Steve Backshall - Deadly Factbook: Fish, Squid and Jellyfish - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Factbook: Fish, Squid and Jellyfish

Book 4

By Steve Backshall

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

Discover the world's most extraordinary underwater creatures in the fourth of Steve Backshall's Deadly factbooks featuring fish, squid, sharks and whales.

Did you know that catfish have more than 100,000 taste buds on their body? Or that a bull shark has an even stronger bite than a Great White?

Follow in the footsteps of the Deadly team and discover the secrets of the animal kingdom as they reveal fascinating facts and killer statistics in their guide to fish, squid and jellyfish.

This is the fourth Deadly factbook. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series DEADLY 60, LIVE AND DEADLY, DEADLY 360 and DEADLY ART. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Steve's website is http://www.stevebackshall.com/, and you can follow him on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/stevebackshallofficial and Twitter @SteveJBackshall

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444012606
  • Publication date: 10 Apr 2014
  • Page count: 80
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Wayland

Being a Ladybird

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch

Discover the world of ladybirds in this beautifully illustrated picture bookFollow the story of a tiny red ladybird in Being a Ladybird. Discover how ladybirds hatch, grow, feed and fly, before finding a mate and beginning the whole cycle of life again. This wonderfully illustrated picture book is a perfect introduction to life cycles for readers aged 5 and up. It also gently introduces them to the idea of conservation.

Franklin Watts

Space

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

From stargazing to supernovas, rocket power to the Red Planet, learn all about what makes up our universe, and beyond!Write On is a high interest information series with a difference, designed to help the newly independent reader become a confident writer. Eye-catching photos and accessible text help build knowledge. Top writing tips and 'wow' words inspire easy to achieve writing projects, a fantastic way to improve literacy skills. A great book for 7-9 year olds or those working at Key Stage 2.

Pat-a-Cake

Here Come the Llamas

Pat-a-Cake, Laura Hambleton
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Laura Hambleton

Clap hands and play with this range of exciting toddler touch-and-feel books!Here Come the Llamas is a playful touch-and-feel book, full of energy, fun and of course, lots of cute llamas! Toddlers will laugh, shout, clap their hands and join in the fun as the simple text encourages them to point, count, match and talk about the friendly, fluffy pals playing on every page. With textures to feel on every page and a matching game page at the end, everyone will want to clap hands for the llamas! Also available: Here Come the Monkeys, Here Come the Kittens, Here Come the Puppies, Here Come the Dinosaurs, Here Come the Chicks, Here Come the Bunnies, Here Come the Unicorns

Wayland

Ocean Life

Did you know about the fish that weighs 21 tonnes? Or blobfish, lugworms and Deepsea Challenger? Well, where have you been! Whether it swims, floats, sinks or gobbles, Infomojis: Ocean Life is all about exploring the world of coasts and the sea in a fun and engaging way. Each book features custom-made 'infomojis' - presenting the information with real personality! So inject fun into facts, and take your young wildlife expert to the next evolution in infographics. Perfect for readers aged 8+.

Wayland

Animals

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2018

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orchard Books

Mad About Minibeasts! Board Book

Giles Andreae, David Wojtowycz
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, David Wojtowycz

A colourful rhyming board book all about minibeasts.Come into the garden for lots of creepy-crawly fun ... Little ones will love joining in with all the noisy sound words and looking at the colourful pictures, as they discover all sorts of minibeasts - including ladybirds, beetles, wriggly worms, snails and munching caterpillars!'Simple, cheerful and humorous rhymes ... great fun to read together, and also makes a good introduction to learning about the world around us' - BooktrustFrom the creators of the bestselling Rumble in the Jungle and Commotion in the Ocean.

Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Wayland

British Insects

Victoria Munson
Authors:
Victoria Munson
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2017

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Franklin Watts

Rainforests

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert

Wander through wild rainforests and discover facts about who and what lives there, then become a word wizard and dazzle everyone with your newfound knowledge.Write On is a high interest information series with a difference, designed to help the newly independent reader become a confident writer. Eye-catching photos and accessible text help build knowledge and the varied design includes easy to digest bullet points of information. Top writing tips and 'wow' words will inspire writing project ideas and improve literacy skills. The Writing school section at the back of the book helps transform the factual information in a variety of ways from comic strips to blogs. The books will be a perfect literacy aid for 8-11 year olds.

Franklin Watts

Big Cats

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Orion Children's Books

Elephant Rescue

Louisa Leaman
Authors:
Louisa Leaman

Keep wildlife in the wild! Join Born Free behind the scenes of an amazing elephant rescue, as they invite you to share in their incredible story. Pinkie and Nina are two elephants lucky enough to be rescued. Read their heart-warming stories and, through Born Free's lion character, discover how they should be living in the wild with interesting facts interspersed throughout the text.

Orion Children's Books

Favourite Deadly Facts

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Follow in the footsteps of the Deadly team and discover the secrets of the animals kingdom. A bumper book of all your favourite Deadly facts about MAMMALS, INSECTS, REPTILES and BIRDS. The FAVOURITE DEADLY FACTS bind-up contains facts from DEADLY FACTBOOK 1: MAMMALS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 2: MINIBEASTS, SPIDERS AND INSECTS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 3: REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS and DEADLY FACTBOOK 4: FISH, SQUID AND JELLYFISH. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Crazy Creatures

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

From multi-million-copy selling author, Francesca Simon, and David Walliams' illustrator, Tony Ross, comes the latest title in the successful Horrid Henry's Factbooks series. What's the only animal in the world to produce cube-shaped poo? What kind of lizard looks as though it has two heads? And what happens when a tarantula loses a leg?Bursting with foul facts and twisted trivia, this is the perfect guide to everything a Horrid Henry fan has ever wanted to know about animals. Gross out your family and amaze your friends with your nasty new knowledge!

Orion Children's Books

Lion Rescue

Sara Starbuck
Authors:
Sara Starbuck

Every year Born Free helps hundreds of animals around the world. This is the story of one of their incredible rescues . . . Meet Bella, the lioness with a broken heart, and Simba, the captive king of the jungle. And learn how all animals that are born free should live free.Simba was born in a French zoo and was later bought by an animal trainer. For many years he lived in cramped captivity.When Bella was young, she was used as a photographer's prop and then later lived in a run-down zoo in Romania. Because she had been taken from her mother at such a young age and fed a poor diet, she sadly developed a weak spine and back legs. Luckily Born Free could come to the rescue. Now Simba and Bella both live in Malawi where they have become great companions.Join Born Free behind the scenes of one of their real life rescues.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Pole to Pole Diaries

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

This is Steve Backshall's incredible first-hand account of his 14-month voyage from the Arctic to the Antarctic via Alaska, California, Hawaii, Mexico and Brazil and many more amazing locations besides. Go with him every step of the way as he describes his encounters with white whales, ice bears, sharks, eagles, wolves, sea lions, eagles, crocodiles, snakes and spiders. It's the Deadly adventure of a lifetime.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Wild Wordsearches

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Put your DEADLY knowledge to the test with Steve Backshall's next fun and interactive activity book, featuring a host of DEADLY-themed wordsearches. Hours of fun guaranteed!

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Pole to Pole Puzzles

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Put your DEADLY knowledge to the test with Steve Backshall's next fun and interactive activity book, to tie in with the successful POLE TO POLE BBC series, which follows Steve Backshall's incredible first-hand account of his 14-month voyage from the Arctic to the Antarctic via Alaska, California, Hawaii, Mexico and Brazil and many more amazing locations.

Wayland

British Trees

Victoria Munson
Authors:
Victoria Munson

Find out about more than 50 of the most common trees found in Britain today. Full descriptions of the trees, along with their scientific name, size, family and habitat, will ensure you can recognise which tree is which. Beautiful large colour photographs of the trees, their leaves, seeds and fruits, will help with easy identification. Includes information about broadleaved trees and conifers, explaining the difference between deciduous trees and evergreens, and looks at how the parts of trees, from the leaves and bark to seeds and berries, can help you to recognise each tree.You can also follow a step-by-step activity to help you create your own tree guide. Become a nature detective and explore the natural world around you. If you enjoy this book, then why not search out the other titles in this series: British Birds; British Mammals; British Insects; British Wild Flowers and British Seashore.Features the following trees: English Oak, Turkey Oak, Sessile Oak, Aspen, White Willow, Weeping Willow, Pussy Willow, Crack Willow, Common Osier, Black Poplar, White Poplar, Silver Birch, Alder, Hazel, Hornbeam, Common Beech, Common Ash, Elder, Holly, Common Lime, Large-leave Lime, Small-leaved Lime, London Plane, Rowan, Horse Chestnut, Sweet Chestnut, Field Maple, Sycamore, Yew, Wych Elm, English Elm, Whitebeam, Hawthorn, Blackthorn, Crab Apple, Wild Cherry, Common Pear, Common Juniper, Walnut, Magnolia, Norway Spruce, Larch, Douglas Fir, Scots Pine, Sitka Spruce, Cedar, Monkey Puzzle Tree.