James Dunbar - Tick-Tock: A book about time - Hachette Children's Group

Tick-Tock: A book about time

By James Dunbar

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Wonderwise books bridge the gap between stories and facts, perfect for building children's love of learning and reading.

What is it we cannot see, hear, touch or smell; that we all have to live with and is so old it was around before the world was created? The answer is of course TIME. Tick-Tock takes us on a journey from counting out seconds in heartbeats, to measuring time with clocks and calendars. Discover how we can sense time is passing, and find out some of the amazing things that happen as time ticks on and on and on...

The Wonderwise series presents facts in a way that will inspire young children's imaginations about the world around them.

Biographical Notes

James Dunbar is a writer of educational books.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445128931
  • Publication date: 10 Jul 2014
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Orchard Books

Reindeer Recovery

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Wren & Rook

How Big is Our Baby?

Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Britta Teckentrup
Contributors:
Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Britta Teckentrup
Orchard Books

Lost Kitten

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Orchard Books

Llama on the Loose

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Franklin Watts

Feelings

Judith Heneghan
Authors:
Judith Heneghan

There are all kinds of feelings. We can feel happy and sad, excited and disappointed, worried, angry, curious and calm. Our feelings change, often several times in one day. When we understand our feelings, it helps us to understand how other people are feeling, too. How are you feeling today? This non-fiction picture book celebrates the different feelings we all experience, and is illustrated throughout with beautiful artwork.

Orchard Books

Sparklesplash Meets the Mermaids

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Wayland

Egg to Chicken

Rachel Tonkin
Authors:
Rachel Tonkin

Discover the dramatic life cycle of a chicken from an egg to a chick and eventually and adult chickenLife cycles is a vibrantly designed and illustrated series on this essential, ever-popular topic. Each book in the series features the beautiful artwork of Stephanie Fizer Coleman depicting how a plant or animal evolves from birth to adulthood. Highly accessible text accompanies each image explaining the process of life cycles and a full image of the entire life cycle is presented on the final spread. The books also feature a wealth of extra information and suggested activities at the back. A brilliant guide for children aged 4+ studying life cycles at school.Titles in the series include:Tadpole to FrogEgg to ButterflyEgg to ChickenAcorn to Oak Tree

Wayland

Acorn to Oak Tree

Rachel Tonkin
Authors:
Rachel Tonkin

Discover the awesome life cycle of an oak tree from a seedling to a fully grown tree and the stages inbetween.Life cycles is a vibrantly designed and illustrated series on this essential, ever-popular topic. Each book in the series features the beautiful artwork of Stephanie Fizer Coleman depicting how a plant or animal evolves from birth to adulthood. Highly accessible text accompanies each image explaining the process of life cycles and a full image of the entire life cycle is presented on the final spread. The books also feature a wealth of extra information and suggested activities at the back. A brilliant guide for children aged 4+ studying life cycles at school.Titles in the series include:Tadpole to FrogEgg to ButterflyEgg to ChickenAcorn to Oak Tree

Wayland

Poems About Families

Brian Moses
Authors:
Brian Moses
Wayland

Seasons

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Wayland

Worms

Susie Williams
Authors:
Susie Williams

Everybody loves beautiful bees and butterflies, but what about kids who like more mucky creatures - the ones that live down in the dirt or eat their own poo? These minibeasts are just as deserving of attention. This beautifully illustrated title will explore the wonderful world of the slimy worms. Worms are amazing creatures. They get rid of dead leaves and animals from the ground. Their poo makes soil full of goodness so that plants grow tall and strong. But did you know that worms don't have eyes or lungs or teeth? Or that if a worm is in sunlight for more than an hour, they'll die. Find out all about these incredible, but mucky, minibeasts.Full of facts, the accessible text combined with cute, beautiful artwork results in a stunning non-fiction picture book.Ideal for allowing children to learn more about minibeasts, but also for introducing them to habitats and understanding other living creatures

Orchard Books

Jae the Boy Band Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

Join Rachel and Kirsty as they meet their first-ever boy fairy!Kirsty and Rachel are so excited to be going to see their favourite boy band in concert! But when Jack Frost steals Jae the Boy Band Fairy's magical microphone, everyone gets stage fright and forgets their moves. Can Kirsty, Rachel and Jae help the show go off without a hitch?

Wren & Rook

Does It Fart?

Nick Caruso, Dani Rabaiotti, Alex G. Griffiths
Contributors:
Nick Caruso, Dani Rabaiotti, Alex G. Griffiths

An explosive and hilarious look at facts, farts, and fun!Dogs fart. Cats fart. Horses fart (a lot). But what about snakes? Spiders? Octopuses? What about chimpanzees? Cheetahs? Or dinosaurs?In this gaseous guide to kids' favourite animals (and some they've probably never heard of), young readers will discover not only which animals parp, but also which have the stinkiest farts, which fart the most, and where all this smelly stuff comes from. They'll even learn which species has its own secret fart code! Perfect for reluctant readers, and with full-colour illustrations throughout, Does It Fart? is the funniest book you never knew you needed.Based on the New York Times bestseller Does It Fart?: The Definitive Field Guide to Animal Flatulence.

Hodder Children's Books

Agent Weasel and the Fiendish Fox Gang

Nick East
Authors:
Nick East

Meet Agent Weasel: woodland super-spy. Can he foil the dastardly Fiendish Fox Gang once and for all? And will he still be home in time for tea and biscuits? Perfect for reading alone or sharing together, for fans of The Bolds and Mr Gum.Strange things are happening in the United Woodlands. Rabbit warrens have been peppered with itching powder. Squirrels' nuts are missing. Even Badger's bottom has been shaved! All the clues point to the Fiendish Fox Gang. It's time to call Agent Weasel, woodland super-spy. But before they can even finish their stakeout picnic, Weasel and his trusty dormouse friend Doorkins are captured by the villainous Vixen von Fluff. Can our heroes escape? Can peace be made in the United Woodlands? Will they get afternoon tea and biscuits? Does Agent Weasel have a clue what's going on? All these very important questions will be answered in this rib-ticklingly funny adventure, with glorious illustrations throughout.

Pat-a-Cake

Super Squiggles

Pat-a-Cake, Ana Bermejo
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Ana Bermejo

Essential, fun wipe-clean activity books to keep children busy and master key early learning skillsSuper Squiggles is packed with lines, shapes, and patterns to trace, mazes to follow and puzzles to solve. Children will have fun getting to grips with the pre-school skills of pen control and mark-making, the ideal preparation for learning to write.The consultant-approved activities are fun to do and are combined with brilliant, engaging art that children will love.Also available: Space Trip, Let's Count!

Franklin Watts

Maya Angelou

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Find out about the life of poet and writer Maya Angelou and her work as an activist in the US civil rights movement. The book has photographs and a simple text suitable for young children. For children following Book Bands, it is suitable for those reading at band 9, gold.The Info Buzz series, for age 5+, helps children develop their knowledge and understanding of the world by covering a wide range of topics in a fun, colourful and interactive way. The books have a lively design, engaging text and photos, questions to get children thinking and talking and teaching notes. Each title is written in conjunction with a literacy consultant and features book band guidance and downloadable activity sheets online.

Franklin Watts

Nelson Mandela

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Wren & Rook

A Planet Full of Plastic

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton

Everything is made of stuff. Some things are made of paper, like this book. And some things are made of PLASTIC. If you look around you, plastic is everywhere. Even in places where it's not meant to be. If it drops to the ground, it doesn't rot away - it sticks around for ever.Our world is drowning in plastic, and it's a big problem. Award-winning author-illustrator Neal Layton is here to explain where plastic comes from, why it doesn't biodegrade, and why that's dangerous for animals and humans alike. But he's also FULL of ideas for how you can help! From giving up straws in juice cartons to recycling all we can and taking part in a beach clean, A Planet Full of Plastic will get young readers excited about how they can make a difference to keep Planet Earth happy.This brilliant non-fiction picture book, illustrated in Neal's trademark collage style, is perfect for readers aged 5-7 who love nature and want to help the environment.

Orchard Books

Lisa the Jelly Bean Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

The Nutcracker

Jane Ray
Authors:
Jane Ray