René Goscinny - Omnibus 8 - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £14.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781444008388
    • Publication date:03 Jul 2014
Books in this series

Omnibus 8

Asterix and the Great Crossing, Obelix and Co, Asterix in Belgium

By René Goscinny
Illustrated by Albert Uderzo

  • Hardback
  • £19.99

A special collectors' edition of three fun and funny Asterix stories in one volume - ASTERIX AND THE GREAT CROSSING, OBELIX AND CO. and ASTERIX IN BELGIUM.

In this collectors' edition, books 22 to 24 are brought together in one fabulous volume.

In ASTERIX AND THE GREAT CROSSING, a storm blows Asterix and Obelix off course. Luckily they land on the shores of a Roman colony - or is it? Teepees, totems, gobbling birds: it's not what they're used to.

Julius Caesar sends Caius Preposterus, graduate of the Latin School of Economics, to corrupt the indomitable Gauls in OBELIX AND CO. Obelix's menhir trade is soon thriving - but does wealth bring happiness?

In ASTERIX IN BELGIUM, the Gauls compete with the Belgian tribes to determine who is the bravest. But if the two groups unite, will Caesar meet his Waterloo?

There is no better way to enjoy the antics of our indomitable hero and his friends.

Biographical Notes

Rene Goscinny was born in Paris in 1926, and spent most of his childhood in Argentina, before eventually moving to Paris in 1951. He died in 1977. Albert Uderzo was born in 1927 in a small village in Marne, France. He met Rene Goscinny in 1951 and on 29 October 1959 their most famous creation, Asterix, made his first appearance on page 20 of PILOTE. ASTERIX THE GAUL, their first album, was published in 1961 and there have now been 35 Asterix albums.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444008371
  • Publication date: 05 Sep 2013
  • Page count: 152
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

King Flashypants and the Creature From Crong

Andy Riley
Authors:
Andy Riley
Hodder Children's Books

King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor

Andy Riley
Authors:
Andy Riley

The first in a fun new series - 'Brilliantly original and hilarious ... it's nearly as good as one of my books' David Walliams. 'One for fans of Horrid Henry and Tom Gates' The GuardianEdwin isn't an ordinary boy. He is a king, with a throne, and his own suit of armour and a castle with secret passages and everything.Every Friday, King Edwin spends all his money on chocolate for the peasants. But when the money runs out, Edwin finds himself in a fix. Cue the arrival of evil Emperor Nurbison, in his pointy-collared black cloak and accompanied by scary striding music. He has had his eye on Edwin's kingdom for a while and intends to use the peasants' unhappiness to his advantage!When the emperor builds a fake dragon out of a cow, green crepe paper, furry monster novelty slippers and two birthday cake candles, to scare the peasants, Edwin knows it's time to come up with the first sneaky plan he's ever had in his life ...

Orion Children's Books

Asterix and the Vikings

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Franklin Watts

The Pirates on Holiday

Rupert Van Wyk
Contributors:
Rupert Van Wyk

The Plankton Pirates have been so busy working that they need a holiday! Bored of the tropical paradise, they turn to the Windy View Caravan Park as their perfect place to unwind. But will they really fit in?Race Ahead with Reading is the perfect introduction to reading chapters with brand new page turning reads in five short bite size chapters, to encourage children to take the driving seat with their reading.

Franklin Watts

The Mad Scientist Next Door

Clare De Marco, Rory Walker
Contributors:
Clare De Marco, Rory Walker
Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 7

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

In this special collector's edition, books 19 to 21 are brought together in one fabulous volume. In ASTERIX AND THE SOOTHSAYER, a sinister figure arrives in the Gaulish village. Prolix claims to be a soothsayer and the villagers believe every word he says, but Asterix isn't convinced... In ASTERIX IN CORSICA, the Corsican chieftain, Boneywasawarriorwayayix, needs Asterix and Obelix's help to foil the evil designs of Praetor Perfidius and oppose Julius Caesar's army.In ASTERIX AND CAESAR'S GIFT, Legionary Tremensdelirius gets the title deeds to the Gaulish village as a bonus - then swaps them with tavern landlord Orthopaedix for a drink. But Asterix and his friends aren't keen to hand over their village!

Orion Children's Books

Where's Dogmatix?

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

A fabulous sequel to WHERE'S ASTERIX? featuring the loveable Dogmatix and his friends in a variety of fun, action-packed scenes.Younger readers and fans of WHERE'S WALLY? will be absorbed for hours as they search for Dogmatix amidst the hustle and bustle.

Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 6

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

This special collectors' edition features books 16 to 18 in one fabulous volume.In ASTERIX IN SWITZERLAND, a poisoning means Asterix and Obelix must go to Helvetia for an antidote. Can they overcome cuckoo hourglasses, yodelling and holes in the cheese?A housing estate lies at the heart of Caesar's new plan to crush the Gauls in THE MANSIONS OF THE GODS. Will the villagers be tempted by the chance to make money when the Roman tenants move in?In ASTERIX AND THE LAUREL WREATH, Chief Vitalstatistix wants a stew seasoned with Caesar's laurel wreath. Asterix and Obelix must fetch the wreath, but will their plan end in disaster or their own Roman triumph?There is no better way to enjoy the antics of our indomitable hero and his friends.

Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 5

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 4

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

600 Stickers

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 3

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 11

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

In this special collectors' edition, three great Asterix albums are collected in one fabulous volume for the first time ever. In ASTERIX AND THE ACTRESS, Asterix and Obelix celebrate their joint birthday party - and some surprise guests have been invitied!ASTERIX AND THE CLASS ACT contains 14 stories, including tales of the day Asterix and Obelix were born (in the middle of a village fist fight).In ASTERIX AND THE FALLING SKY, the Gauls' one fear - that the sky may fall on their heads - looks like it might come true...There is no better way to enjoy the antics of our indomitable hero and his friends.

Orion Children's Books

Where's Asterix?

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

A fun and funny volume full of hilarious scenes featuring Asterix and his friends in a range of different escapades! Younger readers are sure to have fun searching for Asterix amidst the chaos.

Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 2

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

In this special collectors' edition, books four to six are brought together in one fabulous volume for the first time ever.In ASTERIX THE GLADIATOR, Julius Caesar plans to throw the captured Cacofonix to the lions. Asterix and Obelix enlist as gladiators in order to rescue him, and teach their colleagues some interesting new tricks.In ASTERIX AND THE BANQUET, the Romans build a barricade around the Gaulish village. But Asterix and Obelix break out and travel the entire country, collecting local specialities along the way.Asterix, Obelix and co visit Egypt in ASTERIX AND CLEOPATRA, where they are entranced by the Sphinx, the pyramids and Cleopatra's nose.There is no better way to enjoy the antics of our indomitable hero and his friends.

Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 1

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Hodder Children's Books

Five Get Into A Fix

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timmy the dog find excitement and adventure wherever they go in Enid Blyton's most popular series.In book seventeen, the Famous Five are skiing and having lots of fun. But who is living in the mysterious house near their chalet? The caretaker claims it's been deserted for years, but the Five are sure they've seen a face at the window. A terrified, and haunted face. Have the gang got the courage to find out?The text in this edition has been sensitively edited for today's reader and is unillustrated.

Hodder Children's Books

Five On A Secret Trail

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Hodder Children's Books

Five Have Plenty Of Fun

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Orion Children's Books

How Obelix Fell into the Magic Potion

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

All of the Asterix stories feature references to Obelix falling into the Druid's Cauldron of magic potion when he was about six years old. This was the event through which he derived his phenomenal physical strength. Here is the full story of how it happened.