René Goscinny - Omnibus 3 - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Books in this series

Omnibus 3

Asterix and the Big Fight, Asterix in Britain, Asterix and the Normans

By René Goscinny
Illustrated by Albert Uderzo

  • Paperback
  • £14.99

A special collector's edition of three Asterix stories - ASTERIX AND THE BIG FIGHT, ASTERIX IN BRITAIN and ASTERIX AND THE NORMANS - in one volume.

In this special collectors' edition, books seven to nine are brought together in one fabulous volume.
In ASTERIX AND THE BIG FIGHT, Chief Cassius Ceramix has gone over to the Roman enemy. The fight for control of the village between Vitalstatistix and his rival is bound to be a knockout.
Asterix and Obelix help one little ancient British village hold out against the Roman invaders in ASTERIX IN BRITAIN. Our heroes must face fog, rain, warm beer and boiled boar with mint sauce.
In ASTERIX AND THE NORMANS, can Asterix and his friends teach the Normans the meaning of fear?
There is no better way to enjoy the antics of our indomitable hero and his friends.

Biographical Notes

Rene Goscinny was born in Paris in 1926, and spent most of his childhood in Argentina, before eventually moving to Paris in 1951. He died in 1977. Albert Uderzo was born in 1927 in a small village in Marne, France. He met Rene Goscinny in 1951 and on 29 October 1959 their most famous creation, Asterix, made his first appearance on page 20 of Pilote. ASTERIX THE GAUL, their first album, was published in 1961 and there have now been 35 Asterix albums.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781444004755
  • Publication date: 02 Feb 2012
  • Page count: 156
  • Imprint: Orion Children's Books
Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once: Knock Three Times

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell

No.1 Bestselling Series from the Blue Peter Award winning author of How To Train Your Dragon. Enter a land of wizards, warriors, mythical creatures and powerful magic in an exciting new fantasy adventure."Do not be afraid, dear trees," implores Crusher the Giant as he strides through the forest ... while up above, the Witches sharpen their talons in readiness. The third electrifying book in The Wizards of Once series fizzes with magic and introduces us to a host of glorious new characters - bears and piskies and magical pins and needles to name but a few. Xar and Wish are heroes with a huge task ahead. Confronting the Nuckalavee is not for the faint hearted but with Magic and Iron together, surely they will prevail. Stunningly written, magnificent in scope, hilarious and thrilling, Knock Three Times immerses you in a world you won't ever wish to leave.

Franklin Watts

Wonders of the World

Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds
Authors:
Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds
Hodder Children's Books

Iguana Boy Unmasks The Invisible Hero

James Bishop, Rikin Parekh
Contributors:
James Bishop, Rikin Parekh
Wayland

I'm a JavaScript Games Maker: Advanced Coding

Max Wainewright
Authors:
Max Wainewright

Once you learn to code using JavaScript, the world of gaming opens up. If you already know a bit about JavaScript, it's time to pick up the pace! In this book, learn how to build mind-bending games that you'll want to play for hours and will amaze your friends. Along the way, learn about core coding and gaming concepts like variables, random numbers, key presses and arrays.The Generation Code series is a hands-on guide to computer coding, designed to train you in the coding languages used by real-world computer programmers. You'll discover how to code exciting programs, web pages, apps and games, and learn how the tools and functions you're using can be applied to other situations.Other books in the Generation Code series:I'm an Advanced Scratch CoderI'm a Python ProgrammerI'm an HTML Web Page BuilderI'm an App DeveloperI'm a JavaScript Games Maker: The Basics

Hodder Children's Books

BOOT - small robot, BIG adventure

Shane Hegarty
Authors:
Shane Hegarty

For fans of WALL-E and Toy Story, comes a heart-warming, humorous adventure about a young robot trying to find its way home. Beautifully illustrated throughout, Boot is a special book you will want to treasure and share.When toy robot, Boot, wakes up at a scrapyard, it has no idea how it got there and why it isn't with its owner, Beth. It only has two and a half glitchy memories, but it knows it was loved, which means something important to humans. Boot soon realises its emotions make it different to other robots, who just function and don't think. Boot is scared but tries to be brave, which is hard when its screen keeps showing a wobbly, worried face. Luckily Boot meets Noke and Red - other 'advanced' robots who have learned to survive in secret.With its new friends by its side, Boot is determined to find Beth and the gang set off on a dangerous adventure. Everything Boot thought it knew about the world is changing and things aren't as simple as it remembers . . .Boot is a story that will take you by surprise and make you think about the world around you.

Franklin Watts

Meg and Ted

Katie Woolley
Authors:
Katie Woolley

Franklin Watts

The School Play

Katie Woolley
Authors:
Katie Woolley
Franklin Watts

Bug Hotel

Jackie Walter
Authors:
Jackie Walter
Franklin Watts

Max and the Gladiator

Damian Harvey
Authors:
Damian Harvey
Franklin Watts

Great Granny

Ann Bryant
Authors:
Ann Bryant

Jake's great granny is quite a person. She has many stories of her exploits during the second World War and is going to give a talk at Jake's school. Can she convince Jake's friend Ryan, that nothing about her or her stories will be boring?Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Rainbow Street

Lynne Rickards
Authors:
Lynne Rickards

Samir lives in Jordan with his family. His family bakery is in Rainbow street and it is here that Samir spends most of his time after school. But his true love is for birds. He is fascinated by them, their different shapes and sizes, colours and movements and one day, he gets to see the bird of his dreams ...Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Magic Marcus

Elizabeth Dale
Authors:
Elizabeth Dale

Marcus comes across a magic wand at a jumble sale, but he doesn't believe it has any magic in it. Soon after he starts making wishes and they each to come true, until he breaks his mum's favourite vase. Perhaps Marcus has discovered that real magic doesn't lie in the wand, after all.Reading Champion offers independent reading books for children to practise and reinforce their developing reading skills.Fantastic, original stories are accompanied by engaging artwork and a reading activity. Each book has been carefully graded so that it can be matched to a child's reading ability, encouraging reading for pleasure.

Franklin Watts

Save the library!

Katie Dale
Authors:
Katie Dale

Orchard Books

Zulok the Winged Spirit

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

Battle Beasts and fight Evil with Tom and Elenna in the bestselling adventure series for boys and girls aged 7 and up!When supernatural events start to occur in Avantia it can only mean one thing - something is afoot in the terrifying Isle of Ghosts, and the Dark Wizard Malvel is to blame. Tom and Elenna must travel to the Isle and first face eagle Ghost Beast Zulok.There are FOUR thrilling adventures to collect in this series - don't miss out! Zulok the Winged Spirit; Skalix the Snapping Horror; Okira the Crusher and Rykar the Fire Hound

Hodder Children's Books

Five On Kirrin Island Again

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Franklin Watts

Insects and Spiders

Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds
Authors:
Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds

The incredible world of insects and spiders is waiting to be explored in this exciting book. Living on land or below ground, in the air or in water, a wide variety of insects and spiders are investigated inside. Discover what they do, what they eat, how they live, how they defend defend themselves and whether or not insects and spiders can be helpful and useful!There are eight titles in the series Visual Explorers. High-impact books with incredible information about the world around us. Perfect for KS2 and children aged 7+ with an interest in natural phenomenon and natural history.

Hodder Children's Books

The Secret of Moon Castle

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 7

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

In this special collector's edition, books 19 to 21 are brought together in one fabulous volume. In ASTERIX AND THE SOOTHSAYER, a sinister figure arrives in the Gaulish village. Prolix claims to be a soothsayer and the villagers believe every word he says, but Asterix isn't convinced... In ASTERIX IN CORSICA, the Corsican chieftain, Boneywasawarriorwayayix, needs Asterix and Obelix's help to foil the evil designs of Praetor Perfidius and oppose Julius Caesar's army.In ASTERIX AND CAESAR'S GIFT, Legionary Tremensdelirius gets the title deeds to the Gaulish village as a bonus - then swaps them with tavern landlord Orthopaedix for a drink. But Asterix and his friends aren't keen to hand over their village!

Hodder Children's Books

My Name is Mina

David Almond
Authors:
David Almond

There's an empty notebook lying on the table in the moonlight. It's been there for an age. I keep on saying that I'll write a journal. So I'll start right here, right now. I open the book and write the very first words: My name is Mina and I love the night. Then what shall I write? I can't just write that this happened then this happened then this happened to boring infinitum. I'll let my journal grow just like the mind does, just like a tree or a beast does, just like life does. Why should a book tell a tale in a dull straight line?And so Mina writes and writes in her notebook, and here is her journal, Mina's life in Mina's own words: her stories and dreams, experiences and thoughts, her scribblings and nonsense, poems and songs. Her vivid account of her vivid life.In this stunning book, David Almond revisits Mina before she has met Michael, before she has met Skellig.Shortlisted for the 2012 Carnegie Medal.

Orion Children's Books

Omnibus 8

René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo
Contributors:
René Goscinny, Albert Uderzo

In this collectors' edition, books 22 to 24 are brought together in one fabulous volume.In ASTERIX AND THE GREAT CROSSING, a storm blows Asterix and Obelix off course. Luckily they land on the shores of a Roman colony - or is it? Teepees, totems, gobbling birds: it's not what they're used to. Julius Caesar sends Caius Preposterus, graduate of the Latin School of Economics, to corrupt the indomitable Gauls in OBELIX AND CO. Obelix's menhir trade is soon thriving - but does wealth bring happiness?In ASTERIX IN BELGIUM, the Gauls compete with the Belgian tribes to determine who is the bravest. But if the two groups unite, will Caesar meet his Waterloo?There is no better way to enjoy the antics of our indomitable hero and his friends.