Elizabeth Dale - Rory's Robot - Hachette Children's Group

Rory's Robot

By Elizabeth Dale

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

Fun stories with a word count of fewer than 50 words for emergent readers.

Rory decides to make a robot, but he also makes a lot of mess. Mum is not happy when she finds out!

The Tiddlers series features fun stories with a word count of fewer than 50 words for children who are just starting to read.
A
word list at the start of the book allows you to check the child's
ability to decode and understand each word before reading, providing a
fully supported first reading experience. And a puzzle at the end of the
story encourages rereading for pleasure.

Biographical Notes

Elizabeth Dale always dreamed of being a writer but somehow got side-tracked into studying for a physics degree, followed by health service management. When her children were born she finally returned to her dream, writing thousands of short stories for magazines all over the world. Re-discovering a love of children`s books while reading to her daughters, she decided to turn her hand to writing them - and has now published over twenty books for children, including picture books and junior fiction. Rory`s Robot is her first title for Franklin Watts.

Writing is her full-time job, but also her favourite activity. She also enjoys reading, gardening, walking, and being in the country. Her favourite children`s books include Walk Two Moons, The Selfish Giant, Cosmic, and Someone Else`s Life. She loves watching cosy sentimental films, such as You`ve Got Mail, Return to Me, and While You Were Sleeping, as well as classic old films starring Cary Grant, Fred Astaire and Doris Day.

Elizabeth is married, with three daughters, and lives in a village in West Sussex. Her eldest daughter, Katie, is also a children`s author with Hachette.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781445106922
  • Publication date: 26 Sep 2013
  • Page count: 24
  • Imprint: Franklin Watts
Wayland

Flowers

Victoria Munson
Authors:
Victoria Munson

A fun guide to the common flowers for young children. From daisies to daffodils, discover fun facts about beautiful fl owers. Find out where different flowers grow, what they need to grow and how to identify them. Which flower did the Romans use as medicine? Which flower used to be more expensive than gold?Simple descriptions mixed with beautiful photographs make this a great children's first guide to common British flowers. If you like this title, why not search out the others in the series: Birds, Mammals, Minibeasts, Seashore and Trees.

Wayland

Trees

Victoria Munson
Authors:
Victoria Munson
Orchard Books

The Wonderbird

David Lucas
Authors:
David Lucas

A breathtakingly beautiful picture book about togetherness, perfect for fans of The Fox and the Star.A flock of birds flew among the stars, twittering, chirruping, piping, hooting, all singing one wonderful song ...They sang to the Wonderbird, a million different voices all in harmony.But who IS the Wonderbird? wondered Piper.As the birds scatter to seek the mysterious Wonderbird, Piper travels to the edge of the Milky Way ... and, lost and alone, discovers the answer to his question. David Lucas's extraordinary book reminds us that there is nothing more powerful than togetherness.

Hodder Children's Books

A Home in the Snow

Peter Bently, Charles Fuge
Contributors:
Peter Bently, Charles Fuge
Wayland

Turn off the Tap

Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen

This environment education story follows Tia who is always being told by her mum to turn off the tap to save water - but why is this important? Through the story, Tia learns why water is precious and the small steps she can take to help to save it.Good to be Green is a series of six environment education books that help children age 6+ explore green issues and find out what they can do to help the planet. Each book features the story of a child who is exploring their world and learning why it's important to think green. Alongside the stories are fact boxes with extra information and at the end of each story there are activity ideas, teaching notes and a quiz. Each story is accompanied by bright illustrations by Diane Ewen.

Wayland

Rubbish or Recycling?

Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Contributors:
Deborah Chancellor, Diane Ewen
Wayland

Wild Ideas

Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim
Contributors:
Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim
Franklin Watts

Africa: Nigeria

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch

A simple, friendly geography series that takes a look at countries around the world.Welcome to Nigeria! In this book, young readers tell you all about what makes their country special, from its great capital city, to the landscape, people, food and things to see and do.This series introduces young readers to different continents and countries around the world, highlighting the differences and similarities between them. Clear, friendly text and big photos make these books a great starting point for learning about geography in general, and countries in particular.

Franklin Watts

Robin Hood and the Golden Arrow

Elizabeth Dale
Authors:
Elizabeth Dale
Hodder Children's Books

How to Train Your Dragon The Hidden World: Glow in the Dark Sticker Book

Hodder Children's Books

How To Train Your Dragon The Hidden World: Ultimate Movie Guide

Based on the billion dollar DreamWorks franchise, this is the ultimate guide to How to Train Your Dragon.This definitive, official guide gives you the lowdown on all of Toothless and Hiccup's adventures - from how they first met to their biggest battles. Learn dragon myths, Viking legends and battle stories in this bumper book of Berk. A must-have gift for any Dragons fans!Look out for more How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World books:How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World 1001 StickersHow to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World Dragon GlidersHow to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World Glow in the Dark Sticker BookHow to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World The Story of the FilmHow to Train Your Dragon Ultimate Movie GuideHow to Train Your Dragon is now a major DreamWorks franchise. How to Train Your Dragon The Hidden World is scheduled for release in February 2019 and the TV series Defenders of Berk can be seen on CBBC and Netflix.

Hodder Children's Books

How to Train Your Dragon The Hidden World: 1001 Stickers

Hodder Children's Books

How To Train Your Dragon The Hidden World: Dragon Gliders

Based on the billion dollar DreamWorks franchise, build and fly your own dragons in this action-packed activity book!Race your dragons with your friends and find out who can fly the furthest - will it be Toothless, Stormfly, Hookfang or the new Light Fury?Full of games, puzzles, colouring and more, this activity book will keep Dragons fans busy for hours!Look out for more How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World books:How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World 1001 StickersHow to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World Dragon GlidersHow to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World Glow in the Dark Sticker BookHow to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World The Story of the FilmHow to Train Your Dragon Ultimate Movie GuideHow to Train Your Dragon is now a major DreamWorks franchise. How to Train Your Dragon 3 is scheduled for release in 2019 and the TV series Defenders of Berk can be seen on CBBC and Netflix.

Hodder Children's Books

Lots of Frogs

Howard Calvert, Claudia Boldt
Contributors:
Howard Calvert, Claudia Boldt

Tommy Fox has a box - a box full of frogs. And when they all jump out at school, that's when the fun begins! There is chaos in the classroom and high jinks in the hall. Can Tommy get the frogs back in the box?You'll want to hop along with this fun, rhyming text by debut author Howard Calvert with deliciously bright and bold illustrations from Claudia Boldt!

Hodder Children's Books

Is it Really Nearly Christmas?

Joyce Dunbar, Victoria Turnbull
Contributors:
Joyce Dunbar, Victoria Turnbull

'This isn't any old night, this is a magic night!'A stunning picture book from a gifted storyteller and award-winning illustrator that perfectly captures the joy and anticipation of Christmas Eve.There's only one more sleep till Christmas and Lucas and Willow, the moon and the stars are all waiting ... While they wait, the children remember everything they love about Christmas, but they don't notice that the magic has already begun ...

Franklin Watts

Double Dragons

Enid Richemont
Authors:
Enid Richemont

A fearsome, fire-breathing, knight-eating dragon, a princess and a town in danger ... sound familiar? But this princess is not a weak, idle maiden, she is very sassy and is determined to save her town and change the dragon's diet too!Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Long-Necked Dinosaurs

David West
Authors:
David West

Professor Pete knows lots about all sorts of dinosaurs and other prehistoric animals. Learn all about long-necked dinosaurs from pronouncing their difficult names to facts about their weight, what they eat, how fast they can run and where they used to live in the world. Children will soon become dinosaur experts.Following the same style as Nora the Naturalist's Animals and Safari Sam's Wild Animals, Professor Pete's Prehistoric Animals are brilliant introductory books for young readers aged 5+ in the high-interest area of dinosaurs.

Wayland

Seashore

Victoria Munson
Authors:
Victoria Munson

A fun guide to the seashore for young children. From tiny crabs to slippery seaweed, discover fun facts about amazing seashore wildlife. Find out what plants and animals live at the seashore, how they survive and how to identify them.Which fish have teeth strong enough to crack open shells?Which sea mammal can reach speeds of 30 kph? Simple descriptions mixed with beautiful photographs make this a great children's first guide to the seashore. If you like this title, why not search out the others in the series: Birds, Mammals, Flowers, Minibeasts and Trees.

Wayland

Mammals

Victoria Munson
Authors:
Victoria Munson

Find out about nature with these beautiful photographic introductions. Simple descriptions and fun facts help make it easy to identify common mammals.Then get active and make the nature project at the back of the book.

Wayland

With Hands and Feet

Susie Brooks
Authors:
Susie Brooks

A collection of fun, simple, inexpensive craft projects, ideal for time-poor parents and budget-challenged schools, promoting reuse and recycling. Beautifully designed, the book is clearly and appealingly illustrated with step-by-step instructions and engaging artwork. Each activity is straightforward and achievable, and as such is therapeutic for stressed or anxious children, allowing them to make things by themselves, and to have confidence in their own abilities. Let's Make Art With Hands and Feet shows you how to make a fingerprint sweetshop, fist-print fish, a thumb-print circus, a handprint zoo, a footprint space rocket and much, much more. Techniques include drawing, painting, printing, collage, making rubbings and paint-scraping - used in ingenious ways for fantastic results!Other titles in the series include Let's Make Art By Printing and Stamping, Let's Make Art with Everyday Things and Let's Make Art with Scrap Paper, so there's a whole load of upcycling fun to be had!