Steve Backshall - Deadly Factbook: Bizarre Beasts - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Factbook: Bizarre Beasts

Book 5

By Steve Backshall

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Discover the world's most extraordinary creatures in the fifth factbook from BAFTA AWARD-winning, TV Deadly presenter Steve Backshall.

Did you know that there is such a thing as a bone-eating snot-flower worm? Or that the secretary bird kills its prey by stamping on it!

Discover the world's most extraordinary creatures in the fifth factbook from BAFTA AWARD-winning, TV Deadly presenter Steve Backshall.

Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series DEADLY 60, LIVE AND DEADLY, DEADLY 360 and DEADLY ART. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Steve's website is http://www.stevebackshall.com/, and you can follow him on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/stevebackshallofficial and Twitter @SteveJBackshall

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444010039
  • Publication date: 10 Apr 2014
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Wren & Rook

The Ways of the Wolf

Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward
Contributors:
Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2018

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Wayland

Being a Bee

Jinny Johnson, Lucy Davey
Contributors:
Jinny Johnson, Lucy Davey
Wayland

Wild Ideas

Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim
Contributors:
Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim

Wild Ideas looks deep into the forests, skies and oceans to explore how animals solve problems. Whether it's weaving a safe place to rest and reflect, blowing a fine net of bubbles to trap fish, or leaping boldly into a new situation, the animals in our world can teach us a lot about problem-solving. As with the stunning You Are Stardust, the creators use lyrical text grounded in current science, alongside wonderfully detailed art, to present problems as doorways to creative thinking. Wild Ideas encourages an enquiry-based approach to learning, inviting readers to indulge their sense of wonder and curiosity by observing the natural world, engaging with big ideas and asking questions.Praise for You Are Stardust:'This glorious synthesis of art and science invites discussion about our place in the world, where we come from, how we change and what makes us feel alive ... A terrific book for nurturing curiosity and fostering a feeling of enchantment.'(Playing By The Book)

Wayland

Coarse Fishing

Martin Ford
Authors:
Martin Ford
Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2017

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

A full colour annual packed with animals and adventure from wildlife enthusiast, TV presenter and children's book bestseller, Steve Backshall. Steve's year is full of spiders, crocodiles, snakes, sharks, stingrays, tigers, hawks and many more exciting creatures. The perfect gift for young wildlife fans, this annual is bursting with fascinating facts, puzzles, quizzes, and full colour photographs of amazing animals from across the globe.

Wayland

Fish

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Wayland

Birds

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

What makes a bird a bird? Read all about birds, find out where they live, how they breathe and what they eat. How are birds born and how do they grow and learn?A simple fun quiz helps readers recall what they have read.A perfect one-stop shop for help with homework assignments!

Wayland

Reptiles

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

What makes a reptile a reptile? Read all about reptiles, find out where they live, how they move and what they eat. How do reptiles use their senses and protect themselves?A simple fun quiz helps readers recall what they have read.A perfect one-stop shop for help with homework assignments!

Orion Children's Books

Wilds of the Wolf

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Franklin Watts

Penguins

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch
Wayland

Ocean

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Read all about oceans, where in the world you can find them, what animals and plants live there and how these are dependent on each other. Learn about food chains, pollution and what we can do to protect this important habitat.Simple quiz questions at the back help readers to remember what they've just read.Perfect one-stop-shop for help with homework assignments!Broad-ranging appeal for nursery age through to Key Stage 2.

Franklin Watts

Bears

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch
Wayland

Seashore

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Read all about seashores, where in the world you can find them, what animals and plants live there and how these are dependent on each other. Learn about food chains, seasons and what we can do to protect this important habitat.Simple quiz questions at the back help readers to remember what they've just read.

Orion Children's Books

A Horrid Factbook: Crazy Creatures

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Wayland

Rainforest

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Wayland

Woodland

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Read all about woodlands, where in the world you can find them, what animals and plants live there and how these are dependent on each other. Learn about food chains, seasons and what we can do to protect this important habitat. Simple quiz questions at the back help readers to remember what they've just read. Perfect one-stop-shop for help with homework assignments! Broad-ranging appeal for nursery age through to Key Stage 2.

Franklin Watts

Rainforests

Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds
Authors:
Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds
Franklin Watts

Elephants

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch

Come on safari with the biggest land mammals on Earth - elephants.Froglets Learners offer fun facts in accessible text, perfect for building reading confidence.