Nicholas Fisk - Sunburst - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Sunburst

Book 2

By Nicholas Fisk

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Hodder's Silver list brings back into print classic science fiction from the masterful author of Trillions, Grinny and A Rag, a Bone and a Hank of Hair.

The Starstormers - Vawn, Ispex, Tsu and Makenzi - hurtle through space in Starstormer, the spacecraft they've built themselves, seeking their destination Epsilon Cool. Under constant threat from the evil Octopus Emperor, whose immense powers reach throughout the galaxy, their senses are alert to all dangers. In the depths of space they come across a huge abandoned spacecraft - a ghost ship with a chilling signal: Plague ship! Keep away! But the Starstormers desperately need spare parts for their own stricken craft. Despite the warning, they must venture aboard. But too late, they discover the ship's chilling secret - and they are destined for a terrifying journey towards the centre of the sun . . .

Biographical Notes

Nicholas Fisk - the author of over 50 books, many of which are modern classics - recently celebrated his 90th birthday. His starting point for a story is an IF ...IF we had a domestic robot, IF we could talk to animals, IF we could move back and forth in time. On such premises he places people - recognisable people living ordinary lives - until the IF explodes. 'I believe that almost any imaginable possibility may become a reality within the lifetime of a young person today: the previous century saw more changes and discoveries than any other and change gets faster every day.'

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444919493
  • Publication date: 05 Jun 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Hodder Children's Books
Orchard Books

Ivy the Worry Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel, Kirsty and Ivy as they help keep worries at bay!Ivy the Worry Fairy has a very important job - helping people manage their worries. Everyone gets worried from time to time, and it's important to know how to deal with it. But when Jack Frost steals Ivy's magical objects, her special power to help people is threatened! Can Rachel and Kirsty help get them back and help restore people's inner calm everywhere?

Hodder Children's Books

Second Form

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

For new girl Darrell Rivers, there are friends to be made, pranks to be played and fun to be had at Malory Towers in Enid Blyton's best-loved boarding school series.In book two, there is a thief about. Purses and jewellery are missing in the North Tower. Meanwhile Darrell is caught in the middle when her friend Sally is made head girl instead of Alicia. Will they find the thief and will Alicia and Sally make up?There's drama at Malory Towers!Between 1946 and 1951, Enid Blyton wrote six novels set at Malory Towers. This edition features the original text and is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

Third Year

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

For new girl Darrell Rivers, there are friends to be made, pranks to be played and fun to be had at Malory Towers in Enid Blyton's best-loved boarding school series.In book three, there are lots of new students, including sophisticated Zerelda from America. This year, not only the girls face challenges - Bill's poor horse, Thunder, suffers from collic. Will Zerelda and Darrell become friends, and will Thunder survive?There's more drama at Malory Towers!Between 1946 and 1951, Enid Blyton wrote six novels set at Malory Towers. This edition features the original text and is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

Upper Fourth

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

For new girl Darrell Rivers, there are friends to be made, pranks to be played and fun to be had at Malory Towers in Enid Blyton's best-loved boarding school series.In book four, Darrell is very pleased to be head girl, but Alicia and Betty are determined to ruin her good work. Meanwhile, Darrell's sister Felicity joins Malory Towers and becomes best friends with none other than June - obnoxious, brash and Alicia's cousin.Expect more drama at Malory Towers!Between 1946 and 1951, Enid Blyton wrote six novels set at Malory Towers. This edition features the original text and is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

In the Fifth

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

Last Term

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

For new girl Darrell Rivers, there are friends to be made, pranks to be played and fun to be had at Malory Towers in Enid Blyton's best-loved boarding school series.In book six, Darrell and her friends have reached their last term at Malory Towers. But before they say good-bye one last time there are more adventures to be had, pranks to play and competitions to win. Expect more drama at Malory Towers!Between 1946 and 1951, Enid Blyton wrote six novels set at Malory Towers. This edition features the original text and is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

New Term

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

For new girl Darrell Rivers, there are friends to be made, pranks to be played and fun to be had at Malory Towers in Enid Blyton's best-loved boarding school series.In book seven, Darrell has left Malory Towers and her sister Felicity takes over as head girl. But the other girls are determined to cause trouble. Will Freddie and June ever stop playing tricks? And what's Amy's strange family secret?Expect more drama at Malory Towers!Between 1946 and 1951, Enid Blyton wrote six novels set at Malory Towers. Books 7-12 are authorised sequels of the series written by Pamela Cox in 2009 and focus on the adventures of Felicity Rivers, Susan Blake, and June Johns. This edition is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

Summer Term

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

For new girl Darrell Rivers, there are friends to be made, pranks to be played and fun to be had at Malory Towers in Enid Blyton's best-loved boarding school series.In book eight, someone has stolen Julie's horse. And there's money missing too. Can Felicity and the girls find out who would do such a terrible thing?Expect more drama at Malory Towers!Between 1946 and 1951, Enid Blyton wrote six novels set at Malory Towers. Books 7-12 are authorised sequels of the series written by Pamela Cox in 2009 and focus on the adventures of Felicity Rivers, Susan Blake, and June Johns. This edition is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

Winter Term

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

Fun and Games

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

For new girl Darrell Rivers, there are friends to be made, pranks to be played and fun to be had at Malory Towers in Enid Blyton's best-loved boarding school series.Music concert or Tennis tournament? In book ten, feisty June and new girl Millicent can't agree what's more important. Soon all becomes irrelevant when things begin disappearing. Is there a thief in fifth form?Expect more drama at Malory Towers!Between 1946 and 1951, Enid Blyton wrote six novels set at Malory Towers. Books 7-12 are authorised sequels of the series written by Pamela Cox in 2009 and focus on the adventures of Felicity Rivers, Susan Blake, and June Johns. This edition is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

Secrets

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

For new girl Darrell Rivers, there are friends to be made, pranks to be played and fun to be had at Malory Towers in Enid Blyton's best-loved boarding school series.Book eleven is filled with mystery. What's with all the secrets? How did Daffy pull off her latest prank? What did Mam'zelle find in her handbag? And why is the new form-mate so strangely familiar?Expect more drama at Malory Towers!Between 1946 and 1951, Enid Blyton wrote six novels set at Malory Towers. Books 7-12 are authorised sequels of the series written by Pamela Cox in 2009 and focus on the adventures of Felicity Rivers, Susan Blake, and June Johns. This edition is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

Goodbye

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Orion Children's Books

Burn

Paula Weston
Authors:
Paula Weston
Hodder Children's Books

Lying Out Loud

Kody Keplinger
Authors:
Kody Keplinger
Hodder Children's Books

Volcano

Nicholas Fisk
Authors:
Nicholas Fisk
Hodder Children's Books

Evil Eye

Nicholas Fisk
Authors:
Nicholas Fisk

Once again forced to flee from the wicked Octopus Emperor in their junkyard spaceship, the four Starstormers crashland on the planet of Moloch - otherwise known as the planet of the Evil Eye. They soon begin to wonder if this unwelcoming planet as its terrifying - yet somehow almost familiar - inhabitants, hold anything for them except death. Then strange voices reveal to Vawn that the hostile planet is linked with an early space experiment from Earth that went horribly wrong. The Starstormers may be able to help restore a balance between good and evil - but can Vawn convince her friends that she is not imagining things? And have they really arrived in time to destroy the evil of Moloch?

Franklin Watts

Free Kick Pro

Jonny Zucker
Authors:
Jonny Zucker
Hodder Children's Books

Catfang

Nicholas Fisk
Authors:
Nicholas Fisk

Built to take the four children to join their parents on Epsilon Cool, Starstormer is showing dangerous signs of wear and tear - and the vehicle of their escape is now their prison. The Starstormers have been forced to leave Epsilon Cool to evade the Octopus Emperor's intention of employing them in his workforce, and the failings of their homemade spaceship contribute to the strained atmosphere on board. As tensions rise, distraction suddenly appears in the shape of a stowaway: a tousled, spiky, wet, filthy kitten. Cleaned up (and given a name), Fang, he entertains the children with his antics. But not for long! Starstormer is once again under attack - and Fang plays an amazing part in the great battle in space ...

Orion Children's Books

The Apple Tart of Hope

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

Oscar Dunleavy, who used to make the world's most perfect apple tarts, is missing, presumed dead. No-one seems too surprised, except for Meg, his best friend, and his little brother Stevie. Surrounded by grief and confusion, Meg and Stevie are determined to find out what happened to Oscar, and together they learn about loyalty and friendship and the power of never giving up hope.The second sensational novel from Irish author, Sarah Moore Fitzgerald, following her debut, BACK TO BLACKBRICK, perfect for fans of Annabel Pitcher and Siobhan Dowd.

Hodder Children's Books

Starstormers

Nicholas Fisk
Authors:
Nicholas Fisk