Nicholas Fisk - Evil Eye - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Evil Eye

Book 4

By Nicholas Fisk

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Hodder's Silver list brings back into print classic science fiction from the masterful author of Trillions, Grinny and A Rag, a Bone and a Hank of Hair.

Once again forced to flee from the wicked Octopus Emperor in their junkyard spaceship, the four Starstormers crashland on the planet of Moloch - otherwise known as the planet of the Evil Eye. They soon begin to wonder if this unwelcoming planet as its terrifying - yet somehow almost familiar - inhabitants, hold anything for them except death. Then strange voices reveal to Vawn that the hostile planet is linked with an early space experiment from Earth that went horribly wrong. The Starstormers may be able to help restore a balance between good and evil - but can Vawn convince her friends that she is not imagining things? And have they really arrived in time to destroy the evil of Moloch?

Biographical Notes

Nicholas Fisk - the author of over 50 books, many of which are modern classics - recently celebrated his 90th birthday. His starting point for a story is an IF ...IF we had a domestic robot, IF we could talk to animals, IF we could move back and forth in time. On such premises he places people - recognisable people living ordinary lives - until the IF explodes. 'I believe that almost any imaginable possibility may become a reality within the lifetime of a young person today: the previous century saw more changes and discoveries than any other and change gets faster every day.'

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444919516
  • Publication date: 07 Aug 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Orchard Books

Teri the Trampolining Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on their funnest fairy adventure ever!Everyone is very excited for the opening of the Tippington Leisure Centre! Teri the Trampolining Fairy is full of bounce, until Jack Frost steals her magical item. Can Rachel and Kirsty help Teri defeat him and put back the spring in her step?

Orchard Books

Bonnie the Bike-Riding Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on their funnest fairy adventure ever!At the Tippington Leisure Centre, there are all sorts of sports to enjoy! But when Jack Frost steals Bonnie the Bike-Riding Fairy's magical object, the fun plans are knocked off balance. Kirsty and Rachel must find it, before the magic of cycling is lost forever!

Orchard Books

Rita the Rollerskating Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Orchard Books

Callie the Climbing Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once 3

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

No.1 Bestselling Series from the Blue Peter Award winning author of How To Train Your Dragon. Enter a land of wizards, warriors, mythical creatures and powerful magic in an exciting new fantasy adventure.The Witchstain is spreading ... As Encanzo and Sychorax dance, Xar and Wish have to find the ingredients of the spell to overthrow Witches, and Wish must learn to control her magic.

Hodder Children's Books

The Liars

Jennifer Mathieu
Authors:
Jennifer Mathieu
Hodder Children's Books

Mrs Blackhat and the ZoomBroom

Mick Inkpen, Chloe Inkpen
Authors:
Mick Inkpen, Chloe Inkpen
Orchard Books

Rainbow Magic: Hazel the Librarian Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Franklin Watts

Forced to Flee

Refugee children explain in their own words and pictures their thoughts, feelings and experiences about having to flee from their home countries. Produced in association with UNHCR (United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees), this highly emotive title focuses on three current refugee crises in Syria, South Sudan and Central America. Aimed at readers age 14+, the book gives background information about how each crisis came about, why families had to flee and what life is like for them now is given in a clear and easy-to-understand way.Children from refugee camps were asked to draw about their experiences of having to flee their home countries. The children's artwork is incredibly powerful and harrowing, and vividly highlights the impact that conflict, war and atrocities has on people's lives.

Orchard Books

Evermore

Sara Holland
Authors:
Sara Holland

Jules confronts the girl who is both her oldest friend and greatest enemy in the highly anticipated sequel - and conclusion - to the Top Ten Bestseller Everless.Jules Ember was raised hearing legends of the ancient magic of the wicked Alchemist and the good Sorceress. But she has just learned the truth: She is the Alchemist, and Caro - a woman who single-handedly murdered the Queen and Jules's first love, Roan, in cold blood - is the Sorceress.The whole kingdom believes that Jules is responsible for the murders, and a hefty bounty has been placed on her head. And Caro is intent on destroying Jules, who stole her heart twelve lifetimes ago. Now Jules must piece together the stories of her past lives to save the person who has captured her heart in this one.Perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard, Stephanie Garber and Kendare Blake, Evermore is the high-stakes, star-crossed follow up to Everless that fans have been waiting for.

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Hodder Children's Books

How to Scare a Ghost

Jean Reagan, Lee Wildish
Contributors:
Jean Reagan, Lee Wildish

From the author-illustrator team behind the bestselling How to Babysit a Grandad comes a funny and vibrant picture book perfect for reading out loud at Halloween!This humorous new book in the beloved HOW TO . . . series takes readers through a spooky Halloween. Written in tongue-in-cheek instructional style, two trick-or-treaters give tips for scaring a ghost!Praise for How to Babysit a Grandad: 'Youngsters will thoroughly enjoy the tongue-in-cheek role reversal.' - School Library Journal Illustrated by the winner of the Red House Children's Book Award and a New York Times bestselling artist.The fun doesn't stop! Check out more How To... picture books: How to Babysit a Grandad, How to Babysit a Grandma, How to Surprise a Dad, How to Catch Santa, How to Raise a Mum and How to Scare a Ghost.

Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed
Orchard Books

Not If I Save You First

Ally Carter
Authors:
Ally Carter

Dear Logan,Someday I'm going to write a book: How Not to Die in Alaska - A Girl's Guide to Fashionable Survival.I bet you don't know that a hair pin can make an excellent fishing hook. You may think you can use just any kind of mud for mud masks, but trust me, you CAN'T! In a pinch, nothing starts a fire like nail polish remover. Alaska is tough. You might know this, if you ever replied to my letters.After Maddie's Secret Service dad takes a bullet for the president, he takes Maddie somewhere he thinks they'll be safe - far away from the White House and the president's son, Logan. But when Logan comes to Alaska, so does the danger. If there's one thing Alaska has taught Maddie, it's how to survive. And now her best friend's life depends on it ...An edge-of-your-seat thriller from the internationally bestselling author of Gallagher Girls

Orchard Books

Twilight Sparkle to the Rescue

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Quercus Children's Books

In the Afterlight

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Quercus Children's Books

Never Fade

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken
Quercus Children's Books

The Darkest Minds

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken

The first book in the heart-stopping The Darkest Minds trilogy, for fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games. The movie adaptation from Twentieth Century Fox will be in cinemas in August 2018. Ruby is sixteen. She is dangerous. And she is alive. For now.A mysterious disease has killed most of America's children. Ruby might have survived, but she and the others have emerged with something far worse than a virus: frightening abilities they cannot control. Pressured by the government, Ruby's parents sent her to Thurmond, a brutal state 'rehabilitation camp', where she has learned to fear and suppress her new power. But what if mastering it is a whole generation's only chance for survival?'A riveting emotional read that kept me on the edge.' - Melissa Marr, author of Wicked LovelyAlexandra Bracken is the New York Times bestselling author of Passenger, Wayfarer and The Darkest Minds series. Visit her online at www.alexandrabracken.com and on Twitter @alexbracken.

Hodder Children's Books

Mr Galliano's Circus Story Collection

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton