Steve Backshall - Deadly Detectives - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Detectives

Top Tips to Track Wildlife

By Steve Backshall

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

A lavish full-colour gift book in which BAFTA AWARD-winning DEADLY 60 presenter, Steve Backshall, shows you how to follow in his footsteps and become a deadly detective tracking animals all around the world, from your own back garden to the Amazon rain forests and Arctic tundra.

Finding wildlife is rarely easy - unless you're Steve Backshall! In DEADLY DETECTIVES Steve tells young trackers everything they need to know about the origins of tracking, what you need to become a tracker and how to do it, whether the wild world is your own back garden, ancient woodlands, the riverside or coast. He illustrates his tips with examples of his own detective work on land and in the water from tropical rainforests to the African Savanna, from the Arctic tundra to the desert. Join him as footsteps, feeding habits and even a pile of pooh reveal snow leopards, crocodiles, gators, snakes and polar bears, while closer to home you can track foxes, squirrels, badgers and birds, using exactly the same techniques.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series DEADLY 60, LIVE AND DEADLY, DEADLY 360 and DEADLY ART. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Steve's website is http://www.stevebackshall.com/, and you can follow him on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/stevebackshallofficial and Twitter @SteveJBackshall

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444011357
  • Publication date: 22 May 2014
  • Page count: 208
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
The enthusiasm and expertise he has for his subject ... is evident in this excellent book — School Librarian
Plenty to inform and entertain — BBC Wildlife
Franklin Watts

Borneo Rainforest

Simon Chapman
Authors:
Simon Chapman
Wren & Rook

The Ways of the Wolf

Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward
Contributors:
Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward

The wolf stalks the wilderness and our own imaginations. Uncover its mysteries in this beautifully written non-fiction picture book.Majestic and fierce, proud and strong, the wolf has always been a source of fascination - and fear. It remains one of the most misunderstood of all creatures, frequently cast as our mortal enemy. The truth is that wolves and humans are more closely connected than we dare to admit. With beautifully lyrical language, Smriti Prasadam-Halls explores the lightning speed, echoing howl and family life of these mysterious animals, revealing astonishing facts and overturning misconceptions as she does so. Wildlife illustrator Jonathan Woodward brings the creatures to life with breathtaking papercut collage artwork. This is non-fiction storytelling at its very finest.The Ways of the Wolf has been endorsed by the UK Wolf Conservation Trust.

Wayland

Body Parts

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Learn all about animal and human body parts, the similarities and differences. From the giraffe's long necks and the owl who can practically turn their heads right round to differences in skin, hair fur and teeth, explore human and animal bodies.The Human Body, Animal Bodies series looks at the features and function of the human body in isolation and also in comparison to those of different animals, looking at similarities and differences. The end of each book will look at sorting the featured creatures into their animal groups, using the classification information learnt throughout.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2018

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Wayland

Wild Ideas

Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim
Contributors:
Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim
Wayland

Ocean

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Read all about oceans, where in the world you can find them, what animals and plants live there and how these are dependent on each other. Learn about food chains, pollution and what we can do to protect this important habitat.Simple quiz questions at the back help readers to remember what they've just read.Perfect one-stop-shop for help with homework assignments!Broad-ranging appeal for nursery age through to Key Stage 2.

Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2017

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

A full colour annual packed with animals and adventure from wildlife enthusiast, TV presenter and children's book bestseller, Steve Backshall. Steve's year is full of spiders, crocodiles, snakes, sharks, stingrays, tigers, hawks and many more exciting creatures. The perfect gift for young wildlife fans, this annual is bursting with fascinating facts, puzzles, quizzes, and full colour photographs of amazing animals from across the globe.

Wayland

Reptiles

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Orion Children's Books

Wilds of the Wolf

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Franklin Watts

Awesome Animals: Facts, Stats and Quizzes

Tracey Turner
Authors:
Tracey Turner
Franklin Watts

Bears

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch
Franklin Watts

Elephants

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch

Come on safari with the biggest land mammals on Earth - elephants.Froglets Learners offer fun facts in accessible text, perfect for building reading confidence.

Wayland

Seashore

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Orion Children's Books

Favourite Deadly Facts

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

A Horrid Factbook: Crazy Creatures

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

From multi-million-copy selling author, Francesca Simon, and David Walliams' illustrator, Tony Ross, comes the latest title in the successful Horrid Henry's Factbooks series. What's the only animal in the world to produce cube-shaped poo? What kind of lizard looks as though it has two heads? And what happens when a tarantula loses a leg?Bursting with foul facts and twisted trivia, this is the perfect guide to everything a Horrid Henry fan has ever wanted to know about animals. Gross out your family and amaze your friends with your nasty new knowledge!

Wayland

Rainforest

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Read all about rainforests, where in the world you can find them, what animals and plants live there and how these are dependent on each other. Learn about food chains, deforestation and what we can do to protect this important habitat.Simple quiz questions at the back help readers to remember what they've just read.Perfect one-stop-shop for help with homework assignments!Broad-ranging appeal for nursery age through to Key Stage 2.

Wayland

Woodland

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Read all about woodlands, where in the world you can find them, what animals and plants live there and how these are dependent on each other. Learn about food chains, seasons and what we can do to protect this important habitat. Simple quiz questions at the back help readers to remember what they've just read. Perfect one-stop-shop for help with homework assignments! Broad-ranging appeal for nursery age through to Key Stage 2.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Wild Wordsearches

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Put your DEADLY knowledge to the test with Steve Backshall's next fun and interactive activity book, featuring a host of DEADLY-themed wordsearches. Hours of fun guaranteed!

Franklin Watts

Penguins

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch

Penguins are amazing! They glide through the water in some of the coldest oceans on our planet.Froglets Learners offer fun facts in accessible text, perfect for building reading confidence.