Steve Backshall - Deadly Factbook: Insects and Spiders - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Factbook: Insects and Spiders

Book 2

By Steve Backshall

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Discover the world's most extraordinary creatures in the second DEADLY factbook from BAFTA award winning DEADLY TV presenter Steve Backshall.

Packed with fascinating facts and drawing on Steve's own amazing experiences, this is the second fact-filled DEADLY guide for Steve Backshall fans everywhere. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series Deadly 60, Live and Deadly, Deadly 360 and Deadly Art. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Visit Steve's website at www.stevebackshall.com and follow him on Twitter at https://twitter.com/SteveJBackshall.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444006971
  • Publication date: 28 Feb 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Orion Children's Books

Tiger Rescue

Louisa Leaman
Authors:
Louisa Leaman

Every year Born Free helps hundreds of animals around the world. This is the story of one of their incredible rescues ... During an undercover investigation, Born Free rescued five month-old tiger Roque from a pet shop in Barcelona. On completion of the Bannerghatta sanctuary in 2002, Roque was re-homed to India. Almost immediately, the friendly, outgoing youngster showed signs of the wild tiger he might once have been.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2018

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2017

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

A full colour annual packed with animals and adventure from wildlife enthusiast, TV presenter and children's book bestseller, Steve Backshall. Steve's year is full of spiders, crocodiles, snakes, sharks, stingrays, tigers, hawks and many more exciting creatures. The perfect gift for young wildlife fans, this annual is bursting with fascinating facts, puzzles, quizzes, and full colour photographs of amazing animals from across the globe.

Wayland

Journey Along the Nile

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland

Travelling Wild: Journey Along the Nile follows a traveller on a fictitious journey by boat up the world's longest river. It uses the information you would consider when planning a trip, such as the weather, climate, dangers and key sights, to present geographical information in a highly accessible and enjoyable way.Discover the countries the Nile traverses, the wildlife to watch out for, how the river is used, the environmental issues facing the Nile, how people live and farm on its banks, and much, much more. There is a survival aspect to the book, too, with boxes containing tips on how to fend off a crocodile attack, repel insects and make water safe to drink, among other things. Packed to the brim with colourful, exciting photographs, maps and fascinating facts, the book allows you to explore and discover the incredible River Nile without leaving your seat!

Wayland

Climbing the Himalayan Mountains

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland
Wayland

Trekking the Sahara

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland

Travelling Wild: Trekking the Sahara Desert follows a traveller on a fictitious journey by foot, camel and 4x4 across the world's largest dry desert. It uses the information you would consider when planning a trip, such as the weather, climate, dangers and key sights, to present geographical information in a highly accessible and enjoyable way.Discover which countries the Sahara sprawls across, the different types of desert mammal to watch out for, some incredible cities, the environmental issues facing the Sahara, how people live in the desert, and much, much more. There is a survival aspect to the book, too, with boxes containing tips on how to treat a scorpion sting or a snake bite, make a camp in sand dunes and collect water to drink, among other things. Packed to the brim with colourful, exciting photographs, maps and fascinating facts, the book allows you to explore and discover the incredible Sahara Desert without leaving your seat!

Wayland

Sailing the Caribbean Islands

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland

Travelling Wild: Sailing the Caribbean Islands follows a traveller on a fictitious journey by boat around the Caribbean Sea. It uses the information you would consider when planning a trip, such as the weather, climate, dangers and key sights, to present geographical information in a highly accessible and enjoyable way.Discover why the Caribbean is best avoided from June to November (hurricanes!), the different types of shark to watch out for, some deep-sea wonders, the role of mangrove forests, the Caribbean climate, and much, much more. There is a survival aspect to the book, too, with boxes containing tips on how to fend off a shark attack, survive a hurricane and dive safely, among other things. Packed to the brim with colourful, exciting photographs, maps and fascinating facts, the book allows you to explore and discover the incredible Caribbean Islands without leaving your seat!

Orion Children's Books

Wilds of the Wolf

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

How To Make A Human Out Of Soup

Tracey Turner, Sally Kindberg
Contributors:
Tracey Turner, Sally Kindberg

* How did human beings evolve?* How did life on Earth begin?* What are fossils?* What are genes?* Why do creatures become extinct?Prepare to boggle your mind as we try to answer some of the most important and amazing questions ever asked. Bring a packed lunch, and don't forget your time machine because we'll be doing a fair bit of time-travelling. Some protective clothing might be a good idea too, to cope with all the exploding volcanoes and meteorites. We'll be examining green slime (for a few billion years), popping in on the dinosaurs, meeting some of the strangest animals that ever lived, and saying hello to some close relatives you never knew you had. Welcome to the story of human evolution!

Orion Children's Books

Favourite Deadly Facts

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Follow in the footsteps of the Deadly team and discover the secrets of the animals kingdom. A bumper book of all your favourite Deadly facts about MAMMALS, INSECTS, REPTILES and BIRDS. The FAVOURITE DEADLY FACTS bind-up contains facts from DEADLY FACTBOOK 1: MAMMALS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 2: MINIBEASTS, SPIDERS AND INSECTS, DEADLY FACTBOOK 3: REPTILES AND AMPHIBIANS and DEADLY FACTBOOK 4: FISH, SQUID AND JELLYFISH. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Pole to Pole Diaries

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Wild Wordsearches

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Put your DEADLY knowledge to the test with Steve Backshall's next fun and interactive activity book, featuring a host of DEADLY-themed wordsearches. Hours of fun guaranteed!

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Pole to Pole Puzzles

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Annual 2015

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Franklin Watts

Dangerous Earth

Anne Rooney
Authors:
Anne Rooney

Slipstream is a new generation of reading resources specifically designed for struggling and reluctant readers. Through exciting and carefully levelled texts, Slipstream enables readers to accelerate their reading experience.This book is part of Slipstream LEVEL 2. The 350-word text is levelled for readers with a reading age of 7-9, but its engaging content makes it perfect for a wide range of older readers too.All texts are levelled by reading experts Dee Reid and Diana Bentley.Do you know what an earthquake is? Or the name of the largest volcano? What about tornadoes - do you know how fast they spin?No? Then find out in Dangerous Earth - filled with facts about some of the most dangerous natural activity on Earth.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Jaws and Claws

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Sticker Book

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Create your very own Deadly adventure with Deadly TV presenter Steve Backshall's first ever interactive 24-page full colour sticker book, perfect for Deadly fans everywhere.Find the fastest predators, the creatures with the most incredible super senses, the deadliest and those who survive extreme conditions. Contains more than 200 stickers.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Bizarre Beasts

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Did you know that there is such a thing as a bone-eating snot-flower worm? Or that the secretary bird kills its prey by stamping on it!Discover the world's most extraordinary creatures in the fifth factbook from BAFTA AWARD-winning, TV Deadly presenter Steve Backshall.Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Top Ten Activity Book

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall