Steve Backshall - Deadly Factbook: Insects and Spiders - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Factbook: Insects and Spiders

Book 2

By Steve Backshall

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Discover the world's most extraordinary creatures in the second DEADLY factbook from BAFTA award winning DEADLY TV presenter Steve Backshall.

Packed with fascinating facts and drawing on Steve's own amazing experiences, this is the second fact-filled DEADLY guide for Steve Backshall fans everywhere. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series Deadly 60, Live and Deadly, Deadly 360 and Deadly Art. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Visit Steve's website at www.stevebackshall.com and follow him on Twitter at https://twitter.com/SteveJBackshall.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444006971
  • Publication date: 28 Feb 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Wayland

Urban Wildlife

Victoria Munson
Authors:
Victoria Munson
Wren & Rook

Does It Fart?

Nick Caruso, Dani Rabaiotti, Alex G. Griffiths
Contributors:
Nick Caruso, Dani Rabaiotti, Alex G. Griffiths
Wren & Rook

A Planet Full of Plastic

Neal Layton
Authors:
Neal Layton

Everything is made of stuff. Some things are made of paper, like this book. And some things are made of PLASTIC. If you look around you, plastic is everywhere. Even in places where it's not meant to be. If it drops to the ground, it doesn't rot away - it sticks around for ever.Our world is drowning in plastic, and it's a big problem. Award-winning author-illustrator Neal Layton is here to explain where plastic comes from, why it doesn't biodegrade, and why that's dangerous for animals and humans alike. But he's also FULL of ideas for how you can help! From giving up straws in juice cartons to recycling all we can and taking part in a beach clean, A Planet Full of Plastic will get young readers excited about how they can make a difference to keep Planet Earth happy.This brilliant non-fiction picture book, illustrated in Neal's trademark collage style, is perfect for readers aged 5-7 who love nature and want to help the environment.

Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Franklin Watts

Animals

Peter Riley, Krina Patel
Contributors:
Peter Riley, Krina Patel

Animals takes a look at the five types of vertebrates on our planet: fish, mammals, reptiles, amphibians and birds. Find out about the types of habitats these animals live in, and all about teeth, bones, feathers, skulls, tadpoles, scales, eggs and loads of other fascinating science stuff about animals.Have you ever looked at the objects inside a curiosity box? What did you see and what did they feel like? Did you recognise some of them or were there things in there that you'd never seen before? These six book take the magical charm of collecting curiosities, joined with the science behind some of the wonders of the natural world. The mixture of full-colour photographs and beautiful illustrations will inspire children to take a closer look at objects and the world around them, and begin to question how and why nature designs things in certain ways.The Curiosity Box series is brimming with science and encourages Key Stage 1 pupils to engage with core science and nature topics, while developing other key skills in thinking and reasoning in an utterly absorbing and charming way.For children aged 6+.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Pole to Pole Diaries

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Annual 2015

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

As a Deadly fan you know that we travel to all corners of the world to film and this time we're on our deadliest mission yet! We visit the driest deserts, the steamiest rainforests, the highest mountains and the snowiest forests in search of the most awesome wildlife. As ever, you're coming with us, every step of the way.Join us on a journey round the world and we'll tell you more about these incredible places and the animals that spend their lives there. We've got loads of photos and fascinating facts to share with you, as well as plenty of puzzles, pictures and fun stuff to enjoy!

Orion Children's Books

Wilds of the Wolf

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Gripping adventure fiction from Deadly TV presenter Steve Backshall, perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz and Charlie Higson. This is the third adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, adventure, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.Saker and Sinter escape by the skin of their teeth when their plan to sabotage a billionaire businessman plundering 'black gold' (natural oil and gas) and hunting wolves in the remote Yamal peninsula in North West Siberia goes disastrously wrong. But they escape one kind of peril only to find themselves in an even more terrifying situation. Separated by blizzards and avalanches, lost in a breathtakingly beautiful but deadly frozen Arctic wilderness, suffering from frostbite and hunger, listening to the wolves howl and the packs draw closer, it seems that this time they cannot possibly live to tell their tale...

Orion Children's Books

The Falcon Chronicles: Tiger Wars

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Action, adventure, predators and peril - the bestselling first novel by BAFTA AWARD-winning DEADLY 60 TV presenter Steve Backshall. Deadly Adversaries. An Impossible Mission. Tiger Wars.Saker is on the run from the only life he knows. From India to the Himalayas and China he'll be pursued by hunting dogs, mercenaries, spies, thieves and assassins in his quest to set free the most majestic, lethal and valuable of all the predators - the tiger. With him, on every dangerous step of the adventure, is Sinter, a girl who has her own reasons for running away.Gripping adventure fiction perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz and Charlie Higson. This is the first adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, adventure, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations. As Saker and Sinter rescue tigers or mountain gorillas, thwart shark finners and rainforest exploiters they come face to face with the world's most fascinating, majestic and lethal creatures.Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the BBC kids' series DEADLY 60 and LIVE AND DEADLY as well as star of BBC's Strictly Come Dancing 2014.

Orion Children's Books

Ghosts of the Forest

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Jaws and Claws

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Sticker Book

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Create your very own Deadly adventure with Deadly TV presenter Steve Backshall's first ever interactive 24-page full colour sticker book, perfect for Deadly fans everywhere.Find the fastest predators, the creatures with the most incredible super senses, the deadliest and those who survive extreme conditions. Contains more than 200 stickers.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Bizarre Beasts

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Did you know that there is such a thing as a bone-eating snot-flower worm? Or that the secretary bird kills its prey by stamping on it!Discover the world's most extraordinary creatures in the fifth factbook from BAFTA AWARD-winning, TV Deadly presenter Steve Backshall.Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Top Ten Activity Book

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Detectives

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Finding wildlife is rarely easy - unless you're Steve Backshall! In DEADLY DETECTIVES Steve tells young trackers everything they need to know about the origins of tracking, what you need to become a tracker and how to do it, whether the wild world is your own back garden, ancient woodlands, the riverside or coast. He illustrates his tips with examples of his own detective work on land and in the water from tropical rainforests to the African Savanna, from the Arctic tundra to the desert. Join him as footsteps, feeding habits and even a pile of pooh reveal snow leopards, crocodiles, gators, snakes and polar bears, while closer to home you can track foxes, squirrels, badgers and birds, using exactly the same techniques.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Fish, Squid and Jellyfish

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Did you know that catfish have more than 100,000 taste buds on their body? Or that a bull shark has an even stronger bite than a Great White?Follow in the footsteps of the Deadly team and discover the secrets of the animal kingdom as they reveal fascinating facts and killer statistics in their guide to fish, squid and jellyfish. This is the fourth Deadly factbook. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Diaries

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Doodle Book 3

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Become part of Steve Backshall's world by drawing your own Deadly doodles. This 24-page doodle book featuring creative and interactive content from DEADLY ART is an absolute must-have for all Deadly fans. This is the third Deadly Doodle book in the collectable series and includes a polar bear, hippopotamus, tokay gecko, goliath bird-eating spider, Nile crocodile, hornet, lionfish, lion, barracuda and monitor lizard.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Reptiles and Amphibians

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook Mammals

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall