Charlie Farley - A T-Wit for a T-Woo - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • Paperback £6.99
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408346501
    • Publication date:01 Nov 2018

A T-Wit for a T-Woo

By Charlie Farley
Illustrated by Layn Marlow

  • E-Book
  • £P.O.R.

Little owl Twoo sets off on a brave quest to find a true friend in this feel-good rhyming picture book. Perfect for sharing at bedtime.

A heartfelt story about friendship and the power of self-belief, perfect for sharing at bedtime.

He'd fly every night through the wood that he loved,
And quietly gaze at the stars up above.
But something was missing that made him feel blue.
When he sang in the moonlight ... he'd just say 'T-WOO!'

Little owl Twoo feels like something is missing. His song is incomplete, a T-woo without a T-wit. So the brave little owl sets off in search of his true owl song - and a true friend to sing with him. On his journey, he discovers that when you believe in yourself, anything is possible.

This feel-good rhyming picture book is perfect for fans of Giraffes Can't Dance and The Lion Inside.

Biographical Notes

Charlie Farley (Author)
Charlie Farley grew up by the sea in North-East Scotland, where he spent his days reading, writing and day-dreaming. Charlie has always been inspired by nature, and much of his writing is influenced by the landscape and animals of Dorset, where he lives with his wife, four children and two dogs.

Layn Marlow (Illustrator)
Layn Marlow gained a first class degree in Illustration from Southampton Solent University, and has been writing and illustrating picture books ever since. Layn's titles have sold over a million copies worldwide and been translated into more than 20 different languages. A Very Strange Creature was shortlisted for the Red House Book Award and Hurry Up and Slow Down won the Never Too Young Coventry Inspirations Book Award in 2010. Layn lives in Hampshire with her family.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408346518
  • Publication date: 05 Apr 2018
  • Page count:
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
Charlie Farley's A T-Wit for a T-Woo is a charming, gently humorous story about a tawny owl's search, perfect for sharing at bed-time. The rhyming text reads aloud beautifully and is complemented by Layn Marlow's delightful illustrations. — Julia Green
...uplifting story which shows the importance of self-belief and not giving up. [...] The superbly atmospheric illustrations by Layn Marlow capture the beauty of the night woodland and bring us a superb cast of characters to love. — Parents in Touch
A lovely story about self-belief and the journey to discover your own identity. [...] The illustrations are a lovely evening palette making this a wonderful bedtime story! — BookBairn (on Instagram)
If you believe in yourself, anything is possible. That's the uplifting message behind A T-WIT FOR A T-WOO... — The Good Schools Guide
Hodder Children's Books

Anyone For Strawberries?

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith

Meet Claude - the ordinary dog with an extraordinary life. Now the star of his very own TV show! Whether he's on Pawhaven beach or visiting Armslength Keep all sorts of wacky adventures happen to him and his best friend, Sir Bobblysock.Claude and Sir Bobblysock are looking forward to a nice breakfast of strawberries but there are none to be found! Everyone has snapped them up to eat at the Pawhaven Tennis Championship. Claude has to win the championship to make sure Sir Bobblysock doesn't miss out on eating some yummy strawberries, but can he do it? A fantastic new storybook based on the Disney Junior TV show.

Wayland

Wild Ideas

Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim
Contributors:
Elin Kelsey, Soyeon Kim

Wild Ideas looks deep into the forests, skies and oceans to explore how animals solve problems. Whether it's weaving a safe place to rest and reflect, blowing a fine net of bubbles to trap fish or leaping boldly into a new situation, the animals in our world can teach us a lot about problem-solving. From the creators of You Are Stardust, the book uses lyrical text grounded in current science alongside wonderfully detailed art to present problems as doorways to creative thinking. Wild Ideas encourages an enquiry-based approach to learning, inviting readers to indulge their sense of wonder and curiosity by observing the natural world, engaging with big ideas and asking questions.Praise for You Are Stardust:"This glorious synthesis of art and science invites discussion about our place in the world, where we come from, how we change and what makes us feel alive ... A terrific book for nurturing curiosity and fostering a feeling of enchantment."(Playing By The Book)

Orchard Books

Adventure Duck Versus Power Pug!

Steve Cole, Aleksei Bitskoff
Contributors:
Steve Cole, Aleksei Bitskoff

There's no ducking out - it's time for this ordinary, wise-quacking duck to become . . . A Hero!Adventure Duck didn't ask for greatness. All he wanted was his nest on the duckpond and plenty of soggy bread to eat. But when a meteor gives him superpowers, he knows he must fly into battle and defeat the forces of evil.Every superhero needs a nemesis, and Adventure Duck finds a pint-sized one in Power Pug. This tiny arch-villain is plotting to take over the world with his hypnotic stare and an army of hench-animals. Luckily, Adventure Duck has helpers, too. There's Yoki - a mystical, moustachioed egg - and Neon Zebra, Adventure Duck's karate-kicking sidekick.Can Adventure Duck and his friends stop Power Pug in this egg-ceptionally funny, action-packed adventure?

Hodder Children's Books

Little Tigers

Jo Weaver
Authors:
Jo Weaver
Orchard Books

Doggy Drama

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

A brilliant animal series from multi-million selling author Lucy Daniels.With exciting animal rescues and real-life care tips, this is the perfect series for young animal lovers! Amelia is starring as Dorothy in her school production of The Wizard of Oz and her friend Sam's puppy, Mac, is playing Toto. Amelia is busy with rehearsals, but still finds time to help her drama teacher's pet, Oscar. Will doggie paddling help heal Oscar's bad leg? And when Mac gets stage fright, will the tiny terrier be well enough to step in as Toto?

Orchard Books

Runaway Hamster

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

A brilliant animal series from multi-million selling author Lucy Daniels.With exciting animal rescues and real-life care tips, this is the perfect series for young animal lovers! Amelia and Sam are helping out at Animal Ark when twin sisters come in with their pet hamster. The only thing the girls can agree on is that there's something wrong with their pet. Could the hamster's greedy brother be the problem?When the hamster escapes at the village Food Fair, Amelia and Sam enlist everyone to look for him. From big bigs to tiny hamsters, everyone needs their own space - even the twins!

Hodder Children's Books

Amazing

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony

A joyful new picture book by the award-winning Steve Antony, creator of the bestselling Please Mr Panda.A little boy and his pet dragon are the very best of friends. They laugh, they sing, they dance, they snooze. They are both amazing - just like everyone else!A celebration of friendship and being yourself with a positive message about celebrating diversity. The perfect platform to start conversations about the importance of understanding and acceptance. Steve Antony is the winner of the Oscar's First Book Prize and has been nominated for the Kate Greenaway Medal and shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize.

Orchard Books

Rainbow Magic: Sasha the Slime Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Join Rachel, Kirsty and Sasha for some fun with slime!Sasha the Slime Fairy's special magic helps everyone have loads of fun making and playing with slime. From glitter slime to goo slime, all types of slime are Sasha's favourite! But when Jack Frost steals her three special pieces of slime, the magic starts to go awry. Can Rachel and Kirsty help her get them back before the slime adventure comes to a sticky end?

Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of Happy

Laura Baker, Angie Rozelaar
Contributors:
Laura Baker, Angie Rozelaar

A beautiful exploration of feelings shown through colour as one little boy navigates a range of emotions - from happiness and excitement to hope and love, all on his way to present a gift to his mum.Blue is for the calm I feel wandering in the spring.Yellow is for happy when I spot a special thing.This book is the perfect introduction to both emotions and colours.

Hodder Children's Books

Frockodile

Jeanne Willis, Stephanie Laberis
Contributors:
Jeanne Willis, Stephanie Laberis
Pat-a-Cake

Super Moon Adventure

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake
Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once: Twice Magic

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Orchard Books

Princess Prom: Two magical adventures in one!

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

The Unicorn Prince

Saviour Pirotta, Jane Ray
Contributors:
Saviour Pirotta, Jane Ray
Pat-a-Cake

Mermicorns

Pat-a-Cake, Richard Merritt
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Richard Merritt

What do you get if you cross a mermaid with a unicorn? A MERMICORN! Create crazy combinations as you flip the flaps.Mix and match mermaids and unicorns to make lots of new flip flap friends with this colourful split-page book. Watch as hoofs, horns and tails get all mixed up in this rainbow book of new mermicorn friends. With over 72 possible combinations and silly names to mix and match, children will keep coming back for more flip flap fun.

Orchard Books

Cara the Coding Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

Three stories in one! Join Rachel and Kirsty for a magical adventure with another fairy friend in this bestselling and much-loved series for girls aged 5 and up!Join Kirsty, Rachel and Cara for a brand-new fairy adventure!Best friends Rachel and Kirsty are very excited to be going to a coding convention! They can't wait to start building their own programmes and apps. But naughty Jack Frost has other plans - to steal the magic of coding for himself!Have you read any other Rainbow Magic books? Try Ruby the Red Fairy to find out how Kirsty and Rachel's adventures began.

Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed
Wayland

Feeling Worried

Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Wayland

Feeling Jealous

Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon
Contributors:
Kay Barnham, Mike Gordon

This lovely story follows the day of one small boy who tries to help friends and family who are feeling jealous, but then ends up feeling jealous himself and having to follow his own advice.Illustrating scenarios of why people get angry will help readers to identify their feelings and work out the best way to deal with this emotion.Ideal for home or classroom, this book contains notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to help children deal with feelings.This book is part of a series of stories about feelings and emotions for children aged between 4 and 8. Other titles are: Feeling Angry, Feeling Frightened, Feeling Sad, Feeling Shy and Feeling WorriedIllustrated by the ever-popular and award-winning illustrator Mike Gordon.

Hodder Children's Books

Kipper's Little Friends

Mick Inkpen
Authors:
Mick Inkpen

Mick Inkpen's Kipper has been a star of picture books and animation for 25 years. This new story will captivate a new generation of children. Mick Inkpen is the libraries' ninth most borrowed author.Kipper and Arthur are talking about baby animals. A baby owl must be an owlet, so a baby frog is a froglet and a baby hedgehog can only be a hoglet... But what is a baby dog called? Do you know?A charming tale about animals - and growing up.'The charmingly comical Inkpen, as always, hits the spot.' Guardian