Nicholas Fisk - Volcano - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Volcano

Book 5

By Nicholas Fisk

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Hodder's Silver list brings back into print classic science fiction from the masterful author of Trillions, Grinny and A Rag, a Bone and a Hank of Hair.

When the Starstormers accidentally blast off into space they head for the relative safety of the strange and unwelcoming planet of Volcano. Here they are delighted to be joined by their old allies - the veils of Moloch - who prove surprisingly useful. But they soon discover that the Octopus Emperor - determined to enslave or destroy them - is still pursuing them relentlessly. And under his influence the planet and its inhabitants are becoming increasingly hostile. Finally, Ispex comes up with a plan to destroy the Emperor once and for all. Something so far-fetched that it might just work. But is there time before the Tyrannopolis battleship strikes its final, fatal blows? And can the Starstormers make the huge sacrifice the plan demands?

Biographical Notes

Nicholas Fisk - the author of over 50 books, many of which are modern classics - recently celebrated his 90th birthday. His starting point for a story is an IF ...IF we had a domestic robot, IF we could talk to animals, IF we could move back and forth in time. On such premises he places people - recognisable people living ordinary lives - until the IF explodes. 'I believe that almost any imaginable possibility may become a reality within the lifetime of a young person today: the previous century saw more changes and discoveries than any other and change gets faster every day.'

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444919530
  • Publication date: 04 Sep 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

The Invincible Tony Spears - Lost in Space

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton
Franklin Watts

In the Air

John C. Miles
Authors:
John C. Miles
Orion Children's Books

They Saw Too Much

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

Two teenagers witness a murder - and now they're the next targets. An action-packed, edge-of-your-seat YA thriller from bestselling author, Alan Gibbons. Gripping and gritty, perfect for fans of Kevin Brooks, Patrice Lawrence and Malorie Blackman.Sixteen-year-old John has moved away from the tough inner-city neighbourhood he grew up in and started afresh. Ceri James is the guarded girl from the children's home who has captivated his attention. But when their lives are thrown together, it's not in the way John had hoped. They witness a man die.Not only are they eye-witnesses of the fatal shooting, but John caught the whole thing on camera - and the culprits know it. Now, John and Ceri must run for their lives in a deadly, heart-stopping chase that leads them in dark and ever more dangerous directions.So why does John refuse to call the police? As secrets are revealed and loyalties doubted, John and Ceri's world hinges on one question - when it's a matter of life or death, who can you really trust?

Hodder Children's Books

The Story of Tantrum O'Furrily

Cressida Cowell, Mark Nicholas
Contributors:
Cressida Cowell, Mark Nicholas
Quercus Children's Books

Miss Match: The Truth About Destiny

Crystal Cestari
Authors:
Crystal Cestari

The follow-up to the bestselling Miss Match - fans of Geek Girl and Girl Online will love this magically messed-up romance.Amber Sand has a gift. Five seconds of eye contact, and she can see your soul mate.

Orion Children's Books

The List of Real Things

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Franklin Watts

The Children of Willesden Lane

Franklin Watts
Authors:
Franklin Watts
Hodder Children's Books

Crash Landing

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Glow of Fallen Stars

Kate Ling
Authors:
Kate Ling

Love brought them together - life is pulling them apart ... Seren and Dom's epic love story is the perfect read for fans of Beth Revis and Meg Rosoff. 'I longed so hard for all the things that make life life, and I never thought they'd be mine. But now ... now they are. Now I have something to lose.'Seren and Dom have fled their old lives on board spaceship Ventura in order to be together. They crash-land on a beautiful, uninhabited planet, which at first seems like paradise. There is no one to answer to ... but no one to ask for help. And with each new day comes the realisation of how vulnerable they truly are. This planet has secrets - lots of them. Uncovering them could be the key to survival, but at what cost?The follow-up to The Loneliness of Distant Beings, Kate Ling's second book takes us on an incredible journey through love, loss and the strength of the human spirit.

Franklin Watts

Leagues

James Nixon
Authors:
James Nixon
Hodder Children's Books

Indigo Donut

Patrice Lawrence
Authors:
Patrice Lawrence

The breathtaking second book from the author of Orangeboy, winner of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize for Older Readers and the YA Book Prize and shortlisted for the Costa Book Award .Praise for Orangeboy:"A truly brilliant book." Malorie Blackman"Incredible book. Thank you Patrice Lawrence for such a fresh and riveting piece of fiction." Ben Bailey Smith (Doc Brown)Seventeen-year-old Indigo has had a tough start in life, having grown up in the care system after her dad killed her mum. Bailey, also seventeen, lives with his parents in Hackney and spends all his time playing guitar or tending to his luscious ginger afro. When Indigo and Bailey meet at sixth form, serious sparks fly. But when Bailey becomes the target of a homeless man who seems to know more about Indigo than is normal, Bailey is forced to make a choice he should never have to make. A life-affirming story about falling in love and everyone's need to belong.

Hodder Children's Books

Charlie the Choo-Choo

Beryl Evans, Ned Dameron
Contributors:
Beryl Evans, Ned Dameron

'If I were ever to write a children's book, it would be just like this!' Stephen KingEngineer Bob has a secret: his train engine, Charlie the Choo-Choo, is alive ... A children's book and future classic about friendship, loyalty and hard work. Fans of Stephen King's bestselling series will recognise Charlie, the Choo-Choo, adapted from a section of his novel The Dark Tower III: The Waste Lands. The piece of art created by Ned Dameron for book three is now the cover image for this picture book.

Hodder Children's Books

How To Be A Pirate

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Hodder Children's Books

How To Speak Dragonese

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

Read the HILARIOUS books that inspired the HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON films! Hiccup Horrendous Haddock the Third is a smallish Viking with a longish name. Hiccup's father is chief of the Hairy Hooligan tribe which means Hiccup is the Hope and the Heir to the Hairy Hooligan throne - but most of the time Hiccup feels like a very ordinary boy, finding it hard to be a Hero. When Hiccup's dragon Toothless is captured by Romans, only Hiccup and his friend Fishlegs can rescue him. But things get WORSE, when the Romans steal Hiccup's precious book HOW TO SPEAK DRAGONESE and Hiccup and Fishlegs are taken off to the Fortress of Sinister!Now they must save Toothless AND themselves - but how can they possibly escape? ***Please note this ebook is TEXT ONLY and does not include the illustrations that appear in the printed book.***READ ALL 12 BOOKS IN THE SERIES!You don't have to read the books in order, but if you want to, this is the right order:1. How to Train Your Dragon2. How to Be a Pirate3. How to Speak Dragonese4. How to Cheat a Dragon's Curse 5. How to Twist a Dragon's Tale6. A Hero's Guide to Deadly Dragons7. How to Ride a Dragon's Storm8. How to Break a Dragon's Heart9. How to Steal a Dragon's Sword10. How to Seize a Dragon's Jewel11. How to Betray a Dragon's Hero12. How to Fight a Dragon's FuryHow to Train Your Dragon is now a major DreamWorks franchise starring Gerard Butler, Cate Blanchett and Jonah Hill and the TV series, Riders of Berk, can be seen on CBeebies and Cartoon Network.

Hodder Children's Books

How To Cheat A Dragon's Curse

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

Read the HILARIOUS books that inspired the HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON films! Hiccup Horrendous Haddock the Third is a smallish Viking with a longish name. Hiccup's father is chief of the Hairy Hooligan tribe which means Hiccup is the Hope and the Heir to the Hairy Hooligan throne - but most of the time Hiccup feels like a very ordinary boy, finding it hard to be a Hero. Hiccup's best friend Fishlegs thinks he has a nasty cold, but Old Wrinkly has diagnosed . . . VORPENTITIS, caused by the sting of a Venomous Vorpent, which is pretty much ALWAYS FATAL!The only antidote is the Vegetable-that-No-one-Dares-Name - the POTATO. But the only way for Hiccup to find the cure is to face Norbert the Nutjob and the terrifying Sea Dragon, the DOOMFANG. Can Hiccup survive the quest to save his best friend - and discover how to cheat a dragon's curse?***Please note this ebook is TEXT ONLY and does not include the illustrations that appear in the printed book.***READ ALL 12 BOOKS IN THE SERIES!You don't have to read the books in order, but if you want to, this is the right order:1. How to Train Your Dragon2. How to Be a Pirate3. How to Speak Dragonese4. How to Cheat a Dragon's Curse 5. How to Twist a Dragon's Tale6. A Hero's Guide to Deadly Dragons7. How to Ride a Dragon's Storm8. How to Break a Dragon's Heart9. How to Steal a Dragon's Sword10. How to Seize a Dragon's Jewel11. How to Betray a Dragon's Hero12. How to Fight a Dragon's FuryHow to Train Your Dragon is now a major DreamWorks franchise starring Gerard Butler, Cate Blanchett and Jonah Hill and the TV series, Riders of Berk, can be seen on CBeebies and Cartoon Network.

Quercus Children's Books

Girlhood

Cat Clarke
Authors:
Cat Clarke
Franklin Watts

Your Number's Up

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson
Franklin Watts

Get in Shape

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson

What is the most perfect sphere known in nature? What is pi? Why were the Great Pyramids built in that shape? Find out the answers to these questions and many more in this book about the shapes that are all around us. Once you've read all about shapes, have a go at the fun quizzes which test your knowledge.The book is part of the Maths is Everywhere series, which demystifies all aspects of maths and shows how it relates to your everyday world with fun, colourful graphics. These are fantastic books for children aged nine plus who are studying maths, or for anyone who wants to get to grips with maths in a fun way.

Wayland

the Vietnam War?

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele

This book considers the Vietnam (or Second Indochina) War, 1955-1975, which may have killed as many as 3 million troops and civilians. It divided America, it aroused huge opposition around the world and it divided generations. Why was it fought and what were the outcomes? Did it have any unexpected consequences? Did any good at all come out of it?

Wayland

WWII?

Emma Marriott
Authors:
Emma Marriott

This book looks at the events leading to the World War II, the most widespread war in history, in which the major participants used all their industrial, economic and scientific might to wage 'total war'. It examines the legacy of the war, both in terms of the bad things that came out of it, such as the fear and mistrust between the USA and Russia that led to the Cold War, and the good things, including advances in medicine and computing and the establishment of the United Nations.