Elizabeth Dale - Look out! - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £4.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781445154602
    • Publication date:24 May 2018
Books in this series

Look out!

Independent Reading Red 2

By Elizabeth Dale

  • Hardback
  • £8.99

This story is part of Reading Champion, a series carefully linked to book bands to encourage independent reading skills, developed with Dr Sue Bodman and Glen Franklin of UCL Institute of Education (IOE)

Reading Champion is a book banded reading programme for independent reading offering fantastic, original stories accompanied by engaging artwork. Each book has been carefully levelled making it easy to match to a child's reading ability and fully supports reading for pleasure.

In this story, Ted is up his ladder cleaning windows when a mouse scampers past, followed by a cat, followed by a dog, followed by a boy - uh oh, look out Ted!

Biographical Notes

Elizabeth Dale always dreamed of being a writer but somehow got side-tracked into studying for a physics degree, followed by health service management. When her children were born she finally returned to her dream, writing thousands of short stories for magazines all over the world. Re-discovering a love of children's books while reading to her daughters, she decided to turn her hand to writing them - and has now published over twenty books for children, including picture books and junior fiction.

Writing is her full-time job, but also her favourite activity. She also enjoys reading, gardening, walking, and being in the country. Her favourite children's books include Walk Two Moons, The Selfish Giant, Cosmic, and Someone Else's Life. She loves watching cosy sentimental films, such as You've Got Mail, Return to Me, and While You Were Sleeping, as well as classic old films starring Cary Grant, Fred Astaire and Doris Day.

Elizabeth is married, with three daughters, and lives in a village in West Sussex. Her eldest daughter, Katie, is also a children's author with Hachette.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445154596
  • Publication date: 27 Jul 2017
  • Page count: 24
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Orchard Books

Secret Agent Elephant

Eoin McLaughlin
Authors:
Eoin McLaughlin
Orchard Books

Oscar the Hungry Unicorn Eats Christmas

Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Contributors:
Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Orchard Books

When the Crocodiles Came to Town

Magda Brol, Magda Brol
Contributors:
Magda Brol, Magda Brol
Orchard Books

My Pet Star

Corrinne Averiss, Rosalind Beardshaw
Contributors:
Corrinne Averiss, Rosalind Beardshaw
Franklin Watts

Max is Cooking

Jackie Walter, Valentina Bandera
Contributors:
Jackie Walter, Valentina Bandera
Franklin Watts

Robin Hood and the Golden Arrow

Elizabeth Dale
Authors:
Elizabeth Dale

Robin Hood is a wanted outlaw and it is up to the Sheriff of Nottingham to catch him. The Sheriff cunningly plans an archery competition knowing Robin Hood will not be able to resist entering ... but Robin Hood is also a master of disguises - so who will have the last laugh? This story is part of Reading Champion, a series carefully linked to book bands to encourage independent reading skills, developed with Dr Sue Bodman and Glen Franklin of UCL Institute of Education (IOE).Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

The Legend of the Flying Dutchman

Elizabeth Dale, Gus Art
Contributors:
Elizabeth Dale, Gus Art
Franklin Watts

Tom the Naughty Tooth Fairy

Elizabeth Dale
Authors:
Elizabeth Dale
Franklin Watts

The Dinosaur Bone

Elizabeth Dale
Authors:
Elizabeth Dale
Franklin Watts

The Very Worst Wizard

Elizabeth Dale
Authors:
Elizabeth Dale
Orchard Books

Oscar the Hungry Unicorn

Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Contributors:
Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson

A hilariously funny tale of friendship, belonging and LOTS OF EATING from the bestselling author of There Is No Dragon in This Story. Perfect for fans of Oi Frog.WITH SUPER SPARKLY GLITTER COVER!Oscar the Unicorn has eaten his stable so he needs to find somewhere else to live. Not easy if you're a unicorn who eats everything in sight ... No one wants him around: not the pirates or the fairies or the dragons. Will Oscar ever find a place to call home? Well, it just so happens that Princess Oola has been searching for a unicorn FOR EVER ...

Franklin Watts

Magic Marcus

Elizabeth Dale
Authors:
Elizabeth Dale
Franklin Watts

I Don't Want Danny Here

Elizabeth Dale, John & Gus Art
Contributors:
Elizabeth Dale, John & Gus Art
Franklin Watts

A New Friend For Hannah

Elizabeth Dale, Sarah Lawrence
Contributors:
Elizabeth Dale, Sarah Lawrence

Hannah doesn't like her new home - she misses her friends. Then she finds a rabbit in the garden, and things begin to look a little brighter.Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Goodbye Tessa

Elizabeth Dale
Authors:
Elizabeth Dale
Franklin Watts

Jack's Junk

Elizabeth Dale
Authors:
Elizabeth Dale

Jack likes collecting junk so he can make things. Sometimes they need making a few times before they work, but luckily he's good at mending things too!Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.Independent Reading Turquoise 7 stories are perfect for children aged 5+ who are reading at book band 7 (Turquoise) in classroom reading lessons.

Franklin Watts

Robot Gets It Wrong

Elizabeth Dale, Maxine Lee
Contributors:
Elizabeth Dale, Maxine Lee

In this fun family story, Robbie the Robot is getting things very wrong. The Browns end up being soaked and having ice cream EVERYWHERE! Can Robbie be fixed?Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.Independent Reading: Orange stories are perfect for children aged 5+ who are reading at book band 6 (Orange) in classroom reading lessons.

Hodder Children's Books

Happy Easter, Tooth Fairy!

Peter Bently, Garry Parsons
Contributors:
Peter Bently, Garry Parsons
Franklin Watts

Where Are We Going?

Elizabeth Dale, Amanda Gulliver
Contributors:
Elizabeth Dale, Amanda Gulliver

Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.Independent Reading Yellow stories are perfect for children aged 4+ who are reading at book band 3 (Yellow) in classroom reading lessons.In this story, the family is on a train ride and the children are disappointed not to be able to get off and do all the things they can see from the window. But when they arrive at the seaside, they will be able to do everything!

Wayland

It Wasn't Me! - Learning About Honesty

Brian Moses
Authors:
Brian Moses

This classic picture book, illustrated by internationally-renowned artist, Mike Gordon, explains to young children why it's good to be a champion truth teller and have the courage to own up when they do something wrong. This book is part of a series called Values, which helps children to develop their own value system and make responsible decisions. Notes for parents and teachers show how ideas in the books can be used as starting points for further discussion at home and in the classroom or in assemblies. Other titles in the Values series: Learning About Respect and Taking Responsibility