Louise Lawrence - Journey Through Llandor - Hachette Children's Group

Journey Through Llandor

By Louise Lawrence

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Hodder's Silver list is making timeless science fiction and fantasy titles available for a new generation of readers - and reacquainting existing fans with favourite works from the past.

The first book of Louise Lawrence's gripping Llandor Trilogy.

Roderick, Carried and Craig - on their chase through the forest - find themselves crashing into a frighteningly alien world of terrifying monsters and strange beings. Unable to find their way out, they are befriended by Janine, the elf girl, and many others, as they are forced headlong into a flight through Llandor, pursued by the evil presence of the Grimthane.

Biographical Notes

Louise Lawrence, who died in December 2013, was one of Britain's most respected writers of speculative fiction, often depicting clashes between social classes and species. Her debut novel, Andra, was published in 1971. She is perhaps best known for Children of the Dust (1985) - about the aftermath of a nuclear holocaust, which was banned from many school libraries, but has achieved a cult following - and has been widely and successfully published in the USA as well as in Britain. Hodder Silver is proud to introduce her stunning Llandor sequence to a new generation of readers.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444920338
  • Publication date: 01 May 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

I Am Fugitive

Sif Sigmarsdottir
Authors:
Sif Sigmarsdottir

What if finding out the meaning of life meant destroying peace on Earth - would you still seek out the answers? Perfect for fans of Michael Grant, Suzanne Collins and Robert Muchamore.Back on Earth, after rescuing thousands of teenagers from a gruelling regime in space, Amy Sullivan must try to make sense of home, as it is now. But after an invasion of such colossal proportions, it seems Earth won't be going back to normal any time soon. And when Amy is made Ambassador for Solidarity at the newly created Earth Council, she must defend Earth against new attacks from Visitors. Working day and night to protect planet Earth, Amy still dreams of Caeser, the boy with the dimples, from another planet - she is convinced he can help her. But Caeser is still in space, where conflict is the only thing on agenda. Are two teenagers from different galaxies able to make those in power choose peace ... over the very meaning of life itself?

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Summer of Us

Cecilia Vinesse
Authors:
Cecilia Vinesse
Hodder Children's Books

The Truth About Alice

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu
Orchard Books

Deception

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Quercus Children's Books

Miss Match: The Truth About Destiny

Crystal Cestari
Authors:
Crystal Cestari

The follow-up to the bestselling Miss Match - fans of Geek Girl and Girl Online will love this magically messed-up romance.Amber Sand has a gift. Five seconds of eye contact, and she can see your soul mate.

Hodder Children's Books

Moxie

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu
Hodder Children's Books

I Am Traitor

Sif Sigmarsdottir
Authors:
Sif Sigmarsdottir
Orchard Books

Contagion

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Quercus Children's Books

Wayfarer

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Orchard Books

Season Three

Chloe Bennet
Authors:
Chloe Bennet

When Chloe's boyfriend Mark goes off on a French exchange, he leaves his cousin Oscar in the not-so-capable hands of the Boywatchers. Poor Oscar is extremely handsome, but terribly awkward. Can the girls succeed in transforming him into a suave, girlfriended gent - in time for Mark's return? Broken hearts, promises and toes abound in this hilarious and heartwarming conclusion to the fabulous BOYWATCHING trilogy.

Orion Children's Books

The Bone Sparrow

Zana Fraillon
Authors:
Zana Fraillon

Winner of the CILIP Amnesty Honour 2017.Shortlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize and the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2017.Perfect for fans of THE BOY IN THE STRIPED PYJAMAS. This is a beautiful, vivid and deeply moving story about a refugee boy who has spent his entire life living in a detention centre. This novel reminds us all of the importance of freedom, hope, and the power of a story to speak for anyone who's ever struggled to find a safe home.'...a special book' - Morris Gleitzman, author of the acclaimed ONCE seriesBorn in a refugee camp, all Subhi knows of the world is that he's at least 19 fence diamonds high, the nice Jackets never stay long, and at night he dreams that the sea finds its way to his tent, bringing with it unusual treasures. And one day it brings him Jimmie.Carrying a notebook that she's unable to read and wearing a sparrow made out of bone around her neck - both talismans of her family's past and the mother she's lost - Jimmie strikes up an unlikely friendship with Subhi beyond the fence. As he reads aloud the tale of how Jimmie's family came to be, both children discover the importance of their own stories in writing their futures.

Orchard Books

All Fall Down

Ally Carter
Authors:
Ally Carter

Praise for Ally Carter:Ally Carter is an author that you simply can't miss. - Gripped into BooksGallagher Girls books have real heart, pushing strength and sisterhood over sass, with super wit and humour too... brilliant. ***** Books for KeepsAbsolutely unputdownable and completely gripping... everything that fans of this series will have been waiting for... 10/10... an incredible series in which each book gets better and better. The GuardianAlly Carter has done it again! From the story to the cover, everything about All Fall Down is exciting and sure to keep you on your toes! http://sassyanddangerous.blogspot.mx/Product Description:I don't mean to get into trouble. Trouble just sort of finds me. Grace has been shipped off to stay with her diplomat Grandpa in the glittering Embassy Row, a place where trespassing into the wrong garden can cause an international incident. Grace knows the rules - she's ignored them before - but however much she wants to change, she can't. Not while she's certain of three things: 1. She isn't crazy. 2. Her mother was murdered. 3. Someday she's going to find the man with the scar, and then she is going to make him pay. About the Author:Ally Carter writes books about spies, thieves, and teenagers. She is the New York Times best-selling author of the hugely popular Gallagher Girls series, including I'd Tell You I Love You but Then I'd Have to Kill You, Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy, Don't Judge a Girl by Her Cover, and Only the Good Spy Young.She lives in the Midwest where her life is either very ordinary or the best deep-cover legend ever. She'd tell you more, but...well...you know.

Hodder Children's Books

The Shadow of Mordican

Louise Lawrence
Authors:
Louise Lawrence

Desperate to reach Seers' Keep, Carrie is nevertheless overwhelmed by the peace and enchantment of the land of Irriyan. But the opportunity to settle there vanishes with the appearance of the mysterious White Mage, Gerwyn, who has a thoroughly different destination in mind. Both Carrie and he call upon the elements in their battle for supremacy, but Carrie's power is too new and untried to be a match for Gerwyn's, and soon she and Craig are unmistakeably being drawn towards Mordican ...

Hodder Children's Books

The Road to Irriyan

Louise Lawrence
Authors:
Louise Lawrence

Kaye Stearman

Kaye Stearman has worked for international organizations in the field of human rights, minorities, health and development. She is also an experienced writer of children's books and has published titles on human rights and social issues.

Laura North

Laura North is a children's book author who lives and works in London. Her first children's book was a retelling of 'Theseus and the Minotaur', one of her favourite myths. She has since written a series of fairy tales with a twist, including 'Cinderella: The Terrible Truth', 'The Princess and the Frozen Peas' and 'Hansel and Gretel and the Green Witch', with pictures by some extremely talented illustrators.

Lucy Courtenay

Lucy Courtenay was born in Northern Ireland, went to school in Dorset and studied history at Bristol. Her chequered career included stints as a tea lady, a press officer, a singer, a porcelain dealer, a teacher and an editor, before she finally saw sense and started writing children's books. She began her writing career in 1999 on THE SLEEPOVER CLUB, and hasn't looked back. Lucy has a very small study with a leaking roof and view of the garden where she spends far too much time laughing at her own jokes. She sings, wears bright colours, watches lots of TV, reads incessantly, loves her children and forages for wild mushrooms which her husband wisely refuses to touch. She has a cat called Crumble, two fish called Timothy and Sonic, and an imaginary hamster called Rhubarb.

Michelle Paver

Born in Malawi to a Belgian mother and a father who ran the tiny 'NYASALAND TIMES', Michelle Paver moved to the UK when she was three. She was brought up in Wimbledon and, following a Biochemistry Degree from Oxford, she became a partner in a big City law firm. She gave up the City to follow her long-held dream of becoming a writer. She is the author of the brilliantly successful children's series, THE CHRONICLES OF ANCIENT DARKNESS.Born in Malawi to a Belgian mother and a father who ran the tiny 'NYASALAND TIMES', Michelle Paver moved to the UK when she was three. She was brought up in Wimbledon and, following a Biochemistry Degree from Oxford, she became a partner in a big City law firm. She gave up the City to follow her long-held dream of becoming a writer. She is the author of the brilliantly successful children's series, THE CHRONICLES OF ANCIENT DARKNESS. DARK MATTER is her first adult ghost story. It arises from her lifelong love of the Arctic, which has taken her to northern Canada, Greenland, Scandinavia and Spitsbergen.

Nick Lake

Nick Lake was born in Britain but grew up in Luxembourg, where his father worked for the European Parliament. Nick works in publishing by day and writes in every spare moment he can find. He has won the prestigious Printz Award for his novel In Darkness, and has been twice-shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal.Nick lives in a picture-postcard village in Oxfordshire with his wife and family. His long commute to work gives his imagination time to explore places he's never visited.

Nicola Morgan

Nicola Morgan is an international speaker and award-winning author for and about teenagers. She has written nearly 100 books, including novels such as Fleshmarket (currently being adapted for the London stage) and Mondays are Red, but in the last twelve years she has become increasingly well known for her passionate factual work on adolescence, with Blame My Brain - The Amazing Teenage Brain Revealed and The Teenage Guide to Stress being seminal titles for teenagers and the adults who work with and care about them. A former teacher and dyslexia specialist, Nicola now writes and speaks around the world on a range of subjects relating to adolescence and wellbeing, as well as the reading brain, reading for pleasure and the effects of life online. Her positive, respectful and empathetic attitude towards young people naturally led her to write Positively Teenage.