Adele Geras - Troy - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Troy

By Adele Geras

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A highly-acclaimed and totally unique retelling of the siege of Troy from one of the UK's most distinguished writers for young people.

The siege of Troy has lasted almost ten years. Inside the walled city, food is scarce and death is common. From the heights of Mount Olympus, the Gods keep watch. But Aphrodite, Goddess of Love, is bored with the endless, dreary war. Aided by Eros's bow, the goddess sends two sisters down a bloody path to an awful truth: In the fury of war, love strikes the deadliest blows.
Heralded by fans and critics alike, Adèle Geras breathes personality, heartbreak, and humour into this classic story.

Biographical Notes

Adele Geras was born in Jerusalem, and now lives in Cambridge. A former actress and teacher, she bega writing in 1976, and has never stopped. In addition to her broad range of books for children, she has published six novels for adults, the most recent of which, Cover Her Eyes, will be published by Quercus in August 2014.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444922080
  • Publication date: 07 Aug 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Orchard Books

Padma the Pirate Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Kirsty, Rachel and Padma for some perilous pirate fun!Padma the Pirate Fairy is here to take Kirsty and Rachel on a wild adventure! The two best friends must hold on to their hats as they set off on a rollicking journey to defeat dastardly Jack Frost and his goblins.

Orchard Books

The Night Thief

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Hodder Children's Books

The Dark Lady

Akala
Authors:
Akala

Henry Shakespeare is a street boy searching for his parents - his dark skin and curious name are his only clues.A thrilling new series set in a magical realist Shakespearean world, written by award-winning rapper, poet and writer Akala, founder of the renowned Hip-hop Shakespeare Company.When a rich family catch Henry stealing a book, it emerges that the young street boy, raised as an orphan, can read. Astounded, the family take him in as their servant. They soon become fond of Henry and allow him to develop a passion for literature and plays, attending those of his favourites such as Marlowe, Kyd and most of all Shakespeare. But then Henry inherits a vast sum from a mysterious source. Overwhelmed by the desire to find his parents, Henry leaves his adopted family and embarks on an amazing adventure.Perfect for introducing secondary school readers to Shakespeare and the Renaissance, The Dark Lady contains poems, rhymes and songs.Inspired by the Dark Lady (the fierce, independent black woman alluded to in Shakespeare's sonnets 127-154) and featuring Shakespeare himself and many of his key characters, this exciting new series brings to life through fresh eyes the visceral, violent and daring world of the Renaissance.

Hodder Children's Books

The Other Side of Lost

Nick Lake
Authors:
Nick Lake
Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Egg of Glory

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Hodder Children's Books

Kipper: The Blue Balloon

Mick Inkpen
Authors:
Mick Inkpen

Kipper the dog has found a soggy blue balloon in the garden. At first, it seems like an ordinary balloon, but it's not. It's full of fun, magic and endless possibilities... 30 years after it was first published, The Blue Balloon is a celebrated picture book classic. It features the very first appearance of Mick Inkpen's much-loved puppy charachter, Kipper, and has delighted millions of children worldwide. This playful tale of imagination, complete with fantastic fold-out pages, is a classic to be treasured, loved and shared time and time again.This gorgeous anniversary edition comes complete with special bonus material and is an absolute must for all Kipper fans!

Orchard Books

The Secret Jungle

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Ninja Strike

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Ivy the Worry Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel, Kirsty and Ivy as they help keep worries at bay!Ivy the Worry Fairy has a very important job - helping people manage their worries. Everyone gets worried from time to time, and it's important to know how to deal with it. But when Jack Frost steals Ivy's magical objects, her special power to help people is threatened! Can Rachel and Kirsty help get them back and help restore people's inner calm everywhere?

Franklin Watts

Werewolf

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Orchard Books

The Official Pokémon Ultimate Guide

Orchard Books

Cinderella

Ursula Jones, Jessica Courtney Tickle
Contributors:
Ursula Jones, Jessica Courtney Tickle

A sumptuously illustrated retelling of the classic fairytale, Cinderella.Rediscover the magic of Cinderella and enter a world of enchantment and romance with this exquisite picture book retelling. Award-winning author Ursula Jones breathes new life into this enduring and best-loved fairytale with her characteristic blend of warmth, humour and charm. Paired with dazzlingly intricate illustrations, this is a wonderfully evocative, beautiful and contemporary edition of this timeless classic.

Hodder Children's Books

Girl at Sea

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay

Prepare to fall in love this summer and join Precious and Harry on their road trip to the end of the world and back ... Your summer crush starts here! For fans of Zoella, Geek Girl and Holly Bourne.Precious is spending an awkward August in an Algarve villa while her parents fight dirty over an expensive divorce. When she misses her plane home, Precious finds herself on the run along the coast of Portugal. Along the way she meets Harry, travelling Europe before he starts uni. But Precious and her problems are the last thing Harry needs as he struggles to shake off the ghost of his drowned father and get back to something resembling a life. As it turns out, Precious is EXACTLY what Harry needs. Until the complicated but dreamy Nathan shows up, and matters take a darker turn ... Join Precious, Harry and Nathan on a summer road trip with a twist!

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Summer of Us

Cecilia Vinesse
Authors:
Cecilia Vinesse
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Scent of Danger

Abie Longstaff
Authors:
Abie Longstaff

The second book in The Trapdoor Mysteries, a series about Tally, a code-breaking, animal-loving servant girl and her best friend, a squirrel named Squill, who solve mysteries with the help of a secret library...Orphan Tally is the servant girl at Mollett Manor - and she's also the Secret Keeper of the magical library hidden beneath a trapdoor, underneath the manor's grounds. Along with Squill the squirrel, she uses the enchanted books to solve crimes. So when Lady Mollett's new puppy, Widdles, is kidnapped, Tally and Squill head straight to the library. But will they be able to catch the dognapper or is it already too late?

Orchard Books

A Thousand Perfect Notes

C. G. Drews
Authors:
C. G. Drews
Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of the Sun

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond

This is a moving, funny and inspirational novel from the bestselling author of Skellig."The day is long, the world is wide, you're young and free."One hot summer morning, Davie steps boldly out of his front door. The world he enters is very familiar - the little Tyneside town that has always been his home - but as the day passes, it becomes ever more mysterious. A boy has been killed, and Davie thinks he might know who is responsible. He turns away from the gossip and excitement and sets off roaming towards the sunlit hills above the town.As the day goes on, the real and the imaginary start to merge, and Davie knows that neither he nor his world will ever be the same again. This an outstanding novel full of warmth and light, from a multi-award-winning author. David Almond says: 'I guess it embodies my constant astonishment at being alive in this beautiful, weird, extraordinary world.'

Hodder Children's Books

The Outcast

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu

The highly anticipated prequel to the New York Times bestselling Summoner trilogy.Arcturus is just an orphaned stable boy when he accidentally summons a demon. As Hominum's first common summoner, he becomes the key to a secret that the powerful nobility would do anything to keep hidden.He is immediately whisked away to Vocans Academy where the lost arts of summoning, spell craft and demonology are taught to the noble children of the Empire. In no time, Arcturus finds himself surrounded by enemies as noble teachers and students question his right to be there.But before he can even attempt to make friends, his life is turned upside down once again, for the Empire is in turmoil. Rebellion is simmering among the masses, and it will not be long before it boils over. Arcturus must choose a side . . . or watch the Empire crumbleSet before the events of SUMMONER: The Novice this is the perfect introduction to the New York Times bestselling SUMMONER series.P) Hodder Children's Books 2018

Hodder Children's Books

The Little Broomstick

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Orion Children's Books

The Astonishing Colour of After

Emily X. R. Pan
Authors:
Emily X. R. Pan