Adele Geras - Troy - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Troy

By Adele Geras

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A highly-acclaimed and totally unique retelling of the siege of Troy from one of the UK's most distinguished writers for young people.

The siege of Troy has lasted almost ten years. Inside the walled city, food is scarce and death is common. From the heights of Mount Olympus, the Gods keep watch. But Aphrodite, Goddess of Love, is bored with the endless, dreary war. Aided by Eros's bow, the goddess sends two sisters down a bloody path to an awful truth: In the fury of war, love strikes the deadliest blows.
Heralded by fans and critics alike, Adèle Geras breathes personality, heartbreak, and humour into this classic story.

Biographical Notes

Adele Geras was born in Jerusalem, and now lives in Cambridge. A former actress and teacher, she bega writing in 1976, and has never stopped. In addition to her broad range of books for children, she has published six novels for adults, the most recent of which, Cover Her Eyes, will be published by Quercus in August 2014.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444922080
  • Publication date: 07 Aug 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Orchard Books

Camilla the Christmas Present Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Best friends Kirsty and Rachel are very excited to give each other their Christmas presents! But when Jack Frost steals Camilla the Christmas Present Fairy's magical objects, the magic of giving is in danger. Can the girls help get Camilla's items back and save Christmas for both the human and fairy worlds?

Hodder Children's Books

Boot Camp

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Hodder Children's Books

Rock War

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Quercus Children's Books

The Lost and the Found

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke

Real, compulsive and intense: Cat Clarke is the queen of emotional suspense. For fans of Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn, Megan Abbott and Jandy Nelson.SHE WAS LOST... When six-year-old Laurel Logan was abducted, the only witness was her younger sister, Faith. Faith's childhood was dominated by Laurel's disappearance - from her parents' broken marriage and the constant media attention to dealing with so-called friends who only ever wanted to talk about her sister. NOW SHE IS FOUND... Thirteen years later, a young woman is found in the garden of the Logans' old house, disorientated and clutching the teddy bear Laurel was last seen with. Laurel is home at last, safe and sound. Faith always dreamed of getting her sister back, without ever truly believing it would happen. But a disturbing series of events leaves Faith increasingly isolated and paranoid, and before long she begins to wonder if everything that's lost can be found again...

Hodder Children's Books

The DUFF

Kody Keplinger
Authors:
Kody Keplinger

Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper may not be the prettiest girl in her high school, but she has a loyal group of friends, biting wit, and a spot-on BS detector. She's also way too smart to fall for the charms of a man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush, who calls Bianca the Duff - the designated ugly fat friend - of her crew.But things aren't so great at home and Bianca, desperate for a distraction, ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a secret enemies-with-benefits relationship with him. Until it all goes horribly wrong. It turns out Wesley isn't such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she's falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.With a wry and tell-it-like-it-is voice, New York Times Bestselling novel The DUFF is a witty and poignant story of a teenager struggling with the rules of high school attraction, along with the breaking down of her relationships with family and friends. It is a novel about what it means to be sexy, in a world where we feel we have to be perfect!The DUFF movie starring Bella Thorne, Mae Whitman and Alison Janney will be released on DVD in Summer 2015.

Orchard Books

I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have To Kill You

Ally Carter
Authors:
Ally Carter
Orchard Books

Cross My Heart And Hope To Spy

Ally Carter
Authors:
Ally Carter
Orchard Books

Don't Judge A Girl By Her Cover

Ally Carter
Authors:
Ally Carter

Here's the thing about covert operations: the really bad things always happen when you least expect them. The enemies don't give you a heads-up. And they never let you stop to put on comfortable shoes.A spy-in-training, Cammie Morgan has a cover for every occasion. But what happens when she is forced to lose her cover to save her best friend, Macey? Cammie and her friends are determined to hunt down the group that threatens to tear their secret sisterhood apart. This time it's personal.

Orchard Books

Only The Good Spy Young

Ally Carter
Authors:
Ally Carter

I thought I was prepared for most scary situations. I've been almost kidnapped twice, fake kidnapped once, targeted by one terrorist organization and two very cute boys. But this moment was truly terrifying...Cammie 'The Chameleon' knows by now that even she can't hide from danger. But when she discovers that one of her most-trusted allies is a rogue double-agent, Cammie questions her trust in her classmates, her teachers - and her own heart...

Orion Children's Books

Tinder

Sally Gardner, David Roberts
Contributors:
Sally Gardner, David Roberts

Otto Hundebiss is tired of war, but when he defies Death he walks a dangerous path. A half beast half man gives him shoes and dice which will lead him deep into a web of dark magic and mystery. He meets the beautiful Safire - pure of heart and spirit, the scheming Mistress Jabber and the terrifying Lady of the Nail. He learns the powers of the tinderbox and the wolves whose master he becomes. But will all the riches in the world bring him the thing he most desires?Fairy tales are often the cruellest stories of all; in this exquisite novel Sally Gardner writes about great love and great loss.

Hodder Children's Books

Innocent

Anne Cassidy
Authors:
Anne Cassidy
Hodder Children's Books

Girls Only! All About Periods and Growing-Up Stuff

Victoria Parker
Authors:
Victoria Parker

The essential girl guide to growing up!Girls Only! focuses on the practicalities, social and personal implications of starting your period, and the physical and emotional developments in puberty. It tells you what happens and when, what you need to know and how to prepare. It answers all the questions girls are dying to ask, but daren't, in a clear, friendly way, using real-life examples. It's the perfect first book about periods for girls from primary school age and upwards, with a reassuring tone and fun, quirky illustrations.The perfect first book about periods for girls of primary school age, information at the right level. Family Interest Parenting

Orchard Books

Eternal Detention

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson

Dirk Lloyd, the Dark Lord trapped in the body of a weedy schoolboy, returns in another darkly hilarious adventure... Brilliantly funny and subversive, this is the Funny Prize-winning Jamie Thomson at his best.Fear me, o miserable worm!I, the Great Dirk, take up my pen once more to record the utter misery that is SCHOOL. My sworn enemy, Hasdruban the White, has infiltrated Whiteshields School and seeks vengeance on me. Naturally, I will triumph. But it is the Dirkest Hour indeed...BUY THIS BOOK OR SUFFER ONE OF THE FOLLOWING: -Being struck with a Blast of Ravening Flame-Banishment to the Slave Pits of Never Ending Toil-Torment by the Hewer of LimbsTHE CHOICE IS YOURS. MWA HA HA!

Quercus Children's Books

A Kiss in the Dark

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke

Real, compulsive and intense: Cat Clarke is the queen of emotional suspense. For fans of Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn, Megan Abbott and Jandy Nelson.Can love survive the ultimate betrayal? A compelling story of love and identity from a bestselling author.When Alex meets Kate the attraction is instant. Alex is funny, good-looking, and a little shy - everything that Kate wants in a boyfriend. Alex can't help falling for Kate, who is pretty, charming and maybe just a little naive... But one of them is hiding an unbelievable secret, and as their love blossoms, it threatens to ruin not just their relationship, but their lives...

Hodder Children's Books

My Name is Mina

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond
Hodder Children's Books

It's a 50/50 Thing

Chris Higgins
Authors:
Chris Higgins
Hodder Children's Books

Caddy's World

Hilary Mckay
Authors:
Hilary Mckay

Go back in time ... Caddy is 12; grappling with school, best friends, first boyfriends, younger siblings and the unexpected arrival of one baby Permanent Rose who has appeared in the world a little sooner than expected. While baby Rose lies in critical condition in hospital, life goes on in the unpredictable, colourful Casson household.

Quercus Children's Books

Undone

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke
Orion Children's Books

Emily Windsnap and the Monster from the Deep

Liz Kessler, Sarah Gibb
Contributors:
Liz Kessler, Sarah Gibb

Emily Windsnap is thrilled to arrive at her new home - a secret island near the Bermuda Triangle where humans and merfolk live together, and where being a girl who grows a tail as soon as she enters the water isn't a problem. Being Emily, she can't resist exploring forbidden places - and as a result, she inadvertently wakes the kraken, the legendary sea monster that has been asleep for two hundred years.Emily tries to undo the damage as the kraken's terrifying tentacles rise from the deep!Mermaid magic, wonderful descriptions of undersea life and a fabulous adventure focused on the power of friendship make this a real page-turner, with all the charm and warmth of Liz Kessler's first book, The Tail of Emily Windsnap.

Orchard Books

A Fiend in Need

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson