Clare De Marco - The Greedy Pirates - Hachette Children's Group

The Greedy Pirates

By Clare De Marco

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

Fun stories of under 50 words for emergent readers.

Parker and Patch are two pirates with a thirst for treasure! When they discover they both have the same treasure map, it is a race to see who gets to the treasure first!

The Tiddlers series features fun stories with a word count of fewer than 50 words for children who are just starting to read.

A word list at the beginning of the story allows for a quick check of the reader's ability to read and understand words before reading, and a puzzle at the end of the story encourages rereading for pleasure.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445132235
  • Publication date: 08 Jan 2015
  • Page count: 24
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Hodder Children's Books

The Big Race

David Barrow
Authors:
David Barrow

Aardvark is only small and the Big Race is long and hard. But Aardvark is going to join in and give it everything she's got!A heart-warming, stylish and delightfully funny celebration of taking part rather than winning from Sebastian Walker Award winner David Barrow.Visit David at davebarrowillustration.co.uk and follow him at @DaveBarrow3.

Hodder Children's Books

Claude All at Sea

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith
Hodder Children's Books

Claude Adventures

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith
Hodder Children's Books

Is it Really Nearly Christmas?

Joyce Dunbar, Victoria Turnbull
Contributors:
Joyce Dunbar, Victoria Turnbull

'This isn't any old night, this is a magic night!'There's only one more sleep till Christmas and Lucas and Willow, the moon and the stars are all waiting ... While they wait, the children remember everything they love about Christmas, but they don't notice that the magic has already begun ...This is a stunning picture book from a gifted storyteller and award-winning illustrator that perfectly captures the joy and anticipation of Christmas Eve.

Hodder Children's Books

When I Was a Child

Andy Stanton, David Litchfield
Contributors:
Andy Stanton, David Litchfield
Hodder Children's Books

Oi Duck-billed Platypus

Kes Gray, Jim Field
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Jim Field
Hodder Children's Books

How to Get Your Teacher Ready for School

Jean Reagan, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Jean Reagan, Lee Wildish

Celebrate the school year with the author-illustrator team behind the bestselling How to Babysit a Grandad.Follow a class of adorable students as they make sure their teacher is ready all year round. Written in a tongue-in-cheek instructional style, this book is a playful and heartwarming celebration of teachers and school, and an empowering book to help calm back-to-school nerves!Praise for How to Babysit a Grandad: 'Youngsters will thoroughly enjoy the tongue-in-cheek role reversal.' - School Library Journal Illustrated by the winner of the Red House Children's Book Award and a New York Times bestselling artist.The fun doesn't stop! Check out more How To... picture books: How to Babysit a Grandad, How to Babysit a Grandma, How to Surprise a Dad, How to Catch Santa, How to Raise a Mum and How to Scare a Ghost.

Orion Children's Books

The Sleepover

Lauren Pearson, Richard Watson
Contributors:
Lauren Pearson, Richard Watson
Orchard Books

Look, Baby Crawls

Emma Dodd
Authors:
Emma Dodd
Orchard Books

Sweet Baby Smiles

Emma Dodd
Authors:
Emma Dodd
Hodder Children's Books

Oi Goat!

Kes Gray, Jim Field
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Jim Field

Created for World Book Day, the next hilarious rhyming picture book from award-winning Kes Gray and Roald Dahl Funny Prize winner Jim Field, following the bestselling Oi Frog!, Oi Dog! and Oi Cat! Dogs put on clogs,'Gators dress as waiters,And ants put on pants!Frog turns stylist in this boisterous picture book, making all the animals put on their glad rags for World Book Day. But will everyone be as fashion forward as Frog?Praise for Oi Frog!: 'An absolute treat.' - Daily Mail'Everyone will love it.' - GuardianKes Gray is a bestselling, multi award-winning author of more than 70 books for children. He eats Ideaflakes for breakfast, spreads silliness on his toast and lives in a place called Different. Jim Field is a lead-driven, pencil-pushing, 25-frames-per-second Led Zeppelin fan. He is also a hugely talented illustrator and animation director. His first picture book Cats Ahoy! won the Roald Dahl Funny Prize.Oi Frog!, Oi Dog! and Oi Cat! are a top ten bestselling series. Oi Dog! won the 2017 Laugh Out Loud Picture Book Award and was shortlisted for the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award and the British Book Awards in 2016, amongst others. It also won the Teach Primary New Children's Fiction Award, MadeForMums Award, Bishop's Stortford Picture Book Award and Portsmouth Picture Book Award. Oi Cat! was the Independent Booksellers Children's Book of the Season and Oi Goat! is a World Book Day book in 2018.

Hodder Children's Books

Little Whale

Jo Weaver
Authors:
Jo Weaver

Told through the eyes of a whale and her calf, this mesmerisingly beautiful book is a story of migration, family, the strength of parental love and the wonders of nature.Little Whale has never seen the cold, rich waters of the north. She and her mother travel from the warm southern ocean, passing coral reefs, kelp forests and shoals of shimmering fish - with her mother guiding her and protecting her all the way home. With its lyrical storytelling and evocative charcoal drawings shot through with blue, Jo Weaver's story has the feel of an instant classic, celebrating the tender relationship between parent and child and the majesty of their underwater world. Perfect for fans of BBC's Blue Planet.Jo's previous book, Little One, was longlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal 2016. Jo Weaver was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration New Talent Awards 2014.

Pat-a-Cake

Moo Peek-a-Boo

Pat-a-Cake, Mojca Dolinar
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Mojca Dolinar

Stimulate a baby's developing vision and coordination with these bright and bold, high-contrast novelty board books.Babies are able to react and respond to simple patterns and contrasting colours just a few weeks after being born. As their eyes develop, high-contrast shapes, patterns and first friendly characters give newborns something simple to focus on, respond to and interact with. Moo Peek-a-Boo aids the development of early coordination by encouraging babies to reach for the giant fold-out flaps to find out who is hiding underneath - peek-a-boo! It also aids the development of their understanding of object permanence, which is when they realise that just because they can no longer see something does not mean it has disappeared. Babies will react with delight as the pictures of favourite farmyard friends are revealed, while the simple text prompts parent interaction.The perfect first book to share with your baby! Also available: Splish Splash, On the Move, Funny Faces

Franklin Watts

The Mermaid's Socks

Clare De Marco, Steve Brown
Contributors:
Clare De Marco, Steve Brown
Franklin Watts

Dani's Dinosaur

Clare De Marco, Sarah Horne
Contributors:
Clare De Marco, Sarah Horne

Dani's Dinosaur is a funny story for young lizard and pet fans who are learning to read on their own. Perfect for children aged 5-7 who are reading at book band green.When Dani finds a dinosaur in her garden, she and her mum are very surprised. Whatever can it be? And can it help Mum with the gardening?The Froglets series is perfect for children who are reading on their own, with fun stories of no more than 200 words and puzzles to encourage retelling the story and to help build vocabulary. Compiled in consultation with Catherine Glavina, PGCE and Primary Leader, The Centre for Professional Education, University of Warwick.

Franklin Watts

The Animals' Football Final

Clare De Marco, Trevor Dunton
Contributors:
Clare De Marco, Trevor Dunton
Franklin Watts

Lily Long Pockets

Clare De Marco, Benedetta Giaufret, Enrica Rusinà
Contributors:
Clare De Marco, Benedetta Giaufret, Enrica Rusinà
Franklin Watts

Tiger Has a Tantrum - A book about feeling angry

Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Trevor Dunton
Franklin Watts

The Mad Scientist Next Door

Clare De Marco, Rory Walker
Contributors:
Clare De Marco, Rory Walker
Hodder Children's Books

On Holiday

Katherine Lodge
Authors:
Katherine Lodge

Following on from Let's Find Mimi at Home, join the hunt for Mimi on holiday in this exciting journey. With wonderfully detailed and vibrant illustrations, children will enjoy finding Mimi from the airport to the beach. Hours of eye-boggling, puzzling fun! Includes an exciting holiday board game.Mimi enjoys common first experiences in a familiar and comforting world - perfect for preschool and nursery children.