Louise Lawrence - The Road to Irriyan - Hachette Children's Group

The Road to Irriyan

By Louise Lawrence

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Hodder's Silver list is making timeless science fiction and fantasy titles available for a new generation of readers - and reacquainting existing fans with favourite works from the past.

The second book in the gripping Llandor Trilogy.

Woken from the long, herb-induced sleep by the encroaching presence of the Grimthane, Roderick, Craig and Carrie take to the vast underground caves and passages of the old city of the giants in their attempt to reach Irriyan and safety. Led by goblins and a dwarf, they are forced away from familiar territory by the vicious shape-changer, Merrigan, and must rush from the dwarf's stronghold to escape the massive rock trolls. In desperate peril, Roderick acts selflessly to save Llandor.

Biographical Notes

Louise Lawrence, who died in December 2013, was one of Britain's most respected writers of speculative fiction, often depicting clashes between social classes and species. Her debut novel, Andra, was published in 1971. She is perhaps best known for Children of the Dust (1985) - about the aftermath of a nuclear holocaust, which was banned from many school libraries, but has achieved a cult following - and has been widely and successfully published in the USA as well as in Britain. Hodder Silver is proud to introduce her stunning Llandor sequence to a new generation of readers.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444920345
  • Publication date: 05 Jun 2014
  • Page count: 320
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Quercus Children's Books

Clean

Juno Dawson
Authors:
Juno Dawson

By award-winning Queen of Teen author Juno Dawson, perfect for fans of Gossip Girl Interrupted and The Breakfast Club.Meet the inmates of The Clarity Centre: Kendall the trans anorexic model-wannabe, vicodin addict Saif, OCD hoarder Guy, over-eater Ruby, washed-up reality TV survivor Brady, and last but definitely not least, spoiled heiress Lexi Volkov.Lexi hit rock bottom. After almost overdosing in a penthouse suite her brother stages an intervention and takes her to The Clarity Centre, an island facility for troubled young people.After a gruelling and painful detox, Lexi enters group therapy and meets her fellow inmates. Through her therapy sessions and The Clarity Centre's Ten Steps Programme, Lexi gradually opens up about her fractured childhood, destructive relationships and the dark secret she has been running from. But it's her new friendships that most make Lexi re-evaluate the path she's on. Stripped of her status, Lexi is free to laugh, dance, share and feel. For the first time ever, Lexi has true friends and finds herself powerfully drawn to Brady. But with the demons both Lexi and Brady need to overcome, is a relationship even possible?

Hodder Children's Books

The Little Broomstick

Mary Stewart
Authors:
Mary Stewart
Hodder Children's Books

Crash Landing

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore

Don't miss the last episode of international bestseller Robert Muchamore's ROCK WAR series! Jay, Summer and Dylan are fresh out of the biggest reality show there is. But they're about to discover what fame and fortune are really about. Jay's brother Theo is young, rich and famous: but is it making him happy?Summer's got to weather her one-star reviews and take her career back into her own hands.And Dylan might soon be seeing the world of show-business from the four walls of a prison cell. They've got everything to play for. From the author of CHERUB and Henderson's Boys: find out more at rockwar.com

Hodder Children's Books

Satellite

Nick Lake
Authors:
Nick Lake

The Martian for teens - an epic, highly original space thriller with real science and heartbreaking beauty.Leo has never set foot on Earth. Born and raised with twins Orion and Libra on the Moon 2 Space Station, they have grown up together in the most extraordinary of ways. Now, they are preparing to make their first trip home - their first journey to Earth. But Leo, Orion and Libra cannot possibly imagine the irreversible consequences that their return will set into motion...

Orchard Books

Ballet Dream

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Quercus Children's Books

The Impossible

Mark Illis
Authors:
Mark Illis
Orchard Books

The Girl's Guide to Summer

Sarah Mlynowski
Authors:
Sarah Mlynowski
Hodder Children's Books

The True Colour of Forever

Carrie Firestone
Authors:
Carrie Firestone
Orchard Books

Contagion

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Orchard Books

Royal Holiday

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orion Children's Books

Bird Girl

Maudie Smith
Authors:
Maudie Smith

A magical story about following your dreams - perfect for fans of Holly Webb.Pink-haired Finch Field has always felt different. She dreams of flying - not in a plane, but swimming through the sky like a bird. Her classmates laugh, and call her Dream Bird. But when Finch goes to stay with her beloved Granny Field for the summer, she finds herself face-to-face with a monster intent on stealing people's dreams. Finch must find a way to believe her own dreams can come true if she is to save the dreams of everyone in Sunview on Sea.A story full of magic, fantasy and friendship, perfect for younger readers of Jacqueline Wilson and Holly Webb.

Orchard Books

Headmaster of Doom

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson
Hodder Children's Books

The Inquisition

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu

More demons, epic battles, and fights to the death: introducing the unmissable next instalment in the New York Times bestselling Summoner Trilogy...On trial for a crime he did not commit, Fletcher must face the Inquisition who will decide his future - the process is gruelling, lead by those who will do anything to see him suffer and haunted by ghosts from the past with clues to Fletcher's tragic origins. But Fletcher has little time to dwell on these new revelations when the king announces a deadly challenge to the graduating students at Vocans. One that involves entering Orc territory to complete a risky mission. With loyal demons by their sides, commoners and nobles, dwarves and elves must overcome barriers of class and race and work together to triumph. The reward: a fortune in gold, the safety of an empire and PEACE.With the entire empire watching, Fletcher has much to prove, but there are those out to get him and it soon becomes clear that there's a traitor in their midst, trying to thwart the mission and create unrest within the Empire. With everything stacked against him, Fletcher must use everything in his power to fight his way to victory.'Friendship, loyalty, magic and political intrigue beckon ...' The BooksellerSummoner Trilogy...On trial for a crime he did not commit, Fletcher must face the Inquisition who will decide his future - the process is gruelling, lead by those who will do anything to see him suffer and haunted by ghosts from the past with clues to Fletcher's tragic origins. But Fletcher has little time to dwell on these new revelations when the king announces a deadly challenge to the graduating students at Vocans. One that involves entering Orc territory to complete a risky mission. With loyal demons by their sides, commoners and nobles, dwarves and elves must overcome barriers of class and race and work together to triumph. The reward: a fortune in gold, the safety of an empire and PEACE.With the entire empire watching, Fletcher has much to prove, but there are those out to get him and it soon becomes clear that there's a traitor in their midst, trying to thwart the mission and create unrest within the Empire. With everything stacked against him, Fletcher must use everything in his power to fight his way to victory.'Friendship, loyalty, magic and political intrigue beckon ...' The Bookseller

Hodder Children's Books

The Loose Ends List

Carrie Firestone
Authors:
Carrie Firestone

.The trip of a lifetime, a summer of love - unputdownable writing, perfect for fans of John Green and E. Lockhart. Maddie O'Neill Levine wants to spend the summer before college tying up loose ends with her best friends - kissing boys and soaking up the last of the summer sun. Then her beloved grandmother drops a bombshell; she has been diagnosed with cancer. To spend quality time with her family, Maddie's grandmother takes the whole family on a round-the-word cruise - but at the end of it, Gram might not return home. Here is a story about love, loss and the power of forgiveness.

Hodder Children's Books

The Novice

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu

Demons, magic and epic adventure - introducing the first book in the New York Times bestselling Summoner Trilogy...Fletcher was nothing more than a humble blacksmith's apprentice, when a chance encounter leads to the discovery that he has the ability to summon demons from another world. Chased from his village for a crime he did not commit, he must travel with his demon to the Vocans Academy, where the gifted are trained in the art of summoning. The academy will put Fletcher through a gauntlet of gruelling lessons, training him as a battlemage to fight in the Hominum Empire's war against the savage orcs. Rubbing shoulders with the children of the most powerful nobles in the land, Fletcher must tread carefully. The power hungry Forsyth twins lurk in the shadows, plotting to further their family's interests. Then there is Sylva, an elf who will do anything she can to forge an alliance between her people and Hominum, even if it means betraying her friends. Othello is the first ever dwarf at the academy, and his people have long been oppressed by Hominum's rulers, which provokes tension amongst those he studies alongside.Fletcher will find himself caught in the middle of powerful forces, with nothing but his demon Ignatius to help him. As the pieces on the board manoeuvre for supremacy, Fletcher must decide where his loyalties lie. The fate of an empire is in his hands ...BONUS MATERIAL: Find out more about Demons in a detailed DEMONOLOGY - exclusive to this paperback edition.'Friendship, loyalty, magic and political intrigue beckon ...' The Bookseller

Hodder Children's Books

The DUFF

Kody Keplinger
Authors:
Kody Keplinger
Wayland

Violence Against Women

Emma Marriott
Authors:
Emma Marriott

Go behind the headlines to explore the wider background of news stories that are making a major impact across the world. In Violence Against Women we ask why so many women across the world are victims of violence, from domestic abuse and rape to forced abortions, female genital mutilation and murder. Why does it happen, who are the perpetrators and what can be done to stop it happening?

Wayland

Global Financial Crisis

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele

Go behind the headlines to explore the wider background of news stories that are making a major impact across the world. In Global Financial Crisis, we look at how this situation arose, what was done about it and explore whether the measures worked. The books examines whether the current economic system makes sense, and whether it is fair. Is it sustainable in the future or are more crashes on the way? In a globalised economy, these questions affect everyone on the planet.

Wayland

Hostage Takers

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Wayland

Race and Crime

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele

Go behind the headlines to explore the wider background of news stories that are making a major impact across the world. In Race and Crime, we ask why headlines often link these issues and question some assumptions. Are some crimes carried out by one ethnic or racial grouping more than by others? What parts do policing, prisons, the immigration system and the media play? We examine abuse and hate crimes linked to race, such as slavery or genocide. Who are the perpetrators and who are the victims?