Jean Ure - Watchers at the Shrine - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Watchers at the Shrine

By Jean Ure

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Hodder's Silver list is making timeless science fiction and fantasy titles available for a new generation of readers - and reacquainting existing fans with favourite works from the past.

50 years on from Come Lucky April...
April and David have confronted the orthodoxy - they believe girls and boys should be able to grow up together. They determine to send their son away, to spare him the humilation of castration. '
Hal spends several years there, waiting for the ban to be lifted. He befriends the daughters of the family he lives with - but when he challenges his 'father' he is sent from the house, and discovers a new life in the lawless part of the settlement. He realises he needs to help the girls he can to escape and return to Croydon. How can he save them?
Life back in Croydon things are changing, too. People are dying. Beliefs are being challenged. Are things any better than they were 150 years ago? Is there hope for the future?

Biographical Notes

Jean Ure's first book was published when she was sixteen and since then she has written dozens of popular and widely-acclaimed novels for children of all ages. The Plague Trilogy proved to be amongst her most controversial and most ambitious books - involving a tussle with her editor on the boundaries pushed in the middle volume - but she has never shied away from challenging material. In 2006, she was voted by readers of Mizz magazine as one of the three best-known writers for teens.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444919912
  • Publication date: 03 Jul 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

Devoted

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu
Wayland

What is Race? Who are Racists? Why Does Skin Colour Matter? And Other Big Questions

Nikesh Shukla, Claire Heuchan
Authors:
Nikesh Shukla, Claire Heuchan

Talk about race is often discouraged, but this book aims to bring everyone into the conversation. It explores the history of race and society, giving context to how racist attitudes come into being. It looks at belonging and identity, the damaging effects of stereotyping and the benefits of positive representation. The authors talk sensiitively about how to identify and challenge racism and how to protect against and stop racist behaviour.Aimed at young people aged 10 and upwards.Part of the groundbreaking and important 'And Other Big Questions' series, which offers balanced and considered views on the big issues we face in the world we live in today.Other titles in the series include:What is Humanism? How do you live without a god?What is Feminism? Why do we need it?Who are Refugees and Migrants? What makes people leave their homes?What is Consent? Why is it important?What is Right and Wrong? Who Decides? Where Do Values Come From?

Quercus Children's Books

The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Quercus Children's Books

The Impossible: On the Run

Mark Illis
Authors:
Mark Illis

Nothing is impossible in Hector Coleman's world ... A comic-book inspired adventure with a graphic novel twist, for fans of Joe Cowley, Joe Sugg and Charlie Higson.Last year, Hector Coleman survived the craziest week of his boring teenage life. And just one hour ago, everything in Hector's world was fine. OK, you could argue that he was obsessed with his mobile phone, keeping out the real world, but everything was basically fine. Now he's balanced on a stone in the middle of a river and ... he and his friends are about to genetically mutate in impossible ways. If they don't die first. Want to find out what it's like to be on the run, with a really rubbish super-power? A road-trip adventure with a graphic-novel twist, this is the breathtaking sequel to THE IMPOSSIBLE.

Franklin Watts

Puberty and Growing Up

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Truth of Different Skies

Kate Ling
Authors:
Kate Ling
Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of the Sun

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond
Orion Children's Books

The Haunting

Margaret Mahy
Authors:
Margaret Mahy

A brand-new edition of the Carnegie Medal-winning THE HAUNTING - written by internationally bestselling author, Margaret Mahy.'Strong and terrifying . . . The novel winds up like a spring. A psychological thriller' - Times Literary SupplementEight-year-old Barney has been haunted before. He thought it was something he'd just grow out of, like the imaginary friends his step-mother believes he has. But this time it's different. Footsteps follow him, there's a demanding voice barking orders and Barney begins to feel that sometimes his body is not his own at all . . .With the help of his sisters, Tabitha and Troy, Barney sets out to uncover the truth about their family secrets and to find out once and for all who it is who's haunting him.A thrilling ghost story about a 'mostly ordinary' family and a secret legacy.

Orion Children's Books

The Changeover

Margaret Mahy
Authors:
Margaret Mahy

A brand-new edition of the Carnegie Medal-winning THE CHANGEOVER - written by internationally bestselling author, Margaret Mahy.'A gorgeous, strange, unforgettable story . . . I more than loved it' Laini Taylor - author of Daughter of Smoke and Bone'A clammy hand pressed Laura down onto her knees beside Jacko's bed. It was the hand of terror, nothing less.'It was a warning. Laura felt it when she looked in the mirror that morning. There had been others: the day her father left home, the day she met Sorensen - the boy with the strange silver eyes.But nothing had prepared Laura for the horror of today. And now her little brother, Jacko, was fighting for his life after being sucked dry of his youth by the sinister Carmody Braque.Laura knows there is only one way to save Jacko; she must join Sorensen and use his supernatural powers to change over if there is to be any hope for her little brother.An unforgettable, supernatural romance.

Quercus Children's Books

We Are Young

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke
Hodder Children's Books

The Outcast

Taran Matharu
Authors:
Taran Matharu
Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed

This positive and empowering guide, by bestselling mindset author Matthew Syed, will help boys and girls build resilience, fulfil their potential and become successful, happy, awesome adults.I'm no good at sport ... I can't do maths ... I really struggle with exams ... Sound familiar?If you believe you can't do something, the chances are you won't try. But what if you really could get better at maths, or sport or exams? In fact, what if you could excel at anything you put your mind to?You Are Awesome can help you do just that, inspiring and empowering young readers to find the confidence to realise their potential. The first children's book from Times journalist, two-time Olympian and best-selling mindset author Matthew Syed, it uses examples of successful people from Mozart to Serena Williams to demonstrate that success really is earned rather than given, and that talent can be acquired. With hard work and determination, practice and self-belief, and, most importantly, a Growth Mindset, there's no reason why anyone can't achieve anything. Practical, insightful and positive, this is the book to help children build resilience, embrace their mistakes and grow into successful, happy adults.

Orion Children's Books

Ghost Boys

Jewell Parker Rhodes
Authors:
Jewell Parker Rhodes
Orion Children's Books

Escape

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

Don't stop running . . . the second edge-of-your-seat thriller with bite from international bestselling author Linwood Barclay for ages 9+12-year-old Jeff and genetically engineered spy dog Chipper are on the run from the mysterious and sinister government organisation knows only as The Institute. Due to a combination of bravery, luck and some of Chipper's more useful modifications, they've managed to evade their pursuers so far. But The Institute is closing in and Chipper and Jeff will have to be stay one step ahead if they want to stay alive..Danger, secrets and thrilling suspense collide in Linwood Barclay's action-packed series for children.

Orchard Books

Not If I Save You First

Ally Carter
Authors:
Ally Carter

Dear Logan,Someday I'm going to write a book: How Not to Die in Alaska - A Girl's Guide to Fashionable Survival.I bet you don't know that a hair pin can make an excellent fishing hook. You may think you can use just any kind of mud for mud masks, but trust me, you CAN'T! In a pinch, nothing starts a fire like nail polish remover. Alaska is tough. You might know this, if you ever replied to my letters.After Maddie's Secret Service dad takes a bullet for the president, he takes Maddie somewhere he thinks they'll be safe - far away from the White House and the president's son, Logan. But when Logan comes to Alaska, so does the danger. If there's one thing Alaska has taught Maddie, it's how to survive. And now her best friend's life depends on it ...An edge-of-your-seat thriller from the internationally bestselling author of Gallagher Girls

Orchard Books

Everless

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland

THE TOP TEN BESTSELLERTime is a prison. She is the key. Packed with danger, temptation and desire - a perfect read for fans of The Red Queen.In the land of Sempera, the rich control everything - even time. Ever since the age of alchemy and sorcery, hours, days and years have been extracted from blood and bound to iron coins. The rich live for centuries; the poor bleed themselves dry.Jules and her father are behind on their rent and low on hours. To stop him from draining himself to clear their debts, Jules takes a job at Everless, the grand estate of the cruel Gerling family. There, Jules encounters danger and temptation in the guise of the Gerling heir, Roan, who is soon to be married. But the web of secrets at Everless stretches beyond her desire, and the truths Jules must uncover will change her life for ever ... and possibly the future of time itself.'Sara Holland is a fierce storyteller. An intoxicating blend of blood, secrets, and haunting mythology, Everless gives new and terrifying meaning to the phrase running out of time.' Stephanie Garber, New York Times and Sunday Times bestselling author of Caraval

Franklin Watts

Self-esteem and Mental Health

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Franklin Watts

Sex and relationships

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Hodder Children's Books

Sketches from a Nameless Land

Shaun Tan, Shaun Tan
Authors:
Shaun Tan, Shaun Tan
Hodder Children's Books

The Arrival

Shaun Tan, Shaun Tan
Authors:
Shaun Tan, Shaun Tan