Jean Ure - Watchers at the Shrine - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Watchers at the Shrine

By Jean Ure

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Hodder's Silver list is making timeless science fiction and fantasy titles available for a new generation of readers - and reacquainting existing fans with favourite works from the past.

50 years on from Come Lucky April...
April and David have confronted the orthodoxy - they believe girls and boys should be able to grow up together. They determine to send their son away, to spare him the humilation of castration. '
Hal spends several years there, waiting for the ban to be lifted. He befriends the daughters of the family he lives with - but when he challenges his 'father' he is sent from the house, and discovers a new life in the lawless part of the settlement. He realises he needs to help the girls he can to escape and return to Croydon. How can he save them?
Life back in Croydon things are changing, too. People are dying. Beliefs are being challenged. Are things any better than they were 150 years ago? Is there hope for the future?

Biographical Notes

Jean Ure's first book was published when she was sixteen and since then she has written dozens of popular and widely-acclaimed novels for children of all ages. The Plague Trilogy proved to be amongst her most controversial and most ambitious books - involving a tussle with her editor on the boundaries pushed in the middle volume - but she has never shied away from challenging material. In 2006, she was voted by readers of Mizz magazine as one of the three best-known writers for teens.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444919912
  • Publication date: 03 Jul 2014
  • Page count: 160
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Quercus Children's Books

Clean

Juno Dawson
Authors:
Juno Dawson

By award-winning Queen of Teen author Juno Dawson, perfect for fans of Gossip Girl Interrupted and The Breakfast Club.Meet the inmates of The Clarity Centre: Kendall the trans anorexic model-wannabe, vicodin addict Saif, OCD hoarder Guy, over-eater Ruby, washed-up reality TV survivor Brady, and last but definitely not least, spoiled heiress Lexi Volkov.Lexi hit rock bottom. After almost overdosing in a penthouse suite her brother stages an intervention and takes her to The Clarity Centre, an island facility for troubled young people.After a gruelling and painful detox, Lexi enters group therapy and meets her fellow inmates. Through her therapy sessions and The Clarity Centre's Ten Steps Programme, Lexi gradually opens up about her fractured childhood, destructive relationships and the dark secret she has been running from. But it's her new friendships that most make Lexi re-evaluate the path she's on. Stripped of her status, Lexi is free to laugh, dance, share and feel. For the first time ever, Lexi has true friends and finds herself powerfully drawn to Brady. But with the demons both Lexi and Brady need to overcome, is a relationship even possible?

Hodder Children's Books

The Rainmaker Danced

John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura
Contributors:
John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura
Hodder Children's Books

Crash Landing

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Hodder Children's Books

Satellite

Nick Lake
Authors:
Nick Lake

The Martian for teens - an epic, highly original space thriller with real science and heartbreaking beauty.Leo has never set foot on Earth. Born and raised with twins Orion and Libra on the Moon 2 Space Station, they have grown up together in the most extraordinary of ways. Now, they are preparing to make their first trip home - their first journey to Earth. But Leo, Orion and Libra cannot possibly imagine the irreversible consequences that their return will set into motion...

Quercus Children's Books

The Impossible

Mark Illis
Authors:
Mark Illis
Orchard Books

The Girl's Guide to Summer

Sarah Mlynowski
Authors:
Sarah Mlynowski
Hodder Children's Books

The True Colour of Forever

Carrie Firestone
Authors:
Carrie Firestone
Orchard Books

Contagion

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Franklin Watts

The Power of Advertising

Ruth Thomson
Authors:
Ruth Thomson

This eye-catching book looks at the complex world of advertising from adverts of the past to the modern day. It examines how adverts work and how they affect our daily lives. Chapters explore the techiques of the industry, the power of pictures and when and why words matter. The book is a great primer on the world of advertising for children studying the form aged 10+. It also helps children develop critical thinking and debating skills and is a fantastic resource for art and design, business studies and those studying persuasive writing.

Wren & Rook

Doing It

Hannah Witton
Authors:
Hannah Witton
Orchard Books

Headmaster of Doom

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson

Dirk Lloyd, the Dark Lord trapped in the boy of a weedy schoolboy, returns in a darkly hilarious adventure set in the most ghoulish school you'll encounter this side of the Darklands ...Fourth in the brilliant series that began with the Roald Dahl Funny Prize-winning DARK LORD: THE TEENAGE YEARS, also chosen as one of the Sunday Times's 100 Modern Children Classics.Perfect for fans of Philip Reeve and David Walliams.

Hodder Children's Books

The Inquisition

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu

More demons, epic battles, and fights to the death: introducing the unmissable next instalment in the New York Times bestselling Summoner Trilogy...On trial for a crime he did not commit, Fletcher must face the Inquisition who will decide his future - the process is gruelling, lead by those who will do anything to see him suffer and haunted by ghosts from the past with clues to Fletcher's tragic origins. But Fletcher has little time to dwell on these new revelations when the king announces a deadly challenge to the graduating students at Vocans. One that involves entering Orc territory to complete a risky mission. With loyal demons by their sides, commoners and nobles, dwarves and elves must overcome barriers of class and race and work together to triumph. The reward: a fortune in gold, the safety of an empire and PEACE.With the entire empire watching, Fletcher has much to prove, but there are those out to get him and it soon becomes clear that there's a traitor in their midst, trying to thwart the mission and create unrest within the Empire. With everything stacked against him, Fletcher must use everything in his power to fight his way to victory.'Friendship, loyalty, magic and political intrigue beckon ...' The BooksellerSummoner Trilogy...On trial for a crime he did not commit, Fletcher must face the Inquisition who will decide his future - the process is gruelling, lead by those who will do anything to see him suffer and haunted by ghosts from the past with clues to Fletcher's tragic origins. But Fletcher has little time to dwell on these new revelations when the king announces a deadly challenge to the graduating students at Vocans. One that involves entering Orc territory to complete a risky mission. With loyal demons by their sides, commoners and nobles, dwarves and elves must overcome barriers of class and race and work together to triumph. The reward: a fortune in gold, the safety of an empire and PEACE.With the entire empire watching, Fletcher has much to prove, but there are those out to get him and it soon becomes clear that there's a traitor in their midst, trying to thwart the mission and create unrest within the Empire. With everything stacked against him, Fletcher must use everything in his power to fight his way to victory.'Friendship, loyalty, magic and political intrigue beckon ...' The Bookseller

Hodder Children's Books

The Loose Ends List

Carrie Firestone
Authors:
Carrie Firestone

.The trip of a lifetime, a summer of love - unputdownable writing, perfect for fans of John Green and E. Lockhart. Maddie O'Neill Levine wants to spend the summer before college tying up loose ends with her best friends - kissing boys and soaking up the last of the summer sun. Then her beloved grandmother drops a bombshell; she has been diagnosed with cancer. To spend quality time with her family, Maddie's grandmother takes the whole family on a round-the-word cruise - but at the end of it, Gram might not return home. Here is a story about love, loss and the power of forgiveness.

Hodder Children's Books

The Novice

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu
Wayland

Mayan Civilization

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Hodder Children's Books

The DUFF

Kody Keplinger
Authors:
Kody Keplinger
Wayland

Violence Against Women

Emma Marriott
Authors:
Emma Marriott

Go behind the headlines to explore the wider background of news stories that are making a major impact across the world. In Violence Against Women we ask why so many women across the world are victims of violence, from domestic abuse and rape to forced abortions, female genital mutilation and murder. Why does it happen, who are the perpetrators and what can be done to stop it happening?

Wayland

Global Financial Crisis

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele

Go behind the headlines to explore the wider background of news stories that are making a major impact across the world. In Global Financial Crisis, we look at how this situation arose, what was done about it and explore whether the measures worked. The books examines whether the current economic system makes sense, and whether it is fair. Is it sustainable in the future or are more crashes on the way? In a globalised economy, these questions affect everyone on the planet.

Wayland

Hostage Takers

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Wayland

Fierce Floods

Cath Senker
Authors:
Cath Senker