Steve Parker - Probes to the Planets - Hachette Children's Group

Probes to the Planets

By Steve Parker

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

From early pioneers of space travel to potential missions of the future - the story of humans in space makes for fascinating reading.

Every planet in our solar system and some of the moons and other space objects have been visited by at least one probe and in the future, more probes and craft will visit these worlds in our endeavour to learn about space and the possibility of extraterrestrial life. Some probes, such at the Verena 13 probe that landed on Venus, were designed to last just a few minutes. Others, such as the Voyager probes, are still sending data back to Earth from far out towards the edge of our Solar System. Each probe is designed to do a unique job and this book reveals the genius of their design.

Six books that reveal the thrilling journeys, triumphs and disasters that men and women have experienced in the exploration of our universe. These books examine the mind-blowing technologies involved in space endeavours and tells the all too human stories of some of the key figures.

Biographical Notes

Steve Parker, ia an award-winning writer who worked for the Natural History Museum. He has written over 100 books, mostly for younger readers, on science, technology, machines and human biology. He regularly gives talks and workshops in schools and libraries.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445140476
  • Publication date: 25 Jun 2015
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Franklin Watts

Movie Star Set-up

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore

Join the intrepid Galaxy Warriors Jet, Tip and Boo Hoo on their quest to save the universe from destructive baddies Lord and Lady Evil and Dr Y.In Movie Star Set-Up, our intergalactic heroes grab their chance to star in a movie ... but they soon realise the action is real and so is the danger!From the authors of I HERO, these new intergalactic adventures combine graphic novel and prose, perfectly pitched to engage both older reluctant readers and younger, confident readers. Each title is book banded (Gold 9) and is printed using a dyslexia-friendly font on an off-white background.This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of booksto get children reading with confidence. EDGE - for books kids can't put down.

Orchard Books

The Mermaid's Dolphin

Mermazing underwater adventures with adorable sea creatures! A magical new series about saving our oceans.When three girls rescue a dolphin caught in a fishing net, a young mermaid named Marina is so grateful she gives them magical shell bracelets that let them turn into mermaids! Unfortunately, the mermaids' underwater kingdom is in danger because their pollution-loving enemy, Effluvia, has scattered the precious Treasure of Atlantis across the seven seas. Can Isla, Brooke, and Nadia - the chosen Sea Keepers - get the magical pearls back for their new mermaid friends before it's too late?

Hodder Children's Books

BOOT: The Rusty Rescue

Shane Hegarty
Authors:
Shane Hegarty

For fans of WALL-E and Toy Story, the second hilarious, heart-warming story about a small robot on a big adventure. With incredible illustrations by Ben Mantle.Toy robot Boot has come a long way since it woke up in a scrapyard with only two-and-a-half glitchy memories. It has a home with its robot pals in an abandoned amusement arcade, and has discovered what true happiness is - although, it's still not sure why humans are so leaky and weird ... But when Boot and the gang stumble upon Rusty, an old, broken robot, forgotten in the back of a testing lab, it's time to spring into action. Boot knows there's something special about Rusty, but can they free the old robot and help it find its purpose?A thrill-ride of an adventure, stuffed with fun, friendship, and a warehouse full of bouncy castles.

Wayland

Investigating Magnets

Jacqui Bailey
Authors:
Jacqui Bailey
Orion Children's Books

The Lost Treasure

Abie Longstaff
Authors:
Abie Longstaff
Franklin Watts

Space Rap

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore

Hodder Children's Books

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith

From the international bestselling creator of Claude comes a brand new hero: Mr Penguin. Indiana Jones meets Hercule Poirot in this new Alex T. Smith series. Follow Mr Penguin and Colin as they crash-land on a snowy mountain. Will they be able to solve the mystery of the missing pets? What are the strange noises coming from the abandoned fortress? And will Mr Penguin conquer his fear of flying?Find out in the second Mr Penguin book with plenty of slapstick humour, mystery and adventure. Highly illustrated throughout with a striking black and orange design.Praise for Mr Penguin and the Lost Treasure:'Addictive slapstick' - Guardian'The perfect introduction to mystery stories.' - ScotsmanClaude won the 5-9 young fiction Sainsbury's Children's Book Award, was selected for the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize, the Richard and Judy Book Club and is now a TV star on Disney Junior. Alex T. Smith was a World Book Day Illustrator. Follow Alex on Twitter @Alex_T_Smith

Franklin Watts

The Anglo-Saxons

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Franklin Watts

Dinosaurs

Liz Gogerly, Rob Hunt, Oivind Hovland
Contributors:
Liz Gogerly, Rob Hunt, Oivind Hovland
Franklin Watts

We're All Equal

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, David Broadbent
Contributors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, David Broadbent
Wayland

When Planet Earth Was New

James Gladstone
Authors:
James Gladstone
Franklin Watts

Insects, Bugs and Other Invertebrates

Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas
Contributors:
Clare Hibbert, Rudolf Farkas

A fascinating insight in to some of the incredible invertebrates that lived on Earth millions of years ago. Hundreds of millions of years before humans had evolved, our planet was already teeming with life. In prehistoric oceans, stony deserts, warm swamps and vast grasslands, there lived an incredible variety of plants and animals.Invertebrates made up a huge number of Earth's life forms. Among them, giant sea scorpions as big as a lion terrorised the oceans, enormous millipedes fed on plants in dense Carboniferous forests and tiny wasps preyed on cockroach larvae in lush tropical regions.Delve into Prehistoric Life and discover some astounding insects, bugs and other invertebrates that once lived on Earth. This stunningly illustrated series looks at life in the prehistoric era, focusing not just on dinosaurs, but looking at the world as a whole. The prehistoric era is absolutely fascinating for children and adults alike, and is useful for schools studying history chronologically. Amazingly detailed and accurate illustrations bring the prehistoric era to life. Engaging reading for children aged 7+.Prehistoric Life is a series of four books:Mammals, Birds and other VertebratesInsects, Bugs and other InvertebratesPlantsDinosaurs

Franklin Watts

The Big Countdown

Paul Rockett
Authors:
Paul Rockett

You can count the number of legs on a spider, but can you count the number of stars in the Universe? Or the number of breaths we take each day? The Big Countdown explores the world through numbers, looking at rainforests, outer space, the animal kingdom the human body and much more.This book counts you down from 70 sextillion to 0.01, bringing facts and figures to life with illustrations, fun infographics and photographs.

Wayland

Powerful Forces

Jon Richards, Rob Colson
Authors:
Jon Richards, Rob Colson

When the world of science is viewed at its extremes it is easier to study and understand and it is also much more awesome!In Powerful Forces find out what it takes to move at extreme speeds, what g-force does to the human body and some truly impressive land, sea and air speed records. Uncover how shape of an object affects push and pull forces, such as thrust and drag, and how forces are used every day in all kinds of ways. And find out about one of the most powerful forces of all - gravity.This series looks at extreme qualities and experiences, and how things have evolved and adapted to reach their extreme state and how we can identify scientific information from this. Presented in a highly graphic and accessible way, Extreme Science will appeal to visual learners and reluctant readers. Aimed at children aged 9 and up.Extreme Science is a series of six books:Powerful ForcesAwesome Matter and MaterialsSpectacular Light and SoundPhenomenal PlantsMagnificent HabitatsIncredible Living Things

Wayland

Habitats

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland
Franklin Watts

Coyote the Fire Thief

Mick Gowar, James Rey Sanchez
Contributors:
Mick Gowar, James Rey Sanchez

In this retelling of a native American myth, Coyote feels sorry for the helpless humans and steals fire to bring them warmth and comfort. But the humans are not grateful for her gift and use the fire against Coyote and the natural world.This first colour chapter book is a perfectly levelled, accessible text for Key stage 2 readers aged 9-10. Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and activities to provoke deeper response and encourage writing. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Wayland

Coding with Minecraft

Álvaro Scrivano
Authors:
Álvaro Scrivano
Franklin Watts

Italian Supercars

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Franklin Watts

British Supercars

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Get your young petrolhead into gear with the perfect introduction to the newest, hotest, fastest British supercar marques on the planet. Featured inside are: ASTON MARTIN V12 ZAGATO, MCLAREN 12C, NOBLE M600, JAGUAR F-TYPE and more!Written specifically for car lovers aged around 9 years old, this series is ideal for reading on the go and to encourage reading for pleasure. Each title features superb photography and easy-to-read, informative text.

Wayland

The International Space Station

Clive Gifford, Dan Schlitzkus
Contributors:
Clive Gifford, Dan Schlitzkus

What is the space station and how did it get into space? How do astronauts get there and what do they do once they're there? How do astronauts eat, sleep, or even breathe, in space? This book answers all of these questions and more. Find out what it takes to become an astronaut and about the essential science experiments that are being carried out there. What effect does living in space have on the human body, from making you taller to losing your muscles because of zero gravity. If everything floats, then how can you go to the toilet and where does your wee and poo go? There's no bath or shower on the space station, so astronauts clean themselves with towels made damp by adding a little soapy water from a sealed pouch or by using special wet wipes each sealed in foil and containing disinfectant. Uncover all of these fascinating facts in this beautifully illustrated and fun book for children. Written to inspire a new generation of astronauts, Clive's detailed and fact-filled text will make you think you've visited the space station yourself. Fully illustrated by self-confessed space geek illustrator, Dan Schlitzkus, the illustrations are technically accurate and provide true representations of the mechanics, modules and equipment on board the ISS.