Richard Carpenter - Catweazle - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Catweazle

By Richard Carpenter

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A new edition of the timeless, much-loved wizard story, first seen on TV, which was a staple part of every 1970s childhood.

Catweazle is a magician from the eleventh century who had trouble making his spells work. One day, all that changed, thanks to a bad dream and the hooting of an owl, and some ferocious Norman soldiers. The magic Catweazle used that day was unlike any other: it worked. The only trouble was it sped him through the centuries into 1970s Britain. There, by good fortune, he befriended a farmer's son, Carrot, and began the process of adjusting - or not - to modern life. How Catweazle manages to deal with cars and telephones and electricity (or 'electrickery', as he calls it) made for hilarious viewing on the LWT TV series and wickedly funny reading in the Puffin novelisation. And here it is again, for older readers to rediscover and as a timeless treat for children today.

Biographical Notes

Richard Carpenter died in February 2012 - many obituaries celebrated his work: 'In any list of the finest children's writers of the late 20th century, Richard Carpenter deserves to be included, and if it wasn't for the lingering prejudice against television as a medium the equal of literature and film, this would undoubtedly be the case' - The Independent, Feb 2012.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444921786
  • Publication date: 01 May 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Franklin Watts

Hidden Talent

Cath Jones, Anne Defreville
Contributors:
Cath Jones, Anne Defreville

It's the school talent show, and a famous celebrity is coming to judge. Max's friends are excited and long to take part, but Max feels far too shy. Friendship and understanding help her work through and ultimately overcome her anxiety.This first colour chapter book is a perfectly levelled, accessible text for Key stage 2 readers aged 9-10. Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and activities to provoke deeper response and encourage writing. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Sandy Cove Rescue

Sue Graves, Noémie Gionet Landry
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Noémie Gionet Landry

Jess and Spencer have been learning all about their local environment. When they go on a beach clean one Saturday, they are horrified to find a seal cub entangled in plastic. Their quick thinking ensures that the seal is soon in the best place to recover.Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Wayland

A World of Computers and Coding

Clive Gifford
Authors:
Clive Gifford
Franklin Watts

The Maya

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Which genius ideas and inventions began with the Maya? What did they develop that we use to this day? In this book, aimed at readers aged nine and over, find out how the Maya built their cities to suit the landscape and population, traded their resources and developed a complex system of writing. Discover their brilliant developments in farming, astronomy and cloth-making and how they have influenced the way we live today. The 'Genius Of' series explores the major discoveries, inventions, influence and legacies of key periods in history.

Franklin Watts

The Benin Kingdom

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland
Franklin Watts

Beating Stress and Anxiety

Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Contributors:
Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Franklin Watts

Your Brain and Body

Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Contributors:
Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Wayland

What is Masculinity? Why Does it Matter? And Other Big Questions

Jeffrey Boakye, Darren Chetty
Authors:
Jeffrey Boakye, Darren Chetty

Masculinity is being discussed more than ever before, in a range of contexts. People talk about 'toxic masculinity', claim that there is a crisis in masculinity or argue that we need to 'reclaim masculinity'. There have always been many ways of being a man, and many people who have claimed that there are correct and incorrect ways of being a man. This important and timely book looks at the big questions surrounding definitions of masculinity, and discusses where ideas of masculinity have come from and the effects of gender stereotyping. The authors and contributors share their experiences of and perspectives on masculinity and invite readers to think for themselves about the issues involved.

Orion Children's Books

Hangman's Crossing

Will Mabbitt
Authors:
Will Mabbitt

The second book in a spookily funny new series, where the living meet the dead and survival is a race against time. Perfect for fans of Skulduggery Pleasant and Who Let the Gods Out. Welcome to the Embassy of the Dead. Leave your life at the door. (Thanks.) Jake may have already outrun and outwitted a grim reaper - saving his own life, as well as the soul of an innocent ghost - but his spooky adventure has only just begun . . . In return for helping ghost, Stiffkey, resolve his unfinished business and travel to the Afterworld, Jake has now been awarded an official position working for the Embassy of the Dead, protecting ghosts in need. He didn't ask for it and, to be honest, he doesn't necessarily want it, but saying 'no' to the Embassy isn't an option. Now Jake must journey even deeper into the mysterious world of ghosts where, on a rowdy night undercover at the Hangman's Social Club, he overhears a plot to destroy the very fabric between the world of the living and the dead. With his ghostly gang at his side - hockey stick-wielding Cora and Zorro the fox - Jake must do the impossible. He has to be a hero. Again. His life - and ultimately his death - depends on it.

Wayland

Who are Refugees and Migrants? What Makes People Leave their Homes? And Other Big Questions

Michael Rosen, Annemarie Young
Authors:
Michael Rosen, Annemarie Young

What does it mean for people to have to leave their homes, and what happens when they seek entry to another country? This book explores the history of refugees and migration around the world and the effects on people of never-ending war and conflict. It compares the effects on society of diversity and interculturalism with historical attempts to create a racially 'pure' culture. It takes an international perspective, and offers a range of views from people who have personal experience of migration, including the campaigners Meltem Avcil and Muzoon Almellehan, the comedian and actor Omid Djalili and the poet Benjamin Zephaniah. Aimed at young people aged 10 and upwards, the book encourages readers to think for themselves about the issues involved. There is also a role-play activity asking readers to imagine themselves in the situation of having to decide whether to leave their homes and seek refuge in a new country. Part of the groundbreaking and important 'And Other Big Questions' series, which offers balanced and considered views on the big issues we face in the world we live in today.Other titles in the series include:What is Humanism? How do you live without a god?What is Feminism? Why do we need It?What is Gender? How does it Define us?What is Consent? Why is it Important?What is Right and Wrong? Who Decides? Where do Values come from?What is Race? Who are Racists? Why Does Skin Colour Matter?What is Masculinity? Why Does it Matter?What is Politics? Why Should we Care?

Hodder Children's Books

Classic Stories of Courageous Girls

This wonderful anthology features the stories of some of the best-loved heroines in children's books. From Jo March who sells her hair to raise money for her family, to George's single-minded commitment to protecting her island in The Famous Five to Bobbie's quick-thinking action that prevents a train crash in The Railway Children, these girls demonstrate courage beyond their years. Each of the 24 chapters contains an introduction about the courageous girl featured and a satisfying extract from the original book. These fictional heroines will inspire young readers with their stories of expectations defied, fears faced and obstacles overcome. This collection is also bound to tempt readers to discover these classic novels for themselves.Classic novels featured include Little Women, Anne of Green Gables, Five on a Treasure Island, The Railway Children, Jane Eyre, A Little Princess, Pollyanna and The Wizard of Oz, as well as beloved fairy tales from diverse cultures such as The Snow Queen, Kate Crackernuts and White Chrysanthemum.

Franklin Watts

Your Emotions

Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Contributors:
Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Franklin Watts

Social Media and You

Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio
Contributors:
Honor Head, Roberta Terracchio

Aimed at young tweens, this book will help you navigate the potential pitfalls of activity on social media and develop good mental health.How has being on social media made you feel today? Our experiences on social media have a big effect on how we think, feel and behave. Social media can be brilliant, but it can also cause all sorts of problems. This book will help you to get the most out of social media by making sure you stay in control and use it in a fun and safe way, rather than letting it control you and make you feel anxious and unhappy. There are hints and tips on quick ways to improve your mental health that you can try every day or whenever you need to.

Franklin Watts

King Midas

Damian Harvey, Sonya Abby Soekarno
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, Sonya Abby Soekarno
Franklin Watts

Dragon Dance

Sue Graves, Fátima Anaya
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Fátima Anaya

Ju-Long and Ting are spending New Year at their grandparents' house and will be watching the dragon dance at the village celebrations. Ju-Long adores dragons and longs to be part of the dance, just like his grandfather was... and this year, his dreams come true!Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

A New Home in Space

Damian Harvey, José Rubert
Contributors:
Damian Harvey, José Rubert
Franklin Watts

Keep Off the Grass

Katie Dale, Liam Darcy
Contributors:
Katie Dale, Liam Darcy
Franklin Watts

Mary and the Great Fire of London

Sue Graves, Alex Paterson
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Alex Paterson
Franklin Watts

Family Differences

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

This book looks at different family set-ups including single parents and step-families and examines issues that can arise within families - sibling fall-outs, poverty, abuse, illness and child carers, and getting on with parents.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.

Franklin Watts

Cultural Issues

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head