Steve Backshall - Deadly Detectives - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Detectives

Top Tips to Track Wildlife

By Steve Backshall

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A lavish full-colour gift book in which BAFTA AWARD-winning DEADLY 60 presenter, Steve Backshall, shows you how to follow in his footsteps and become a deadly detective tracking animals all around the world, from your own back garden to the Amazon rain forests and Arctic tundra.

Finding wildlife is rarely easy - unless you're Steve Backshall! In DEADLY DETECTIVES Steve tells young trackers everything they need to know about the origins of tracking, what you need to become a tracker and how to do it, whether the wild world is your own back garden, ancient woodlands, the riverside or coast. He illustrates his tips with examples of his own detective work on land and in the water from tropical rainforests to the African Savanna, from the Arctic tundra to the desert. Join him as footsteps, feeding habits and even a pile of pooh reveal snow leopards, crocodiles, gators, snakes and polar bears, while closer to home you can track foxes, squirrels, badgers and birds, using exactly the same techniques.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series DEADLY 60, LIVE AND DEADLY, DEADLY 360 and DEADLY ART. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Steve's website is http://www.stevebackshall.com/, and you can follow him on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/stevebackshallofficial and Twitter @SteveJBackshall

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444012149
  • Publication date: 07 Nov 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
The enthusiasm and expertise he has for his subject ... is evident in this excellent book — School Librarian
Plenty to inform and entertain — BBC Wildlife
Wayland

In the Rainforest

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Wayland

Your Breathtaking Lungs and Rocking Respiratory System

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

Packed with amazing facts and eye-grabbing images, Your Breathtaking Lungs and Rocking Respiratory System takes a different approach to teaching the reader about the lungs and how and why we breathe. Every spread opens with an amazing science fact about the human body - for example - An average person breathes around 8,000-9,000 litres of air in a day! - then goes on to explain how scientifically this is possible. By exploring these attention-grabbing sections, readers will build up their understanding of how the body's lungs and respiratory system work.Detailed diagrams and amazing images illustrate the lively, factual text. Your Breathtaking Lungs and Rocking Respiratory System looks at the structure of the lungs and the process of breathing. What happens when we breathe in? What actually is a sneeze? Why is breathing in harder than breathing out? Why does talking depend on breathing? Answers to all these questions and many more can be found in this fascinating title.The Your Brilliant Body series includes:'See for Yourself' features - practical activities that help readers understand key ideasAmazing fact panels to intrigue the readerAdvice on keeping in good shape, and warnings about common health problems.

Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Orion Children's Books

Wilds of the Wolf

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Orion Children's Books

The Garden

Louisa Leaman, Natasha Rimmington
Contributors:
Louisa Leaman, Natasha Rimmington

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A green Early Reader is a first factbook.It's never too early to find out about... The Garden.Bugs and beetles, birds and plants, there's a world to be discovered and it's right on your doorstep. Beautifully illustrated in full colour on every page, this new Early Reader will show you the amazing possibilities of the great outdoors!

Orion Children's Books

The Deep Dark Sea

Tony De Saulles
Authors:
Tony De Saulles

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A green Early Reader is a first factbook.It's never too early to find out about... THE DEEP DARK SEA. Did you know that there are more living creatures in the sea than there are on land? Or that Lantern fish have glow-in-the-dark bodies to tell other lantern fish that they are nearby? Or that the viperfish has such big teeth that it can't close its mouth?Discover a world of incredible sea creatures in this brand-new full colour non fiction Early Reader from bestselling Horrible Sciences illustrator Tony De Saulles.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Pole to Pole Diaries

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Annual 2015

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

As a Deadly fan you know that we travel to all corners of the world to film and this time we're on our deadliest mission yet! We visit the driest deserts, the steamiest rainforests, the highest mountains and the snowiest forests in search of the most awesome wildlife. As ever, you're coming with us, every step of the way.Join us on a journey round the world and we'll tell you more about these incredible places and the animals that spend their lives there. We've got loads of photos and fascinating facts to share with you, as well as plenty of puzzles, pictures and fun stuff to enjoy!

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Jaws and Claws

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Sticker Book

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Create your very own Deadly adventure with Deadly TV presenter Steve Backshall's first ever interactive 24-page full colour sticker book, perfect for Deadly fans everywhere.Find the fastest predators, the creatures with the most incredible super senses, the deadliest and those who survive extreme conditions. Contains more than 200 stickers.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Reptiles and Amphibians

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Packed with fascinating facts and drawing on Steve's own amazing experiences, this is the third Deadly factbook for Steve Backshall fans everywhere. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Fish, Squid and Jellyfish

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Did you know that catfish have more than 100,000 taste buds on their body? Or that a bull shark has an even stronger bite than a Great White?Follow in the footsteps of the Deadly team and discover the secrets of the animal kingdom as they reveal fascinating facts and killer statistics in their guide to fish, squid and jellyfish. This is the fourth Deadly factbook. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Bizarre Beasts

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Top Ten Activity Book

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Franklin Watts

What's Under The Bed?: A book about the Earth beneath us

Mick Manning, Brita Granström
Authors:
Mick Manning, Brita Granström

What's Under the Bed? travels to the mysterious world that is just beneath our feet. Follow the underground adventures of two children and their cat to explore secret caves, fossils and even silver, gold and diamonds before eventually discovering what really is under the bed.Wonderwise is an award-winning series of information books, perfect for introducing younger children to non-fiction. The series presents facts in a way that will inspire young children's imaginations about the world around them. The books include notes and activities to support the new primary curriculum.

Orion Children's Books

Ghosts of the Forest

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Doodle Book 3

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Become part of Steve Backshall's world by drawing your own Deadly doodles. This 24-page doodle book featuring creative and interactive content from DEADLY ART is an absolute must-have for all Deadly fans. This is the third Deadly Doodle book in the collectable series and includes a polar bear, hippopotamus, tokay gecko, goliath bird-eating spider, Nile crocodile, hornet, lionfish, lion, barracuda and monitor lizard.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook Mammals

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Insects and Spiders

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Packed with fascinating facts and drawing on Steve's own amazing experiences, this is the second fact-filled DEADLY guide for Steve Backshall fans everywhere. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Diaries

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

In his first ever DEADLY DIARIES Steve Backshall shares what it means to him to film the world's top predators. Learn how it feels to have a blue whale silently power past you in crystal clear Indian Ocean waters or to dangle beneath a helicopter in order to be dropped onto a crocodile nest while the mother crocodile is still there! The book covers Steve's travels across six continents in six months as he finds the 60 creatures that are most deadly in their world. 224 pages, packed with 175 colour photos to tie in with the third BBC TV series of DEADLY 60.