Lauren Child - A Dog With Nice Ears - Hachette Children's Group

A Dog With Nice Ears

By Lauren Child

  • Hardback
  • £12.99

A brilliant Charlie and Lola picture book from multi-award-winning author and Children's Laureate Lauren Child.

A brilliant Charlie and Lola picture book from multi-award-winning author and Children's Laureate Lauren Child!

Lola wants a dog - but the qualities of her perfect pooch seem oddly like those of a ... rabbit!

Silly, surprising, thoughtful and fun, Charlie and Lola are on top form in this fantastically funny story, packed full of dogs of every shape, size and colour. Lauren Child's endlessly endearing characters and inimitable humour will be a sure-fire hit with existing and new fans - this is the perfect tale for anyone who has ever imagined what having the perfect pet would be like.

A new Charlie and Lola story is the gold standard in picture books - the perfect read-aloud that both children and parents will love.

Discover more hilarious original picture books about Charlie and Lola:
Charlie and Lola: I Will Not Ever Never Eat a Tomato
Charlie and Lola: I Am Not Sleepy and I Will Not Go to Bed
Charlie and Lola: I Am Too Absolutely Small for School
Charlie and Lola: Slightly Invisible
Charlie and Lola: One Thing

Biographical Notes

Lauren Child MBE is a multi-award-winning author and current Children's Laureate, whose books are known and loved the world over. She is the creator of many much-loved characters, including Charlie and Lola, Clarice Bean and Ruby Redfort. Since her first book was published in 1999, Lauren has sold over six million books in 19 languages worldwide. Her many awards include the prestigious Kate Greenaway Medal for I Will Not Ever Never Eat a Tomato, the Nestle Gold Book Award for That Pesky Rat and the Nestle Bronze Book Award for Beware of the Storybook Wolves. Lauren loves designing and making things and finds it exciting to see her drawings turned into objects. Other favourite things include the cinema, TV matinees, small Italian cars, handbags, cardigans, travelling and being picked up from the airport.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408346136
  • Publication date: 28 Sep 2017
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
Child's trademark bright, bold illustrations and changes in font and print direction make this a story to interact with and savour in Early Years classrooms. — The English Association
Pat-a-Cake

Space

Pat-a-Cake, Maria Neradova
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Maria Neradova

This brilliant book is full of out-of-this-world space scenes and activities. The big stickers are easy for little fingers to find, peel off and stick, putting an end to the frustration of fiddly stickers. From rocket ships and astronauts, to shooting stars and aliens, there is plenty to spot, talk about and do inside. Words and sounds that match the scenes help build vocabulary and a huge, fold-out picture to decorate will keep little ones entertained for hours. Also available: Big Stickers for Tiny Hands: Things That Go, On the Farm, Dinosaurs, Out and About, Wild Animals, Big Machines

Hodder Children's Books

Frockodile

Jeanne Willis, Stephanie Laberis
Contributors:
Jeanne Willis, Stephanie Laberis

Celebrating acceptance and being who you really are, this joyful story is about Cliff, the crocodile who wants to wear a dress.When the hyenas laugh at Cliff, he pretends he's dressing up for a play. But no play exists! Luckily his friend Freddy comes to the rescue and creates a show for Cliff to star in. But what will his dad say when he sees him?A funny story about inclusion and supporting your friends and family.Jeanne Willis is an award-winning author who has written over 150 books, including The Bog Baby, the Paddington Movie novelisation and Tadpole's Promise.

Hodder Children's Books

Super Snail

Elys Dolan
Authors:
Elys Dolan

Meet Kevin: ordinary slug by day, fearless, shell-wearing Super Snail by night. The hilarious superhero you didn't know you were waiting for - from the acclaimed creator of Weasels and Steven Seagull, Elys Dolan.Kevin must prove his worth to the legendary League of Heroes - all with the power of slime! When disaster strikes and the Snail Signal shines, it's time for him to step up ...Will he figure out how to get his pants on outside his clothes, even though he doesn't have a bum? Will he discover his true, slimy superpower and defeat the evil villain, Laser Pigeon?Will he even get there in time?!

Pat-a-Cake

Show and Tell

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake
Pat-a-Cake

Bestest Friends

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake

It's time to go to the School of Roars! Join the monsters for a roarsome day at school.It's art class at the School of Roars, and the monsters have a fun project to do. But Wufflebump feels left out when his best friend Meepa is partners with Yummble. Miss Grizzlesniff teaches the class about being kind to one another and everyone joining in together. Featuring themes of sharing, friendship and problem-solving, this School of Roars story is perfect for little monsters everywhere!Also available: School of Roars: Show and Tell, School of Roars: Icky Sticky Stickers

Pat-a-Cake

Icky Sticky Stickers

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake

It's time to go to the School of Roars! Join the monsters for a roarsome day at school.Stick, puzzle and play with these icky sticky stickers, just like Icklewoo's. Meet the monsters and their families and learn all about the roarsome School of Roars.Featuring themes of sharing, friendship and problem-solving, this School of Roars sticker book is perfect for little monsters everywhere!Also available: School of Roars: Bestest Friends, School of Roars: Show and Tell

Pat-a-Cake

Big Machines

Pat-a-Cake, Genie Espinosa
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Genie Espinosa
Pat-a-Cake

Fancy Dress

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake
Hodder Children's Books

Oi Cat! Board Book

Kes Gray, Jim Field
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Jim Field

Hodder Children's Books

Knock Knock Alien

Caryl Hart, Nick East
Contributors:
Caryl Hart, Nick East
Franklin Watts

Keep Off the Grass

Katie Dale, Liam Darcy
Contributors:
Katie Dale, Liam Darcy
Pat-a-Cake

Supermoon Adventure

Pat-a-Cake
Authors:
Pat-a-Cake

Luna Girl has taken things to a whole new level with her brand-new fortress - on the moon! The PJ Masks must take the PJ Rocket to the moon to find out what's going on and stop Luna Girl. Gekko has to be especially brave and help save the day even though he is scared to be so far away from home. The PJ Masks work together again to defeat Luna Girl and save the world - Into the night to save the day, PJ Masks are on their way!Based on the series 2 episode 'Moonstruck'.Also available: PJ Masks: Birthday Cake Rescue, PJ Masks: Power of Three, PJ Masks: Into the Night glow-in-the-dark sticker bookPJ Masks (c) Frog Box / Entertainment One UK Limited / Walt Disney EMEA Productions Limited 2014

Orchard Books

The Snow Queen Classic Pop-up and Play

Hans Christian Andersen, Laura Barrett
Contributors:
Hans Christian Andersen, Laura Barrett

The ultimate gift edition of Hans Christian Andersen's classic tale, with intricate silhouette artwork and a pop-up-and-play theatre finale.Unfold the concertina pages to follow Gerda's epic journey to the palace of the Snow Queen to rescue her best friend Kai, bewitched by a splinter of ice from an enchanted mirror. Reveal a beautiful pop-up palace on the final page and interact using the stand-up play figures. Discover enchanting silhouette artwork from artist Laura Barrett alongside a simple, evocative retelling of this famous tale. With a decorative foiled cover, this lavish gift book is a must-have addition to any child's bookshelf.

Orchard Books

Cinderella

Ursula Jones, Jessica Courtney Tickle
Contributors:
Ursula Jones, Jessica Courtney Tickle

Rediscover the magic of Cinderella and enter a world of enchantment and romance with this exquisite picture book retelling. Award-winning author Ursula Jones breathes new life into this enduring and best-loved fairytale with her characteristic blend of warmth, humour and charm. Paired with dazzlingly intricate illustrations, this is a wonderfully evocative, beautiful and contemporary edition of this timeless classic

Orchard Books

Evelyn the Mermicorn Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Princess Prom: Two magical adventures in one!

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

Secret Princesses is a gorgeous series about magical princesses and best friends. Princes Prom is a special bumper long book with two stories for even more magical fun! Will Charlotte and Mia finally get their princess wands? Best friends Shelley and Kat are desperate to put on the perfect Jingle Bells Ball. Their whole school is counting on them and they wish everything could go well. And if Charlotte and Mia grant their wishes, they'll finally become fully-fledged Secret Princesses! But mean Princess Poison hates Christmas, hates fun and most of all hates happiness. Can the girls defeat her one last time?Join Charlotte and Mia in this brilliant adventure full of princess sparkle and Christmas excitement!

Orchard Books

Charlie and Lola: One Thing Board Book

Lauren Child
Authors:
Lauren Child

A classic Charlie and Lola picture book all about counting and sums, from Children's Laureate Lauren Child. Now in a brilliant board book!Perfectly funny and perfectly formed, this hilarious picture book sees top negotiator Lola take on numbers in everyday life and bend them to her endearing and unique will. I have this little sister Lola. She is small and very funny. Sometimes for a treat, Mum says, "We are going to the shops and you may choose one thing.""One thing to share?" says Lola.I say, "One thing for you and one thing for me, which means two actual things."'Numeracy at its most joyful and positive ... a brilliant way to get young minds excited about maths' Teach Early Years

Orchard Books

Ten Little Robots

Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty
Contributors:
Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty

Learn to count from ten to one and back again with this rhythmic, rhyming robot adventure! "This factory looks exciting. Shall we take a peep?" Ten little robots all say, "BEEEP!" Ten little robots set off on a hilarious adventure through a fantastical factory in this wonderfully wacky rhyming romp - with NEEE-NAAAAH-ing sirens, KER-BOOOOMG-ing engines, and plenty of gadgets, levers and utter chaos along the way!Look out for the other books in the bestselling, award-winning Ten Little series:Ten Little PiratesTen Little PrincessesTen Little MonstersTen Little DinosaursTen Little ElvesPraise for the other Ten Little books:'a rollicking read with an easy rhythm and jaunty illustrations...excellent' - Guardian'jaunty verse with lots of humorous details to discover on every page' - Time Out'roaringly funny rhymes' - Independent

Hodder Children's Books

The Golden Sands

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters

The seventh in a magical, exciting series by Olympic gold medallist Jessica Ennis-Hill. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Magic and My Little Pony!What if you had a magic bracelet that meant you could see golden magic everywhere?Evie's grandma has sent her another parcel. Inside layers of tissue and colourful ribbons is a beautiful bracelet! And when Evie and her friends find themselves on the most exciting beach holiday of their lives, they'll need all their magical know-how for their most dangerous challenge yet ... Evie shares Jessica's determination and drive - an inspiration for kids everywhere.

Orchard Books

Ten Little Elves

Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty
Contributors:
Mike Brownlow, Simon Rickerty