Jean Ure - Watchers at the Shrine - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Watchers at the Shrine

By Jean Ure

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Hodder's Silver list is making timeless science fiction and fantasy titles available for a new generation of readers - and reacquainting existing fans with favourite works from the past.

50 years on from Come Lucky April...
April and David have confronted the orthodoxy - they believe girls and boys should be able to grow up together. They determine to send their son away, to spare him the humilation of castration. '
Hal spends several years there, waiting for the ban to be lifted. He befriends the daughters of the family he lives with - but when he challenges his 'father' he is sent from the house, and discovers a new life in the lawless part of the settlement. He realises he needs to help the girls he can to escape and return to Croydon. How can he save them?
Life back in Croydon things are changing, too. People are dying. Beliefs are being challenged. Are things any better than they were 150 years ago? Is there hope for the future?

Biographical Notes

Jean Ure's first book was published when she was sixteen and since then she has written dozens of popular and widely-acclaimed novels for children of all ages. The Plague Trilogy proved to be amongst her most controversial and most ambitious books - involving a tussle with her editor on the boundaries pushed in the middle volume - but she has never shied away from challenging material. In 2006, she was voted by readers of Mizz magazine as one of the three best-known writers for teens.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444919912
  • Publication date: 03 Jul 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

Shield of Lies

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

The gripping sequel to The Crystal Run - a children's novel from the Sunday Times and Irish Times No. 1 bestselling author for fans of Cornelia Funke, Susan Cooper and Philip Pullman.Runners are the privileged few. Bestowed the honour of protecting their country, Runners bring wealth and glory to their families. Yet, upon fulfilling their oath, a Runner's life must expire. A lot happened since Kaia, fastest and strongest Runner of her cycle, swore to protect her country. Risking their lives, Kaia and Joe travelled through enemy territory to replace the precious Kerala crystals that power Carcassia's protective shield. Thwarted at every step, the teenagers made troubling and frightening discoveries, threatening the safety of all Carcassians.Are Kaia's trusted and powerful leaders liars? Have dozens of teenage Runners been sent to their death for nothing but the comfort and riches of the privileged few? All their efforts in vain, Kaia and Joe are taken prisoner. They must escape. They must find out the truth, return to Carcassia and most importantly, they must prevent more Runners from sprinting to their death.

Wren & Rook

Mary's Monster

Lita Judge
Authors:
Lita Judge
Wayland

Australia

Kevin Pettman
Authors:
Kevin Pettman

Wayland

Vote for Me!

Louise Spilsbury, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Louise Spilsbury, Mike Gordon
Wayland

WWI?

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Orion Children's Books

Invictus

Ryan Graudin
Authors:
Ryan Graudin
Hodder Children's Books

Songs About Us

Chris Russell
Authors:
Chris Russell

A modern love story for fans of Zoella - and for anyone who has ever dreamed of being 'with the band'.Two months on from the explosive finale to book one, Charlie's life is almost back to normal again: rebuilding her relationship with her father, hanging out with best mate Melissa, and worrying about GCSEs. All the while, Gabe's revelations about her mother are never far from her mind. And neither is Gabe.It's not long before Charlie is pulled back into the world of Fire&Lights - but the band seem different this time. But then again, so is she...Meanwhile, tensions between Gabe and Olly continue to run high, leading to more turmoil between the band members and press than ever before. But when Gabriel and Charlie stumble upon yet another startling truth that links them together - everything they have stands to implode in front of them.'A thoroughly absorbing tale of family relationships, friendship and betrayal. Fans of Non Pratt will love it' School Librarian

Hodder Children's Books

Indigo Donut

Patrice Lawrence
Authors:
Patrice Lawrence
Orion Children's Books

The Bone Sparrow

Zana Fraillon
Authors:
Zana Fraillon

Hodder Children's Books

The Crystal Run

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

The gripping children's debut from the Sunday Times and Irish Times No. 1 bestselling author is a page-turning fantasy quest novel for fans of Cornelia Funke, Susan Cooper and Philip Pullman.'I am proud to die for Carcassia,' said Kaia. 'All Runners have a special place in our world, in our history.'Kaia Kukura has been awarded the great honour of protecting her country, and is determined to bring wealth and glory to her family. She must travel through enemy territory to replace the precious Kerala crystals that power Carcassia's protective shield. But no Runner is permitted to return after their mission. When Kaia hasfulfilled her Runner's oath, she knows her life must end.But sometimes it takes an outsider, someone from a different world, to question the truth.Fourteen-year-old Joe can barely outrun the school bullies who torment him daily. Cornered yet again, he tries to escape - and finds himself falling through a portal into another world. There, he meets fierce and strong Kaia. Together they discover that not everyone in Carcassia can be trusted - and that there are terriblelies at the heart of Kaia's beloved home.Can their combined strength and skill help Kaia save her country and herself? And will Joe ever find a way back to his own world?

Franklin Watts

Food and Eating

Anna Claybourne
Authors:
Anna Claybourne
Wayland

the Cold War?

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

This book looks at how and why the Cold War developed between the USSR and the USA and their opposing ideas of communism and capitalism. It examines the legacy of the Cold War, both in terms of the bad things that came out of it, such as instability and conflicts around the world, denial of human rights to millions of people and the stockpiling of nuclear and conventional weapons, and the good things, including technological progress, advances in medical understanding and developments in art, literature and sport.

Hodder Children's Books

City of Shadows

Celia Rees
Authors:
Celia Rees

In the midsummer of his twelfth birthday, Davey, his twin cousins and his sister Kate, embark on a tour of the infamous underground city in Davey's hometown. As the tour progresses, Davey finds himself separated from the others, and inside an eerie chamber. Here he is drawn to a large and hazy-glassed mirror. In a moment, Davey's reflection blurs, and he finds himself back on the streets of the ancient city - but the residents are not of his time - they are ghosts, and some do not take kindly to those from 'the other side'. Davey encounters some friendly spirits, too - but they urge him to try to make it back to his own time, before an evil ghost crew discovers he is mortal. A frantic search for his own world begins, and Davey makes it just in time. But he senses there is unfinished business and, come Hallowe'en, the ghosts will be on the lookout for him - and this time they will be visiting his world . . .

Hodder Children's Books

A Trap in Time

Celia Rees
Authors:
Celia Rees
Hodder Children's Books

A Song for Ella Grey

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond
Hodder Children's Books

Lone Wolf

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore

The sixteenth title in the number one bestselling CHERUB series! Fay has spent eighteen months locked up in a Secure Training Centre. Drug deals and rip-offs are the only things this teenager knows. Now she's back on the street, looking to settle old scores. CHERUB agents Ryan and Ning need Fay's knowledge to unearth a major drug importer. They're trained professionals with one essential advantage: even experienced criminals never suspect that children are spying on them. But Fay's made a lot of enemies and she's running out of time ... For official purposes, these children do not exist.

Hodder Children's Books

Aquarius

Jan Mark
Authors:
Jan Mark
Hodder Children's Books

Come Lucky April

Jean Ure
Authors:
Jean Ure

Come Lucky April is set a hundred years on from Plague 99. Harry's great-granddaughter is a girl called April, who lives in an all-female run vegan society, which is carefully governed to eliminate risk of plague-like situations. Men have shamed themselves and are no longer in power. There's a primitive aspect to life as though the 21st century as we know it never happened. At 12, boys are exiled for 5 years ...'they went away as barbarians and came back civilised', which means castrated. 'Homecoming' is when they are welcomed back - but how welcome are they? We meet Daniel, a survivor of a patrician clan, whose quest it is to find unclaimed parts of the 'outside world'. His great grandmother was Fran and his great grand-father was Shahid from the first part of the trilogy. He wants to find the diary that Fran left behind in her family home in Croydon. In the abandoned house, girls and boy meet ... Daniel and April don't, at first, realise they are connected by their distant ancestors' friendship. A potential romantic attachment forms between them. His presence creates conflict, but they take him into their community, where the conflicts worsen. Daniel questions everything April has been brought up to believe. He challenges the women's views and their rejection of the orthodoxy he knows. He makes David, a long-term friend of April, question what he has lost as a man. An exciting novel, rich in texture and passionate in its ideas.

Hodder Children's Books

Plague 99

Jean Ure
Authors:
Jean Ure
Hodder Children's Books

Dark Sun and other stories

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore

Who would believe that a kid at a sleepover could be a spy? CHERUB: Dark Sun is a short novel aimed at new readers to CHERUB, originally written for World Book Day and now made available in print again by popular demand! To go with it are three stories never before seen in print: The Switch, CHERUB at Christmas and Kerry's First Mission. For official purposes, these children do not exist.