Steve Backshall - Deadly Detectives - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Detectives

Top Tips to Track Wildlife

By Steve Backshall

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

A lavish full-colour gift book in which BAFTA AWARD-winning DEADLY 60 presenter, Steve Backshall, shows you how to follow in his footsteps and become a deadly detective tracking animals all around the world, from your own back garden to the Amazon rain forests and Arctic tundra.

Finding wildlife is rarely easy - unless you're Steve Backshall! In DEADLY DETECTIVES Steve tells young trackers everything they need to know about the origins of tracking, what you need to become a tracker and how to do it, whether the wild world is your own back garden, ancient woodlands, the riverside or coast. He illustrates his tips with examples of his own detective work on land and in the water from tropical rainforests to the African Savanna, from the Arctic tundra to the desert. Join him as footsteps, feeding habits and even a pile of pooh reveal snow leopards, crocodiles, gators, snakes and polar bears, while closer to home you can track foxes, squirrels, badgers and birds, using exactly the same techniques.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series DEADLY 60, LIVE AND DEADLY, DEADLY 360 and DEADLY ART. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Steve's website is http://www.stevebackshall.com/, and you can follow him on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/stevebackshallofficial and Twitter @SteveJBackshall

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444011357
  • Publication date: 22 May 2014
  • Page count: 208
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
The enthusiasm and expertise he has for his subject ... is evident in this excellent book — School Librarian
Plenty to inform and entertain — BBC Wildlife
Wren & Rook

The World of the Whale

Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward
Contributors:
Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward

Graceful and serene, intelligent and social, the whale is a wonder of the deep blue sea. And yet, whales rely on air to breathe - they are mammals, just like us.With breathtaking text, Smriti Prasadam-Halls explores the migrations, songs and family life of these mysterious creatures, revealing astonishing facts you've never heard before. Wildlife illustrator Jonathan Woodward brings the marine world to life with stunning papercut collage artwork. This is the perfect non-fiction picture book to read at bedtime.Also available in this series:The Ways of the Wolf

Wayland

Animals

A fun and entertaining way to get into animal facts, featuring custom-made 'infomojis' to present the information with real personality.

Franklin Watts

African Savannah

Simon Chapman
Authors:
Simon Chapman
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2018

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Wayland

Fish

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

What makes a fish a fish? Read all about fish, find out where they live, how they breathe and what they eat. How are fish born and how do they grow and learn?A simple fun quiz helps readers recall what they have read.A perfect one-stop shop for help with homework assignments!

Wren & Rook

My Book of Birds

Geraldo Valerio
Authors:
Geraldo Valerio

"An enchanting book" Joanna Lumley"Full of amazing facts and beautiful clear illustrations. A book to inspire the young and indeed the old!" Alison Steadman"Will not fail to ignite young imaginations" David LindoFull of stunning illustrations and incredible facts, My Book of Birds is a glorious celebration of birds. From majestic golden eagles and snowy owls to brilliant red crossbills and puffins to the tiniest of hummingbirds, the book covers them all. Meet cormorants that can dive underwater for up to 30 seconds at a time, and ptarmigans whose feathers turn completely white in winter, so they can blend in with their snowy habitat. Beautifully designed, and with a debossed wibalin cover, this is an ideal gift for bird lovers of all ages! If you've loved Beautiful Birds, or The Genius of Birds, or Bill Bailey's Remarkable Guide to British Birds, then you'll love this. Incredible collage illustrations from Geraldo Valério show a variety of feathered creatures in their natural habitats as they hunt for food, impress their mates, nest and care for their young. The concise, accessible text is ideal for children aged six and above, and provides information ranging from clever techniques for finding food to remarkable physical features to fascinating behaviours. But above all, Geraldo Valério shares his passion for birds in this lovingly created album, inspiring young readers with their beauty and the excitement of discovery.Includes an introduction, glossary, index and sources for further information.

Wayland

Seashore

Victoria Munson
Authors:
Victoria Munson

Find out about nature with these beautiful photographic introductions. Simple descriptions and fun facts help make it easy to identify common birds.Then get active and make the nature project at the back of the book.

Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2017

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

A full colour annual packed with animals and adventure from wildlife enthusiast, TV presenter and children's book bestseller, Steve Backshall. Steve's year is full of spiders, crocodiles, snakes, sharks, stingrays, tigers, hawks and many more exciting creatures. The perfect gift for young wildlife fans, this annual is bursting with fascinating facts, puzzles, quizzes, and full colour photographs of amazing animals from across the globe.

Franklin Watts

Awesome Animals: Facts, Stats and Quizzes

Tracey Turner
Authors:
Tracey Turner

Stat Attack is irresistible to fact fiends, providing A-Z lists, top tens, etc, and focusing on mind-boggling information about the subjects that really interest them. Fascinating lists are meticulously researched and backed up with supplementary information. The books lend themselves to statistic games and comparisons, and are illustrated in an infographic style.

Orion Children's Books

Favourite Deadly Facts

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Pole to Pole Diaries

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

This is Steve Backshall's incredible first-hand account of his 14-month voyage from the Arctic to the Antarctic via Alaska, California, Hawaii, Mexico and Brazil and many more amazing locations besides. Go with him every step of the way as he describes his encounters with white whales, ice bears, sharks, eagles, wolves, sea lions, eagles, crocodiles, snakes and spiders. It's the Deadly adventure of a lifetime.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Wild Wordsearches

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Put your DEADLY knowledge to the test with Steve Backshall's next fun and interactive activity book, featuring a host of DEADLY-themed wordsearches. Hours of fun guaranteed!

Wayland

Animal Migrations

Camilla De La Bedoyere
Authors:
Camilla De La Bedoyere

Epic: Animal Migrations focuses on 12 of the most remarkable animal migrations in the world, from the monarch butterfly, which weighs no more than a pea, but journeys all the way across North America each year, to the leatherback turtle, which migrates across an entire ocean to breed. Infographic elements on each spread present information in a simple and highly visual way. Clear, concise text and a bright, appealing design make the book the perfect resource for project work on habitats, adaptation, genetics and inheritance, or simply a great leisure read, for children aged 9 and above.The book details the timespan and location of each migration, the reasons involved and the method used. A timeline on every spread gives the time frame for each migration, and what happens when. Additional background information to each animal is also provided, including the wildebeest, the Arctic tern, the caribou, the gray whale, the European eel, the Sockeye salmon, the dragonfly, the straw-coloured fruit bat, zooplankton and the Christmas Island red crab. Epic: Animal Migrations also looks at the science behind each migration, and how the animals know where and when to go. For more epic events, try reading the other titles in the Epic series: Battles, Empires and Explorers.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Pole to Pole Puzzles

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Put your DEADLY knowledge to the test with Steve Backshall's next fun and interactive activity book, to tie in with the successful POLE TO POLE BBC series, which follows Steve Backshall's incredible first-hand account of his 14-month voyage from the Arctic to the Antarctic via Alaska, California, Hawaii, Mexico and Brazil and many more amazing locations.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Annual 2015

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Jaws and Claws

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Did you know that the teeth of a hippopotamus can measure as much as 40 or 50 centimetres? Or that a vampire bat will sometimes regurgitate blood to another member of its colony?Learn all about the jaws and claws of the world's most extraordinary creatures in the sixth factbook from BAFTA AWARD-winning, TV Deadly presenter Steve Backshall.Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Orion Children's Books

Wilds of the Wolf

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Franklin Watts

Amazing Pets

Anne Rooney
Authors:
Anne Rooney

Slipstream is a new generation of reading resources specifically designed for struggling and reluctant readers. Through exciting and carefully levelled texts, Slipstream enables readers to accelerate their reading experience.This book is part of Slipstream LEVEL 2. The 350-word text is levelled for readers with a reading age of 7-9, but its engaging content makes it perfect for a wide range of older readers too.All texts are levelled by reading experts Dee Reid and Diana Bentley.Do you know about Arbor the painting dog? Or about the man who has a pet buffalo? What about a slimy pet banana slug?No? Then find out in Amazing Pets - filled with facts about some of the most extreme pets.

Franklin Watts

Your Dad

Roy Apps, Nick Sharratt
Contributors:
Roy Apps, Nick Sharratt