Louise Lawrence - The Road to Irriyan - Hachette Children's Group

The Road to Irriyan

By Louise Lawrence

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Hodder's Silver list is making timeless science fiction and fantasy titles available for a new generation of readers - and reacquainting existing fans with favourite works from the past.

The second book in the gripping Llandor Trilogy.

Woken from the long, herb-induced sleep by the encroaching presence of the Grimthane, Roderick, Craig and Carrie take to the vast underground caves and passages of the old city of the giants in their attempt to reach Irriyan and safety. Led by goblins and a dwarf, they are forced away from familiar territory by the vicious shape-changer, Merrigan, and must rush from the dwarf's stronghold to escape the massive rock trolls. In desperate peril, Roderick acts selflessly to save Llandor.

Biographical Notes

Louise Lawrence, who died in December 2013, was one of Britain's most respected writers of speculative fiction, often depicting clashes between social classes and species. Her debut novel, Andra, was published in 1971. She is perhaps best known for Children of the Dust (1985) - about the aftermath of a nuclear holocaust, which was banned from many school libraries, but has achieved a cult following - and has been widely and successfully published in the USA as well as in Britain. Hodder Silver is proud to introduce her stunning Llandor sequence to a new generation of readers.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444920345
  • Publication date: 05 Jun 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once 3

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

From the bestselling author of How to Train Your Dragon comes an exciting high-adventure series - set in an ancient, magical time, full of Wizards, Warriors, Giants and Sprites.

Hodder Children's Books

The Liars

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu

The highly anticipated new novel from Jennifer Mathieu. Two siblings wrestle with the secrets and lies that threaten to destroy their future. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars.How can one family have so many secrets?It's the summer of 1986. Joaquin and Elena, two teenage siblings live in a toxic environment with their alcoholic mother on an island off the Texas Gulf Coast. Elena falls for a new boy who has just arrived from California. Joaquin must wrestle with his decision to stay on Mariposa Island to protect his sister or flee from his mother's abuse. As both teenagers struggle to figure out who they are and want to be, they are caught in a web of family dysfunction and secrets from their mother's past. Can fierce love save them, or will their truth tear them apart?

Orchard Books

Aisha the Astronaut Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Orla the Inventor Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty for the biggest adventure of all - following your dreams!Rachel and Kirsty are so excited to meet the Discovery Fairies, who look after some of the most exciting jobs in the world. But when Jack Frost steals Orla the Inventor Fairy's magical item, inventors everywhere stop having ideas!Can the girls help Orla defeat him and bring inspiration back to fairy and human worlds?

Orchard Books

Dani the Detective Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Elsie the Engineer Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

How to Train Your Dragon

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Orion Children's Books

Wundersmith

Jessica Townsend
Authors:
Jessica Townsend

Morrigan Crow's adventures in the magical world of Nevermoor continue . . . The most anticipated sequel of the year - a treat for all fans of magic and 'wunder'. A stunningly designed package - with silver foil, hidden artwork under the jacket and beautifully designed interiors - a perfect gift for all young readers.'An extraordinary story full of magics great and small' Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of THE GIRL OF INK AND STARSImagination, discovery and friendship await Morrigan Crow when she escapes her deadly curse and joins the Wundrous Society. It promises her protection and belonging for life - but then Morrigan doesn't receive the welcome she hoped for...Morrigan is a much-feared Wundersmith. So, instead of the Society helping Morrigan to embrace her power, she is only taught that all Wundersmiths are evil and she must suppress her mysterious ability at all costs.To make things worse, Nevermoor is quickly turning from a place of safety into one of danger. Society members are going missing, someone is blackmailing Morrigan's new friends, turning them against her. And Ezra Squall, the evillest man who ever lived, is determined to lure Morrigan from the Society by promising to reveal the true nature of the Wunder that calls to her, which is becoming ever harder to resist...Has Morrigan's dream of escaping her cursed life ended before it truly began?Perfect for fans of the Harry Potter series and His Dark Materials, this series takes readers into an extraordinary world, setting hope and imagination alive.NEVERMOOR - WINNER OF THE WATERSTONES CHILDREN'S BOOK PRIZE 2018 YOUNGER FICTION CATEGORY.

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Hodder Children's Books

The Adventures of Egg Box Dragon

Richard Adams, Alex T. Smith
Contributors:
Richard Adams, Alex T. Smith
Hodder Children's Books

The Survival Game

Nicky Singer
Authors:
Nicky Singer

'A wonderful, surprisingly delicate story about a teenager making her way home to Scotland in a world remade by climate change (aimed at YA readers but, like all good children's books, good for adults too)' Lucy Mangan, i WeekendIn a world full of checkpoints and controls, can love and hope defy the borders? A searing, timely story, as arresting as it is beautiful. Imagine a world ... Where there are too many people on a too-hot earth and your only chance of salvation is to journey north.Where you must prove yourself worthy of existence at every turn, at every checkpoint.Where your instincts become your most powerful weapon - even more than the gun in your pocket.Where you find out what it takes to survive.An extraordinary story about survival and what it costs, about the power of small kindnesses to change everything.

Quercus Children's Books

We Are Young

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Summer Holiday Showdown

Frank Lampard
Authors:
Frank Lampard

Magic meets football in this fun-filled series from legendary footballer Frank Lampard, for readers aged 5 and up.Frankie and his team love playing football. There's always time for a game - especially during the summer holidays!So Frankie and his friends can't believe it when the magic football sends them back in time to a boarding school . . . they're supposed to be on holiday! But there they meet George - the previous owner of their magic football. His brother got lost when they were on a desert island adventure. Can Frankie help to find him - and some buried treasure?

Hodder Children's Books

How to Train Your Dragon: How to Break a Dragon's Heart

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

Read the HILARIOUS books that inspired the HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON films! Hiccup Horrendous Haddock the Third is a smallish Viking with a longish name. Hiccup's father is chief of the Hairy Hooligan tribe which means Hiccup is the Hope and the Heir to the Hairy Hooligan throne - but most of the time Hiccup feels like a very ordinary boy, finding it hard to be a Hero. Whilst searching for his lost friend Camicazi, Hiccup and the Hooligan Tribe have ended up on Uglithug Island. Now UG, the most brutal King in the World, sets Hiccup the Impossible Task. He must venture to the Isle of Berserk to pass his test or DIE trying. And all while being hunted down by an old enemy with a dark secret about the Lost Throne... Can Hiccup find Camicazi, and succeed in his task?READ ALL 12 BOOKS IN THE SERIES!You don't have to read the books in order, but if you want to, this is the right order:1. How to Train Your Dragon2. How to Be a Pirate3. How to Speak Dragonese4. How to Cheat a Dragon's Curse 5. How to Twist a Dragon's Tale6. A Hero's Guide to Deadly Dragons7. How to Ride a Dragon's Storm8. How to Break a Dragon's Heart9. How to Steal a Dragon's Sword10. How to Seize a Dragon's Jewel11. How to Betray a Dragon's Hero12. How to Fight a Dragon's FuryHow to Train Your Dragon is now a major DreamWorks franchise starring Gerard Butler, Cate Blanchett and Jonah Hill and the TV series, Riders of Berk, can be seen on CBeebies and Cartoon Network.

Orchard Books

Contagion

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Don't miss this startling first book in a breathtaking new trilogy from Teri Terry, queen of the teen psychological thriller and author of the bestselling Slated trilogy!URGENT!An epidemic is sweeping the country.You are among the infected. There is no cure, and you cannot be permitted to infect others. You are now under quarantine. The very few of the infected who survive are dangerous and will be taken into the custody of the army.Young runaway Callie survived the disease, but not the so-called treatment. Her brother Kai is still looking for her. And his new friend Shay may hold the key to uncovering what truly happened. From the author of the international sensation Slated comes the first book in a powerful new story of survival and transformation; love and power.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Seven Days of You

Cecilia Vinesse
Authors:
Cecilia Vinesse
Orchard Books

Take The Key And Lock Her Up

Ally Carter
Authors:
Ally Carter
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Olympic Flame Chase

Frank Lampard
Authors:
Frank Lampard
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Deep Sea Dive

Frank Lampard
Authors:
Frank Lampard
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Team T. Rex

Frank Lampard
Authors:
Frank Lampard