Nicholas Fisk - Evil Eye - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Evil Eye

Book 4

By Nicholas Fisk

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Hodder's Silver list brings back into print classic science fiction from the masterful author of Trillions, Grinny and A Rag, a Bone and a Hank of Hair.

Once again forced to flee from the wicked Octopus Emperor in their junkyard spaceship, the four Starstormers crashland on the planet of Moloch - otherwise known as the planet of the Evil Eye. They soon begin to wonder if this unwelcoming planet as its terrifying - yet somehow almost familiar - inhabitants, hold anything for them except death. Then strange voices reveal to Vawn that the hostile planet is linked with an early space experiment from Earth that went horribly wrong. The Starstormers may be able to help restore a balance between good and evil - but can Vawn convince her friends that she is not imagining things? And have they really arrived in time to destroy the evil of Moloch?

Biographical Notes

Nicholas Fisk - the author of over 50 books, many of which are modern classics - recently celebrated his 90th birthday. His starting point for a story is an IF ...IF we had a domestic robot, IF we could talk to animals, IF we could move back and forth in time. On such premises he places people - recognisable people living ordinary lives - until the IF explodes. 'I believe that almost any imaginable possibility may become a reality within the lifetime of a young person today: the previous century saw more changes and discoveries than any other and change gets faster every day.'

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444919516
  • Publication date: 07 Aug 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Quercus Children's Books

Clean

Juno Dawson
Authors:
Juno Dawson

By award-winning Queen of Teen author Juno Dawson, perfect for fans of Gossip Girl Interrupted and The Breakfast Club.Meet the inmates of The Clarity Centre: Kendall the trans anorexic model-wannabe, vicodin addict Saif, OCD hoarder Guy, over-eater Ruby, washed-up reality TV survivor Brady, and last but definitely not least, spoiled heiress Lexi Volkov.Lexi hit rock bottom. After almost overdosing in a penthouse suite her brother stages an intervention and takes her to The Clarity Centre, an island facility for troubled young people.After a gruelling and painful detox, Lexi enters group therapy and meets her fellow inmates. Through her therapy sessions and The Clarity Centre's Ten Steps Programme, Lexi gradually opens up about her fractured childhood, destructive relationships and the dark secret she has been running from. But it's her new friendships that most make Lexi re-evaluate the path she's on. Stripped of her status, Lexi is free to laugh, dance, share and feel. For the first time ever, Lexi has true friends and finds herself powerfully drawn to Brady. But with the demons both Lexi and Brady need to overcome, is a relationship even possible?

Orchard Books

Lair of the Fire Lizard

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Monica the Marshmallow Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Gabby the Bubblegum Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Lisa the Jelly Bean Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on their sweetest-ever fairy adventure!Rachel and Kirsty are having a great time at the Fairyland Candy Harvest. But when Lisa the Jellybean Fairy's magical object goes missing, all the treats lose their sweetness! Can the girls help save the day before everything turns sour?

Orchard Books

Shelley the Sherbet Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on their sweetest-ever fairy adventure!All of Fairyland and the human world enjoys Shira the Sherbet Fairy's tangy treats. But when Jack Frost steals her magical sherbet, it all starts exploding everywhere! Can the friends defeat him before Fairyland loses its fizz?

Hodder Children's Books

The Rainmaker Danced

John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura
Contributors:
John Agard, Satoshi Kitamura
Hodder Children's Books

Crash Landing

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore

Don't miss the last episode of international bestseller Robert Muchamore's ROCK WAR series! Jay, Summer and Dylan are fresh out of the biggest reality show there is. But they're about to discover what fame and fortune are really about. Jay's brother Theo is young, rich and famous: but is it making him happy?Summer's got to weather her one-star reviews and take her career back into her own hands.And Dylan might soon be seeing the world of show-business from the four walls of a prison cell. They've got everything to play for. From the author of CHERUB and Henderson's Boys: find out more at rockwar.com

Hodder Children's Books

Satellite

Nick Lake
Authors:
Nick Lake
Quercus Children's Books

The Impossible

Mark Illis
Authors:
Mark Illis

When Hector Coleman and his mates genetically mutate overnight, his life changes in impossible ways. A comic-book inspired adventure with a graphic novel twist for fans of Joe Cowley, Joe Sugg and Charlie HigsonHector Coleman. Just your average angst-ridden teenager, living a normal rubbish life in a normal rubbish town with, let's face it, a rubbish name. Until his mates start genetically mutating ... and everything changes. Apart from his name. And his girl trouble. And his embarrassingly low number of Twitter followers. All those things, unfortunately, stay the same. For now...

Orchard Books

The Girl's Guide to Summer

Sarah Mlynowski
Authors:
Sarah Mlynowski

Boys, best friends and a summer spent backpacking around Europe... What could possibly go wrong? The perfect holiday read from bestselling YA author, Sarah Mlynowski.Sydney Aarons is leaving her Manhattan townhouse for a summer backpacking around Europe with her best friend, Leela. They're visiting London, France, Italy, Switzerland and everywhere in between - it's going to be the trip of a lifetime.BUT... The trip gets off to a bad start when Leela's ex-boyfriend shows up on their flight out of JFK. When they touch down in London, Leela Instagrams their every move in the hope Matt will come and find them... Which he does, along with the most gorgeous guy Sydney has ever seen.Will Sydney's summer fling last the distance? And what will happen when they all head home?

Hodder Children's Books

The True Colour of Forever

Carrie Firestone
Authors:
Carrie Firestone
Orchard Books

Contagion

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry
Franklin Watts

The Power of Advertising

Ruth Thomson
Authors:
Ruth Thomson
Wren & Rook

Doing It

Hannah Witton
Authors:
Hannah Witton

Sexting. Virginity. Consent. The Big O ... Let's face it, doing it can be tricksy. I don't know anyone (including myself) who has sex all figured out. So I've written a book full of honest, hilarious (and sometimes awkward) anecdotes, confessions and revelations. And because none of us have all the answers, I've invited some friends and fellow YouTubers to talk about their sexuality, too.We talk about doing it safely. Doing it joyfully. Doing it when you're ready. Not doing it. Basically, doing it the way you want, when you want. So. Let's do this ...

Orchard Books

Headmaster of Doom

Jamie Thomson
Authors:
Jamie Thomson

Dirk Lloyd, the Dark Lord trapped in the boy of a weedy schoolboy, returns in a darkly hilarious adventure set in the most ghoulish school you'll encounter this side of the Darklands ...Fourth in the brilliant series that began with the Roald Dahl Funny Prize-winning DARK LORD: THE TEENAGE YEARS, also chosen as one of the Sunday Times's 100 Modern Children Classics.Perfect for fans of Philip Reeve and David Walliams.

Franklin Watts

Master Scatterbrain the Knight's Son

Stephane Daniel, Christophe Besse
Contributors:
Stephane Daniel, Christophe Besse

Lancelot, son of Sir Scatterbrain and Prince of Luckless Castle, is in trouble. He has gone to rescue his friend, Agnes, from Deadwood Forest. All kinds of terrible creatures live there - and he's not much good with a bow and arrow! Book two of Knight Adventures.Race Further with Reading is the perfect tool to build reading confidence with illustrated stories in manageable bite-size chapters, following on a level from the Race Ahead with Reading series with stories of 2,000 words.

Hodder Children's Books

The Loose Ends List

Carrie Firestone
Authors:
Carrie Firestone

.The trip of a lifetime, a summer of love - unputdownable writing, perfect for fans of John Green and E. Lockhart. Maddie O'Neill Levine wants to spend the summer before college tying up loose ends with her best friends - kissing boys and soaking up the last of the summer sun. Then her beloved grandmother drops a bombshell; she has been diagnosed with cancer. To spend quality time with her family, Maddie's grandmother takes the whole family on a round-the-word cruise - but at the end of it, Gram might not return home. Here is a story about love, loss and the power of forgiveness.

Franklin Watts

Sir Scatterbrain the hopeless Knight

Stephane Daniel, Christophe Besse
Contributors:
Stephane Daniel, Christophe Besse
Wayland

Fierce Floods

Cath Senker
Authors:
Cath Senker

Extreme weather dominates news bulletins around the world. From tsunamis to superstorms, floods to wild fires, natural disasters affect people globally on a daily basis. Floods, and their deadly consequences, have hit the headlines over the past decade as countries around the world have been affected by serious flooding. But why are these occurrences becoming more frequent, and more severe? And what happens to the affected communities after disaster has struck? Planet in Peril: Fierce Floods answers these questions and many more, including when and why flooding occurs, and how technology is helping people to prepare for it. The book looks at three of these natural disasters from recent years in detail: the Bangladesh floods of 2012, Mississippi flooding in the USA in 2011 and the flash floods in Russia in 2012. Comprehensive case studies cover when and where the floods struck, the immediate impact of the disaster, the flood damage, the long-term effects, the global aid efforts and the rebuilding and regeneration of affected communities. Eyewitness panels give firsthand accounts of the disaster from flood victims, emergency service personnel, aid workers and scientists working to combat the effects of natural disasters. Infographic elements display statistics about each flood in a clear, concise and visual way. Learn about the preparations made for floods: what protective mechanisms and flood warning systems are in place, the emergency drills people must learn, and how communities are evacuated in the event of a disaster. Find out about the disaster recovery effort immediately after each event, how aid reaches affected areas, and where it comes from. See how communities fare in the immediate aftermath, how they cope with damage to infrastructure and homes, lack of basic necessities and, in some cases, the loss of friends or relatives. Then find out how they cope long-term, deal with the economic impact, and regenerate. Discover if climate change and global warming are increasing the impact and severity of flooding, and how research is being done, and technology developed, to combat it. See how flood warning systems and evacuation drills can dramatically improve people's chances of survival, and learn about some natural solutions, such as flood plains, that reduce the impact of floods. Planet in Peril: Fierce Floods is ideal for children age 9+, for geography and science projects, or simply for anyone interested in finding out the background behind the 'extreme weather' news reports. Floods are not the only natural disaster our planet faces, find out about tsunamis, super storms and wild fires in other titles in the series.