Jean Ure - Come Lucky April - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Come Lucky April

By Jean Ure

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Hodder's Silver list is making timeless science fiction and fantasy titles available for a new generation of readers - and reacquainting existing fans with favourite works from the past.

Come Lucky April is set a hundred years on from Plague 99. Harry's great-granddaughter is a girl called April, who lives in an all-female run vegan society, which is carefully governed to eliminate risk of plague-like situations. Men have shamed themselves and are no longer in power. There's a primitive aspect to life as though the 21st century as we know it never happened.
At 12, boys are exiled for 5 years ...'they went away as barbarians and came back civilised', which means castrated. 'Homecoming' is when they are welcomed back - but how welcome are they?
We meet Daniel, a survivor of a patrician clan, whose quest it is to find unclaimed parts of the 'outside world'. His great grandmother was Fran and his great grand-father was Shahid from the first part of the trilogy. He wants to find the diary that Fran left behind in her family home in Croydon.
In the abandoned house, girls and boy meet ... Daniel and April don't, at first, realise they are connected by their distant ancestors' friendship. A potential romantic attachment forms between them. His presence creates conflict, but they take him into their community, where the conflicts worsen.
Daniel questions everything April has been brought up to believe. He challenges the women's views and their rejection of the orthodoxy he knows. He makes David, a long-term friend of April, question what he has lost as a man.
An exciting novel, rich in texture and passionate in its ideas.

Biographical Notes

Jean Ure's first book was published when she was sixteen and since then she has written dozens of popular and widely-acclaimed novels for children of all ages. The Plague Trilogy proved to be amongst her most controversial and most ambitious books - involving a tussle with her editor on the boundaries pushed in the middle volume - but she has never shied away from challenging material. In 2006, she was voted by readers of Mizz magazine as one of the three best-known writers for teens.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444919929
  • Publication date: 05 Jun 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

The Love Curse: Arrowheart

Rebecca Sky
Authors:
Rebecca Sky
Hodder Children's Books

Run, Riot

Nikesh Shukla
Authors:
Nikesh Shukla

A powerful novel about young people standing up for themselves and their community, from the editor/author of The Good Immigrant.When teenagers Hari and Jamal film the police shooting an unarmed young man from their estate, they find themselves hunted by the very people who should be protecting them. But as they go on the run with Hari's twin sister, Taran, and Jamal's girlfriend, Anna, the teenagers discover that the truth behind the shooting goes so much deeper, with terrible personal consequences for them all. A hard-hitting YA crime thriller dealing with timely themes of youth helplessness, gentrification and police brutality.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Summer of Us

Cecilia Vinesse
Authors:
Cecilia Vinesse

Five friends. Ten days. The most beautiful cities Europe has to offer. And a love story - or two... The perfect read for fans of Jennifer E Smith and Sara Barnard.Aubrey and Rae have been planning their trip around Europe practically from the moment they became BFFs in primary school. And, now, it ought to be the perfect way to spend their last summer together before university. But things are more complicated at eighteen than they were at ten. There's Jonah, Aubrey's seemingly perfect boyfriend, and his best friend Gabe, the boy Aubrey may have accidentally kissed. And there's Clara, the friend Rae is crushing on, hard, even though there's no hope because Clara is definitely into guys, not girls. Five friends. Ten days. Paris, Amsterdam, Prague, Florence, Barcelona. And a messy, complicated, can-this-really-be happening love story, or two ... because how could there not be?

Hodder Children's Books

I Am Fugitive

Sif Sigmarsdottir
Authors:
Sif Sigmarsdottir

What if finding out the meaning of life meant destroying peace on Earth - would you still seek out the answers? Perfect for fans of Michael Grant, Suzanne Collins and Robert Muchamore.Back on Earth, after rescuing thousands of teenagers from a gruelling regime in space, Amy Sullivan must try to make sense of home, as it is now. But after an invasion of such colossal proportions, it seems Earth won't be going back to normal any time soon. And when Amy is made Ambassador for Solidarity at the newly created Earth Council, she must defend Earth against new attacks from Visitors. Working day and night to protect planet Earth, Amy still dreams of Caeser, the boy with the dimples, from another planet - she is convinced he can help her. But Caeser is still in space, where conflict is the only thing on agenda. Are two teenagers from different galaxies able to make those in power choose peace ... over the very meaning of life itself?

Quercus Children's Books

We Are Young

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke
Hodder Children's Books

The Outcast

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Truth of Different Skies

Kate Ling
Authors:
Kate Ling
Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of the Sun

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond
Quercus Children's Books

Clean

Juno Dawson
Authors:
Juno Dawson
Hodder Children's Books

The Battlemage

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu

One boy's ability to summon demons will change the fate of an empire ... The epic conclusion to the fantasy trilogy described as 'Harry Potter meets Lord of the Rings meets Pokemon'. After the thrilling cliffhanger at the end of book two, we rejoin Fletcher and his friends in the ether, where they must undertake a mortally dangerous quest all the while avoiding capture by enemies and facing foes more terrifying than anything they have yet encountered. But this is nothing compared to what truly lies ahead for Fletcher, as his nemesis, albino orc Khan, is on a mission to destroy Hominum and everything and everyone that Fletcher loves. Epic battles, dramatic revelations and breathtaking drama await in the book in the New York Times bestselling Summoner series.'Friendship, loyalty, magic and political intrigue beckon ...' The Bookseller

Hodder Children's Books

The Inquisition

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu
Hodder Children's Books

The Novice

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu

Demons, magic and epic adventure - introducing the first book in the New York Times bestselling Summoner series ... described as 'Harry Potter meets Lord of the Rings meets Pokemon'. Fletcher was nothing more than a humble blacksmith's apprentice, when a chance encounter leads to the discovery that he has the ability to summon demons from another world. Chased from his village for a crime he did not commit, he must travel with his demon to the Vocans Academy, where the gifted are trained in the art of summoning. The academy will put Fletcher through a gauntlet of gruelling lessons, training him as a battlemage to fight in the Hominum Empire's war against the savage orcs. Rubbing shoulders with the children of the most powerful nobles in the land, Fletcher must tread carefully. The power hungry Forsyth twins lurk in the shadows, plotting to further their family's interests. Then there is Sylva, an elf who will do anything she can to forge an alliance between her people and Hominum, even if it means betraying her friends. Othello is the first ever dwarf at the academy, and his people have long been oppressed by Hominum's rulers, which provokes tension amongst those he studies alongside.Fletcher will find himself caught in the middle of powerful forces, with nothing but his demon Ignatius to help him. As the pieces on the board manoeuvre for supremacy, Fletcher must decide where his loyalties lie. The fate of an empire is in his hands ...'Friendship, loyalty, magic and political intrigue beckon ...' The Bookseller

Hodder Children's Books

Watchers at the Shrine

Jean Ure
Authors:
Jean Ure

50 years on from Come Lucky April... April and David have confronted the orthodoxy - they believe girls and boys should be able to grow up together. They determine to send their son away, to spare him the humilation of castration. ' Hal spends several years there, waiting for the ban to be lifted. He befriends the daughters of the family he lives with - but when he challenges his 'father' he is sent from the house, and discovers a new life in the lawless part of the settlement. He realises he needs to help the girls he can to escape and return to Croydon. How can he save them? Life back in Croydon things are changing, too. People are dying. Beliefs are being challenged. Are things any better than they were 150 years ago? Is there hope for the future?

Hodder Children's Books

Plague 99

Jean Ure
Authors:
Jean Ure
Orchard Books

Shadow of the Zeppelin

Bernard Ashley
Authors:
Bernard Ashley
Orchard Books

Horowitz Horror

Anthony Horowitz
Authors:
Anthony Horowitz
Orchard Books

Fractured

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Kyla's memory has been erased,her personality wiped blank,her memories lost for ever.Or so she thought.Kyla shouldn't be able to remember anything. But she can - and she's beginning to realise that there are a lot of dark secrets locked away in her memories. When a mysterious man from her past comes back into her life, she thinks she's on her way to finding the truth. But the more she learns about her history, the more confusing her future becomes...Set in a disturbing future world, FRACTURED is an engrossing, fast-paced read that establishes Teri Terry as a master thriller writer.Book 2 in the acclaimed SLATED trilogy.

Hodder Children's Books

The Obsidian Mirror

Catherine Fisher
Authors:
Catherine Fisher
Orchard Books

Slated

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Orchard Books

Twist Cottage

Anthony Horowitz
Authors:
Anthony Horowitz

Two spooky short stories by Anthony Horowitz, a master-storyteller and the best-selling author of the Alex Rider series.All the previous owners of Twist Cottage have died in mysterious circumstances. Just a coincidence, thinks Ben, when he, his father and his unpleasant new stepmother move in. But then he starts to discover the cottage's secret . . .