Charlie Farley - A T-Wit for a T-Woo - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408346518
    • Publication date:05 Apr 2018

A T-Wit for a T-Woo

By Charlie Farley
Illustrated by Layn Marlow

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Little owl Twoo sets off on a brave quest to find a true friend in this feel-good rhyming picture book. Perfect for sharing at bedtime.

A heartfelt story about friendship and the power of self-belief, perfect for sharing at bedtime.

He'd fly every night through the wood that he loved,
And quietly gaze at the stars up above.
But something was missing that made him feel blue.
When he sang in the moonlight ... he'd just say 'T-WOO!'

Little owl Twoo feels like something is missing. His song is incomplete, a T-woo without a T-wit. So the brave little owl sets off in search of his true owl song - and a true friend to sing with him. On his journey, he discovers that when you believe in yourself, anything is possible.

This feel-good rhyming picture book is perfect for fans of Giraffes Can't Dance and The Lion Inside.

Biographical Notes

Charlie Farley (Author)
Charlie Farley grew up by the sea in North-East Scotland, where he spent his days reading, writing and day-dreaming. Charlie has always been inspired by nature, and much of his writing is influenced by the landscape and animals of Dorset, where he lives with his wife, four children and two dogs.

Layn Marlow (Illustrator)
Layn Marlow gained a first class degree in Illustration from Southampton Solent University, and has been writing and illustrating picture books ever since. Layn's titles have sold over a million copies worldwide and been translated into more than 20 different languages. A Very Strange Creature was shortlisted for the Red House Book Award and Hurry Up and Slow Down won the Never Too Young Coventry Inspirations Book Award in 2010. Layn lives in Hampshire with her family.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408346501
  • Publication date: 01 Nov 2018
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
Charlie Farley's A T-Wit for a T-Woo is a charming, gently humorous story about a tawny owl's search, perfect for sharing at bed-time. The rhyming text reads aloud beautifully and is complemented by Layn Marlow's delightful illustrations. — Julia Green
...uplifting story which shows the importance of self-belief and not giving up. [...] The superbly atmospheric illustrations by Layn Marlow capture the beauty of the night woodland and bring us a superb cast of characters to love. — Parents in Touch
A lovely story about self-belief and the journey to discover your own identity. [...] The illustrations are a lovely evening palette making this a wonderful bedtime story! — BookBairn (on Instagram)
Orchard Books

chapter book 1

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

A secret world full of magic, unicorns and friendship! The brand-new series from the bestselling Daisy Meadows, author of RAINBOW MAGIC and MAGIC ANIMAL FRIENDS, and the most-borrowed children's author in UK libraries.Join best friends Lucy and Aisha as they discover a secret world full of unicorns, magic and friendship! Journey with them to the beautiful kingdom of Unicorn Valley, where the beautiful Queen Aurora rules kindly over the unicorns and all other magical creatures. But when the Dark Unicorn Selena tries to steal the throne, good magic everywhere is under threat. Can the girls and their new unicorn friends find a way to save the kingdom?

Hodder Children's Books

Hugless Douglas and the Baby Birds

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling
Orchard Books

A Christmas Carol

Tony Mitton, Mike Redman
Contributors:
Tony Mitton, Mike Redman
Pat-a-Cake

Here Come the Llamas

Pat-a-Cake, Laura Hambleton
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Laura Hambleton
Pat-a-Cake

Meet Catboy!

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake

PJ masks are on their way, into the night to save the day! By day, they are Connor, Greg and Amaya, but by night they are Catboy, Gekko and Owlette, the PJ Masks. Meet Catboy - he's super-fast, has super-hearing and drives the super-cool CatCar. This shaped board book is perfect for all little fans of PJ Masks. PJ Masks all shout hooray! Also available: PJ Masks: Annual 2019 and PJ Masks: Super Moon AdventurePJ Masks (c) Frog Box / Entertainment One UK Limited / Walt Disney EMEA Productions Limited 2014

Hodder Children's Books

Is it Really Nearly Christmas?

Joyce Dunbar, Victoria Turnbull
Contributors:
Joyce Dunbar, Victoria Turnbull

'This isn't any old night, this is a magic night!'There's only one more sleep till Christmas and Lucas and Willow, the moon and the stars are all waiting ... While they wait, the children remember everything they love about Christmas, but they don't notice that the magic has already begun ...This is a stunning picture book from a gifted storyteller and award-winning illustrator that perfectly captures the joy and anticipation of Christmas Eve.

Hodder Children's Books

When I Was a Child

Andy Stanton, David Litchfield
Contributors:
Andy Stanton, David Litchfield
Orchard Books

The Pug Who Wanted to Be a Unicorn

Noelle Winters
Authors:
Noelle Winters

Always be yourself. Unless you can be a unicorn . . . When she's abandoned just before Christmas, Peggy the pug is taken in by a foster family with a unicorn-mad little girl. Peggy thinks that her new friend, Chloe, wants a unicorn for Christmas - not a puppy. Believing that anything is possible, Peggy decides that she will turn into a unicorn. All she needs is a long silky mane, a glowing horn, and the ability to do magic! Easy, right?Peggy is determined to make her new friend's Christmas wish come true. And if she does, maybe she'll finally find a forever home . . .

Hodder Children's Books

Dragons: Sticker Activity Book

This action-packed activity book is full of your favourite dragons and vikings!Full of games, puzzles, colouring and more, this activity book will keep Dragons fans busy for hours!Look out for more Dragons books!How to Train Your Dragon is now a major DreamWorks franchise. How to Train Your Dragon 3 is scheduled for release in 2019 and the TV series Defenders of Berk can be seen on CBBC and Netflix.

Orchard Books

Fox Cub Danger

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels

A brilliant animal series from multi-million selling author Lucy Daniels. With exciting animal rescues and real-life care tips, this is the perfect series for young animal lovers!Amelia and Sam love helping animals. But when they find an injured fox, they have to find new home for a whole fox family. Can they find the perfect place for the cute cubs, safely away from danger?

Orchard Books

Kitten Rescue

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Orchard Books

Bunny Trouble

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Pat-a-Cake

First Writing Wipe Clean

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake
Pat-a-Cake

Dinosaurs

Pat-a-Cake, Simon Mugford, Kathryn Selbert
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Simon Mugford, Kathryn Selbert
Pat-a-Cake

Holidays

Pat-a-Cake, Fiona Munro, Alistar
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Fiona Munro, Alistar

This brilliant book is full of exciting holiday scenes and activities. The big stickers are easy for little fingers to find, peel off and stick, putting an end to the frustration of fiddly stickers. From buckets and spades, to planes and trains, there is plenty to spot, talk about and do inside. Words and sounds that match the scenes help build vocabulary and a huge, fold-out picture to decorate will keep little ones entertained for hours. Also available: Big Stickers for Tiny Hands: Things That Go, On the Farm, Dinosaurs, Out and About, Wild Animals

Hodder Children's Books

P is for Paris

Paul Thurlby
Authors:
Paul Thurlby
Pat-a-Cake

Telling the Time

Pat-a-Cake, Katie Woolley, Tom Heard
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Katie Woolley, Tom Heard
Pat-a-Cake

Easy Phonics

Pat-a-Cake, Katie Woolley, Tom Heard
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Katie Woolley, Tom Heard
Franklin Watts

I Don't Want to Play Nicely: A book about being kind

Sue Graves, Desideria Guicciardini, Emanuela Carletti
Contributors:
Sue Graves, Desideria Guicciardini, Emanuela Carletti

A gentle picture book that examines the issues of selfishness, aggression and kindness in a reassuring way - perfect for young children who struggle with aggressive behaviour. The story offers a way in to talk about how our actions can make others feel and how we can make that better, reinforcing good behaviour. At the end of the story, there are notes for parents and teachers with suggestions of ways to help children deal with the big emotions they experience. Finn struggles with caring for other children at school. He can be selfish and he often plays too aggressively. When the other children complain, Mr Hare has an idea. He chooses Finn as the buddy for Jake, a new boy at school. However, Finn does not help Jake, and the other children become really upset with Finn for being so unkind. Finn is soon left out by the other children and is left feeling miserable and lonely. Can Mr Hare help Finn find a way to make it all better?This book is part of a series, Our Emotions and Behaviour, which is perfect for sharing with children as a gentle means of identifying and discussing their emotions, boosting their confidence and helping social and emotional development. Each book has a fun story which is backed up by suggestions for activities and ideas to talk through together and a wordless storyboard for children to tell a story themselves and reinforce the story's message. The series supports the Personal, Social and Emotional Development Area of Learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage.

Franklin Watts

Digger's Busy Day

Amelia Marshall, Dan Bramall
Contributors:
Amelia Marshall, Dan Bramall

It's busy in the building site, with bulldozers, cranes, tip-up trucks and cement mixers all at work!Dive into the world of diggers and trucks with this fantastic picture book brimming with busy bright photos, accessible read out loud text and playful rhymes.These books offer a unique combination of photographic realism and story telling, perfect for children and adults to share and explore together. The books also feature an info-vocab page so the eager reader can enjoy learning and naming the vehicle parts.