Steve Backshall - Deadly Detectives - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Detectives

Top Tips to Track Wildlife

By Steve Backshall

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

A lavish full-colour gift book in which BAFTA AWARD-winning DEADLY 60 presenter, Steve Backshall, shows you how to follow in his footsteps and become a deadly detective tracking animals all around the world, from your own back garden to the Amazon rain forests and Arctic tundra.

Finding wildlife is rarely easy - unless you're Steve Backshall! In DEADLY DETECTIVES Steve tells young trackers everything they need to know about the origins of tracking, what you need to become a tracker and how to do it, whether the wild world is your own back garden, ancient woodlands, the riverside or coast. He illustrates his tips with examples of his own detective work on land and in the water from tropical rainforests to the African Savanna, from the Arctic tundra to the desert. Join him as footsteps, feeding habits and even a pile of pooh reveal snow leopards, crocodiles, gators, snakes and polar bears, while closer to home you can track foxes, squirrels, badgers and birds, using exactly the same techniques.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series DEADLY 60, LIVE AND DEADLY, DEADLY 360 and DEADLY ART. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Steve's website is http://www.stevebackshall.com/, and you can follow him on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/stevebackshallofficial and Twitter @SteveJBackshall

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444012149
  • Publication date: 07 Nov 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
The enthusiasm and expertise he has for his subject ... is evident in this excellent book — School Librarian
Plenty to inform and entertain — BBC Wildlife
Wayland

Animal Tongues

Tim Harris
Authors:
Tim Harris

Wayland

Who Ate the Penguin?

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley

All living things need food to give them energy to live. Plants that make their own food and animals that eat plants or other plant-eating animals are linked together by many different food chains. This book looks at an ocean food chain in Antarctica. The text introduces young children to the scientific vocabulary associated with food chains and big, beautiful photographs bring the ocean food chain to life.

Wayland

Who Ate the Snake?

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley

All living things need food to give them energy to live. Plants that make their own food and animals that eat plants or other plant-eating animals are linked together by many different food chains. This book looks at a desert food chain in Arizona, USA. The text introduces young children to the scientific vocabulary associated with food chains and big, beautiful photographs bring the desert food chain to life.

Franklin Watts

South America

Tim Harris
Authors:
Tim Harris
Franklin Watts

Asia

Tim Harris
Authors:
Tim Harris
Franklin Watts

Africa

Tim Harris
Authors:
Tim Harris

This stunning six-book series explores some of Earth's iconic landmarks and habitats, and the plants and animals that live there. Africa explores the incredibly diverse range of habitats and wildlife on this continent. Lions, elephants and hippos feature, alongside some less well-known mammals, amphibians, birds and reptiles. From the Atlas Mountains, through the Sahara Desert, across the wide savanna, up Mount Kilimanjaro, through the rainforests of Madagascar and over the immense Victoria Falls - this book will make you want to know even more about the spectacular array of life on Earth.They are illustrated with beautiful photographs that will inspire readers and leave them in awe at the incredible variety of life on our planet. Filled with incredible facts and gems of information, each book reveals the dramatic ways in which each of our seven continents are shaped and how they in turn affect the living creatures and plants that call each continent home.For readers aged 8 and upwards, these books are the perfect introduction to the geography and wildlife of Africa and for key stage 2 students, studying geography, plant life and the animal kingdom.

Franklin Watts

Plants

Peter Riley
Authors:
Peter Riley
Franklin Watts

Pond Wildlife

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Wayland

Weather

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland
Wayland

Forces

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland
Hodder Children's Books

Going to the Volcano

Andy Stanton, Miguel Ordonez
Contributors:
Andy Stanton, Miguel Ordonez
Wayland

Minibeasts

David West
Authors:
David West
Wayland

Mammals

David West
Authors:
David West
Hodder Children's Books

The Wonder of Trees

Nicola Davies, Lorna Scobie
Contributors:
Nicola Davies, Lorna Scobie
Wren & Rook

Natural Wonders of the World

Molly Oldfield, Federica Bordoni
Contributors:
Molly Oldfield, Federica Bordoni

Set off on a journey of discovery in this beautiful photographic celebration of the natural world.From firefly squid glowing against the night sky in Japan to a Mexican cave filled with the largest crystals ever found, you'll discover the stories and science behind these wonders, the threats they now face and the efforts taking place to save them. How did the Grand Canyon come to be? Where is the most electric place on Earth? And what can we do to protect the Great Barrier Reef?Both a stunning tour of the planet we call home, and an overview of some of the biggest environmental problems of today, Natural Wonders of the World is the perfect gift for anyone who loves exploring the great outdoors.

Orion Children's Books

Bear Rescue

Jess French
Authors:
Jess French

Keep wildlife in the wild! Support the Born Free charity and join Virginia McKenna and her team behind the scenes in this full colour gift book about an incredible bear rescue.Every year Born Free helps hundreds of animals around the world. This is the story of one of their incredible rescues ... Meet Mollie, Georgia and Louisa - three bear cubs stranded by terrible floods. Following a 24-hour rescue operation by Born Free that saved them from the raging waters, the cubs were taken more than 1,500 miles to Greece where they were released in a Bear Sanctuary in the mountains.

Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Franklin Watts

Human Body

Peter Riley, Krina Patel
Contributors:
Peter Riley, Krina Patel
Franklin Watts

Trees

Clare Hibbert
Authors:
Clare Hibbert
Franklin Watts

Tropical Rainforests

Tim Harris
Authors:
Tim Harris

Rainforests are one of the most amazing environments on Earth and many plants, people and animals have made rainforests their home and are adapted to living there. They have to be tough to survive in the dense jungle, whether they live on the forest floor or high up in the canopy, what they eat and how they are adapted to survive in this hot and humid place, and of course avoiding the variety of predators that live there. Read on to find out how they do it! Books aimed at KS2 readers wanting to find out a bit more about world environments. Amazing Biomes explores six main habitats.