Jean Ure - Watchers at the Shrine - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Watchers at the Shrine

By Jean Ure

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Hodder's Silver list is making timeless science fiction and fantasy titles available for a new generation of readers - and reacquainting existing fans with favourite works from the past.

50 years on from Come Lucky April...
April and David have confronted the orthodoxy - they believe girls and boys should be able to grow up together. They determine to send their son away, to spare him the humilation of castration. '
Hal spends several years there, waiting for the ban to be lifted. He befriends the daughters of the family he lives with - but when he challenges his 'father' he is sent from the house, and discovers a new life in the lawless part of the settlement. He realises he needs to help the girls he can to escape and return to Croydon. How can he save them?
Life back in Croydon things are changing, too. People are dying. Beliefs are being challenged. Are things any better than they were 150 years ago? Is there hope for the future?

Biographical Notes

Jean Ure's first book was published when she was sixteen and since then she has written dozens of popular and widely-acclaimed novels for children of all ages. The Plague Trilogy proved to be amongst her most controversial and most ambitious books - involving a tussle with her editor on the boundaries pushed in the middle volume - but she has never shied away from challenging material. In 2006, she was voted by readers of Mizz magazine as one of the three best-known writers for teens.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444919912
  • Publication date: 03 Jul 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

The Liars

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu

The highly anticipated new novel from Jennifer Mathieu. Two siblings wrestle with the secrets and lies that threaten to destroy their future. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars.How can one family have so many secrets?It's the summer of 1986. Joaquin and Elena, two teenage siblings live in a toxic environment with their alcoholic mother on an island off the Texas Gulf Coast. Elena falls for a new boy who has just arrived from California. Joaquin must wrestle with his decision to stay on Mariposa Island to protect his sister or flee from his mother's abuse. As both teenagers struggle to figure out who they are and want to be, they are caught in a web of family dysfunction and secrets from their mother's past. Can fierce love save them, or will their truth tear them apart?

Franklin Watts

Body Brilliant

Nicola Morgan
Authors:
Nicola Morgan
Hodder Children's Books

The Sharp Edge of a Snowflake

Sif Sigmarsdottir
Authors:
Sif Sigmarsdottir
Franklin Watts

Your Emotions

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

The Artist in You

Julie Brunelle, Peter Wood
Authors:
Julie Brunelle, Peter Wood
Franklin Watts

Social Media and You

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Wayland

From Prejudice to Pride: A History of LGBTQ+ Movement

Amy Lamé
Authors:
Amy Lamé
Orion Children's Books

A Strange Kind of Brave

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

To Kill a Mockingbird with an angelic twist - a novel about the tragedy of fear, the courage of love, and the heroism of everyday kindness. A new poignant and big-hearted novel from bestselling Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted author Sarah Moore Fitzgerald.Allie has made a terrible mistake - one with enormous consequences, something she can't tell anyone about. Except for Dylan, the strange new boy who vows to help her in every way he can. Dylan believes they can fix it all. Tragedy is in store, but in ways neither can ever begin to see...

Orchard Books

The Secret Summer

Ali Standish
Authors:
Ali Standish
Orion Children's Books

Izzy + Tristan

Shannon Dunlap
Authors:
Shannon Dunlap

This isn't a story about anything new. It's about the oldest thing in the world. It's about love.Sixteen-year-old Izzy, a bright aspiring doctor, isn't happy about her recent move from the Lower East Side across the river to Brooklyn. She feels distanced from her family, especially her increasingly incomprehensible twin brother, as well as her new neighbourhood. And then she meets Tristan. Tristan is a chess prodigy who lives with his aunt and looks up to his cousin, Marcus, who has watched out for him over the years. When he and Izzy meet one fateful night, together they tumble into a story as old and unstoppable as love itself.From an exciting new voice in YA, this is a gripping tale of first love for anyone who loved All the Bright Places and The Hate U Give.

Hodder Children's Books

The Haven

Simon Lelic
Authors:
Simon Lelic
Hodder Children's Books

Nowhere on Earth

Nick Lake
Authors:
Nick Lake
Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous and the Egg of Glory

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Orchard Books

Evermore

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland
Franklin Watts

Mutant

Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow
Authors:
Steve Skidmore, Steve Barlow

Take on the role of the Monster Hunter in this fully interactive, flick-through-the pages, choose-your-own-destiny adventure story.YOU are an agent of G.H.O.S.T. - protecting the world from creatures in the shadows. Dr Omega is creating mutanthumans - turning them into monsters. Your mission is to stop her experiments.Written by the award-winning duo Steve Barlow and Steve SkidmoreAge appropriate for 8+. Also suitable for reluctant readers and less confident older readers. Printed using a font approved by the British Dyslexia Association.

Hodder Children's Books

That's Not What Happened

Kody Keplinger
Authors:
Kody Keplinger

Six survived to tell the story, but who knows the truth? The next hotly anticipated YA novel from bestselling US sensation Kody Keplinger, author of THE DUFF and RUNIt's been three years since the Virgil County High School Massacre. Three years since my best friend, Sarah, was killed in a bathroom stall during the mass shooting. Everyone knows Sarah's story - that she died proclaiming her faith. But it's not true. I know because I was with her when she died. I didn't say anything then, and people got hurt because of it. Now Sarah's parents are publishing a book about her, so this might be my last chance to set the record straight . . . but I'm not the only survivor with a story to tell about what did - and didn't - happen that day. Except Sarah's martyrdom is important to a lot of people, people who don't take kindly to what I'm trying to do. And the more I learn, the less certain I am about what's right. I don't know what will be worse: the guilt of staying silent or the consequences of speaking up . . .

Orchard Books

Everless

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland

THE TOP TEN BESTSELLER Time is a prison. She is the key. Packed with danger, temptation and desire - a perfect read for fans of The Red Queen.In the land of Sempera, the rich control everything - even time. Ever since the age of alchemy and sorcery, hours, days and years have been extracted from blood and bound to iron coins. The rich live for centuries; the poor bleed themselves dry.Jules and her father are behind on their rent and low on hours. To stop him from draining himself to clear their debts, Jules takes a job at Everless, the grand estate of the cruel Gerling family. There, Jules encounters danger and temptation in the guise of the Gerling heir, Roan, who is soon to be married. But the web of secrets at Everless stretches beyond her desire, and the truths Jules must uncover will change her life for ever ... and possibly the future of time itself.'Sara Holland is a fierce storyteller. An intoxicating blend of blood, secrets, and haunting mythology, Everless gives new and terrifying meaning to the phrase running out of time.' Stephanie Garber, New York Times and Sunday Times bestselling author of Caraval

Orchard Books

Deception

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Franklin Watts

20th Century Russia

Heather Maisner
Authors:
Heather Maisner

Franklin Watts

Remembering the Fallen of the First World War

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley

Remembering the Fallen of the First World War takes a fascinating and detailed look at how servicemen killed during the First World War were commemorated. Beginning during the war itself, the book investigates the options available at the time - repatriation and normal burial were intially considered, but the sheer number of the dead precluded this, so cemeteries close the battlefields became the only realistic option. The book chronicles the work of Sir Fabian Ware and the Imperial (now Commonwealth) War Graves Commission in setting up permanent and beautifully maintained cemeteries after the war as well as local war memorials, plaques in churches, books of remembrance and so forth. The book also includes poetry written and artwork created to honour the fallen, and offers advice on how young readers can find their ancestors' war graves. A must have book on World War One for ages 11 and up.