Nicholas Fisk - Volcano - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Volcano

Book 5

By Nicholas Fisk

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Hodder's Silver list brings back into print classic science fiction from the masterful author of Trillions, Grinny and A Rag, a Bone and a Hank of Hair.

When the Starstormers accidentally blast off into space they head for the relative safety of the strange and unwelcoming planet of Volcano. Here they are delighted to be joined by their old allies - the veils of Moloch - who prove surprisingly useful. But they soon discover that the Octopus Emperor - determined to enslave or destroy them - is still pursuing them relentlessly. And under his influence the planet and its inhabitants are becoming increasingly hostile. Finally, Ispex comes up with a plan to destroy the Emperor once and for all. Something so far-fetched that it might just work. But is there time before the Tyrannopolis battleship strikes its final, fatal blows? And can the Starstormers make the huge sacrifice the plan demands?

Biographical Notes

Nicholas Fisk - the author of over 50 books, many of which are modern classics - recently celebrated his 90th birthday. His starting point for a story is an IF ...IF we had a domestic robot, IF we could talk to animals, IF we could move back and forth in time. On such premises he places people - recognisable people living ordinary lives - until the IF explodes. 'I believe that almost any imaginable possibility may become a reality within the lifetime of a young person today: the previous century saw more changes and discoveries than any other and change gets faster every day.'

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444919530
  • Publication date: 04 Sep 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

The Black Flamingo

Dean Atta
Authors:
Dean Atta
Hodder Children's Books

Revolution

Simon Lelic
Authors:
Simon Lelic
Orchard Books

Glitterhoof's Secret Garden

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

A secret world full of magic, unicorns and friendship! The brand-new series from the bestselling Daisy Meadows, author of RAINBOW MAGIC and MAGIC ANIMAL FRIENDS, and the most-borrowed children's author in UK libraries.Join best friends Aisha and Emily as they discover a secret world full of unicorns, magic and friendship! Journey with them to the beautiful kingdom of Unicorn Valley, where the beautiful Queen Aurora rules kindly over the unicorns and all other magical creatures. But when the Dark Unicorn Selena tries to steal the throne, good magic everywhere is under threat. Can the girls and their new unicorn friends find a way to save the kingdom?

Orchard Books

Sparklesplash and the Mermaid Adventure

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

A secret world full of magic, unicorns and friendship! The brand-new series from the bestselling Daisy Meadows, author of RAINBOW MAGIC and MAGIC ANIMAL FRIENDS, and the most-borrowed children's author in UK libraries.Join best friends Aisha and Emily as they discover a secret world full of unicorns, magic and friendship! Journey with them to the beautiful kingdom of Unicorn Valley, where the beautiful Queen Aurora rules kindly over the unicorns and all other magical creatures. But when the Dark Unicorn Selena tries to steal the throne, good magic everywhere is under threat. Can the girls and their new unicorn friends find a way to save the kingdom?

Hodder Children's Books

Heartstopper Volume Two

Alice Oseman
Authors:
Alice Oseman

Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. An LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between: this is the second volume of HEARTSTOPPER, for fans of The Art of Being Normal, Holly Bourne and Love, Simon. Nick and Charlie are best friends. Nick knows Charlie's gay, and Charlie is sure that Nick isn't. But love works in surprising ways, and Nick is discovering all kinds of things about his friends, his family ... and himself. Heartstopper is about friendship, loyalty and mental illness. It encompasses all the small stories of Nick and Charlie's lives that together make up something larger, which speaks to all of us. This is the second volume of Heartstopper, with more to come.

Franklin Watts

Space Rap

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore

Franklin Watts

Movie Star Set-up

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore

Join the intrepid Galaxy Warriors Jet, Tip and Boo Hoo on their quest to save the universe from destructive baddies Lord and Lady Evil and Dr Y.From the authors of I HERO, these new intergalactic adventures combine graphic novel and prose, perfectly pitched to engage both older reluctant readers and younger, confident readers. Each title is book banded (Gold 9) and is printed using a dyslexia-friendly font on an off-white background.This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of booksto get children reading with confidence. EDGE - for books kids can't put down.

Hodder Children's Books

Classic Stories of Courageous Girls

This wonderful anthology features the stories of some of the best-loved heroines in children's books. From Jo March who sells her hair to raise money for her family, to George's single-minded commitment to protecting her island in The Famous Five to Bobbie's quick-thinking action that prevents a train crash in The Railway Children, these girls demonstrate courage beyond their years. Each of the 24 chapters contains an introduction about the courageous girl featured and a satisfying extract from the original book. These fictional heroines will inspire young readers with their stories of expectations defied, fears faced and obstacles overcome. This collection is also bound to tempt readers to discover these classic novels for themselves.Classic novels featured include Little Women, Anne of Green Gables, Five on a Treasure Island, The Railway Children, Jane Eyre, A Little Princess, Pollyanna and The Wizard of Oz, as well as beloved fairy tales from diverse cultures such as The Snow Queen, Kate Crackernuts and White Chrysanthemum.

Hodder Children's Books

The Cherry Tree Farm Story Collection

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Orchard Books

Evermore

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland

Jules confronts the girl who is both her oldest friend and greatest enemy in the highly anticipated sequel - and conclusion - to the Top Ten Bestseller Everless.Jules Ember was raised hearing legends of the ancient magic of the wicked Alchemist and the good Sorceress. But she has just learned the truth: She is the Alchemist, and Caro - a woman who single-handedly murdered the Queen and Jules's first love, Roan, in cold blood - is the Sorceress.The whole kingdom believes that Jules is responsible for the murders, and a hefty bounty has been placed on her head. And Caro is intent on destroying Jules, who stole her heart twelve lifetimes ago. Now Jules must piece together the stories of her past lives to save the person who has captured her heart in this one.Perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard, Stephanie Garber and Kendare Blake, Evermore is the high-stakes, star-crossed follow up to Everless that fans have been waiting for.

Orchard Books

Monica the Marshmallow Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Franklin Watts

Monarchy

Sean Connolly
Authors:
Sean Connolly

Monarchy revelas the inner working of this type of government, setting it in the context of history and relating it to today's current affairs. Readers will learn how a monarchy functions internally and within the wider world community. They will also encounter some of the dilemmas, contradictions and compromises that seem to be an essential part of even the most idealistic politcal systems. Part of the Systems of Government series, these books feature fact boxes, timelines and carefully chosen images that complement informative text that is packed with case studies and first-hand accounts. Voting Booth panels invite readers to consider thorny issues, both historical and current, and to form their own opinions. Perfect for readers aged 12 and up.

Hodder Children's Books

The Famous Five Collection 5

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

An Author's Odyssey

Chris Colfer
Authors:
Chris Colfer
Orchard Books

Tiana the Toy Fairy: The Land of Sweets

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orchard Books

Molly Twinkletail

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

The much-loved series from the creator of Rainbow Magic - abridged for younger readers and illustrated in full colour!Welcome to a magical world where animals talk and play - just like you and me!Best friends Jess and Lily love all animals. But when they follow a mysterious golden cat into Friendship Forest - a place where animals live in tiny cottages and sip dandelion tea at the Toadstool Cafe - their animal friends suddenly become much more magical!On their second adventure, Lily and Jess are invited to the Friendship Forest fair! But Grizelda the witch wants to spoil everyone's fun and her servants, the Boggits, trick little Molly Twinkletail into running away from the party. It's up to the girls to find her - but where in Friendship Forest would a tiny mouse hide?

Orchard Books

Lucy Longwhiskers

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

St Clare's Collection 3

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Schooldays at St Clare's are never dull for twins Pat and Isabel O'Sullivan in Enid Blyton's much-loved boarding school series.Claudine at St Clare'sEileen's mother is the new Matron and Mam'zelle's niece, Claudine, joins St Clare's and causes havoc wherever she goes. The twins are enchanted by rebellious Claudine and her mad-cap plans, but will she last the term?Fifth Formers of St Clare'sThe girls are in the fifth form, about to reach the sixth, but they are not too old for tricks and escapades, jokes and excitement. Especially amusing is French girl Antoinette who, like her sister Claudine, doesn't always understand the ways of St. Clare's.The Sixth Form at St Clare'sThe unimaginable has happened - the twins made head girl! It's a tough job - cheeky first formers and cruel Priscilla keep the girls on their toes.There'll be mischief at St Clare's!Between 1941 and 1946, Enid Blyton wrote six novels set at St Clare's. Books 5, 6 and 9 are authorised sequels of the series written by Pamela Cox and feature storylines set in between the original Blyton novels. These books were published in 2000/2008 and are unillustrated.

Orchard Books

Ruby the Red Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Orchard Books

Fern the Green Fairy

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper

When Rachel and Kirsty meet on the ferry to Rainspell Island one summer holiday, they have no idea that such magical adventures with the fairies await them! Join Rachel and Kirsty as they search a secret garden and a magical maze to try to find Fern the Green Fairy.