Steve Backshall - Deadly Factbook: Bizarre Beasts - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Factbook: Bizarre Beasts

Book 5

By Steve Backshall

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

Discover the world's most extraordinary creatures in the fifth factbook from BAFTA AWARD-winning, TV Deadly presenter Steve Backshall.

Did you know that there is such a thing as a bone-eating snot-flower worm? Or that the secretary bird kills its prey by stamping on it!

Discover the world's most extraordinary creatures in the fifth factbook from BAFTA AWARD-winning, TV Deadly presenter Steve Backshall.

Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series DEADLY 60, LIVE AND DEADLY, DEADLY 360 and DEADLY ART. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Steve's website is http://www.stevebackshall.com/, and you can follow him on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/stevebackshallofficial and Twitter @SteveJBackshall

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444010046
  • Publication date: 10 Apr 2014
  • Page count: 80
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Franklin Watts

The Seashore

Peter Riley
Authors:
Peter Riley

Have you ever looked at the objects inside a curiosity box? What did you see and what did they feel like? Did you recognise some of them or were there things in there that you'd never seen before? Books that take the magical charm of collecting curiosities, joined together with the science behind some of the wonders of the natural world. Children will be inspired to take a closer look at objects and the world around them and begin to question how and why nature designs things in certain ways.The Seashore looks at some of the different habitats along the coast and the plants, animals and objects that you will find there. From sand lizards hiding in the sand dunes, to all sorts of shells, crustaceans and seabirds. Children will love discovering a bit more about this favourite location. The mixture of full-colour photographs and illustrations ensure maximum impact and levels of detail but without feeling overly educational - even though this book is brimming with scienceBooks that encourage KS1 readers to engage with core science and nature topics, while developing other key skills in thinking and reasoning in an utterly absorbing and charming way.

Franklin Watts

Minibeasts

Peter Riley
Authors:
Peter Riley

Have you ever looked at the objects inside a curiosity box? What did you see and what did they feel like? Did you recognise some of them or were there things in there that you'd never seen before? Books that take the magical charm of collecting curiosities, joined together with the science behind some of the wonders of the natural world. Children will be inspired to take a closer look at objects and the world around them and begin to question how and why nature designs things in certain ways.Minibeasts focuses on the different types of minibeasts we encounter, such as insects, spiders and molluscs like slugs and snails. It links them to the habitats they live in and examines their behaviours and the roles they play in pollinating, composting and eating other bugs!Books that are brimming with science and encourage KS1 pupils to engage with core science and nature topics, while developing other key skills in thinking and reasoning in an utterly absorbing and charming way.

Wayland

Planet Earth

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Wayland

Continents

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Hodder Children's Books

Going to the Volcano

Andy Stanton, Miguel Ordonez
Contributors:
Andy Stanton, Miguel Ordonez
Hodder Children's Books

The Variety of Life

Nicola Davies, Lorna Scobie
Contributors:
Nicola Davies, Lorna Scobie
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2018

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2017

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orchard Books

Bumpus Jumpus Dinosaurumpus

Tony Mitton, Guy Parker-Rees
Contributors:
Tony Mitton, Guy Parker-Rees

Dinosaurs of all shapes and sizes gather in the latest edition of a much-loved energetic book. Jurassic-fans everywhere will enjoy this timeless and exciting prehistoric romp. Join in with Triceratops, Stegosaurus and their friends as the dinosaurs stir up a dinosaurumpus! But what's this? Terrifying Tyrannosaurus is about to gatecrash the party. Will he eat them all? With its read-aloud rhyming text and exuberant illustrations, this is a sure-fire winner from the popular duo, Tony Mitton and Guy Parker-Rees, illustrator of the bestselling Giraffes Can't Dance - for pure clap-along, dance-along fun. Come and join in the fun of reading with excellent rhyme and rhythm and bright bold illustrations! A book you will keep coming back to.

Wayland

If

David J. Smith
Authors:
David J. Smith
Orion Children's Books

Wilds of the Wolf

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

How To Make A Human Out Of Soup

Tracey Turner, Sally Kindberg
Contributors:
Tracey Turner, Sally Kindberg
Orion Children's Books

Favourite Deadly Facts

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Wild Wordsearches

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Put your DEADLY knowledge to the test with Steve Backshall's next fun and interactive activity book, featuring a host of DEADLY-themed wordsearches. Hours of fun guaranteed!

Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry and the Comfy Black Chair

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross

Early Readers are stepping stones from picture books to reading books. A blue Early Reader is perfect for sharing and reading together. A red Early Reader is the next step on your reading journey.The comfy black chair makes TV watching perfect. That's what Horrid Henry thinks ... and so does Perfect Peter.Now Henry and Peter are locked in a battle for the chair, and the TV. Only one brother can win ... but who will it be?

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Pole to Pole Puzzles

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Pole to Pole Diaries

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

This is Steve Backshall's incredible first-hand account of his 14-month voyage from the Arctic to the Antarctic via Alaska, California, Hawaii, Mexico and Brazil and many more amazing locations besides. Go with him every step of the way as he describes his encounters with white whales, ice bears, sharks, eagles, wolves, sea lions, eagles, crocodiles, snakes and spiders. It's the Deadly adventure of a lifetime.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Annual 2015

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

As a Deadly fan you know that we travel to all corners of the world to film and this time we're on our deadliest mission yet! We visit the driest deserts, the steamiest rainforests, the highest mountains and the snowiest forests in search of the most awesome wildlife. As ever, you're coming with us, every step of the way.Join us on a journey round the world and we'll tell you more about these incredible places and the animals that spend their lives there. We've got loads of photos and fascinating facts to share with you, as well as plenty of puzzles, pictures and fun stuff to enjoy!

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Jaws and Claws

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Did you know that the teeth of a hippopotamus can measure as much as 40 or 50 centimetres? Or that a vampire bat will sometimes regurgitate blood to another member of its colony?Learn all about the jaws and claws of the world's most extraordinary creatures in the sixth factbook from BAFTA AWARD-winning, TV Deadly presenter Steve Backshall.Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.