Nicholas Fisk - Sunburst - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Sunburst

Book 2

By Nicholas Fisk

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Hodder's Silver list brings back into print classic science fiction from the masterful author of Trillions, Grinny and A Rag, a Bone and a Hank of Hair.

The Starstormers - Vawn, Ispex, Tsu and Makenzi - hurtle through space in Starstormer, the spacecraft they've built themselves, seeking their destination Epsilon Cool. Under constant threat from the evil Octopus Emperor, whose immense powers reach throughout the galaxy, their senses are alert to all dangers. In the depths of space they come across a huge abandoned spacecraft - a ghost ship with a chilling signal: Plague ship! Keep away! But the Starstormers desperately need spare parts for their own stricken craft. Despite the warning, they must venture aboard. But too late, they discover the ship's chilling secret - and they are destined for a terrifying journey towards the centre of the sun . . .

Biographical Notes

Nicholas Fisk - the author of over 50 books, many of which are modern classics - recently celebrated his 90th birthday. His starting point for a story is an IF ...IF we had a domestic robot, IF we could talk to animals, IF we could move back and forth in time. On such premises he places people - recognisable people living ordinary lives - until the IF explodes. 'I believe that almost any imaginable possibility may become a reality within the lifetime of a young person today: the previous century saw more changes and discoveries than any other and change gets faster every day.'

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444919493
  • Publication date: 05 Jun 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

The Big Race

David Barrow
Authors:
David Barrow
Hodder Children's Books

Emily Brown and Father Christmas

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

Emily Brown and her side-kick rabbit, Stanley, are back! And who's that outside the window ... it's Father Christmas!With an important message about cherishing traditions that children will understand, this is storytelling at its best, from an exciting creative team in children's books.'Will both delight fans, and give them something to reflect on. Layton's illustrations are a joy, matching the text perfectly.' - BooksellerWritten by Cressida Cowell, the bestselling author of the How to Train Your Dragon series. http://www.cressidacowell.co.uk/Illustrated by award winning Neal Layton, creator of Stanley's Stick and illustrator of Danny McGee Drinks The Sea, shortlisted for the 2017 Laugh Out Loud Picture Book Award.http://www.neallayton.co.uk/

Hodder Children's Books

Claude All at Sea

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith
Hodder Children's Books

Claude Adventures

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith
Quercus Children's Books

The Life and Death Parade

Eliza Wass
Authors:
Eliza Wass
Orchard Books

Amelia Sparklepaw

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orion Children's Books

Escape

Linwood Barclay
Authors:
Linwood Barclay

Don't stop running . . . the second edge-of-your-seat thriller with bite from international bestselling author Linwood Barclay for ages 9+12-year-old Jeff and genetically engineered spy dog Chipper are on the run from the mysterious and sinister government organisation knows only as The Institute. Due to a combination of bravery, luck and some of Chipper's more useful modifications, they've managed to evade their pursuers so far. But The Institute is closing in and Chipper and Jeff will have to be stay one step ahead if they want to stay alive..Danger, secrets and thrilling suspense collide in Linwood Barclay's action-packed series for children.

Orchard Books

Daisy Tappytoes Dares to Dance

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orion Children's Books

They Saw Too Much

Alan Gibbons
Authors:
Alan Gibbons

Two teenagers witness a murder - and now they're the next targets. An action-packed, edge-of-your-seat YA thriller from bestselling author, Alan Gibbons. Gripping and gritty, perfect for fans of Kevin Brooks, Patrice Lawrence and Malorie Blackman.Sixteen-year-old John has moved away from the tough inner-city neighbourhood he grew up in and started afresh. Ceri James is the guarded girl from the children's home who has captivated his attention. But when their lives are thrown together, it's not in the way John had hoped. They witness a man die.Not only are they eye-witnesses of the fatal shooting, but John caught the whole thing on camera - and the culprits know it. Now, John and Ceri must run for their lives in a deadly, heart-stopping chase that leads them in dark and ever more dangerous directions.So why does John refuse to call the police? As secrets are revealed and loyalties doubted, John and Ceri's world hinges on one question - when it's a matter of life or death, who can you really trust?

Orchard Books

Bobbi the Bouncy Castle Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Rae the Rollercoaster Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Hodder Children's Books

Midnight Sun

Trish Cook
Authors:
Trish Cook
Hodder Children's Books

Toto the Ninja Cat and the Great Snake Escape

Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
Contributors:
Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
Wayland

A Guide to Britain and Ireland

Kevin Pettman
Authors:
Kevin Pettman

Britain and Ireland form a group of small but fascinating countries, teeming with ancient history, impressive landmarks, stunning scenery and famous faces, and this guide is perfect to discover all the hidden wonders of these islands. Resident, visitor, or simply curious from afar, this books allows you to tour England, Scotland, Northern Ireland, Republic of Ireland and Wales. Marvel at the long history from dinosaurs to inventors, avoid the queues and see stone circles and skyscrapers close up, try the local food, get drenched by the famously bad weather, meet bold British and iconic Irish people from the past and present, and much more, all within this one packed book. This glorious guide book is brought to life in bold, bright graphics, maps and fun visuals. A real treat for curious kids and a perfect travel guide for holidays!

Wayland

London

Simon Holland
Authors:
Simon Holland
Quercus Children's Books

In the Dark, In the Woods

Eliza Wass
Authors:
Eliza Wass

'Haunting, unexpected, beautifully written. One of the best books I've read this year' LOUISE O'NEILLAn unforgettable thriller from an incredible new author, for fans of We Were Liars and Half Bad, reminiscent of The Virgin Suicides.Father wants sixteen-year-old Castley and her five siblings to hide from the world. Living in a falling-down house deep in the woods, he wants to bury their secrets where noone will ever find them. Father says they are destined to be together forever. In heaven. Father says the sooner they get there, the better. But Castley wants to be normal. She wants to kiss boys and wear jean shorts. CASTLEY WANTS TO LIVE. 'A breathtaking, gut-wrenching coming-of-age saga from all sides. Readers will be swept into the Cresswells' claustrophobic world and ache for them long after it's set aflame' - Kirkus'A haunting family portrait centered on the power of belief' - Publishers Weekly

Orchard Books

Fairy Charm

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

Queen Malice has cast her most dangerous spell yet! The wicked queen has cursed the Magic Hourglass and when the sand runs out, all the magic will be gone from the Secret Kingdom forever! Jasmine, Ellie and Summer must find the four Enchanted Objects to break Queen Malice's spell. But King Merry's ancestors lost the objects long ago! With the magic in the Secret Kingdom already going wonky, can the girls help Fairy Prince Felix find the charmed heart?

Orchard Books

Genie Wish

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Pixie Spell

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Mermaid Magic

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks