Steve Backshall - Deadly Detectives - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Detectives

Top Tips to Track Wildlife

By Steve Backshall

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A lavish full-colour gift book in which BAFTA AWARD-winning DEADLY 60 presenter, Steve Backshall, shows you how to follow in his footsteps and become a deadly detective tracking animals all around the world, from your own back garden to the Amazon rain forests and Arctic tundra.

Finding wildlife is rarely easy - unless you're Steve Backshall! In DEADLY DETECTIVES Steve tells young trackers everything they need to know about the origins of tracking, what you need to become a tracker and how to do it, whether the wild world is your own back garden, ancient woodlands, the riverside or coast. He illustrates his tips with examples of his own detective work on land and in the water from tropical rainforests to the African Savanna, from the Arctic tundra to the desert. Join him as footsteps, feeding habits and even a pile of pooh reveal snow leopards, crocodiles, gators, snakes and polar bears, while closer to home you can track foxes, squirrels, badgers and birds, using exactly the same techniques.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series DEADLY 60, LIVE AND DEADLY, DEADLY 360 and DEADLY ART. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Steve's website is http://www.stevebackshall.com/, and you can follow him on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/stevebackshallofficial and Twitter @SteveJBackshall

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444012149
  • Publication date: 07 Nov 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
The enthusiasm and expertise he has for his subject ... is evident in this excellent book — School Librarian
Plenty to inform and entertain — BBC Wildlife
Hodder Children's Books

The Wonder of Trees

Nicola Davies, Lorna Scobie
Contributors:
Nicola Davies, Lorna Scobie
Wren & Rook

Natural Wonders of the World

Molly Oldfield, Federica Bordoni
Contributors:
Molly Oldfield, Federica Bordoni

Set off on a journey of discovery in this beautiful photographic celebration of the natural world.From firefly squid glowing against the night sky in Japan to a Mexican cave filled with the largest crystals ever found, you'll discover the stories and science behind these wonders, the threats they now face and the efforts taking place to save them. How did the Grand Canyon come to be? Where is the most electric place on Earth? And what can we do to protect the Great Barrier Reef?Find the answers to all these questions and more in this must-have for anyone fascinated by the planet we call home.

Wayland

Planet Earth

Did you know that Earth formed about 4.5 billion years ago? Or about earthquakes, ecosystems and the Goldilocks Zone? Well, where have you been! Whether it smashes, erupts, evaporates or freezes, Infomojis: Planet Earth is all about exploring our planet in a fun and engaging way. Each book features custom-made 'infomojis' - presenting the information with real personality! So inject fun into facts, and take your young volcanologist to the next evolution in infographics. Perfect for readers aged 8+.

Wayland

Continents

Wayland

Natural Disasters

Did you know that the eruption of Krakatoa in 1883 was the largest ever? Or about tsunamis, cyclones and avalanches? Well, where have you been! Whether it rips, erupts, floods or crashes, Infomojis: Natural Disasters is all about exploring the dangers of our planet in a fun and engaging way. Each book features custom-made 'infomojis' - presenting the information with real personality! So inject fun into facts, and take your young adventurer to the next evolution in infographics. Perfect for readers aged 8+.

Hodder Children's Books

Going to the Volcano

Andy Stanton, Miguel Ordonez
Contributors:
Andy Stanton, Miguel Ordonez
Hodder Children's Books

The Variety of Life

Nicola Davies, Lorna Scobie
Contributors:
Nicola Davies, Lorna Scobie

Our planet is full of life! Did you know there are 400,000 species of beetle - but only eight species of bear? This stunning book explores the extraordinary diversity of the natural world and profiles some of its most surprising creatures.A glorious celebration of diversity within the Animal Kingdom by non-fiction specialist Nicola Davies, illustrated by rising star Lorna Scobie. There is something to delight on every page with fascinating facts about mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish and insects. This exquisite book will encourage children to treasure the world's biodiversity and help to stop it slipping away.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2018

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Franklin Watts

Tropical Rainforests

Tim Harris
Authors:
Tim Harris

Rainforests are one of the most amazing environments on Earth and many plants, people and animals have made rainforests their home and are adapted to living there. They have to be tough to survive in the dense jungle, whether they live on the forest floor or high up in the canopy, what they eat and how they are adapted to survive in this hot and humid place, and of course avoiding the variety of predators that live there. Read on to find out how they do it! Books aimed at KS2 readers wanting to find out a bit more about world environments. Amazing Biomes explores six main habitats.

Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Franklin Watts

This Little Pebble

Anna Claybourne, Sally Garland
Contributors:
Anna Claybourne, Sally Garland

This Little Pebble begins with a child finding a small, forgotten pebble in his pocket. It uses this simple premise as a jumping-off point to explore what rocks are, where they come from and how fundamental they are to life here on Earth. For readers aged six and up, This Little Pebble uses beautiful artwork to show the rich diversity of rocks all around us, with friendly, narrative text by award-winning children's writer Anna Claybourne making the book feel like a journey. It explores topics as fascinating and as wide-ranging as Earth's formation, the rock cycle, volcanoes and earthquakes, where precious stones come from and what fossils are. It also provides great support for for the topic of rocks in both the geography and science curriculum.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2017

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

A full colour annual packed with animals and adventure from wildlife enthusiast, TV presenter and children's book bestseller, Steve Backshall. Steve's year is full of spiders, crocodiles, snakes, sharks, stingrays, tigers, hawks and many more exciting creatures. The perfect gift for young wildlife fans, this annual is bursting with fascinating facts, puzzles, quizzes, and full colour photographs of amazing animals from across the globe.

Orion Children's Books

Wilds of the Wolf

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Favourite Deadly Facts

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Follow in the footsteps of the Deadly team and discover the secrets of the animals kingdom. A bumper book of all your favourite Deadly facts about MAMMALS, INSECTS, REPTILES and BIRDS. The FAVOURITE DEADLY FACTS bind-up contains facts from DEADLY FACTBOOK 1: MAMMALS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 2: MINIBEASTS, SPIDERS AND INSECTS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 3: REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS and DEADLY FACTBOOK 4: FISH, SQUID AND JELLYFISH. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Wayland

Your Breathtaking Lungs and Rocking Respiratory System

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Packed with amazing facts and eye-grabbing images, Your Breathtaking Lungs and Rocking Respiratory System takes a different approach to teaching the reader about the lungs and how and why we breathe. Every spread opens with an amazing science fact about the human body - for example - An average person breathes around 8,000-9,000 litres of air in a day! - then goes on to explain how scientifically this is possible. By exploring these attention-grabbing sections, readers will build up their understanding of how the body's lungs and respiratory system work.Detailed diagrams and amazing images illustrate the lively, factual text. Your Breathtaking Lungs and Rocking Respiratory System looks at the structure of the lungs and the process of breathing. What happens when we breathe in? What actually is a sneeze? Why is breathing in harder than breathing out? Why does talking depend on breathing? Answers to all these questions and many more can be found in this fascinating title.The Your Brilliant Body series includes:'See for Yourself' features - practical activities that help readers understand key ideasAmazing fact panels to intrigue the readerAdvice on keeping in good shape, and warnings about common health problems.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Wild Wordsearches

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Pole to Pole Puzzles

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Pole to Pole Diaries

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

This is Steve Backshall's incredible first-hand account of his 14-month voyage from the Arctic to the Antarctic via Alaska, California, Hawaii, Mexico and Brazil and many more amazing locations besides. Go with him every step of the way as he describes his encounters with white whales, ice bears, sharks, eagles, wolves, sea lions, eagles, crocodiles, snakes and spiders. It's the Deadly adventure of a lifetime.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Annual 2015

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

As a Deadly fan you know that we travel to all corners of the world to film and this time we're on our deadliest mission yet! We visit the driest deserts, the steamiest rainforests, the highest mountains and the snowiest forests in search of the most awesome wildlife. As ever, you're coming with us, every step of the way.Join us on a journey round the world and we'll tell you more about these incredible places and the animals that spend their lives there. We've got loads of photos and fascinating facts to share with you, as well as plenty of puzzles, pictures and fun stuff to enjoy!

Orion Children's Books

A Horrid Factbook: Horrid Henry's Ghosts

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

From multi-million-copy selling author, Francesca Simon, and David Walliams' illustrator, Tony Ross, comes the latest title in the successful Horrid Henry's Factbooks series. What's the most haunted house in the world? What's the scariest ghost story ever told? And what's hiding under your bed right now?Bursting with scary facts and horrible trivia, this is the perfect guide to everything a Horrid Henry fan has ever wanted to know about ghosts. Terrify your family and amaze your friends with your nasty new knowledge!