Adele Geras - Troy - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Troy

By Adele Geras

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A highly-acclaimed and totally unique retelling of the siege of Troy from one of the UK's most distinguished writers for young people.

The siege of Troy has lasted almost ten years. Inside the walled city, food is scarce and death is common. From the heights of Mount Olympus, the Gods keep watch. But Aphrodite, Goddess of Love, is bored with the endless, dreary war. Aided by Eros's bow, the goddess sends two sisters down a bloody path to an awful truth: In the fury of war, love strikes the deadliest blows.
Heralded by fans and critics alike, Adèle Geras breathes personality, heartbreak, and humour into this classic story.

Biographical Notes

Adele Geras was born in Jerusalem, and now lives in Cambridge. A former actress and teacher, she bega writing in 1976, and has never stopped. In addition to her broad range of books for children, she has published six novels for adults, the most recent of which, Cover Her Eyes, will be published by Quercus in August 2014.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444922080
  • Publication date: 07 Aug 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Quercus Children's Books

The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken

Every family has secrets - but not every family has a secret pact with a demon.Prosper is the only unexceptional Redding in his remarkable family. So, when he discovers that an 800-year-old demon called Alastar is responsible for their luck - and that this demon is currently living inside him - he's more than a little surprised.Alastar isn't keen to be banished back to the demon realm and will do anything to try and trick his unwilling host into a contract - from nasty insults to wild promises. And even more unnerving, his power over Prosper seems to be growing with each passing night. Prosper has only days to break the curse - a feat that seems impossible. But with the help of a feisty witch-in-training, maybe he can do it? A darkly comic tale with thrilling twists and turns that will keep every reader guessing. Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket, Jonathan Stroud and Skulduggery Pleasant.

Orion Children's Books

Iron Tide Rising

Carrie Ryan, John Parke Davis
Authors:
Carrie Ryan, John Parke Davis
Orchard Books

Bertie Bigroar Finds his Voice

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

An enchanting series full of adorable animals, magic and friendship - from the creator of RAINBOW MAGIC, the UK's bestselling series for girls aged 5-7.Welcome to a magical world where animals talk and play - just like you and me!Best friends Jess and Lily love all animals. But when they follow a mysterious golden cat into Friendship Forest - a place where animals live in tiny cottages and sip dandelion tea at the Toadstool Cafe - their animal friends suddenly become much more magical!Join Lily and Jess as they make a very special friend - Bertie Bigroar the lion cub! Little Bertie has a big heart, but can be shy sometimes. Can the girls help Bertie be brave like his big brothers, and together defeat the wicked witch Grizelda!

Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed

This positive and empowering guide, by bestselling mindset author Matthew Syed, will help boys and girls build resilience, fulfil their potential and become successful, happy, awesome adults.I'm no good at sport ... I can't do maths ... I really struggle with exams ... Sound familiar?If you believe you can't do something, the chances are you won't try. But what if you really could get better at maths, or sport or exams? In fact, what if you could excel at anything you put your mind to?You Are Awesome can help you do just that, inspiring and empowering young readers to find the confidence to realise their potential. The first children's book from Times journalist, two-time Olympian and best-selling mindset author Matthew Syed, it uses examples of successful people from Mozart to Serena Williams to demonstrate that success really is earned rather than given, and that talent can be acquired. With hard work and determination, practice and self-belief, and, most importantly, a Growth Mindset, there's no reason why anyone can't achieve anything. Practical, insightful and positive, this is the book to help children build resilience, embrace their mistakes and grow into successful, happy adults.

Orchard Books

Everless

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland
Franklin Watts

Sam's Super Family

Damian Harvey, Paul Davidson
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, Paul Davidson
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Worlds Collide

Chris Colfer
Authors:
Chris Colfer
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Incredible Billy Wild

Joanna Nadin
Authors:
Joanna Nadin
Wayland

The Boys' Guide to Growing Up

Phil Wilkinson, Sarah Horne
Contributors:
Phil Wilkinson, Sarah Horne

A friendly and reassuring guide for boys as they approach puberty, explaining the changes that will happen to their bodies as they grow up and how these changes might make them feel. Covering everything from physical changes like body hair and testicle growth to emotional ones like mood swings and self-esteem, puberty and parenting expert Phil Wilkinson addresses any worries that boys might have relating to what is 'normal'. He reassures readers and boosts their confidence, encouraging them to feel positive about the changes they will experience as they go through puberty. The book also includes lifestyle advice on topics like healthy eating and exercise.Topics covered:What is puberty?Your puberty timelineHow do hormones work?The height and weight raceA deeper voiceSpotty skinHair, hair, everywhereThe art of shavingSweat, smells and personal hygieneChanges down belowMore changes down belowNew feelingsSex explainedMaking babiesKeeping your confidence upMood swingsManaging your feelingsHealthy eatingThe power of exercisePrivacy and your bodyPuberty for girlsGirls have worries, too

Franklin Watts

Keeping Fit

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Orchard Books

A to Z of Beasts

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Hodder Children's Books

The Kiss

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay

'Aphrodite kissed a mortal once by the light of this moon, many thousands of years ago. It drove him crazy. The next person that he kissed - boum. The craziness travelled like this from person to person. It travelled through time. Everywhere - boum! Tu comprends?''Where did it end up?' I whisper. His lips are on my cheek now.'It ended with me. And now I am going to pass it to you. You will like that, mermaid?'Imagine the perfect kiss. A legendary kiss that makes people crazy with love. Imagine a summer's night, on a moonlit beach in the South of France, as French boy Laurent kisses 16-year-old Delilah after the best chat-up line she's ever heard.BOOM!Delilah is pretty sure the Kiss is fiction, despite her head-spinning holiday fling. But with all the sudden crushes, break-ups and melt-downs happening back at home, the Kiss starts looking a little too real for comfort. If only Delilah could keep track of where it's gone ...Who knew one kiss could cause this much trouble?A hilarious rom-com that will delight Geek Girls everywhere!

Orchard Books

Soltra the Stone Charmer

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Sparkle Statue

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Hodder Children's Books

Pegasus and the Rise of the Titans

Kate O'Hearn
Authors:
Kate O'Hearn
Orchard Books

Sythid the Spider Crab

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

A precious Merryn treasure map has been stolen, and it becomes clear that the dreaded pirate Red Eye is involved. But who is Red Eye, and what will happen if he finds all four treasures? Max and Lia must stop him!The first thrilling adventure in Sea Quest Series 5: The Chaos Quadrant. Look out for Brux the Tusked Terror, Venor the Sea Scorpion and Monoth the Spiked Destroyer!

Orchard Books

Vedra & Krimon Twin Beasts of Avantia

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

New Beasts have been created in Avantia - twin dragons Vedra and Krimon. But the Wizard Malvel plans to capture them, so Tom must take the dragons into hiding. Can Tom save the twin Beasts from the wizard's evil spell?Beast Quest Early Readers are perfect for children learning to read and for families to enjoy together, with text vetted by a literacy expert and bright new colour illustrations.Look out for another Beast Quest Early Reader soon: Kragos and Kildor the Two-headed Demon!

Hodder Children's Books

Boyface and the Quantum Chromatic Disruption Machine

James Campbell, Mark Weighton
Contributors:
James Campbell, Mark Weighton

Boyface Antelope has been waiting his whole life to turn ten and be allowed to enter his parents' stripemongering shop so he can take stripes off animals and put them on something different. Like tartan onto badgers, or removing the stripes of zebras to make ponies. On the morning of his tenth birthday he finds his parents ill, and they ask him not just to go in the shop but to look after it on his own! Will he be able to keep the stripemongery running smoothly?

Orchard Books

Puppy Fun

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Glitter Bird

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks