Steve Backshall - Deadly Diaries - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Diaries

By Steve Backshall

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

In his first ever DEADLY DIARIES, Steve Backshall offers an incredible personal insight into life on location with the Deadly team and his search for the planet's 60 deadliest creatures.

In his first ever DEADLY DIARIES Steve Backshall shares what it means to him to film the world's top predators. Learn how it feels to have a blue whale silently power past you in crystal clear Indian Ocean waters or to dangle beneath a helicopter in order to be dropped onto a crocodile nest while the mother crocodile is still there!

The book covers Steve's travels across six continents in six months as he finds the 60 creatures that are most deadly in their world. 224 pages, packed with 175 colour photos to tie in with the third BBC TV series of DEADLY 60.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series Deadly 60, Live and Deadly, Deadly 360 and Deadly Art. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Visit Steve's website at www.stevebackshall.com and follow him on Twitter at https://twitter.com/SteveJBackshall.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444008791
  • Publication date: 08 Nov 2012
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
An engrossing illustrated read — School Librarian
Franklin Watts

Minibeasts

Cath Senker
Authors:
Cath Senker

Minibeasts are insects, spiders and other small creatures. Worldwide, there are more than a million species of insect alone! But how can you become a minibeast expert? This book is full of information about these creatures, including their habitats, life cycles and how they can be useful. The book is also full of puzzles which will help you improve your spotting skills.It is part of The Great Nature Hunt a series of books for children aged 7+ which are a great resource for the Science curriculum. They help children make systematic and careful observations, gather data and record their findings. Each book is full of puzzles and challenges through which children can learn, while having fun.

Franklin Watts

Wild Flowers

Jen Green
Authors:
Jen Green
Hodder Children's Books

The Wonder of Trees

Nicola Davies, Lorna Scobie
Contributors:
Nicola Davies, Lorna Scobie

Wren & Rook

Natural Wonders of the World

Molly Oldfield, Federica Bordoni
Contributors:
Molly Oldfield, Federica Bordoni

Franklin Watts

Minibeasts

Peter Riley
Authors:
Peter Riley
Wayland

Planet Earth

Jon Richards, Ed Simkins
Authors:
Jon Richards, Ed Simkins

Did you know that Earth formed about 4.5 billion years ago? Or about earthquakes, ecosystems and the Goldilocks Zone? Well, where have you been?! Whether it smashes, erupts, evaporates or freezes, Infomojis: Planet Earth is all about exploring our planet in a fun and engaging way. Core scientific areas of investigation are covered, such as plate tectonics and the role rainforests play in life on Earth.The book features custom-made 'infomojis' - presenting the information with real personality! So inject fun into facts, and take your young geologist to the next evolution in infographics. Infomojis is a series of ten books that are perfect for curious readers aged 8+.

Hodder Children's Books

Going to the Volcano

Andy Stanton, Miguel Ordonez
Contributors:
Andy Stanton, Miguel Ordonez

Join two intrepid explorers on the perfect day out - visiting a volcano! A brilliantly funny rhyming story from multi-award-winning author Andy Stanton, who was shortlisted for the 2018 Laugh Out Loud Picture Book Award for Danny McGee Drinks the Sea. Buckle up and jump on board for the funniest, most EXPLOSIVE picture book of the year - you'll want to read it again and again-o!Join two intrepid explorers as they take a train-o, jump on a plane-o, ride a Great Dane-o (down the lane-o) on their way to look at the volcano. Nothing could possibly go wrong - could it?!A hilariously anarchic, brightly illustrated rhyming story from multi-award-winning author Andy Stanton. Andy has won a string of awards for his Mr Gum books, including the Red House Children's Book Award, the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, and the Blue Peter Book Award for Best Book With Pictures (twice).Miguel Ordonez is the illustrator of the New York Times bestselling Your Baby's First Word Will Be Dada, written by Jimmy Fallon, the Emmy and Grammy award-winning host of NBC's The Tonight Show.

Franklin Watts

This Little Pebble

Anna Claybourne, Sally Garland
Contributors:
Anna Claybourne, Sally Garland

This Little Pebble begins with a child finding a small, forgotten pebble in his pocket. It uses this simple premise as a jumping-off point to explore what rocks are, where they come from and how fundamental they are to life here on Earth. For readers aged six and up, This Little Pebble uses beautiful artwork to show the rich diversity of rocks all around us, with friendly, narrative text by award-winning children's writer Anna Claybourne making the book feel like a journey. It explores topics as fascinating and as wide-ranging as Earth's formation, the rock cycle, volcanoes and earthquakes, where precious stones come from and what fossils are. It also provides great support for for the topic of rocks in both the geography and science curriculum.

Hodder Children's Books

The Variety of Life

Nicola Davies, Lorna Scobie
Contributors:
Nicola Davies, Lorna Scobie

Our planet is full of life! Did you know there are 400,000 species of beetle - but only eight species of bear? This stunning book explores the extraordinary diversity of the natural world and profiles some of its most surprising creatures.A glorious celebration of diversity within the Animal Kingdom by non-fiction specialist Nicola Davies, illustrated by rising star Lorna Scobie. There is something to delight on every page with fascinating facts about mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish and insects. This exquisite book will encourage children to treasure the world's biodiversity and help to stop it slipping away.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2018

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2017

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Wayland

You are Stardust

Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim
Contributors:
Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim
Franklin Watts

Extreme Life Cycles

Louise Spilsbury
Authors:
Louise Spilsbury
Franklin Watts

The Seashore

Peter Riley
Authors:
Peter Riley

Have you ever looked at the objects inside a curiosity box? What did you see and what did they feel like? Did you recognise some of them or were there things in there that you'd never seen before? Books that take the magical charm of collecting curiosities, joined together with the science behind some of the wonders of the natural world. Children will be inspired to take a closer look at objects and the world around them and begin to question how and why nature designs things in certain ways.The Seashore looks at some of the different habitats along the coast and the plants, animals and objects that you will find there. From sand lizards hiding in the sand dunes, to all sorts of shells, crustaceans and seabirds. Children will love discovering a bit more about this favourite location. The mixture of full-colour photographs and illustrations ensure maximum impact and levels of detail but without feeling overly educational - even though this book is brimming with scienceBooks that encourage KS1 readers to engage with core science and nature topics, while developing other key skills in thinking and reasoning in an utterly absorbing and charming way.

Orion Children's Books

Wilds of the Wolf

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

How To Make A Human Out Of Soup

Tracey Turner, Sally Kindberg
Contributors:
Tracey Turner, Sally Kindberg

* How did human beings evolve?* How did life on Earth begin?* What are fossils?* What are genes?* Why do creatures become extinct?Prepare to boggle your mind as we try to answer some of the most important and amazing questions ever asked. Bring a packed lunch, and don't forget your time machine because we'll be doing a fair bit of time-travelling. Some protective clothing might be a good idea too, to cope with all the exploding volcanoes and meteorites. We'll be examining green slime (for a few billion years), popping in on the dinosaurs, meeting some of the strangest animals that ever lived, and saying hello to some close relatives you never knew you had. Welcome to the story of human evolution!

Orion Children's Books

Favourite Deadly Facts

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Follow in the footsteps of the Deadly team and discover the secrets of the animals kingdom. A bumper book of all your favourite Deadly facts about MAMMALS, INSECTS, REPTILES and BIRDS. The FAVOURITE DEADLY FACTS bind-up contains facts from DEADLY FACTBOOK 1: MAMMALS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 2: MINIBEASTS, SPIDERS AND INSECTS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 3: REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS and DEADLY FACTBOOK 4: FISH, SQUID AND JELLYFISH. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Wild Wordsearches

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Put your DEADLY knowledge to the test with Steve Backshall's next fun and interactive activity book, featuring a host of DEADLY-themed wordsearches. Hours of fun guaranteed!

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Pole to Pole Puzzles

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Put your DEADLY knowledge to the test with Steve Backshall's next fun and interactive activity book, to tie in with the successful POLE TO POLE BBC series, which follows Steve Backshall's incredible first-hand account of his 14-month voyage from the Arctic to the Antarctic via Alaska, California, Hawaii, Mexico and Brazil and many more amazing locations.