Steve Backshall - Deadly Factbook: Bizarre Beasts - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Factbook: Bizarre Beasts

Book 5

By Steve Backshall

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Discover the world's most extraordinary creatures in the fifth factbook from BAFTA AWARD-winning, TV Deadly presenter Steve Backshall.

Did you know that there is such a thing as a bone-eating snot-flower worm? Or that the secretary bird kills its prey by stamping on it!

Discover the world's most extraordinary creatures in the fifth factbook from BAFTA AWARD-winning, TV Deadly presenter Steve Backshall.

Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series DEADLY 60, LIVE AND DEADLY, DEADLY 360 and DEADLY ART. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Steve's website is http://www.stevebackshall.com/, and you can follow him on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/stevebackshallofficial and Twitter @SteveJBackshall

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444010039
  • Publication date: 10 Apr 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Wayland

Animal Migrations

Camilla De La Bedoyere
Authors:
Camilla De La Bedoyere
Orion Children's Books

Wilds of the Wolf

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Wayland

Woodland

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Read all about woodlands, where in the world you can find them, what animals and plants live there and how these are dependent on each other. Learn about food chains, seasons and what we can do to protect this important habitat. Simple quiz questions at the back help readers to remember what they've just read. Perfect one-stop-shop for help with homework assignments! Broad-ranging appeal for nursery age through to Key Stage 2.

Wayland

Rainforest

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Read all about rainforests, where in the world you can find them, what animals and plants live there and how these are dependent on each other. Learn about food chains, deforestation and what we can do to protect this important habitat.Simple quiz questions at the back help readers to remember what they've just read.Perfect one-stop-shop for help with homework assignments!Broad-ranging appeal for nursery age through to Key Stage 2.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Pole to Pole Diaries

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Franklin Watts

Desert Animals

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland

Desert Animals explains how some of the world's most unusual creatures have come under threat and what we are doing to save the extreme desert environment in which they live.It is part of the Saving Wildlife series, which investigates the world's endangered species in the context of their different environments.

Franklin Watts

Killer Spiders

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf

If you ever wanted to know how Spiders survive in the wild, find out in this fascinating book about their hunting techniques. Catching prey in sticky webs, trapdoors and even fishing are spider specialities! All spiders, have to hunt and kill prey to stay alive but which animals will they hunt and eat? A high-interest, magazine style series of books about some of the world's most dangerous and famous predators for readers aged 9+.

Franklin Watts

Penguins

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch

Penguins are amazing! They glide through the water in some of the coldest oceans on our planet.Froglets Learners offer fun facts in accessible text, perfect for building reading confidence.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Annual 2015

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Medical Milestones and Crazy Cures

Chris van Tulleken, Xand van Tulleken
Authors:
Chris van Tulleken, Xand van Tulleken

Think you know your Smallpox from your Bubonic Plague? Try testing your knowledge of the history of medicine!a) What did the Ancient Egyptians treat with powdered ostrich egg?b) How did body snatchers help 19th-century medical students? c) Why did the Ancient Romans recommend drinking wee?ANSWERS: Dive in and find out!Dr Chris and Dr Xand draw back the bed curtains of history to take you on a tour of the body, revealing the gruesome secrets of medicine through the ages.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Jaws and Claws

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Did you know that the teeth of a hippopotamus can measure as much as 40 or 50 centimetres? Or that a vampire bat will sometimes regurgitate blood to another member of its colony?Learn all about the jaws and claws of the world's most extraordinary creatures in the sixth factbook from BAFTA AWARD-winning, TV Deadly presenter Steve Backshall.Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Franklin Watts

Amazing Pets

Anne Rooney
Authors:
Anne Rooney

Slipstream is a new generation of reading resources specifically designed for struggling and reluctant readers. Through exciting and carefully levelled texts, Slipstream enables readers to accelerate their reading experience.This book is part of Slipstream LEVEL 2. The 350-word text is levelled for readers with a reading age of 7-9, but its engaging content makes it perfect for a wide range of older readers too.All texts are levelled by reading experts Dee Reid and Diana Bentley.Do you know about Arbor the painting dog? Or about the man who has a pet buffalo? What about a slimy pet banana slug?No? Then find out in Amazing Pets - filled with facts about some of the most extreme pets.

Franklin Watts

Killer Cats

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf
Franklin Watts

Killer Snakes

Alex Woolf
Authors:
Alex Woolf
Orion Children's Books

The Falcon Chronicles: Tiger Wars

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Franklin Watts

Mountain Animals

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland

Mountain Animals looks at efforts to save the animals that have learned to survive in the world's harsh mountain regions ­-- high among the peaks and in the forested mountain slopes.It is part of the Saving Wildlife series, which investigates the world's endangered species in the context of their different environments.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Sticker Book

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Create your very own Deadly adventure with Deadly TV presenter Steve Backshall's first ever interactive 24-page full colour sticker book, perfect for Deadly fans everywhere.Find the fastest predators, the creatures with the most incredible super senses, the deadliest and those who survive extreme conditions. Contains more than 200 stickers.

Franklin Watts

Ten Thousand, Eight Hundred and Twenty Endangered Species in the Animal Kingdom

Paul Rockett, Mark Ruffle
Contributors:
Paul Rockett, Mark Ruffle

You can count numbers all around you, from the eight legs on a spider to the one nose on your face. But can you count the stars in the sky or the fish in the Amazon? Find out all about ANIMALS in THE BIG COUNTDOWN, including evolution and classification, endangered species, reproduction and life cycles, habitats, migration and hibernation. Be amazed by the smallest and largest animals and the number of black feathers on a pink flamingo.The Big Countdown looks at popular topics and investigates the great many numbers that make them fascinating. From the mind-bogglingly large to smallest and most precious, this series helps us understand that it's not just our days that are numbered.

Franklin Watts

Chomp! Munch! Chew!: A book about how animals eat

Karen Wallace, Ross Collins
Contributors:
Karen Wallace, Ross Collins

Some animals chomp, some munch and others just keep chewing - every kind of creature has its own special way of feeding. Gnawing or licking, nibbling or gobbling, Chomp! Munch! Chew! tells the amazing story of how animals eat, bringing their world alive with a crunch!The Wonderwise series presents facts in a way that will inspire young children's imaginations about the world around them.