Clare De Marco - The Greedy Pirates - Hachette Children's Group

The Greedy Pirates

By Clare De Marco

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

Fun stories of under 50 words for emergent readers.

Parker and Patch are two pirates with a thirst for treasure! When they discover they both have the same treasure map, it is a race to see who gets to the treasure first!

The Tiddlers series features fun stories with a word count of fewer than 50 words for children who are just starting to read.

A word list at the beginning of the story allows for a quick check of the reader's ability to read and understand words before reading, and a puzzle at the end of the story encourages rereading for pleasure.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445132235
  • Publication date: 08 Jan 2015
  • Page count: 24
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Orchard Books

The Snow Queen

Geraldine McCaughrean, Hans Christian Andersen, Laura Barrett
Contributors:
Geraldine McCaughrean, Hans Christian Andersen, Laura Barrett

Hans Christian Andersen's classic story of The Snow Queen has enchanted children for over 150 years.Join Gerda on her journey to rescue her best friend Kai from the Snow Queen's icy palace in this magical retelling from award-winning author Geraldine McCaughrean, with stunning silhouette illustrations by Laura Barrett.

Orchard Books

First Fairy Tales

Margaret Mayo, Helen Stephens
Contributors:
Margaret Mayo, Helen Stephens
Hodder Children's Books

Waiting for Wolf

Sandra Dieckmann
Authors:
Sandra Dieckmann
Hodder Children's Books

We Love You, Mr Panda

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony

Mr Panda is looking for love in this laugh-out-loud funny picture book from the author of The Queen's Hat, Steve Antony!Mr Panda is offering free hugs to all his animal friends - but the are all busy hugging each other! Does nobody love Mr Panda?Praise for Mr Panda:'An ideal book for kids to learn about the importance of good manners.' Sun 'There's a new pre-school politeness tsar in town.' The Times

Orchard Books

Ten Little Aliens

Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty
Contributors:
Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty

Learn to count from ten to one and back again with this rhythmic, rhyming space adventure!Don't miss the latest book in the bestselling Ten Little series. Join the Ten Little Aliens as they jet off through space in search of a new home - discovering fiery planets, fizzing comets and some very strange space creatures!Ten Little Aliens need a place to stay. Searching through the universe, home is far away. Look - a sun with planets! Should they take a peep? Ten Little Aliens all say, "SQUEEP!"Look out for the other books in the bestselling, award-winning Ten Little series:Ten Little PiratesTen Little PrincessesTen Little MonstersTen Little DinosaursTen Little ElvesTen Little SuperheroesTen Little RobotsPraise for the other Ten Little books:'a rollicking read with an easy rhythm and jaunty illustrations...excellent' Guardian'jaunty verse with lots of humorous details to discover on every page' Time Out'roaringly funny rhymes' Independent

Hodder Children's Books

Hello Moon

Francesca Simon
Authors:
Francesca Simon

A magical bedtime story about a little boy who makes friends with the moon, from the author of Horrid Henry and the illustrator behind Aliens Love Underpants. When a little boy decides to talk to the moon at bedtime, his questions are seemingly endless. He wants to know all about the moon and how far it can see - from the sky-topped mountains, to the very bottom of the sea, where the mermaids swim. Does the moon have a bouncy bed? Does it like eating chocolate ice-cream? And does the moon feel lonely sometimes?Perfect for sharing at bedtime, this dreamy, thoughtful story touches on themes of friendship and kindness.Previously published as Do You Speak English Moon?

Hodder Children's Books

Why Are there So Many Books About Bears?

Kristina Stephenson
Authors:
Kristina Stephenson

Have you ever wondered why there are so many books about bears? That is the Impossible Question that all the other animals just can't figure out! Thankfully the most brilliant minds in the animal kingdom have gathered to try and answer it, once and for all. But someone keeps knockety-knocking on the door, offering tea and cakes and interrupting their train of thought! Maybe the answer they're looking for was right outside all along...From the brilliant author of Sir Charlie Stinky Socks, this hilarious picture book has a very cute surprise in store!

Orchard Books

Oscar the Hungry Unicorn Eats Christmas

Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Contributors:
Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Wayland

Feeling Frightened

Kay Barnham
Authors:
Kay Barnham
Orchard Books

Daddy Fartypants

Emer Stamp, Matt Hunt
Contributors:
Emer Stamp, Matt Hunt

Daddy Fartypants was a very windy bear. It didn't matter where he was. Or what he was doing ...Of all the reasons to be embarrassed by your dad, loud and persistent FARTING is the WORST. The trouble with Daddy Fartypants is that he won't even say sorry for his bottom blasts; he always blames someone else. But that all changes when Daddy meets his son's lovely (and very windy) new teacher ...Laugh your pants off with Daddy Fartypants, the hilariously windy new character from Emer Stamp, creator of the bestselling The Unbelievable Top Secret Diary of Pig!

Orchard Books

When the Crocodiles Came to Town

Magda Brol, Magda Brol
Contributors:
Magda Brol, Magda Brol
Pat-a-Cake

Shapes

Pat-a-Cake, Gwé
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Gwé
Hodder Children's Books

The Night Before the Night Before Christmas

Kes Gray, Claire Powell
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Claire Powell
Hodder Children's Books

We Love You, Hugless Douglas!

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling
Orchard Books

Oscar the Hungry Unicorn

Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Contributors:
Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson

A hilariously funny tale of friendship, belonging and LOTS OF EATING from the bestselling author of There Is No Dragon in This Story. Perfect for fans of Oi Frog.WITH SUPER SPARKLY GLITTER COVER!Oscar the Unicorn has eaten his stable so he needs to find somewhere else to live. Not easy if you're a unicorn who eats everything in sight ... No one wants him around: not the pirates or the fairies or the dragons. Will Oscar ever find a place to call home? Well, it just so happens that Princess Oola has been searching for a unicorn FOR EVER ...

Orchard Books

Ten Little Robots

Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty
Contributors:
Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty
Wayland

Feeling Worried

Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Wayland

Feeling Shy

Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon

This picture book story explores what it feels like to be shy using everyday scenes and situations that children might be familiar with - perfect for children who might be feeling shy themselves. This book shows different reasons why young people might become shy, illustrates scenarios of them behaving shyly, and gives advice on how to become more confident and less shy.Ideal for home or classroom, this book contains notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to help children deal with this feeling.Illustrated by the ever-popular and award-winning illustrator Mike Gordon, this book is part of a series of stories about feelings and emotions for 4 to 8-year-old children, which help children to understand their feelings and work out the best way to deal with them. This will boost their self-esteem and reinforce good behaviour. They support the Personal, Social and Emotional Development Area of Learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage. Other titles are: Feeling Angry, Feeling Frightened, Feeling Jealous, Feeling Sad and Feeling Worried

Wayland

Feeling Sad

Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Wayland

Feeling Jealous

Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon

This picture book story explores feelings of jealousy in a light-hearted way using everyday situations that children might be familiar with - perfect for children who might be experiencing jealous emotions. This book shows different reasons why young people might become jealous, illustrates scenarios of people behaving jealously, and gives advice on how to calm jealous in yourself and to be able to help other people. Illustrated by the ever-popular and award-winning illustrator Mike Gordon, this book is part of a series of stories about feelings and emotions for 4 to 8-year-old children, which help children to understand their feelings and work out the best way to deal with them. This will boost their self-esteem and reinforce good behaviour. They support the Personal, Social and Emotional Development Area of Learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage. Other titles are: Feeling Angry, Feeling Frightened, Feeling Sad, Feeling Shy and Feeling Worried This lovely story follows the day of one small boy who tries to help friends and family who are feeling jealous, but then ends up feeling jealous himself and having to follow his own advice.Ideal for home or classroom, this book contains notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to help children deal with feelings.