Georgia Amson-Bradshaw - Living Things - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Hardback £12.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781445152769
    • Publication date:13 Jul 2017
Books in this series

Living Things

By Georgia Amson-Bradshaw

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

An engaging series covering foundational scientific information in a fun and immediate format

Meet and greet the living things that are wriggling, flapping and swimming within these pages. Make friends with pond life by exploring their habitat. Learn about life-cycles, and evolve your knowledge about adaptations. It's all in this book!

This essential KS2 series for children aged 7 and up covers all the key science topics in energetic, quick-fire way, aiding clear comprehension by getting straight to the point! Each spread starts with a 'flash' or headline, summing-up succinctly the science information to follow. Attractive and light-hearted illustration visually conveys the information, adding depth and detail to engage children. Also includes fun jokes and cartoons to keep even the most reluctant readers entertained.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445152776
  • Publication date: 27 Sep 2018
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Hodder Children's Books

Agent Weasel and the Abominable Dr Snow

Nick East
Authors:
Nick East
Franklin Watts

Rules for Everyone

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, David Broadbent
Contributors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, David Broadbent
Franklin Watts

Plastic Planet

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw

A powerful look at how plastic pollution is becoming the biggest environmental disaster of a generation Once hailed as a miraculous invention, plastic has become the indestructible scourge of our Earth. It has infiltrated every part of our planet, from the deepest oceans to most remote ice fields. It chokes our wildlife, litters our beaches and even pollutes our drinking water. The world is reaching a crisis point.Plastic Planet looks at plastic through the ages, exploring what it is, how it's made and how we have become so dependent on it in a single-use, disposable world. It highlights the social inequality of plastic pollution and explores how plastic has become a widespread and dangerous pollutant that is inextricably linked to climate change. The book looks ahead to possible solutions to our plastic crisis, from global changes such as changing people's mindsets, to innovations such as compostable plastics, to practical solutions such as recycling and bottle return schemes.

Franklin Watts

Caring for the Environment

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, David Broadbent
Contributors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, David Broadbent
Hodder Children's Books

BOOT - small robot, BIG adventure

Shane Hegarty
Authors:
Shane Hegarty

For fans of WALL-E and Toy Story, comes a heart-warming, humorous adventure about a young robot trying to find its way home. Beautifully illustrated throughout, Boot is a special book you will want to treasure and share.When toy robot, Boot, wakes up at a scrapyard, it has no idea how it got there and why it isn't with its owner, Beth. It only has two and a half glitchy memories, but it knows it was loved, which means something important to humans. Boot soon realises its emotions make it different to other robots, who just function and don't think. Boot is scared but tries to be brave, which is hard when its screen keeps showing a wobbly, worried face. Luckily Boot meets Noke and Red - other 'advanced' robots who have learned to survive in secret.With its new friends by its side, Boot is determined to find Beth and the gang set off on a dangerous adventure. Everything Boot thought it knew about the world is changing and things aren't as simple as it remembers . . .Boot is a story that will take you by surprise and make you think about the world around you.

Franklin Watts

We're All Equal

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, David Broadbent
Contributors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, David Broadbent

How can you be a good global citizen? By understanding the world we live in and how we can effect change. This book explore inequality around the world, from how resources are unfairly shared to why race and gender matter and more. It looks at ways we can challenge inequality and features case studies such as the votes for women campaign and the work of Malala Yousafzai.The I'm a Global Citizen series explores the concept of 'Global Citizenship': recognising that the world we live in is unfair and unequal, but promoting individual and collective action to challenge and change this. Each book has information, fun activities, challenges, case studies and ideas for group and individual action presented with fun illustrations. The books promote the idea that we have power as individuals: each of us can change things, and each of us has choices about how we behave. They encourage children aged 8+ to counter ignorance and intolerance?.

Franklin Watts

Culture and Diversity

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, David Broadbent
Contributors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, David Broadbent
Wayland

The Fall of the Berlin Wall

Patricia Levy
Authors:
Patricia Levy

High-drama history, describing moment-by-moment the fall of the Berlin WallThirty years ago, on 9 November 1989, the Berlin Wall came down. This historic event is described in detail, focusing not only on the day itself, but also what led to the wall being there in the first place. It looks at the history of the Wall, explaining why it was built, as well as looking at the implications of what happened in the wider context of 20th century history. Real life accounts are included in moment-in-time boxes, acting as a freeze frame of people's thoughts, emotions and experiences as those from West Germany were at last free to travel to the East and vice versa.Complete with photographs, maps and a timeline, this is a fascinating insight into 20th century history.An ideal book to support the study of modern history in schools

Wayland

The Energy We Use

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Wayland

The Stuff We Buy

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Wayland

The Cities We Live In

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw

What are the problems and challenges we face around the world when it comes to the cities we live in? How can we create enough living spaces and transport networks without contributing to climate change and habitat destruction? Interactive 'Solve It!' design challenges give readers the information they need to develop sustainable solutions to the problems discussed, and step-by-step 'Test It!' activities encourage them to explore putting principles into practice.

Wayland

Electricity

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Wayland

Forces

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Wayland

Light

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw

Finding out about Light has never been so engaging. This book is full of exciting experiments, fun puzzles, quirky humour and science facts to make you say WOW ... it's science with a BOOM! For children progressing through Book Bands, it is suitable for reading at band 12: Brown.Why not look out for the other BOOM SCIENCE titles? This fun series for children aged 6+ explores key science topics including Electricity, Forces, Human Body, Light, Materials, Plants, Seasons and Sound.

Wayland

Incredible Sporting Champions

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli
Contributors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli
Wayland

Heroic Leaders and Activists

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli
Contributors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli

In Heroic Leaders and Activists you will meet the early feminists who first stood up for women's rights around the world, including Mary Wollstonecraft and Qiu Jin. Read about the astonishing Helen Keller, who despite being born deaf and blind, became a political activist and writer. Discover the women who have used their art to promote social justice, such as poet Maya Angelou. These inspiring activists for peace, human rights and the environment have all, in their own ways, made their mark on history. Curious, provocative, engaging, brave, and funny - women who change the world are diverse, intriguing and brilliant. Created by an all-women team and filled with wonderful illustrations, and engaging activities that will nurture your own varied skills, the Brilliant Women series compiles the stories of inspiring women from every field. Retelling their triumphs and adversities, this beautiful series of four books reveals and celebrates the women who have shaped the world we live in now. Perfect reading for the next generation of brilliant girls and boys. Suitable for readers aged 9 and up.

Wayland

Pioneers of Science and Technology

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli
Contributors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli

In Pioneers of Science and Technology you'll say hello to Hypatia, an ancient Greek mathematician and astronomer. You'll learn about Lise Meitner, the heroic Jewish physicist who escaped the Nazis. You'll join Jane Goodall who lived in the jungle studying apes. These women are just a few of the many who followed their passion for science and technology, and weren't put off by people telling them they couldn't or shouldn't. And along the way they discovered radiation, wrote the first computer program, expanded our knowledge of the universe and flew into space. Curious, provocative, engaging, brave, and funny - women who change the world are diverse, intriguing and brilliant. Created by an all-women team and filled with wonderful illustrations, and engaging activities that will nurture your own varied skills, the Brilliant Women series compiles the stories of inspiring women from every field. Retelling their triumphs and adversities, this beautiful series of four books reveals and celebrates the women who have shaped the world we live in now. Perfect reading for the next generation of brilliant girls and boys. Suitable for readers aged 9 and up.

Wayland

Amazing Artists and Designers

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli
Contributors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli
Franklin Watts

Earthquakes

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw

Find out what are and how they are caused. Understand how scientists can measure earthquakes, and what makes some earthquakes so much more destructive than others. Read about some of the most serious earthquake disasters in history, and how people can be better prepared for the future.Geographics is an engaging series with colourful infographics and photos used to illustrate universal geography topics such as volcanoes, rivers and earthquakes. Perfect for the geography curriculum at KS2 the series is suitable for children aged 8 and up.

Wayland

Vehicles

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw

Take a look at how aeroplanes are designed, how they take off and how engineers make sure they stay up in the sky. Find out about cars, trains, boats and helicopters, explore remarkable vehicles from self-driving cars to maglev trains and space rovers, and admire some of the world's most iconic cars. Test your understanding with fun projects such as making your own mini-maglev from plastic bricks and magnets.Inject some fun into STEAM topics, with these lively examinations of buildings, robots, computers, vehicles, materials and space! This bright, colourful new series aims to inspire children with a lifelong love of STEAM subjects.