Steve Backshall - Deadly Factbook: Fish, Squid and Jellyfish - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Factbook: Fish, Squid and Jellyfish

Book 4

By Steve Backshall

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

Discover the world's most extraordinary underwater creatures in the fourth of Steve Backshall's Deadly factbooks featuring fish, squid, sharks and whales.

Did you know that catfish have more than 100,000 taste buds on their body? Or that a bull shark has an even stronger bite than a Great White?

Follow in the footsteps of the Deadly team and discover the secrets of the animal kingdom as they reveal fascinating facts and killer statistics in their guide to fish, squid and jellyfish.

This is the fourth Deadly factbook. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series DEADLY 60, LIVE AND DEADLY, DEADLY 360 and DEADLY ART. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Steve's website is http://www.stevebackshall.com/, and you can follow him on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/stevebackshallofficial and Twitter @SteveJBackshall

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444012606
  • Publication date: 10 Apr 2014
  • Page count: 80
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Pat-a-Cake

Here Come the Mummies and Babies

Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Hilli Kushnir
Pat-a-Cake

Here Come the Llamas

Pat-a-Cake, Laura Hambleton
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Laura Hambleton

Clap hands and play with this range of exciting toddler touch-and-feel books!Here Come the Llamas is a playful touch-and-feel book, full of energy, fun and of course, lots of cute llamas! Toddlers will laugh, shout, clap their hands and join in the fun as the simple text encourages them to point, count, match and talk about the friendly, fluffy pals playing on every page. With textures to feel on every page and a matching game page at the end, everyone will want to clap hands for the llamas! Also available: Here Come the Monkeys, Here Come the Kittens, Here Come the Puppies, Here Come the Dinosaurs, Here Come the Chicks, Here Come the Bunnies, Here Come the Unicorns

Wayland

Roots and Shoots

Judith Heneghan
Authors:
Judith Heneghan

This non-fiction storybook for children aged 5+ introduces the natural world and explains concepts such as germination and fertilization through a lyrical narrative. It looks at an amazing array of flowers and plants from all around the world and the many ways roots and shoots seek out water and anchor the plant.

Wayland

Display and Camouflage

Tom Jackson
Authors:
Tom Jackson
Wayland

Homes

Tom Jackson
Authors:
Tom Jackson
Wayland

Flower Power

Judith Heneghan
Authors:
Judith Heneghan

This non-fiction storybook for children aged 5+ introduces the natural world and explains concepts such as pollination and fertilization through a lyrical narrative. It looks at an amazing array of flowers and plants from all around the world and the many colours, shapes and scents that exist. Find out all about the wonderful ways in which flowers spread their pollen and so make new seeds!

Wren & Rook

Saving Species

Jess French, James Gilleard
Contributors:
Jess French, James Gilleard

From the well-known faces of conservation, such as polar bears, tigers and orangutans, to the lesser-known threatened Malagasy rainbow frog, kakapo and bee, this striking book looks at 38 endangered animals from around the world and the conservation efforts that are being undertaken to save them. Written by vet, conservationist and TV presenter, Dr Jess French, and illustrated in a striking graphic artwork style, Saving Species is sure to inspire future conservationists and animal lovers of all ages.

Wayland

Ocean Life

Franklin Watts

British Insects and other Minibeasts

Clare Collinson
Authors:
Clare Collinson

There are more insects and other minibeasts in British neighbourhoods than any other kind of animal. Whether you are at home, walking down the street, in a meadow or by a river, there's plenty of minibeasts to discover! In this book discover a range of minibeasts from bees, butterflies and bugs to worm and woodlice. It is full of great nature-spotting tips and includes information about the classification of insects.The book is part of the 'Nature in your neighbourhood' series - find out all about the plants and animals that live all around you!

Franklin Watts

Endangered Animals

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

Dinosaurs

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

From scouring the skies for pterodactyls to dodging the booming brontosaurus, there are plenty of dino facts to whet the appetite of all dinosaur fans!Write On is a high interest information series with a difference, designed to help the newly independent reader become a confident writer. Eye-catching photos and accessible text help build knowledge. Top writing tips and 'wow' words inspire easy to achieve writing projects, a fantastic way to improve literacy skills. A great book for 7-9 year olds or those working at Key Stage 2.

Franklin Watts

British Birds

Clare Collinson
Authors:
Clare Collinson

From familiar garden songbirds to powerful birds of prey, there are a whole host of fascinating birds to discover in Britain. Learn all about the remarkable range of British birds inside this book. Find out where to look for different species, how to identify them, when to spot them and much more.The book is part of the 'Nature in your neighbourhood' series - discover the plants and animals that live all around you!

Wayland

If Sharks Disappeared

Lily Williams
Authors:
Lily Williams
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2018

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Wayland

Coarse Fishing

Martin Ford
Authors:
Martin Ford

Learn how to fish with this easy-to-follow guide. Find out about the most common fish found in Britain today. This book includes tips on how to fish and where to fish safely, advice on using the correct fishing tackle and bait, colour photographs of the fish and descriptions of how to catch them, simple step-by-step guides to attaching bait and half-blood loops.f you enjoy this book, then why not search out the other titles in this series: British Birds; British Mammals; British Trees; British Wild Flowers, British Butterflies and British Insects.

Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2017

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

A full colour annual packed with animals and adventure from wildlife enthusiast, TV presenter and children's book bestseller, Steve Backshall. Steve's year is full of spiders, crocodiles, snakes, sharks, stingrays, tigers, hawks and many more exciting creatures. The perfect gift for young wildlife fans, this annual is bursting with fascinating facts, puzzles, quizzes, and full colour photographs of amazing animals from across the globe.

Orion Children's Books

Wilds of the Wolf

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Crazy Creatures

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

From multi-million-copy selling author, Francesca Simon, and David Walliams' illustrator, Tony Ross, comes the latest title in the successful Horrid Henry's Factbooks series. What's the only animal in the world to produce cube-shaped poo? What kind of lizard looks as though it has two heads? And what happens when a tarantula loses a leg?Bursting with foul facts and twisted trivia, this is the perfect guide to everything a Horrid Henry fan has ever wanted to know about animals. Gross out your family and amaze your friends with your nasty new knowledge!

Franklin Watts

British Mammals

Clare Collinson
Authors:
Clare Collinson