Louise Lawrence - The Road to Irriyan - Hachette Children's Group

The Road to Irriyan

By Louise Lawrence

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Hodder's Silver list is making timeless science fiction and fantasy titles available for a new generation of readers - and reacquainting existing fans with favourite works from the past.

The second book in the gripping Llandor Trilogy.

Woken from the long, herb-induced sleep by the encroaching presence of the Grimthane, Roderick, Craig and Carrie take to the vast underground caves and passages of the old city of the giants in their attempt to reach Irriyan and safety. Led by goblins and a dwarf, they are forced away from familiar territory by the vicious shape-changer, Merrigan, and must rush from the dwarf's stronghold to escape the massive rock trolls. In desperate peril, Roderick acts selflessly to save Llandor.

Biographical Notes

Louise Lawrence, who died in December 2013, was one of Britain's most respected writers of speculative fiction, often depicting clashes between social classes and species. Her debut novel, Andra, was published in 1971. She is perhaps best known for Children of the Dust (1985) - about the aftermath of a nuclear holocaust, which was banned from many school libraries, but has achieved a cult following - and has been widely and successfully published in the USA as well as in Britain. Hodder Silver is proud to introduce her stunning Llandor sequence to a new generation of readers.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444920345
  • Publication date: 05 Jun 2014
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

The Shadow of Mordican

Louise Lawrence
Authors:
Louise Lawrence
Hodder Children's Books

Boyface and the Quantum Chromatic Disruption Machine

James Campbell, Mark Weighton
Contributors:
James Campbell, Mark Weighton
Hodder Children's Books

Journey Through Llandor

Louise Lawrence
Authors:
Louise Lawrence
Hodder Children's Books

Riot

Sarah Mussi
Authors:
Sarah Mussi
Quercus Children's Books

True Fire

Gary Meehan
Authors:
Gary Meehan

THE MISSION. Her sister stolen. Her grandfather murdered. Her home burned to the ground. At just 16, her life destroyed. Now, Megan wants revenge. THE ENEMY. But the men who took Megan's precious twin are no ordinary soldiers. The brutal witches, armour-clad and branded with the mark of the True, will stop at nothing to take back the power they once had. THE DECEPTION. Desperate for a way to destroy them, Megan uncovers a terrifying lie. A lie that will cast doubt on everything she has ever known, and everyone she has ever trusted. A lie that will put Megan at the heart of the greatest war her world has ever seen...

Quercus Children's Books

Fragile Darkness

Ellie James, Ellie James
Authors:
Ellie James, Ellie James

A TEEN PSYCHIC. For as long as she can remember, Trinity Monsour has seen things - before they happen. A DEADLY DRUG. And now, the danger she senses leads her deep into the New Orleans party scene. The streets have been flooded with a deadly new drug, and lives are at risk. AN IMPOSSIBLE CHOICE. Those behind the drug will stop at nothing to prevent Trinity leading the police to them. And when the lives of those she loves are threatened, Trinity faces an impossible choice...

Orchard Books

Quicksilver

R J Anderson
Authors:
R J Anderson

Once I was a girl who was special.Now I am extraordinary.And they will never stop hunting me.The compelling follow-up to the bestselling ULTRAVIOLET, this psychological thriller will take your breath away...

Quercus Children's Books

Summerkin

Sarah Prineas, Sarah Prineas
Authors:
Sarah Prineas, Sarah Prineas
Quercus Children's Books

Broken Illusions

Ellie James, Ellie James
Authors:
Ellie James, Ellie James
Quercus Children's Books

Shattered Dreams

Ellie James, Ellie James
Authors:
Ellie James, Ellie James
Quercus Children's Books

Poison Heart

S.B. Hayes, S.B. Hayes
Authors:
S.B. Hayes, S.B. Hayes

From the moment Katy sees Genevieve's beautiful face staring at her from a window, her life will never be the same. Wherever Katy turns, Genevieve is there - at school, with Katy's friends, and worst of all, trying to seduce Katy's hot new boyfriend. But Genevieve has a menacing side, a dangerous side, a threatening side that she only reveals to Katy.When Genevieve's behaviour becomes increasingly twisted, Katy delves into the girl's past, with the help of her best friend Luke. Nothing prepares her for the dark truths that she discovers, or the new romance she finds along the way. Is Genevieve a troubled girl with a difficult childhood? Or is the truth unearthly and much more frightening? Who is the real Genevieve? What are her secrets? Why is she determined to destroy Katy's life?

Quercus Children's Books

Playground

50 Cent, 50 Cent
Authors:
50 Cent, 50 Cent

Thirteen-year-old Butterball doesn't have that much going for him. He's teased about his weight. He hates the suburb his mum moved them to so she could go to nursing school and start her life over. He wishes he still lived with his dad in New York City - where there's always something happening, even if his dad doesn't have much time for him. Still that's not why he beat up Maurice in the playground. Now his school is forcing him to talk to some out-of-touch lady therapist, as though she could ever fix him - as though she could ever figure out the truth. No, Butterball's lips are sealed about what happened that day. But some tales can't help being told. And this is one of them.

Quercus Children's Books

Ashes

Ilsa J. Bick
Authors:
Ilsa J. Bick
Quercus Children's Books

Entangled

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke

Real, compulsive and intense: Cat Clarke is the queen of emotional suspense. For fans of Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn, Megan Abbott and Jandy Nelson.Seventeen-year-old Grace wakes up in a white room, with table, pens and paper - and no clue how she got there. As Grace starts writing, pouring her tangled life onto the page, she is forced to remember everything she's tried to forget: falling hopelessly in love with Nat, and the unravelling of her friendship with her best mate Sal. But there's something missing. As hard as she's trying to remember, is there something she just can't see? Grace must face the most important question of all. Why is she here? A compulsive thriller of dangerous secrets, intense friendships and electrifying attraction.

Martin Remphry

Martin lives in London with his wife and son. He is best known for his lively illustrations, and has just recently started writing. He is passionate about home-grown British legends, in particular those from his home island of Sark.

Penny Dolan

Penny Dolan is a children's writer and storyteller living in North Yorkshire. She is a popular speaker with both infant and junior children, and has visited many School Book Weeks and literacy events across the UK, with her enjoyable 'Author Talks' and lively story-telling sessions. She has also spoken and performed in libraries, bookshops, museums, art galleries, historic sites and outdoor locations, and has appeared on the children's programme of several literature festivals. She has a wide interest in children's books and has been Chair of the Federation of Children's Book Groups. Penny has a wide experience of schools. She was a primary advisory teacher for English and Drama but has been a freelance language arts worker for several years. She has also taught on residential writing courses for children, tutored both storytelling and writing courses for adults, and spoken at conferences. Penny has a degree in Education, specialising in Language and Literacy and an Advanced Diploma in Educational Drama. As well as working on her writing, Penny enjoys drawing, painting, reading, chatting and daydreaming. Her favourite colour is yellow. Her favourite food is strawberries-and-cream, and she is probably the world's slowest swimmer. She has three untidy desks, two grown-up children and one rather bad cat.

Richard Spilsbury

Richard Spilsbury has worked in educational publishing for more than 20 years and has written on a variety of subjects, from climate change and food and farming to art history and design.

Sean Connolly

Sean Connolly is the author of more than 75 books for children and young adults, on global issues, citizenship, history and cultural affairs.

Susanne Winnacker

Susanne studied law and is now a full time writer. She lives in Germany with her husband, a dog that looks like a sheep and three bunnies that have destroyed every piece of furniture she's ever owned. She blogs for The League of Extraordinary Writers.

Vivian French

Vivian is a writer of both books and plays; she has written more than 250 children's books, including the very successful Tiara Club series, and is consistently one of the top 30 most borrowed authors from UK libraries. She has had plays performed both in London and throughout Scotland; her audiences include young adults as well as children. She has won many awards for her books, and is regularly invited to festivals including Cheltenham and the Edinburgh International Book Festival. (2012 Guest selector for the children's programme.) Vivian teaches part time at Edinburgh College of Art, and is one of the two founding members of the PictureHooks programme supporting Scottish illustrators. She is married with four grown up daughters and three grandchildren, and lives in Edinburgh. She'd like a cat, but lives up 66 steps and has no garden ... maybe one day. Her favourite book is an empty notebook.