Adele Geras - Troy - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Troy

By Adele Geras

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A highly-acclaimed and totally unique retelling of the siege of Troy from one of the UK's most distinguished writers for young people.

The siege of Troy has lasted almost ten years. Inside the walled city, food is scarce and death is common. From the heights of Mount Olympus, the Gods keep watch. But Aphrodite, Goddess of Love, is bored with the endless, dreary war. Aided by Eros's bow, the goddess sends two sisters down a bloody path to an awful truth: In the fury of war, love strikes the deadliest blows.
Heralded by fans and critics alike, Adèle Geras breathes personality, heartbreak, and humour into this classic story.

Biographical Notes

Adele Geras was born in Jerusalem, and now lives in Cambridge. A former actress and teacher, she bega writing in 1976, and has never stopped. In addition to her broad range of books for children, she has published six novels for adults, the most recent of which, Cover Her Eyes, will be published by Quercus in August 2014.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444922080
  • Publication date: 07 Aug 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Orchard Books

Go Popplio!

Orchard Books

The Litten Mystery

Gotta Catch 'Em All! A fantastic full-colour early reader that Pokémon's youngest fans have been waiting for!Ash is on a mission in the Alola region. He's determined to use his Pokémon School skills to catch the mysterious Litten. But has Ask taken on one challenge too far?

Wayland

Heroes of Light and Sound

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Wayland

The Superhuman Body

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Hodder Children's Books

The Survival Game

Nicky Singer
Authors:
Nicky Singer
Hodder Children's Books

Grace and Fury

Tracy Banghart, Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart, Tracy Banghart

Bold, brutal and beautiful, this is a must-read with the glitter and romance of The Selection and the thrilling action and intrigue of Red Queen.In a world where women have no rights, sisters Serina and Nomi face two very different fates: one in the palace, the other on an island prison where women must fight to survive. Serina has spent her whole life preparing to become a Grace - selected to stand by the heir to the throne as a shining example of the perfect woman. But her headstrong and rebellious younger sister has a dangerous secret, and one wrong move could cost both sisters everything. Can Serina fight? And will Nomi win?

Wayland

Masters of Matter

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown

What if you could teleport, change shape or be elastic? You'd be a superhero BUT are these superpowers feasible in the real world? Superpower Science: Masters of Matter tells you all about the reality of these superpowers when looked at through a scientific lens.The series Superpower Science focuses on the superpowers commonly associated with superheroes and reveals just how scientifically realistic they could be to us mere humans. Each title focuses on four to seven superpowers and explains which science principles would come into action if the superpower existed and what effect these science principles would have on the body. Momentum builds by questioning everything as we progress. The comic book format and vintage-looking colourful illustrations paired with quirky and humorous explanations turn what would be considered by many as dry physics principles into high interest exciting books. By pointing out the physical limitations of superpowers, the series aims to fix them, not crush children's dreams but inspire them to be interested in science. Perfect for reader aged 9 and up.

Wayland

Fantastic Forces and Motion

Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Contributors:
Joy Lin, Alan Brown
Orion Children's Books

Shadow and Bone

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo

Enter the Grishaverse with Book One of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy by the number one New York Times-bestselling author of Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom. Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Sarah J. Maas. Soldier. Summoner. Saint. Orphaned and expendable, Alina Starkov is a soldier who knows she may not survive her first trek across the Shadow Fold-a swath of unnatural darkness crawling with monsters. But when her regiment is attacked, Alina unleashes dormant magic not even she knew she possessed. Now Alina will enter a lavish world of royalty and intrigue as she trains with the Grisha, her country's magical military elite - and falls under the spell of their notorious leader, the Darkling. He believes Alina can summon a force capable of destroying the Shadow Fold and reuniting their war-ravaged country, but only if she can master her untamed gift.As the threat to the kingdom mounts and Alina unlocks the secrets of her past, she will make a dangerous discovery that could threaten all she loves and the very future of a nation.Welcome to Ravka . . . a world of science and superstition where nothing is what it seems.Praise for the Grishaverse:"Utterly, extremely bewitching." The Guardian"There's a level of emotional and historical sophistication within Bardugo's original epic fantasy that sets it apart." Vanity Fair"Unlike anything I've ever read." Veronica Roth, bestselling author of Divergent"This is a great choice for teenage fans of George R.R. Martin and J.R.R. Tolkien." RT Book ReviewsRead all the books in the Grishaverse!The Shadow and Bone Trilogy (previously published as The Grisha Trilogy)Shadow and BoneSiege and StormRuin and RisingThe Six of Crows DuologySix of CrowsCrooked KingdomThe Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic

Orion Children's Books

Ruin and Rising

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo
Orchard Books

Grymon the Biting Horror

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!The Dark Wizard Malvel is using ancient magic to summon four Beasts from the Netherworld! First, Tom and Elenna must tackle Grymon, a Beast that can claw its way through solid earth...There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Grymon the Biting Horror; Skrar the Night Scavenger; Tarantix the Bone Spider and Lypida the Shadow Fiend

Orchard Books

Skrar the Night Scavenger

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Tarantix the Bone Spider

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!Tom and Elenna must follow the shadow path to find and defeat the third deadly Netherworld Beast. How will they stop the giant spider Tarantix from poisoning Avantia's precious river?There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Grymon the Biting Horror; Skrar the Night Scavenger; Tarantix the Bone Spider and Lypida the Shadow Fiend

Orchard Books

Lypida the Shadow Fiend

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Not If I Save You First

Ally Carter
Authors:
Ally Carter

Dear Logan,Someday I'm going to write a book: How Not to Die in Alaska - A Girl's Guide to Fashionable Survival.I bet you don't know that a hair pin can make an excellent fishing hook. You may think you can use just any kind of mud for mud masks, but trust me, you CAN'T! In a pinch, nothing starts a fire like nail polish remover. Alaska is tough. You might know this, if you ever replied to my letters.After Maddie's Secret Service dad takes a bullet for the president, he takes Maddie somewhere he thinks they'll be safe - far away from the White House and the president's son, Logan. But when Logan comes to Alaska, so does the danger. If there's one thing Alaska has taught Maddie, it's how to survive. And now her best friend's life depends on it ...

Orion Children's Books

The Astonishing Colour of After

Emily X. R. Pan
Authors:
Emily X. R. Pan

'This brilliantly crafted novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. A very special book' - John Green, bestselling author of The Fault in Our StarsLife, loss, love and art explode in a kaleidoscope of emotions as one girl must learn the truth about her family's past in order to bring peace to the present. For fans of John Green, Jennifer Niven, Jandy Nelson and Nicola Yoon.Leigh Chen Sanders is sixteen when her mother dies by suicide, leaving only a scribbled note: 'I want you to remember'. Leigh doesn't know what it means, but when a red bird appears with a message, she finds herself travelling to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents for the first time. Leigh is far away from home and far away from Axel, her best friend, who she stupidly kissed on the night her mother died - leaving her with a swell of guilt that she wasn't home, and a heavy heart, thinking she may have destroyed the one good thing left in her life. Overwhelmed by grief, Leigh retreats into her art and into her memories, where colours collide and the rules of reality are broken. The only thing Leigh is certain about is that she must find out the truth. She must remember.With lyrical prose and magical elements, Emily X.R. Pan's stunning debut novel alternates between past and present, romance and despair, as one girl attempts to find herself through family history, art, friendship, and love.

Orchard Books

Bobbi the Bouncy Castle Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Rae the Rollercoaster Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on their sweetest-ever fairy adventure!Rae the Rollercoaster Fairy makes sure that rollercoasters everywhere are lots of fun. But when Jack Frost steals her magical object, she's in for a bumpy ride! Can Kirsty and Rachel help get things running smoothly again?

Wren & Rook

Mary's Monster

Lita Judge
Authors:
Lita Judge
Orion Children's Books

Siege and Storm

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo

Enter the Grishaverse with Book Two of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy by the number one New York Times-bestselling author of Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom. Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Sarah J. Maas. Soldier. Summoner. Saint. Alina Starkov's power has grown, but not without a price. She is the Sun Summoner - hunted across the True Sea, haunted by the lives she took on the Shadow Fold. But she and Mal can't outrun their enemies for long.The Darkling is more determined than ever to claim Alina's magic and use it to take the Ravkan throne. With nowhere else to turn, Alina enlists the help of an infamous privateer and sets out to lead the Grisha army.But as the truth of Alina's destiny unfolds, she slips deeper into the Darkling's deadly game of forbidden magic, and further away from her humanity. To save her country, Alina will have to choose between her power and the love she thought would always be her shelter. No victory can come without sacrifice - and only she can face the oncoming storm.Praise for the Grishaverse:"Utterly, extremely bewitching." The Guardian"There's a level of emotional and historical sophistication within Bardugo's original epic fantasy that sets it apart." Vanity Fair"Unlike anything I've ever read." Veronica Roth, bestselling author of Divergent"This is a great choice for teenage fans of George R.R. Martin and J.R.R. Tolkien." RT Book ReviewsRead all the books in the Grishaverse!The Shadow and Bone Trilogy (previously published as The Grisha Trilogy)Shadow and BoneSiege and StormRuin and RisingThe Six of Crows DuologySix of CrowsCrooked KingdomThe Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic