Steve Backshall - Deadly Factbook: Fish, Squid and Jellyfish - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Factbook: Fish, Squid and Jellyfish

Book 4

By Steve Backshall

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Discover the world's most extraordinary underwater creatures in the fourth of Steve Backshall's Deadly factbooks featuring fish, squid, sharks and whales.

Did you know that catfish have more than 100,000 taste buds on their body? Or that a bull shark has an even stronger bite than a Great White?

Follow in the footsteps of the Deadly team and discover the secrets of the animal kingdom as they reveal fascinating facts and killer statistics in their guide to fish, squid and jellyfish.

This is the fourth Deadly factbook. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series DEADLY 60, LIVE AND DEADLY, DEADLY 360 and DEADLY ART. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Steve's website is http://www.stevebackshall.com/, and you can follow him on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/stevebackshallofficial and Twitter @SteveJBackshall

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444010695
  • Publication date: 04 Jul 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Wayland

Urban Wildlife

Victoria Munson
Authors:
Victoria Munson
Wren & Rook

Does It Fart?

Nick Caruso, Dani Rabaiotti, Alex G. Griffiths
Contributors:
Nick Caruso, Dani Rabaiotti, Alex G. Griffiths

An explosive and hilarious look at facts, farts, and fun!Dogs fart. Cats fart. Horses fart (a lot). But what about snakes? Spiders? Octopuses? What about chimpanzees? Cheetahs? Or dinosaurs?In this gaseous guide to kids' favourite animals (and some they've probably never heard of), young readers will discover not only which animals parp, but also which have the stinkiest farts, which fart the most, and where all this smelly stuff comes from. They'll even learn which species has its own secret fart code! Perfect for reluctant readers, and with full-colour illustrations throughout, Does It Fart? is the funniest book you never knew you needed.Based on the New York Times bestseller Does It Fart?: The Definitive Field Guide to Animal Flatulence.

Wren & Rook

A Planet Full of Plastic

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton
Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Franklin Watts

Animals

Peter Riley, Krina Patel
Contributors:
Peter Riley, Krina Patel

Animals takes a look at the five types of vertebrates on our planet: fish, mammals, reptiles, amphibians and birds. Find out about the types of habitats these animals live in, and all about teeth, bones, feathers, skulls, tadpoles, scales, eggs and loads of other fascinating science stuff about animals.Have you ever looked at the objects inside a curiosity box? What did you see and what did they feel like? Did you recognise some of them or were there things in there that you'd never seen before? These six book take the magical charm of collecting curiosities, joined with the science behind some of the wonders of the natural world. The mixture of full-colour photographs and beautiful illustrations will inspire children to take a closer look at objects and the world around them, and begin to question how and why nature designs things in certain ways.The Curiosity Box series is brimming with science and encourages Key Stage 1 pupils to engage with core science and nature topics, while developing other key skills in thinking and reasoning in an utterly absorbing and charming way.For children aged 6+.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Pole to Pole Diaries

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Annual 2015

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Wilds of the Wolf

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Gripping adventure fiction from Deadly TV presenter Steve Backshall, perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz and Charlie Higson. This is the third adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, adventure, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.Saker and Sinter escape by the skin of their teeth when their plan to sabotage a billionaire businessman plundering 'black gold' (natural oil and gas) and hunting wolves in the remote Yamal peninsula in North West Siberia goes disastrously wrong. But they escape one kind of peril only to find themselves in an even more terrifying situation. Separated by blizzards and avalanches, lost in a breathtakingly beautiful but deadly frozen Arctic wilderness, suffering from frostbite and hunger, listening to the wolves howl and the packs draw closer, it seems that this time they cannot possibly live to tell their tale...

Orion Children's Books

The Falcon Chronicles: Tiger Wars

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Ghosts of the Forest

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

From the DEADLY 60 TV presenter and BAFTA AWARD winner Steve Backshall, comes the second novel in THE FALCON CHRONICLES series, GHOSTS OF THE FOREST. Catch up with Saker and Sinter as they reunite to save endangered orang utans in this vivid adventure story.Saker and Sinter are travelling in Asia. Sinter is nursing in the shanties of Ho Chi Minh city. Saker is with the peace-loving Penan helping them protect the orang utans and save their own forest homes, as unscrupulous loggers wreak destruction. But they are being watched. And hunted. The Prophet has not forgiven their betrayal. Escaping the Clan takes Saker and Sinter on a deadly, dangerous journey through Vietnam, over the South China Sea back to Borneo. Deep in the jungle, they're reunited on their most daredevil and audacious mission yet, to save the endangered orang utans before they become ghosts of the forest. Beware the wooden bullet.Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the BBC kids' series DEADLY 60 and LIVE AND DEADLY as well as star of BBC's Strictly Come Dancing 2014.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Jaws and Claws

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Did you know that the teeth of a hippopotamus can measure as much as 40 or 50 centimetres? Or that a vampire bat will sometimes regurgitate blood to another member of its colony?Learn all about the jaws and claws of the world's most extraordinary creatures in the sixth factbook from BAFTA AWARD-winning, TV Deadly presenter Steve Backshall.Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Sticker Book

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Create your very own Deadly adventure with Deadly TV presenter Steve Backshall's first ever interactive 24-page full colour sticker book, perfect for Deadly fans everywhere.Find the fastest predators, the creatures with the most incredible super senses, the deadliest and those who survive extreme conditions. Contains more than 200 stickers.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Bizarre Beasts

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Top Ten Activity Book

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Detectives

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Diaries

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Doodle Book 3

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Become part of Steve Backshall's world by drawing your own Deadly doodles. This 24-page doodle book featuring creative and interactive content from DEADLY ART is an absolute must-have for all Deadly fans. This is the third Deadly Doodle book in the collectable series and includes a polar bear, hippopotamus, tokay gecko, goliath bird-eating spider, Nile crocodile, hornet, lionfish, lion, barracuda and monitor lizard.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Reptiles and Amphibians

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Packed with fascinating facts and drawing on Steve's own amazing experiences, this is the third Deadly factbook for Steve Backshall fans everywhere. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Insects and Spiders

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook Mammals

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Packed with fascinating facts and drawing on Steve's own amazing experiences, this is the DEADLY guide to mammals for Steve Backshall fans everywhere. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.