Steve Backshall - Deadly Factbook: Insects and Spiders - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Factbook: Insects and Spiders

Book 2

By Steve Backshall

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Discover the world's most extraordinary creatures in the second DEADLY factbook from BAFTA award winning DEADLY TV presenter Steve Backshall.

Packed with fascinating facts and drawing on Steve's own amazing experiences, this is the second fact-filled DEADLY guide for Steve Backshall fans everywhere. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series Deadly 60, Live and Deadly, Deadly 360 and Deadly Art. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Visit Steve's website at www.stevebackshall.com and follow him on Twitter at https://twitter.com/SteveJBackshall.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444006971
  • Publication date: 28 Feb 2013
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Wayland

Parents

Tom Jackson
Authors:
Tom Jackson
Wayland

Roots and Shoots

Judith Heneghan
Authors:
Judith Heneghan
Wayland

Display and Camouflage

Tom Jackson
Authors:
Tom Jackson

Some animals have developed astounding plumage, skin and fur which perfectly meets their needs. From the pangolin, which is covered in 'plates of armour' to protect it from predators, to the leafy appearance of the weedy sea dragon, that allows it hide amongst the seaweed, the creatures featured in this book have developed appearances that are both unique and out-of-this-world. Find out more about these marvels of nature and learn how evolution has shaped each animal's appearance - whether it is trying to blend in with its surroundings, pretend to be a different species or draw attention to how deadly it is.Vivid, arresting photography paired with captivating animal encounters make this book a thrilling introduction to some of the basics of evolutionary theory.

Wayland

Flower Power

Judith Heneghan
Authors:
Judith Heneghan
Wayland

Being a Butterfly

Annabelle Lynch
Authors:
Annabelle Lynch

Being a Butterfly brings a butterfly's brief, precious life cycle to beautiful life. Follow the story of a little green caterpillar as it hatches, grows and transforms itself into a bright, colourful butterfly. Learn how butterflies move, feed themselves and pollinate flowers, before finding a mate and beginning the whole cycle of life again.This wonderfully illustrated picture book is a perfect introduction to life cycles for readers aged 5 and up. It also gently introduces them to the idea of conservation.List of contents: Left on a leafHatching outA greedy caterpillarShedding skinTime to restChanging timesA beautiful butterflyLearning to flyFinding flowers Billions of butterfliesFinding a mateNew eggsProtecting butterfliesGlossaryFind out more

Franklin Watts

British Birds

Clare Collinson
Authors:
Clare Collinson
Wayland

If Sharks Disappeared

Lily Williams
Authors:
Lily Williams
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2018

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Blue Feather

Gary Crew
Authors:
Gary Crew

Recurring rumours of attacks by a giant raptor lead Greg Muir to seek the truth behind the bird's existence. Is it big enough to bring down a light plane? Can it carry away human beings in its talons? Is it responsible for the mutilation of a hang-glider? A quest for a creature as fearful as it is elusive . . . Is the story of the huge bird only a myth, or is it reality? And if it is a reality, what part will it play in shaping the lives of those who search for it?Blue Feather is a stunningly crafted mystery from one of Australia's most awarded writers, Gary Crew.'A beautifully crafted novel . . . Fully satisfying.' Herald Sun

Wayland

Coarse Fishing

Martin Ford
Authors:
Martin Ford

Learn how to fish with this easy-to-follow guide. Find out about the most common fish found in Britain today. This book includes tips on how to fish and where to fish safely, advice on using the correct fishing tackle and bait, colour photographs of the fish and descriptions of how to catch them, simple step-by-step guides to attaching bait and half-blood loops.f you enjoy this book, then why not search out the other titles in this series: British Birds; British Mammals; British Trees; British Wild Flowers, British Butterflies and British Insects.

Franklin Watts

David Attenborough

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley

David Attenborough tells the story of this colourful scientific figure - covering his origins as the son of a Cambridge don through his work in natural history and broadcasting, his famous educational documentaries and his enduring scientific and popular legacy today.Super Scientists are first biographies introducing some of the world's great scientists, simply retelling their lives and explaining why their work was vital. Illustrated with archive images and photographs, the chronology of each lifetime is emphasised by a timeline that runs through the book.

Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2017

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Franklin Watts

Insects and Spiders

Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds
Authors:
Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds

The incredible world of insects and spiders is waiting to be explored in this exciting book. Living on land or below ground, in the air or in water, a wide variety of insects and spiders are investigated inside. Discover what they do, what they eat, how they live, how they defend defend themselves and whether or not insects and spiders can be helpful and useful!There are eight titles in the series Visual Explorers. High-impact books with incredible information about the world around us. Perfect for KS2 and children aged 7+ with an interest in natural phenomenon and natural history.

Orion Children's Books

Wilds of the Wolf

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Wayland

Homes

Tom Jackson
Authors:
Tom Jackson

Some animals build astounding homes to provide shelter and safety for themselves and their young. From ants glueing leaves together to create a nest, to groundhogs engineering enormous underground towns, the creatures featured in this book create homes that are both unique and out-of-this-world. Find out more about these masters of engineering and learn how evolution has shaped the way each animal constructs their home and uses it.Vivid, arresting photography paired with captivating animal encounters make this book a thrilling introduction to some of the basics of evolutionary theory.

Orion Children's Books

Favourite Deadly Facts

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Horrid Henry's Crazy Creatures

Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Francesca Simon, Tony Ross
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Wild Wordsearches

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Put your DEADLY knowledge to the test with Steve Backshall's next fun and interactive activity book, featuring a host of DEADLY-themed wordsearches. Hours of fun guaranteed!

Franklin Watts

Ocean Life

Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds
Authors:
Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds