Jean Ure - Come Lucky April - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Come Lucky April

By Jean Ure

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Hodder's Silver list is making timeless science fiction and fantasy titles available for a new generation of readers - and reacquainting existing fans with favourite works from the past.

Come Lucky April is set a hundred years on from Plague 99. Harry's great-granddaughter is a girl called April, who lives in an all-female run vegan society, which is carefully governed to eliminate risk of plague-like situations. Men have shamed themselves and are no longer in power. There's a primitive aspect to life as though the 21st century as we know it never happened.
At 12, boys are exiled for 5 years ...'they went away as barbarians and came back civilised', which means castrated. 'Homecoming' is when they are welcomed back - but how welcome are they?
We meet Daniel, a survivor of a patrician clan, whose quest it is to find unclaimed parts of the 'outside world'. His great grandmother was Fran and his great grand-father was Shahid from the first part of the trilogy. He wants to find the diary that Fran left behind in her family home in Croydon.
In the abandoned house, girls and boy meet ... Daniel and April don't, at first, realise they are connected by their distant ancestors' friendship. A potential romantic attachment forms between them. His presence creates conflict, but they take him into their community, where the conflicts worsen.
Daniel questions everything April has been brought up to believe. He challenges the women's views and their rejection of the orthodoxy he knows. He makes David, a long-term friend of April, question what he has lost as a man.
An exciting novel, rich in texture and passionate in its ideas.

Biographical Notes

Jean Ure's first book was published when she was sixteen and since then she has written dozens of popular and widely-acclaimed novels for children of all ages. The Plague Trilogy proved to be amongst her most controversial and most ambitious books - involving a tussle with her editor on the boundaries pushed in the middle volume - but she has never shied away from challenging material. In 2006, she was voted by readers of Mizz magazine as one of the three best-known writers for teens.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444919929
  • Publication date: 05 Jun 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Orchard Books

Evolution

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Evolve or die ...Don't miss the final part of this breathtaking new trilogy from multi award-winning author Teri Terry. Shay has followed Xander and joined his mysterious scientific cult at their remote Scottish compound. She's desperately searching for Callie, who went missing before the start of the epidemic that kills 95% of cases, and leaves a tiny number of survivors with astonishing new powers.Can Shay uncover the truth about the origins of the epidemic, find Callie and perhaps even rekindle her relationship with Kai? Or will Xander's grand plans destroy them all for ever?

Franklin Watts

At Sea

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles

How did the forces that fought at sea affect the outcome of the Second World War? This book explores the ships and submarines that slugged it out to rule the seas during the Second World War, from stealthy U-boats to mighty battleships. Along the way, readers will discover the key battles, tactics and weapons that helped the Allies to victory. The Fighting Forces of the Second World War is a must-read for all young military buffs, who enjoy poring over the tactics, uniforms, weapons, special equipment and much more of the heroic fighting forces who waged the Second World War. Key battles and notable events, told chronologically, provide a useful solid historical structure and offer key learning, while the single-topic approach allows easy comparison between the different sidesA great series for readers aged 11 and up.

Franklin Watts

At Home

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles

Franklin Watts

On Land

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles

How did the forces that fought on land affect the outcome of the Second World War? This book explores the units who slugged it out to gain precious territory in the Second World War, from the French Foreign Legion and British SAS, to the Afrika Korps and Chindits. Along the way, readers will discover the key battles, tactics and weapons that helped the Allies to victory. The Fighting Forces of the Second World War is a must-read for all young military buffs, who enjoy poring over the tactics, uniforms, weapons, special equipment and much more of the heroic fighting forces who waged the Second World War. Key battles and notable events, told chronologically, provide a useful solid historical structure and offer key learning, while the single-topic approach allows easy comparison between the different sides. A great series for readers aged 11 and up.

Orion Children's Books

Invictus

Ryan Graudin
Authors:
Ryan Graudin
Orion Children's Books

Lola Offline

Nicola Doherty
Authors:
Nicola Doherty
Orion Children's Books

Chase

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

Get ready to run . . . an edge-of-your-seat thriller with bite from international bestselling author Linwood Barclay, in his first novel for 9-12 year olds.Chipper is a very special dog. As part of a top-secret, multi-million dollar experiment to create the ultimate canine spy technology, Chipper's whole life has been spent within the walls of a secret organization known only as The Institute. Chipper is supposed to be more machine than mutt, but something's wrong and The Institute knows it. He's about to be terminated.Across the state, twelve-year-old orphan Jeff Conway is working all hours at his aunt Flo's lakeside cabin business. He misses his parents, his old life, and the dog he had to leave behind.When Chipper escapes and Jeff finds himself part of the chase, The Institute's most ruthless agent is hot on their tail, and he wants Chipper dead . . . at any cost.Danger, secrets and thrilling suspense collide in Linwood Barclay's action-packed first novel for children.

Orion Children's Books

The Ones That Disappeared

Zana Fraillon
Authors:
Zana Fraillon
Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Wolf by Wolf: Blood for Blood

Ryan Graudin
Authors:
Ryan Graudin
Orion Children's Books

Crooked Kingdom

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo

The hotly-anticipated sequel to SIX OF CROWS, this is GAME OF THRONES meets OCEAN'S ELEVEN in a fantasy epic from the number 1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Leigh Bardugo.Welcome to the world of the Grisha.Kaz Brekker and his crew of deadly outcasts have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn't think they'd survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they're right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and badly weakened, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz's cunning and test the team's fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city's dark and twisting streets - a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of the Grisha world.As gripping, sweeping and memorable as the Grisha trilogy - SHADOW AND BONE, SIEGE AND STORM and RUIN AND RISING - this novel is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Laini Taylor, Kristin Cashore and GAME OF THRONES.Winner of the Teen Choice Book Award for Book of the Year.

Hodder Children's Books

Brigands M.C.

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore

Wayland

World War II

Antony Shaw
Authors:
Antony Shaw
Hodder Children's Books

Watchers at the Shrine

Jean Ure
Authors:
Jean Ure

50 years on from Come Lucky April... April and David have confronted the orthodoxy - they believe girls and boys should be able to grow up together. They determine to send their son away, to spare him the humilation of castration. ' Hal spends several years there, waiting for the ban to be lifted. He befriends the daughters of the family he lives with - but when he challenges his 'father' he is sent from the house, and discovers a new life in the lawless part of the settlement. He realises he needs to help the girls he can to escape and return to Croydon. How can he save them? Life back in Croydon things are changing, too. People are dying. Beliefs are being challenged. Are things any better than they were 150 years ago? Is there hope for the future?

Hodder Children's Books

Plague 99

Jean Ure
Authors:
Jean Ure

Almost overnight a plague has wiped out the population of England. The only survivors seem to be three very different teenagers. Together they must come to terms with the man-made devastation around them. Fran, Harriet and Shahid have the power to rebuild society, but do they have the courage?

Orchard Books

Boys Are Ok!

Jean Ure
Authors:
Jean Ure
Orchard Books

Girls Are Groovy!

Jean Ure
Authors:
Jean Ure
Orchard Books

Boys R Us

Jean Ure
Authors:
Jean Ure

The Gang of Four are growing up. It seems to Polly that they spend most of their spare time with their boyfriends, and even when they are together, all they do is talk about boys.Polly's not sure whether boys really are her. Wasn't it better when it was just the four girls and they could shop gossip and not have to worry about boys being around? Polly wonders whether she'll ever really understand what it's all about...

Orchard Books

Boys Will Be Boys

Jean Ure
Authors:
Jean Ure

Polly is really looking forward to a trip to the seaside with her best friends and their boyfriends. It'll be brilliant, all eight of them together! But then Polly's plans start to fall apart as, one by one, her friends' relationships hit trouble. Soon she finds herself stuck in the middle, like some kind of agony aunt. And when Polly finally gets her day by the sea, will it turn out to be as much fun as she hopes - or will it be a total disaster?

Orchard Books

Boys Are Back

Jean Ure
Authors:
Jean Ure