Louise Lawrence - The Road to Irriyan - Hachette Children's Group

The Road to Irriyan

By Louise Lawrence

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Hodder's Silver list is making timeless science fiction and fantasy titles available for a new generation of readers - and reacquainting existing fans with favourite works from the past.

The second book in the gripping Llandor Trilogy.

Woken from the long, herb-induced sleep by the encroaching presence of the Grimthane, Roderick, Craig and Carrie take to the vast underground caves and passages of the old city of the giants in their attempt to reach Irriyan and safety. Led by goblins and a dwarf, they are forced away from familiar territory by the vicious shape-changer, Merrigan, and must rush from the dwarf's stronghold to escape the massive rock trolls. In desperate peril, Roderick acts selflessly to save Llandor.

Biographical Notes

Louise Lawrence, who died in December 2013, was one of Britain's most respected writers of speculative fiction, often depicting clashes between social classes and species. Her debut novel, Andra, was published in 1971. She is perhaps best known for Children of the Dust (1985) - about the aftermath of a nuclear holocaust, which was banned from many school libraries, but has achieved a cult following - and has been widely and successfully published in the USA as well as in Britain. Hodder Silver is proud to introduce her stunning Llandor sequence to a new generation of readers.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444920345
  • Publication date: 05 Jun 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

Grace and Fury

Tracy Banghart, Tracy Banghart
Authors:
Tracy Banghart, Tracy Banghart
Orchard Books

A Thousand Perfect Notes

C. G. Drews
Authors:
C. G. Drews

An emotionally charged story about the power of music, and how passion can turn to obsession.Beck hates his life. He hates his violent mother. He hates his home. Most of all, he hates the piano that his mother forces him to play hour after hour, day after day. He will never play as she did before illness ended her career and left her bitter and broken. But Beck is too scared to stand up to his mother, and tell her his true passion, which is composing his own music - because the least suggestion of rebellion on his part ends in violence.When Beck meets August, a girl full of life, energy and laughter, love begins to awaken within him and he glimpses a way to escape his painful existence. But dare he reach for it?Thrilling and powerfully written, this is an explosive debut for YA readers which tackles the dark topic of domestic abuse in an ultimately hopeful tale.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Truth of Different Skies

Kate Ling
Authors:
Kate Ling

What makes you abandon your world? How do you say goodbye when it's forever? A heart-breaking story about survival, love and hope. For fans of Meg Rosoff and Beth Revis.'I've always feared this place would keep me rooted forever . . . but now, without gravity, I'm flying, floating, falling' Bea feels trapped. Having never left her small town and with no money or anyone to rely on, she faces the inevitable future of a dead-end job - forced to survive, rather than live. When a message arrives from space, a mission is planned to travel to its source. Bea knows she has to be chosen to go, no matter what it takes, even though it means leaving Earth forever. Her life has to matter. Except she didn't plan on falling in love before she left . . .

Hodder Children's Books

Movie Night

Lucy Courtenay
Authors:
Lucy Courtenay

If you love rom-coms you'll love this sassy, funny romance that will make you fall head over heels with the help of twelve classic films and a misbehaving cat named Nigel. Perfect for fans of Zoella, Geek Girl and Holly Bourne.One: I am hopelessly in love with Hanna Bergdahl. Two: for the first time since our recent reunion Hanna Bergdahl appears to be single. And three: I am stuck in that inescapable netherworld of demons and acne - the Friend Zone.Sol and Hanna were best friends at primary school and after reuniting at college, they spend approximately seventy per cent of daylight hours together. When disaster strikes at a New Year's Eve party and Hannah sees new boyfriend Danny Dukas kissing Lizzie Banks, a New Year's Resolution is formed. Sol and Hanna will watch one film a month for twelve months until the next New Year. After all, films hold answers to life's hardest questions. Maybe they'll figure out why they are both members of the dumpee club. Only Sol Adams has a new year's resolution of his own: to kiss Hanna Bergdahl before the year is over. Will Sol ever defeat the Friend Zone?

Orchard Books

Everless

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland

Time is a prison. She is the key. Packed with danger, temptation and desire - a perfect read for fans of The Red Queen.In the land of Sempera, the rich control everything - even time. Ever since the age of alchemy and sorcery, hours, days and years have been extracted from blood and bound to iron coins. The rich live for centuries; the poor bleed themselves dry.Jules and her father are behind on their rent and low on hours. To stop him from draining himself to clear their debts, Jules takes a job at Everless, the grand estate of the cruel Gerling family. There, Jules encounters danger and temptation in the guise of the Gerling heir, Roan, who is soon to be married. But the web of secrets at Everless stretches beyond her desire, and the truths Jules must uncover will change her life for ever ... and possibly the future of time itself.'Sara Holland is a fierce storyteller. An intoxicating blend of blood, secrets, and haunting mythology, Everless gives new and terrifying meaning to the phrase running out of time.' Stephanie Garber, New York Times and Sunday Times bestselling author of Caraval

Hodder Children's Books

Crash Landing

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Hodder Children's Books

Satellite

Nick Lake
Authors:
Nick Lake
Hodder Children's Books

Indigo Donut

Patrice Lawrence
Authors:
Patrice Lawrence
Quercus Children's Books

The Lost and the Found

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke

Real, compulsive and intense: Cat Clarke is the queen of emotional suspense. For fans of Paula Hawkins, Gillian Flynn, Megan Abbott and Jandy Nelson.SHE WAS LOST... When six-year-old Laurel Logan was abducted, the only witness was her younger sister, Faith. Faith's childhood was dominated by Laurel's disappearance - from her parents' broken marriage and the constant media attention to dealing with so-called friends who only ever wanted to talk about her sister. NOW SHE IS FOUND... Thirteen years later, a young woman is found in the garden of the Logans' old house, disorientated and clutching the teddy bear Laurel was last seen with. Laurel is home at last, safe and sound. Faith always dreamed of getting her sister back, without ever truly believing it would happen. But a disturbing series of events leaves Faith increasingly isolated and paranoid, and before long she begins to wonder if everything that's lost can be found again...

Orchard Books

Seven Trees of Stone

Leo Hunt
Authors:
Leo Hunt
Quercus Children's Books

Wayfarer

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Quercus Children's Books

In the Afterlight

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Hodder Children's Books

Boot Camp

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Orchard Books

Eight Rivers of Shadow

Leo Hunt
Authors:
Leo Hunt

A thrilling supernatural adventure: dark, funny, with twists at every turn. The sequel to Thirteen Days of Midnight, shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Prize 2016.Luke Manchett used to be one of the most popular boys at school.That was before his necromancer father died and left him a host of vengeful ghosts that wanted him dead.Now everyone thinks he's a freak.To make matters worse, the mysterious new girl at school is actually the daughter of his father's deadliest enemy...And she's out for revenge.

Orchard Books

The Hawkweed Prophecy

Irena Brignull
Authors:
Irena Brignull
Orchard Books

Thirteen Days of Midnight

Leo Hunt
Authors:
Leo Hunt

A thrilling supernatural adventure: dark, funny, with twists at every turn. Shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Prize 2016.When Luke Manchett's estranged father dies suddenly, he leaves his son a dark inheritance. Luke has been left in charge of his father's ghost collection: eight restless spirits. They want revenge for their long enslavement, and in the absence of the father, they're more than happy to take his son. It isn't fair, but you try and reason with the vengeful dead. Halloween, the night when the ghosts reach the height of their power, is fast approaching. With the help of school witchlet Elza Moss, and his cowardly dog Ham, Luke has just thirteen days to uncover the closely guarded secrets of black magic, and send the unquiet spirits to their eternal rest. The alternative doesn't bear thinking about.

Orion Children's Books

The Apple Tart of Hope

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

Orchard Books

Out of Sight, Out of Time

Ally Carter
Authors:
Ally Carter

Normal. I liked the sound of that. Sure, as the daughter of two secret agents, I didn't really know what normal meant, but that didn't matter. Normal was my new mission.Cammie wakes up in an Alpine convent having lost her memory of the whole summer. She and her friends must travel to the other side of the world, trying to piece together the clues that Cammie left behind. But there are people hunting Cammie - people who will stop at nothing to protect their secrets ...

Orchard Books

United We Spy

Ally Carter
Authors:
Ally Carter

The sixth book in the Gallagher Girls series leads Cammie and her spy school friends to another wildly entertaining mission. With new assignments to tail and capture, the final book in the globally bestselling series results in an explosive finale!

Hodder Children's Books

Innocent

Anne Cassidy
Authors:
Anne Cassidy

Charlie's brother Brad is always in trouble with the law, but it's minor stuff, usually - just messing about. Charlie blames their mum, for going off and leaving her and Brad and their Dad to fend for themselves. So when Brad is accused of killing a motorist with a well-aimed stone from a motorway bridge, Charlie is suspicious. It's just not Brad's style. When Charlie starts doing some investigating of her own she unearths a bigger, much worse secret, as well as discovering things about her brother, his best mate Denny, and her long-lost mother that turn her world upside down. In trying to prove her brother is not guilty, Charlie has lost her own innocence, for good...