Steve Backshall - Deadly Factbook Mammals - Hachette Children's Group

Deadly Factbook Mammals

Book 1

By Steve Backshall

  • Paperback
  • £4.99

Discover the world's most extraordinary creatures in the first of Steve Backshall's DEADLY factbooks on mammals.

Packed with fascinating facts and drawing on Steve's own amazing experiences, this is the DEADLY guide to mammals for Steve Backshall fans everywhere. Illustrated throughout with full colour photographs and art.

Biographical Notes

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the Children's BBC series Deadly 60, Live and Deadly, Deadly 360 and Deadly Art. Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Visit Steve's website at www.stevebackshall.com and follow him on Twitter at https://twitter.com/SteveJBackshall.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444006346
  • Publication date: 21 Jun 2012
  • Page count: 80
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Franklin Watts

I Am Here, Where Are You?

Anita Jones, Sarah Horne
Contributors:
Anita Jones, Sarah Horne
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2018

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Shark Seas

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . .Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall Annual 2017

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Wayland

Journey Along the Nile

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland
Wayland

Climbing the Himalayan Mountains

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland

Travelling Wild: Climbing the Himalayan Mountains follows a traveller on a fictitious journey on foot through the Himalayan Mountains. It uses the information you would consider when planning a trip, such as the weather, climate, dangers and key sights, to present geographical information in a highly accessible and enjoyable way.Discover why the Himalayas are best avoided in the summer months (monsoons!), the traditions of the Tibetan Buddhists, the incredible wildlife that lives in the mountains, how the Himalayas formed, the mountain climate, and much, much more. There is a survival aspect to the book, too, with boxes containing tips on how to survive an avalanche, avoid hypothermia and frostbite and build a snow cave, among other things. Packed to the brim with colourful, exciting photographs, maps and fascinating facts, the book allows you to explore and discover the incredible Himalayan Mountains without leaving your seat!

Wayland

Russia

Cath Senker
Authors:
Cath Senker

Russia: the Land and People takes you on a whistlestop tour around this fascianting country. Explore its varied landscapes, from massive lakes to frozen tundra, and meet some incredible wildlife along the way. Marvel at the brightly painted domes of St Basil's Cathedral and ornate palaces of St Petersburg, and delve into the country's rich cultural heritage.Discover what it's like to grow up in Russia - school, family life, socializing and religion - and find out how Russians have a strong sense of who they are, taking pride in their links with the land. Learn about Russia's booming economy, and the industries that fuel it, and get ready to celebrate the year's festivals, Russian-style. Amazing photographs transport you to the very heart of this busy, changing, visually-exciting country. Crammed full of facts, stats and incredible information - and much cheaper than a plane ticket - this is the perfect introduction to Russia!

Wayland

Sailing the Caribbean Islands

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland
Wayland

The Book of Flags

Rob Colson
Authors:
Rob Colson
Wayland

If

David J. Smith
Authors:
David J. Smith

'If the Sun were the size of a grapefruit, Earth would be the size of a grain of salt. Even the largest planet, Jupiter, would be only as big as a large pea.'Some things are so big or so old that it's hard to wrap your mind around them. In If, we look at these hard-to-imagine objects and events and compare them to things we can instantly see, feel and touch. It is wonderful new way of seeing the world and is a fascinating way of understanding numbers and big ideas for children aged 8 and upwards.The author, David J Smith has found ingenious ways of scaling down everything from time lines (the history of the Earth is compressed into a single year!), to quantitites (all the wealth in the world is divided into one hundred coins), to size differences (the planets are shown as different-sized balls). Each description is beautifully illustrated to reinforce the concept in a child's mind.By reducing everything to human scale, the big ideas and concepts are easier to grasp and, therefore, more meaningful. This fact-filled book is for children who love to be wowed by exciting new facts, figures, stats and information. It is also the perfect vehicle for visual learners, since it's 'infographic' approach makes information easier to understand through imagery.As well as being an excellent read for pleasure, If is also an amazing classroom resource that can be reached for again and again when studying scale and measurement in maths, but also has many applications for the study of space or the earth in science and geography, social studies and PSHE.For those who want to delve deeper, thre are 6 suggestions for practical projects at the back of the book as well as a full page of resource information.Covers topics as diverse as: evolution of man and early life forms, time line of the last 3000 years in history, inventions through the ages, continents, water, energy and population.

Wayland

China

Anita Ganeri
Authors:
Anita Ganeri

China: the Land and People takes you on a whistlestop tour around this most incredible country. Explore its forests, rivers (including the mighty Yangtze), mountains and beaches, and meet some incredible wildlife along the way. Marvel at the vibrant street life, the amazing food and the diverse culture, and delve into the country's rich history.Discover what it's like to grow up in China - school, family life, socializing and religion - and learn about China's booming economy, and the industries that fuel it. Visit some of the world's most important historical sites, from the Great Wall of China to the Forbidden City, and encounter a Terracotta Army. Amazing photographs transport you to the very heart of this busy, colourful, visually-exciting country. Crammed full of facts, stats and incredible information - and much cheaper than a plane ticket - this is the perfect introduction to China!

Orion Children's Books

Wilds of the Wolf

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Orion Children's Books

Favourite Deadly Facts

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Wild Wordsearches

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Steve Backshall's Deadly series: Deadly Pole to Pole Puzzles

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

Put your DEADLY knowledge to the test with Steve Backshall's next fun and interactive activity book, to tie in with the successful POLE TO POLE BBC series, which follows Steve Backshall's incredible first-hand account of his 14-month voyage from the Arctic to the Antarctic via Alaska, California, Hawaii, Mexico and Brazil and many more amazing locations.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Pole to Pole Diaries

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall

This is Steve Backshall's incredible first-hand account of his 14-month voyage from the Arctic to the Antarctic via Alaska, California, Hawaii, Mexico and Brazil and many more amazing locations besides. Go with him every step of the way as he describes his encounters with white whales, ice bears, sharks, eagles, wolves, sea lions, eagles, crocodiles, snakes and spiders. It's the Deadly adventure of a lifetime.

Wayland

United Kingdom

Alice Harman
Authors:
Alice Harman
Wayland

Rainforests

Jen Green
Authors:
Jen Green

Read about where in the world rainforests are located, what scientists have discovered about the rainforest, the animals and people that live there and the issues they face, debate the importance of rainforests to local people and loggers, make a rainforest recipe, learn about how rainforests are disappearing and find out what conservationists are doing about this.

Orion Children's Books

Deadly Annual 2015

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall
Orion Children's Books

Deadly Factbook: Jaws and Claws

Steve Backshall
Authors:
Steve Backshall