Steve Backshall - Deadly Factbook Mammals - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Factbook Mammals

Book 1

By Steve Backshall

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

Discover the world's most extraordinary creatures in the first of Steve Backshall's DEADLY factbooks on mammals.

Packed with fascinating facts and drawing on Steve's own amazing experiences, this is the DEADLY guide to mammals for Steve Backshall fans everywhere. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series Deadly 60, Live and Deadly, Deadly 360 and Deadly Art. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Visit Steve's website at www.stevebackshall.com and follow him on Twitter at https://twitter.com/SteveJBackshall.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444006346
  • Publication date: 21 Jun 2012
  • Page count: 80
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Wren & Rook

The World of the Whale

Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward
Contributors:
Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward
Franklin Watts

Borneo Rainforest

Simon Chapman
Authors:
Simon Chapman

Simon is flying to the island of Borneo in the South China Sea. He plans to travel by boat and plane, and trek through one of the world's oldest rainforests to find orangutans in their natural equitorial habitat. He'll be sketching some of the island's 1,000s of species of tree, mammal and bird along the way.Simon Chapman, winner of the Blue Peter Book Award, brings geography to life, and his Expedition Diaries are a great way to introduce the world's biomes and habitats to children, direct from someone who's actually been in them - sometimes up to his neck! These books are perfect for sparking interest in this key school topic.

Franklin Watts

I Am Here, Where Are You?

Anita Jones, Sarah Horne
Contributors:
Anita Jones, Sarah Horne
Franklin Watts

Amazon Basin

Simon Chapman
Authors:
Simon Chapman

Simon is packed and heading off to a region of the Amazon Basin in northern Bolivia. Despite its size, it's a fragile biome, of mixed forest and river habitats. Simon plans to document his journey down the River Enatahua, but things go wrong right from the start: a rucksack is missing, along with his canoe ...Simon Chapman, winner of the Blue Peter Book Award, brings geography to life, and his Expedition Diaries are a great way to introduce the world's biomes and habitats to children, direct from someone who's actually been in them - sometimes up to his neck! These books are perfect for sparking interest in this key school topic.

Wayland

Zoo Animals

Annalees Lim
Authors:
Annalees Lim

Find out all there is to know about your favourite zoo animals with these exciting craft projects! Follow the step-by-step instructions to make meerkats, elephants, monkeys, lions and much more! You can even create displays for your classroom or at home. Each project uses materials that are easy to source, and you will be introduced to loads of craft techniques.Combines fun craft projects with the science topic of animals.Each project uses a range of everyday materials and clear step-by-step instructions to ensure a great result every time!Includes a wide range of craft techniques - from cutting out and tracing to papier-mâché and painting.

Franklin Watts

Himalayan Mountains

Simon Chapman
Authors:
Simon Chapman
Wayland

Healthy Bodies

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Wayland

Muscles and Movement

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Learn all about animal and human movements and muscles and their similarities and differences. From muscles, bones and exoskeletons to running, jumping swimming and flying, explore how humans and animals move and use their muscles.The Human Body, Animal Bodies series looks at the features and function of the human body in isolation and also in comparison to those of different animals, looking at similarities and differences. The end of each book will look at sorting the featured creatures into their animal groups, using the classification information learnt throughout. Perfect for readers aged 5 and up.

Wren & Rook

The Ways of the Wolf

Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward
Contributors:
Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward

The wolf stalks the wilderness and our own imaginations. Uncover its mysteries in this beautifully written non-fiction picture book.Majestic and fierce, proud and strong, the wolf has always been a source of fascination - and fear. It remains one of the most misunderstood of all creatures, frequently cast as our mortal enemy. The truth is that wolves and humans are more closely connected than we dare to admit. With beautifully lyrical language, Smriti Prasadam-Halls explores the lightning speed, echoing howl and family life of these mysterious animals, revealing astonishing facts and overturning misconceptions as she does so. Wildlife illustrator Jonathan Woodward brings the creatures to life with breathtaking papercut collage artwork. This is non-fiction storytelling at its very finest.The Ways of the Wolf has been endorsed by the UK Wolf Conservation Trust.

Wayland

Body Parts

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Learn all about animal and human body parts, the similarities and differences. From the giraffe's long necks and the owl who can practically turn their heads right round to differences in skin, hair fur and teeth, explore human and animal bodies.The Human Body, Animal Bodies series looks at the features and function of the human body in isolation and also in comparison to those of different animals, looking at similarities and differences. The end of each book will look at sorting the featured creatures into their animal groups, using the classification information learnt throughout.

Wayland

Senses

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2018

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Wayland

Wild Ideas

Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim
Contributors:
Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim
Wayland

Mammals

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

What makes a mammal a mammal? Read all about mammals, find out where they live, how they breathe and what they eat. How are mammals born and how do they grow and learn?A simple fun quiz helps readers recall what they have read.A perfect one-stop shop for help with homework assignments!

Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Wayland

Reptiles

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell
Wayland

Seashore

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Read all about seashores, where in the world you can find them, what animals and plants live there and how these are dependent on each other. Learn about food chains, seasons and what we can do to protect this important habitat.Simple quiz questions at the back help readers to remember what they've just read.

Wayland

Ocean

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Read all about oceans, where in the world you can find them, what animals and plants live there and how these are dependent on each other. Learn about food chains, pollution and what we can do to protect this important habitat.Simple quiz questions at the back help readers to remember what they've just read.Perfect one-stop-shop for help with homework assignments!Broad-ranging appeal for nursery age through to Key Stage 2.

Wayland

Woodland

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Read all about woodlands, where in the world you can find them, what animals and plants live there and how these are dependent on each other. Learn about food chains, seasons and what we can do to protect this important habitat. Simple quiz questions at the back help readers to remember what they've just read. Perfect one-stop-shop for help with homework assignments! Broad-ranging appeal for nursery age through to Key Stage 2.

Wayland

Rainforest

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

Read all about rainforests, where in the world you can find them, what animals and plants live there and how these are dependent on each other. Learn about food chains, deforestation and what we can do to protect this important habitat.Simple quiz questions at the back help readers to remember what they've just read.Perfect one-stop-shop for help with homework assignments!Broad-ranging appeal for nursery age through to Key Stage 2.