Steve Backshall - Deadly Diaries - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Diaries

By Steve Backshall

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

In his first ever DEADLY DIARIES, Steve Backshall offers an incredible personal insight into life on location with the Deadly team and his search for the planet's 60 deadliest creatures.

In his first ever DEADLY DIARIES Steve Backshall shares what it means to him to film the world's top predators. Learn how it feels to have a blue whale silently power past you in crystal clear Indian Ocean waters or to dangle beneath a helicopter in order to be dropped onto a crocodile nest while the mother crocodile is still there!

The book covers Steve's travels across six continents in six months as he finds the 60 creatures that are most deadly in their world. 224 pages, packed with 175 colour photos to tie in with the third BBC TV series of DEADLY 60.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series Deadly 60, Live and Deadly, Deadly 360 and Deadly Art. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Visit Steve's website at www.stevebackshall.com and follow him on Twitter at https://twitter.com/SteveJBackshall.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444008791
  • Publication date: 08 Nov 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
An engrossing illustrated read — School Librarian
Hodder Children's Books

The Wonder of Trees

Nicola Davies, Lorna Scobie
Contributors:
Nicola Davies, Lorna Scobie
Hodder Children's Books

Going to the Volcano

Andy Stanton, Miguel Ordonez
Contributors:
Andy Stanton, Miguel Ordonez

Buckle up and jump on board for the funniest, most EXPLOSIVE picture book of the year - you'll want to read it again and again-o!Join two intrepid explorers as they take a train-o, jump on a plane-o, ride a Great Dane-o (down the lane-o) on their way to look at the volcano. Nothing could possibly go wrong - could it?!A hilariously anarchic rhyming story from multi-award-winning author Andy Stanton.Andy has won a string of awards for his Mr Gum books, including the Red House Children's Book Award, the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, and the Blue Peter Book Award for Best Book With Pictures (twice).Miguel Ordonez is the illustrator of the New York Times bestselling Your Baby's First Word Will Be Dada, written by Jimmy Fallon, the Emmy and Grammy award-winning host of NBC's The Tonight Show.

Hodder Children's Books

The Variety of Life

Nicola Davies, Lorna Scobie
Contributors:
Nicola Davies, Lorna Scobie

Our planet is full of life! Did you know there are 400,000 species of beetle - but only eight species of bear? This stunning book explores the extraordinary diversity of the natural world and profiles some of its most surprising creatures.A glorious celebration of diversity within the Animal Kingdom by non-fiction specialist Nicola Davies, illustrated by rising star Lorna Scobie. There is something to delight on every page with fascinating facts about mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish and insects. This exquisite book will encourage children to treasure the world's biodiversity and help to stop it slipping away.

Wayland

Reptiles

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2018

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Wayland

Wild Ideas

Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim
Contributors:
Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim

Wild Ideas looks deep into the forests, skies and oceans to explore how animals solve problems. Whether it's weaving a safe place to rest and reflect, blowing a fine net of bubbles to trap fish, or leaping boldly into a new situation, the animals in our world can teach us a lot about problem-solving. As with the stunning You Are Stardust, the creators use lyrical text grounded in current science, alongside wonderfully detailed art, to present problems as doorways to creative thinking. Wild Ideas encourages an enquiry-based approach to learning, inviting readers to indulge their sense of wonder and curiosity by observing the natural world, engaging with big ideas and asking questions.Praise for You Are Stardust:'This glorious synthesis of art and science invites discussion about our place in the world, where we come from, how we change and what makes us feel alive ... A terrific book for nurturing curiosity and fostering a feeling of enchantment.'(Playing By The Book)

Wayland

Seashore

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2017

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Wayland

Rainforest

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Orion Children's Books

Wilds of the Wolf

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Franklin Watts

Bears

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch

Find out all about bears and their cuddly cubs, from gentle pandas to fierce polar bears.Froglets Learners offer fun facts in accessible text, perfect for building reading confidence.

Franklin Watts

Elephants

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch
Orion Children's Books

Favourite Deadly Facts

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Follow in the footsteps of the Deadly team and discover the secrets of the animals kingdom. A bumper book of all your favourite Deadly facts about MAMMALS, INSECTS, REPTILES and BIRDS. The FAVOURITE DEADLY FACTS bind-up contains facts from DEADLY FACTBOOK 1: MAMMALS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 2: MINIBEASTS, SPIDERS AND INSECTS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 3: REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS and DEADLY FACTBOOK 4: FISH, SQUID AND JELLYFISH. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Orion Children's Books

A Horrid Factbook: Crazy Creatures

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Pole to Pole Diaries

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

This is Steve Backshall's incredible first-hand account of his 14-month voyage from the Arctic to the Antarctic via Alaska, California, Hawaii, Mexico and Brazil and many more amazing locations besides. Go with him every step of the way as he describes his encounters with white whales, ice bears, sharks, eagles, wolves, sea lions, eagles, crocodiles, snakes and spiders. It's the Deadly adventure of a lifetime.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Wild Wordsearches

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Put your DEADLY knowledge to the test with Steve Backshall's next fun and interactive activity book, featuring a host of DEADLY-themed wordsearches. Hours of fun guaranteed!

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Pole to Pole Puzzles

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Franklin Watts

Penguins

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Annual 2015

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall