Nicholas Fisk - Evil Eye - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Evil Eye

Book 4

By Nicholas Fisk

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Hodder's Silver list brings back into print classic science fiction from the masterful author of Trillions, Grinny and A Rag, a Bone and a Hank of Hair.

Once again forced to flee from the wicked Octopus Emperor in their junkyard spaceship, the four Starstormers crashland on the planet of Moloch - otherwise known as the planet of the Evil Eye. They soon begin to wonder if this unwelcoming planet as its terrifying - yet somehow almost familiar - inhabitants, hold anything for them except death. Then strange voices reveal to Vawn that the hostile planet is linked with an early space experiment from Earth that went horribly wrong. The Starstormers may be able to help restore a balance between good and evil - but can Vawn convince her friends that she is not imagining things? And have they really arrived in time to destroy the evil of Moloch?

Biographical Notes

Nicholas Fisk - the author of over 50 books, many of which are modern classics - recently celebrated his 90th birthday. His starting point for a story is an IF ...IF we had a domestic robot, IF we could talk to animals, IF we could move back and forth in time. On such premises he places people - recognisable people living ordinary lives - until the IF explodes. 'I believe that almost any imaginable possibility may become a reality within the lifetime of a young person today: the previous century saw more changes and discoveries than any other and change gets faster every day.'

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444919516
  • Publication date: 07 Aug 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Quercus Children's Books

The Magician's Library (wt)

Piers Torday
Authors:
Piers Torday

1945. They have survived the Blitz, but when Simon, Patricia, Evelyn and Larry step through a magical library door, they walk into an enchanted kingdom of fresh adventure and danger. A bewitching wonderland of fairies, bears and tree gods, which is now under threat from the mysterious silver robots of the Unreads. The many stories of the Library are locked in eternal war, and the children's only hope is to find the mysterious Librarian. What they discover will change not just their own lives but the fate of the world forever... 'One of the best writers for children working today'The Guardian

Wayland

Australia

Kevin Pettman
Authors:
Kevin Pettman

Orion Children's Books

Running on the Roof of the World

Jess Butterworth
Authors:
Jess Butterworth
Orion Children's Books

The Bone Sparrow

Zana Fraillon
Authors:
Zana Fraillon
Hodder Children's Books

The Crystal Run

Sheila O'Flanagan
Authors:
Sheila O'Flanagan

The gripping children's debut from the Sunday Times and Irish Times No. 1 bestselling author is a page-turning fantasy quest novel for fans of Cornelia Funke, Susan Cooper and Philip Pullman.'I am proud to die for Carcassia,' said Kaia. 'All Runners have a special place in our world, in our history.'Kaia Kukura has been awarded the great honour of protecting her country, and is determined to bring wealth and glory to her family. She must travel through enemy territory to replace the precious Kerala crystals that power Carcassia's protective shield. But no Runner is permitted to return after their mission. When Kaia hasfulfilled her Runner's oath, she knows her life must end.But sometimes it takes an outsider, someone from a different world, to question the truth.Fourteen-year-old Joe can barely outrun the school bullies who torment him daily. Cornered yet again, he tries to escape - and finds himself falling through a portal into another world. There, he meets fierce and strong Kaia. Together they discover that not everyone in Carcassia can be trusted - and that there are terriblelies at the heart of Kaia's beloved home.Can their combined strength and skill help Kaia save her country and herself? And will Joe ever find a way back to his own world?

Hodder Children's Books

Caravan Family

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Holiday dreams come true for one lucky family in Enid Blyton's classic Family Series.When Dad buys two caravans, Mike, Belinda and Ann are delighted. Henceforth they are known as the Caravan Family. Not only do they live in their beautiful new homes, but they also travel the world and go on the most amazing holidays.First published in 1945, this edition contains the original text and artwork.

Hodder Children's Books

Amelia Jane Again!

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

Amelia Jane Gets into Trouble

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Enid Blyton's Amelia Jane is big, bad and the world's naughtiest toy!Look out! Not only have the toys got to beware of the terror of the toy cupboard - Amelia Jane - they now have to put up with Sidney, the selfish teddy bear. The toys are desperate to teach Amelia Jane a lesson once and for all!First published in 1954, this edition contains the original text and illustrations by Deborah Allwright, cover by Alex T. Smith (2011).

Hodder Children's Books

Amelia Jane is Naughty Again

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

Volcano

Nicholas Fisk
Authors:
Nicholas Fisk

When the Starstormers accidentally blast off into space they head for the relative safety of the strange and unwelcoming planet of Volcano. Here they are delighted to be joined by their old allies - the veils of Moloch - who prove surprisingly useful. But they soon discover that the Octopus Emperor - determined to enslave or destroy them - is still pursuing them relentlessly. And under his influence the planet and its inhabitants are becoming increasingly hostile. Finally, Ispex comes up with a plan to destroy the Emperor once and for all. Something so far-fetched that it might just work. But is there time before the Tyrannopolis battleship strikes its final, fatal blows? And can the Starstormers make the huge sacrifice the plan demands?

Hodder Children's Books

Catfang

Nicholas Fisk
Authors:
Nicholas Fisk
Hodder Children's Books

Aquarius

Jan Mark
Authors:
Jan Mark

Viner lives in a land that constantly floods - his skill as a water diviner has lead to ridicule. But when he is kidnapped all this changes. His murderous captors force him to work for them in their drought-stricken country - and to challenge the Rain-King whose failure to provide the necessary rainfall is sorely trying all those around him. But instead of ridiculing the King, Viner befriends him - perhaps more ... Aquarius is a deeply humane story of power, manipulation, ambition, and burgeoning sexuality. Viner is a complex character - easy to like and despise in equal measure. His story will not easily be forgotten.

Hodder Children's Books

Sunburst

Nicholas Fisk
Authors:
Nicholas Fisk
Hodder Children's Books

Starstormers

Nicholas Fisk
Authors:
Nicholas Fisk
Hodder Children's Books

The Footballer from Outer Space

Ian Whybrow, Mark Beech
Contributors:
Ian Whybrow, Mark Beech

KER-POOM! Tom swerves his bike, narrowly avoids a tree, and crashes into a silver spacecraft. Hang on, a SPACECRAFT? Next to the spacecraft is Wayne, who looks just exactly like that footballer on the telly, except for being bright blue.Tom couldn't be talking to an ... ALIEN, could he?Ian Whybrow's BOOKS FOR BOYS are funny, pacy reads from one of the UK's best-loved authors - collect all sixteen!

Hodder Children's Books

Rory's Piratical Leg

Ian Whybrow, Mark Beech
Contributors:
Ian Whybrow, Mark Beech
Hodder Children's Books

Dark Sun and other stories

Robert Muchamore
Authors:
Robert Muchamore
Hodder Children's Books

Ghost Striker at the Football Club

Ian Whybrow, Mark Beech
Contributors:
Ian Whybrow, Mark Beech
Hodder Children's Books

Save that Train!

Ian Whybrow, Mark Beech
Contributors:
Ian Whybrow, Mark Beech

Philip's dad has always told him he can be a Somebody.But Philip's more interested in catapults and chewing gum ... and whether he can be in Mickey Durston's gang. On the day when the steam engine is in danger, though, who will have the guts to save the train? Ian Whybrow's BOOKS FOR BOYS are funny, pacy reads from one of the UK's best-loved authors - collect them all!

Hodder Children's Books

From Burglar to Football Star

Ian Whybrow, Mark Beech
Contributors:
Ian Whybrow, Mark Beech