Maudie Smith - Owen and the Onion - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444014242
    • Publication date:07 May 2015
Books in this series

Owen and the Onion

By Maudie Smith
Illustrated by Becka Moor

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

Owen, his onions and a very angry ogre - this is the first red Early Reader story from OPAL MOONBABY author, Maudie Smith, and THE ROYAL BABYSITTERS illustrator, Becka Moor.

Owen grows onions. He's so very good at it that the people of his village call him Owen the Onion. One day he grows an onion so unusual that it's all he can think about. He ignores his friends in the village - until one day a very angry ogre comes to visit. Can Owen save the day?

A warm, funny story for beginner readers from an exciting new author and illustrator team.

Biographical Notes

Maudie Smith started work as an actress, before moving to Bath with her TV screenwriter husband. She gave up touring theatre when she had children. In the last couple of years she's written a libretto for a newly commissioned opera and run a very successful school drama club, while raising two daughters, cats, chickens, guinea pigs etc. She has an MA in Writing for Young People from the prestigious Bath Spa University. Her website is www.maudiesmith.co.uk and you can follow her on Twitter @MaudieSmith

Becka Moor graduated in October 2012 with a 2:1 in Illustration for Children's Publishing and has been scribbling her way into a career as a children's illustrator ever since! She has worked on projects including THE ROYAL BABYSITTERS for Bloomsbury, and she can be found at http://www.beckamoor.com/ and @beckamoor on Twitter.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444014235
  • Publication date: 07 May 2015
  • Page count: 80
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Orchard Books

The Magic Bunny

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Orchard Books

Puppy Problem

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

Helping animals, having fun! The bestselling Animal Ark series has been reimagined for a new generation of children. Perfect for animal lovers and fans of Holly Webb and Magic Animal Friends. Excitement is blooming in Welford as the village prepares for its annual garden contest. But Amelia and Sam are more interested in helping their new friend, Blossom! The cockapoo puppy seems happy in the daytime, so why is she keeping everyone up with her barking at night?A brilliant animal series from multi-million-selling author Lucy Daniels, loved by parents and children alike!"I remember reading these books as a child myself. Now buying them for my own daughter. . . Delightful stories!" "I love this series of books. They made me realise how special animals are!"

Orchard Books

Owl All Alone

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

Helping animals, having fun! The bestselling Animal Ark series has been reimagined for a new generation of children. Perfect for animal lovers and fans of Holly Webb and Magic Animal Friends. When Amelia and Sam find an abandoned baby tawny owl, they help nurse it back to health. But without its mum, the owlet won't survive very long in the wild . . . Can a famous television presenter staying in the village to cover the annual garden show help them find a new home for poor little Chirrup?A brilliant animal series from multi-million-selling author Lucy Daniels, loved by parents and children alike!"I remember reading these books as a child myself. Now buying them for my own daughter. . . Delightful stories!" "I love this series of books. They made me realise how special animals are!"Helping animals, having fun!

Wayland

The Garden

Lisa Regan
Authors:
Lisa Regan
Orchard Books

Reindeer Recovery

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

Helping animals, having fun! The best-selling Animal Ark series has been reimagined for a new generation of children. Perfect for animal lovers and fans of Holly Webb and Magic Animal Friends. A festive bumper-length book with two stories in one! Amelia and Sam are excited because it is nearly Christmas. This year's celebrations are going to be the best ever - because real reindeer are visiting the village of Welford! When one of the reindeer falls ill with pneumonia, Amelia and Sam help the vets at Animal Ark nurse it back to health - and just it time, too. Because when a heavy snowfall blocks the roads, the only way to get poorly pets to Animal Ark is by sleigh! A brilliant animal series from multi-million-selling author Lucy Daniels, loved by parents and children alike!"I remember reading these books as a child myself. Now buying them for my own daughter. . . Delightful stories!" "I love this series of books. They made me realise how special animals are!"

Orchard Books

Lost Kitten

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Orchard Books

Llama on the Loose

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Orchard Books

Scaredy-Dog

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

Helping animals, having fun! The best-selling Animal Ark series has been reimagined for a new generation of children. Perfect for animal lovers and fans of Holly Webb and Magic Animal Friends. A special bumper-length book with two stories in one! Amelia and Sam are looking after chocolate lab puppy named Coco for a week. They take the playful little pup to dog training classes, but their snooty classmate Tiffany doesn't want to join in - even though her own puppy, Sparkle, is scared of everything from loud noises to other dogs. When Tiffany hosts a birthday party with loud fireworks, Sparkle gets frightened and bites Coco. Can Sam and Amelia help the scaredy-dog overcome his fears? And will the two puppies ever become friends?A brilliant animal series from multi-million-selling author Lucy Daniels, loved by parents and children alike!"I remember reading these books as a child myself. Now buying them for my own daughter. . . Delightful stories!" "I love this series of books. They made me realise how special animals are!"

Orchard Books

Guinea Pig Superstar

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Orchard Books

The Lonely Pony

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

Helping animals, having fun! The bestselling Animal Ark series has been reimagined for a new generation of children. Perfect for animal lovers and fans of Holly Webb and Magic Animal Friends. When Amelia and Sam start taking riding lessons, they meet a homeless rescue pony named Ginger and a big horse named Walnut who keeps throwing off his riders. The only thing that seems to calm Walnut down is the gentle Shetland Pony. Can Amelia and Sam find a way for the pony pals to stay together?A brilliant animal series from multi-million-selling author Lucy Daniels, loved by parents and children alike!"I remember reading these books as a child myself. Now buying them for my own daughter. . . Delightful stories!" "I love this series of books. They made me realise how special animals are!"A brilliant animal series from multi-million selling author Lucy Daniels.

Orchard Books

Doggy Drama

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Orchard Books

Runaway Hamster

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Orchard Books

The Purrfect Sleepover

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Orchard Books

Fox Cub Danger

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Orchard Books

Puppy in Peril

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

Helping animals, having fun! The best-selling Animal Ark series has been reimagined for a new generation of children. Perfect for animal lovers and fans of Holly Webb and Magic Animal Friends. When a poorly pup comes into Animal Ark vets, no one knows who his owner is, and he needs an operation. Can Amelia and Sam use a TV dog show to raise the money in time?A brilliant animal series from multi-million-selling author Lucy Daniels, loved by parents and children alike!"I remember reading these books as a child myself. Now buying them for my own daughter. . . Delightful stories!" "I love this series of books. They made me realise how special animals are!"

Orchard Books

Kitten Rescue

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

Helping animals, having fun! The bestselling Animal Ark series has been reimagined for a new generation of children. Perfect for animal lovers and fans of Holly Webb and Magic Animal Friends. Animal-mad Amelia is sad about moving house, until she discovers Animal Ark, where vets look after all kinds of animals in need. When they discover some baby kittens, Amelia and her new friend Sam are determined to help. But the kittens need their mum, and she's gone missing! Can Amelia and Sam track her down in time?A brilliant animal series from multi-million selling author Lucy Daniels, loved by parents and children alike!"I remember reading these books as a child myself. Now buying them for my own daughter. . . Delightful stories!" "I love this series of books. They made me realise how special animals are!"

Orchard Books

Bunny Trouble

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Orion Children's Books

Bird Girl

Maudie Smith
Authors:
Maudie Smith

A magical story about following your dreams - perfect for fans of Holly Webb.Pink-haired Finch Field has always felt different. She dreams of flying - not in a plane, but swimming through the sky like a bird. Her classmates laugh, and call her Dream Bird. But when Finch goes to stay with her beloved Granny Field for the summer, she finds herself face-to-face with a monster intent on stealing people's dreams. Finch must find a way to believe her own dreams can come true if she is to save the dreams of everyone in Sunview on Sea.A story full of magic, fantasy and friendship, perfect for younger readers of Jacqueline Wilson and Holly Webb.

Franklin Watts

Polar Lands

M.J. Knight
Authors:
M.J. Knight

Take an dip in the freezing waters of the poles and discover some of the amazing creatures that survive in these icy, seas and frozen lands. Hooves that dig, thick fur and swimming skills are just some of the special features these creatures have to help them hunt for food and stay alive. Some even huddle together to stay warm, but they all have bodies that are adapted to this unique habitat.What Animals Live Here? is a series of four books that explore four of the Earth's most interesting biomes and the variety of animals that live in them. Readers will encounter some familiar and some strange mammals, fish, reptiles, birds, insects and other invertebrates and learn about some of their incredible adaptations that mean they can survive in these environments. Short and simple blocks of text make these perfect books to dip into at random or read from cover-to-cover for readers aged 5+.

Franklin Watts

Deep Sea

M.J. Knight
Authors:
M.J. Knight

Dive deep into the oceans and discover some of the strange fish and other sea creatures that survive in these murky depths. Huge eyes, grabbing tentacles and razor-sharp teeth are just some of the special features these creatures have to help them hunt for food and stay alive. Some can even make their own light and others have really weird bodies that are adapted to this unique habitat.What Animals Live Here? is a series of four books that explore four of the Earth's most interesting biomes and the variety of animals that live in them. Readers will encounter some familiar and some strange mammals, fish, reptiles, birds, insects and other invertebrates and learn about some of their incredible adaptations that mean they can survive in these environments. Short and simple blocks of text make these perfect books to dip into at random or read from cover-to-cover for readers aged 5+.