling picture book author Jeanne Willis, and illustrated by the author of all the classic Faraway Tree books, Mark Beech.

Hodder Children's Books

Rabbit Bright

Viola Wang
Authors:
Viola Wang

Rabbit Bright goes boldly into the night, turning nightmares to colourful dreams in this glorious, stylish picture book debut from an exceptional new talent.When night falls, one brave rabbit sets out to explore the darkness. But, as Rabbit Bright soon discovers, there's light everywhere if you just know where to look.A stunningly illustrated adventure, perfect for reassuring children who are afraid of the dark.

Hodder Children's Books

BOOT: The Rusty Rescue

Shane Hegarty
Authors:
Shane Hegarty

For fans of WALL-E and Toy Story, the second hilarious, heart-warming story about a small robot on a big adventure. With incredible illustrations by Ben Mantle.Toy robot Boot has come a long way since it woke up in a scrapyard with only two-and-a-half glitchy memories. It has a home with its robot pals in an abandoned amusement arcade, and has discovered what true happiness is - although, it's still not sure why humans are so leaky and weird ... But when Boot and the gang stumble upon Rusty, an old, broken robot, forgotten in the back of a testing lab, it's time to spring into action. Boot knows there's something special about Rusty, but can they free the old robot and help it find its purpose?A thrill-ride of an adventure, stuffed with fun, friendship, and a warehouse full of bouncy castles.

Hodder Children's Books

Pug Hug

Zehra Hicks
Authors:
Zehra Hicks
Wayland

Resting and Sleeping

Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft
Contributors:
Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft

Engaging, illustrated titles that introduce key health issues to young readers.How much sleep do I need? What happens when I sleep? Why do I dream? Will screen time affect my sleep? Why should I rest? The answers to these and many other questions about resting and sleeping can be discovered in this lively and informative book. The topics of fitness and fun are complemented by charming and humorous illustrations. This book is designed for children to begin to learn about the importance of being healthy, and the ways in which we can look after our bodies to keep fit and well. At the back are notes for parents and teachers that provide additional advice and support as well as further activity ideas and information.These titles support the science curriculum at Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2, as well as PSHCE topics.The Healthy Me series is aimed at children aged from 5 and up to explain how people can keep fit and be healthy, forming habits that will last a life time. Other titles in the series are: Exercise and Play, Keeping Clean, Eating Well, Keeping Safe, Mental Well-being and Mindfulness.

Quercus Children's Books

The Impossible Boy

Ben Brooks
Authors:
Ben Brooks

Believe in the impossible this Christmas - a magical story celebrating the power of imagination, from the bestselling author of STORIES FOR BOYS WHO DARE TO BE DIFFERENT.Oleg and Emma entered their den to find a cardboard spaceship standing exactly where they usually sat. Slowly, the front door opened and out stepped a boy. 'My name's Sebastian Cole,' he said. 'But you already know that.'When Oleg and Emma invent a new classmate called Sebastian, they are amazed when he appears - very much real - in their secret den.Sebastian isn't like the rest of their classmates. He's never eaten pizza, he's not sure what goose bumps are, and he has a satchel that seems to hold an endless supply of hot ice cream. But as the trio begin their adventures, more impossible things keep happening, from a runaway goat appearing at school to a sighting of some snowwomen walking down the road. Things soon take a turn for the dangerous when the three friends are pursued by the mysterious Institute of Unreality, who want to capture and erase Sebastian, restoring order to the world. With the help of a cowboy gardener, an imprisoned scientist, and the rest of their class, can Emma and Oleg protect their new friend and keep the magic of the impossible alive, just in time for Christmas?After inspiring countless young readers with tales of extraordinary people in the world around them, Ben Brooks' first children's novel is a magical adventure that celebrates friendship, the power of imagination, and ice cream.

Hodder Children's Books

My Monster and Me

Nadiya Hussain, Ella Bailey
Contributors:
Nadiya Hussain, Ella Bailey
Wayland

Dinosaur Babies

Katie Woolley
Authors:
Katie Woolley
Wayland

Dinosaur Bones and Fossils

Katie Woolley
Authors:
Katie Woolley
Wayland

Exercise and Play

Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft
Contributors:
Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft
Franklin Watts

What a Mess!

Damian Harvey, Charlie Alder
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, Charlie Alder
Franklin Watts

A Hat for Gran

Sue Graves, A. Corazon Abierto
Contributors:
Sue Graves, A. Corazon Abierto
Wayland

Mental Well-being and Mindfulness

Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft
Contributors:
Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft

You can't see mental wellbeing but you can feel it. Your mental wellbeing is all about how you think and feel. Some people call it 'mental health' or 'emotional wellbeing'.Having good mental health doesn't mean being happy all the time. We all experience feelings of anger, sadness, fear and frustration. These feelings are perfectly normal. Mental wellbeing comes from finding positive ways to manage these feelings as you grow and develop.This simply written title explores what mental health is, why it is important, and ways to deal with some mental health problems such as stress and anxiety. The book includes mindfulness techniques and advice to help with relaxation and coping strategies.At the back are notes for parents and teachers that provide additional advice and support, as well as further activity ideas and information.These titles support the science curriculum at Key Stage One and Key Stage 2, as well as PSHE topics.The Healthy Me series is aimed at children aged from 5 and up to explain how people can keep fit and be healthy, forming good habits that will last a lifetime. Other titles in the series are: Exercise and Play, Keeping Clean, Eating Well, Keeping Safe, Resting and Sleeping.

Orchard Books

Chatterbox Bear

Pippa Curnick
Authors:
Pippa Curnick

A laugh-out-loud funny story about friendship and understanding.Gary the Bear is a chatterbox - he just can't stop chatting! But when nobody wants to listen, he sets sail in search of new friends. Soon Gary arrives on an island full of birds . . . the problem is they don't understand a word of Bear! Gary has to learn that words are not the only way to communicate and make new friends.

Franklin Watts

Are We There Yet?

Katie Woolley
Authors:
Katie Woolley
Franklin Watts

The School Play

Katie Woolley
Authors:
Katie Woolley
Franklin Watts

Hasan's Idea

Jill Atkins, José Rubert
Contributors:
Jill Atkins, José Rubert

Hasan is new at school - and he has a brilliant idea to help him settle in, and for his friends to learn more about each other's cultures.This first colour chapter book is a perfectly levelled, accessible text for Key stage 2 readers aged 9-10. Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and activities to provoke deeper response and encourage writing. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Coyote the Fire Thief

Mick Gowar, James Rey Sanchez
Contributors:
Mick Gowar, James Rey Sanchez

In this retelling of a native American myth, Coyote feels sorry for the helpless humans and steals fire to bring them warmth and comfort. But the humans are not grateful for her gift and use the fire against Coyote and the natural world.This first colour chapter book is a perfectly levelled, accessible text for Key stage 2 readers aged 9-10. Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and activities to provoke deeper response and encourage writing. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Wayland

Eating Well

Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft
Contributors:
Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft
Wayland

Keeping Clean

Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft
Contributors:
Katie Woolley, Ryan Wheatcroft