Steve Backshall - Favourite Deadly Facts - Hachette Children's Group

Favourite Deadly Facts

By Steve Backshall

  • Paperback
  • £8.99

A bumper book of favourite Deadly facts about MAMMALS, INSECTS, REPTILES and BIRDS, perfect for animal-lovers and fans of the DEADLY series.

Follow in the footsteps of the Deadly team and discover the secrets of the animals kingdom.

A bumper book of all your favourite Deadly facts about MAMMALS, INSECTS, REPTILES and BIRDS.

The FAVOURITE DEADLY FACTS bind-up contains facts from DEADLY FACTBOOK 1: MAMMALS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 2: MINIBEASTS, SPIDERS AND INSECTS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 3: REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS and DEADLY FACTBOOK 4: FISH, SQUID AND JELLYFISH.

Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series DEADLY 60, LIVE AND DEADLY, DEADLY 360 and DEADLY ART and recent star of BBC1's Strictly Come Dancing. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Visit Steve's website at www.stevebackshall.com and follow him on Twitter at https://twitter.com/SteveJBackshall

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444015393
  • Publication date: 02 Jul 2015
  • Page count: 304
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Franklin Watts

Your Number's Up

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson

Numbers are all around us but why are they important? This book finds out what numbers are, from how we count them, to what are prime and base numbers and takes you upto the really big ones - millions, billions and to infinity and beyond. You'll also explore some really strange numbers, find out about your body in numbers and get to grips with roman numerals. Plus, there are fun quizzes to help you test your knowledge.The book is part of the Maths is Everywhere series, which demystifies all aspects of maths and shows how it relates to your everyday world with fun, colourful graphics. These are fantastic books for children aged nine plus who are studying maths, or for anyone who wants to get to grips with maths in a fun way.

Wayland

Pirates

Annalees Lim
Authors:
Annalees Lim
Franklin Watts

Fraction Frenzy

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson
Orchard Books

Bobbi the Bouncy Castle Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Fatima the Face-Painting Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on their sweetest-ever fairy adventure!Fatima the Face-Painting Fairy loves decorating people with beautiful patterns and makeup. But when Jack Frost steals her magical item, the funfair faces disaster! Kirsty and Rachel must help her get it back.

Orchard Books

Rae the Rollercoaster Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel and Kirsty on their sweetest-ever fairy adventure!Rae the Rollercoaster Fairy makes sure that rollercoasters everywhere are lots of fun. But when Jack Frost steals her magical object, she's in for a bumpy ride! Can Kirsty and Rachel help get things running smoothly again?

Hodder Children's Books

Whoever You Are

Diana Hendry
Authors:
Diana Hendry
Wayland

Goundbreaking Pioneers of Science and Technology

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli
Contributors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw, Rita Petruccioli
Orion Children's Books

The Trials of Morrigan Crow

Jessica Townsend
Authors:
Jessica Townsend
Orion Children's Books

Dear Katie

Katie Thistleton
Authors:
Katie Thistleton

Real answers to real problems! Advice on life's tough stuff from children's TV and radio presenter Katie Thistleton.Growing up is hard. This book makes it a little bit easier. Exploring the sometimes challenging issues everyone faces as part of growing up, Katie will answer questions from real kids and teens with real issues. From falling outs with friends to disagreements with family, trouble at school to concerns about mental or physical health, Katie will cover every topic with thoughtful and emotionally sensitive advice that will resonate with readers. With additional guidance from TV and radio doctor Radha Modgil, as well as psychotherapist Sally Angel, this book is full of advice and guidance to help kids through the difficult years of growing up.

Orion Children's Books

The List of Real Things

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Authors:
Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

A poignant and big-hearted story about love, loss and believing in the magic of the imagination. The fourth novel from bestselling Waterstones Children's Book Prize shortlisted author Sarah Moore Fitzgerald, following BACK TO BLACKBRICK, THE APPLE TART OF HOPE and A VERY GOOD CHANCE.Gracie, 14, and Bee, 6, have lived with their eccentric uncle ever since their parents died five years ago. Gracie just wants to be normal. At school she finally has a boyfriend and cool friends, but her quirky home life and 'mental' little sister have begun to feel like liabilities. When their beloved grandfather dies and grief hits the girls again, little Bee's incredible imagination spirals out of control. Old memories and buried secrets bubble to the surface, and she even believes that their parents are waiting in a secret hotel on a clifftop - a place ghosts wait when they haven't yet let go of life.Gracie is determined Bee should wake up to the truth and let go of her outlandish ideas. She makes her write it down: a list of what's real, and what's not. But when it turns out the hotel may be more than just a dream, Gracie's hard line between what is real and what is imagined begins to blur . . .A beautiful and heartwarming tale of love, creativity and the importance and magic of believing.

Hodder Children's Books

Return to the City of Ghosts

Julian Sedgwick
Authors:
Julian Sedgwick

Ruby's stunning adventure reaches a thrilling conclusion in this powerful story for fans of Philip Pullman, Susan Hill and Robin Stevens.11-year-old Ruby is on a mission to rescue her best friend Fei, who has been kidnapped by dark forces at the heart of Shanghai: but the world she lives in is driven with danger and fear, and since the death of her brother, Ruby has had a new problem - she can see ghosts. On an amazing journey down the Yangtze, and in and out of the Otherworld, Ruby must find her friend, before she loses herself...

Wren & Rook

Women in Sport

Rachel Ignotofsky
Authors:
Rachel Ignotofsky

From the creator of the bestselling Women in Science comes the inspiring Women in Sport. This richly illustrated book highlights the achievements and stories of fifty notable sportswomen from the 1800s to today, including trailblazers, Olympians and record-breakers in more than forty sports. It also contains infographics on topics such as muscle anatomy, pay and media statistics for female athletes, and influential women's teams.The athletes featured include well-known figures like tennis player Serena Williams and broadcaster Clare Balding, as well as lesser-known pioneers like Gertrude Ederle, the first woman to swim the English Channel, and Keiko Fukuda, the highest-ranked female judoka in history. Women in Sport celebrates the success of the tough, bold and fearless women who paved the way for today's athletes.

Franklin Watts

A Muslim Life

Cath Senker
Authors:
Cath Senker
Wayland

First World War

Jon Richards, Jonathan Vipond
Contributors:
Jon Richards, Jonathan Vipond
Franklin Watts

Leagues

James Nixon
Authors:
James Nixon
Wayland

Vikings

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards
Wayland

Normans

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

The Normans invaded countries across Europe and played an important role in the history of England. Find out how the Normans beat the Anglo-Saxons, why William the Conqueror made the Domesday Book, and how they changed the English language. Inside you can read about: invasions and battles how to make a shield the story of the Battle of Hastings castles and cathedrals lords and peasants

Franklin Watts

What are the Chances?

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson

What are statistics and how are they used? What is the golden ratio? This book explores the maths of probability and statistics and shows how it relates to the everyday world with fantastic appealing visuals.The book is part of the Maths is Everywhere series, which demystifies all aspects of maths and shows how it relates to your everyday world with fun, colourful graphics. These are fantastic books for children aged nine plus who are studying maths, or for anyone who wants to get to grips with maths in a fun way.

Franklin Watts

Get in Shape

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson

What is the most perfect sphere known in nature? What is pi? Why were the Great Pyramids built in that shape? Find out the answers to these questions and many more in this book about the shapes that are all around us. Once you've read all about shapes, have a go at the fun quizzes which test your knowledge.The book is part of the Maths is Everywhere series, which demystifies all aspects of maths and shows how it relates to your everyday world with fun, colourful graphics. These are fantastic books for children aged nine plus who are studying maths, or for anyone who wants to get to grips with maths in a fun way.