Allen Zadoff - The Hit - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

The Hit

Book 1

By Allen Zadoff

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

He Is Nothing.
The Mission Is Everything.

Biographical Notes

Allen Zadoff is the author of several acclaimed novels including Food, Girls and Other Things I Can't Have, winner of the Sid Fleischman Humor Award and a YALSA Popular Paperback for Young Adults. His new novel, Boy Nobody, is the first in a new YA trilogy about a teenage assassin. Allen is a graduate of Cornell University and the Harvard University Institute forAdvanced Theatre Training. His training as a super spy, however, has yet to be verified.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408337769
  • Publication date: 04 Sep 2014
  • Page count: 366
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
A fast-paced thriller following the adventures of a brainwashed teen assassin. — Children's Bookseller
'Zadoff shines in this entertaining twist on the teen spy novel...hard-edged narration and twists will keep readers riveted.' — Publisher's Weekly (STARRED review)
A tense and exciting story with a strong cast. — Publishers Weekly
The plot speeds along seamlessly with plenty of action and drama, and hairpin turns will keep readers guessing; a twist in the end will have them begging for more. Fast, furious and fun! — Kirkus Reviews
Unresolved mysteries and an open-ended conclusion make this a promising start to an exciting new series. — School Library Journal
Fast-paced with plenty of twists and turns and tension which hold the reader's focus until the end. — Peters Gazette
A thought-provoking psychological study of control and freedom. Its laconic, staccato style adds considerably to its merits. — Irish Times
Melds Jason Bourne with the best of James Bond... a gripping thriller. — Flipside
Not just another a boy-assassin novel... Zadoff favours short, choppy sentences, which create a tough-private-detective edginess - and are also a boon for less able readers. — Jewish Chronicle
A brilliant, fast paced thriller. Clever and well-written, this is a thought-provoking and exciting page-turner. — Booktrust
Boy Nobody is a page-turning, thought-provoking, complex thriller with an unforgettable anti-hero. A memorable read for young adults. — Carousel
Hodder Children's Books

SLAY

Brittney Morris
Authors:
Brittney Morris
Hodder Children's Books

The Black Flamingo

Dean Atta
Authors:
Dean Atta
Franklin Watts

Black History Matters

Robin Walker
Authors:
Robin Walker
Franklin Watts

Forced to Flee

Refugee children explain in their own words and pictures their thoughts, feelings and experiences about having to flee from their home countries. Produced in association with UNHCR (United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees) and with a foreword from Cate Blanchett, Goodwill Ambassador for UNHCR, this highly emotive title focuses on three current refugee crises in Syria, South Sudan and Central America. Aimed at readers age 14+, the book gives background information about how each crisis came about, why families had to flee and what life is like for them now is given in a clear and easy-to-understand way. Children from refugee camps were asked to draw about their experiences of having to flee their home countries. The children's artwork is incredibly powerful and harrowing, and vividly highlights the impact that conflict, war and atrocities has on people's lives.

Hodder Children's Books

Colour Me In

Lydia Ruffles
Authors:
Lydia Ruffles

FIX ME. DRAW ME WHOLE. COLOUR ME IN. "A dream of a novel"Buzz feed"Dark, vivid and totally original. I loved it." Lisa Williamson, author of The Art of Being Normal"Remember the name Lydia Ruffles" StylistThe Catcher in the Rye meets Turtles All the Way DownNineteen-year-old actor Arlo likes nothing more than howling across the skyline with best friend Luke.But when something irreparable happens and familiar black weeds start to crawl inside him, Arlo flees to the other side of the world, taking only a sketchbook full of maps.There, he meets fellow traveller Mizuki and they decide to get lost together. But how far can you run before you lose yourself completely?

Wayland

What is Race? Who are Racists? Why Does Skin Colour Matter? And Other Big Questions

Nikesh Shukla, Claire Heuchan
Authors:
Nikesh Shukla, Claire Heuchan
Quercus Children's Books

The Impossible: On the Run

Mark Illis
Authors:
Mark Illis
Orion Children's Books

Ruin and Rising

Leigh Bardugo
Authors:
Leigh Bardugo

*The Grishaverse will be coming to Netflix soon with Shadow and Bone, an original series!*Enter the Grishaverse with book three of the Shadow and Bone Trilogy by number one New York Times-bestselling author Leigh Bardugo. Perfect for fans of Laini Taylor and Sarah J. Maas.Now with a stunning new cover and exclusive bonus material: The Demon in the Wood (a Darkling prequel story) and a Q&A with Leigh Bardugo. Soldier. Summoner. Saint.The nation's fate rests with a broken Sun Summoner, a disgraced tracker, and the shattered remnants of a once-great magical army.The Darkling rules from his shadow throne while a weakened Alina Starkov recovers from their battle under the dubious protection of the zealots who worship her as a Saint. Now her hopes lie with the magic of a long-vanished ancient creature and the chance that an outlaw prince still survives.As her allies and enemies race toward war, only Alina stands between her country and a rising tide of darkness that could destroy the world. To win this fight, she must seize a legend's power - but claiming the firebird may be her ruin. Read all the books in the Grishaverse! The Shadow and Bone Trilogy (previously published as The Grisha Trilogy) Shadow and Bone Siege and Storm Ruin and Rising The Six of Crows Duology Six of Crows Crooked Kingdom The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Summer of Us

Cecilia Vinesse
Authors:
Cecilia Vinesse

Five friends. Five cities. Two complicated love stories . . . The perfect read for fans of Jennifer E Smith and Sara Barnard.Aubrey and Rae have been planning their European tour since the moment they met. It was meant to be the perfect way to spend their last summer together before university, but now it's not just the two of them . . .There's Jonah, Aubrey's seemingly perfect boyfriend, and Gabe, who Aubrey may have accidentally kissed. Then there's Clara, the friend Rae is crushing on, hard, even though there's no hope because Clara is into guys, not girls. And on top of all that Aubrey and Rae's friendship appears to be falling apart. Things are more complicated at eighteen than they were at ten.Set off on a romantic adventure that embraces warm summer nights, the thrill of first kisses and the bittersweet ache of saying goodbye to the past.

Wren & Rook

You Are Awesome

Matthew Syed
Authors:
Matthew Syed
Wayland

Did Anything Good Come Out of... the American Civil War?

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele
Wayland

Did Anything Good Come Out of... the Vietnam War?

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele

This book considers the Vietnam (or Second Indochina) War, 1955-1975, which may have killed as many as 3 million troops and civilians. It divided America, it aroused huge opposition around the world and it divided generations. Why was it fought and what were the outcomes? Did it have any unexpected consequences? Did any good at all come out of it?

Franklin Watts

The Children of Willesden Lane

Mona Golabek, Lee Cohen
Authors:
Mona Golabek, Lee Cohen
Wayland

Did Anything Good Come Out of... the Cold War?

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Wayland

Did Anything Good Come Out of... WWI?

Philip Steele
Authors:
Philip Steele

This book looks at how and why World War I was born out of the longstanding rivalries and feuds between European nations, at home and across their overseas empires, and how the conflict sucked in imperial and colonial troops from around the world. It examines the legacy of the the war, both in terms of the bad things that came out of it, such as the rise of fascism and totalitarian rule, and the good things, including developments in medicine and plastic surgery, enhanced aeroplane technology and advances in suffrage and equality for women.

Franklin Watts

Understanding Transgender

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

Self-Esteem and Confidence

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Wayland

From Prejudice to Pride: A History of LGBTQ+ Movement

Amy Lamé
Authors:
Amy Lamé
Wayland

Did Anything Good Come Out of... the Great Depression?

Emma Marriott
Authors:
Emma Marriott

Look at the events that lead to the Wall Street Crash of October 1929 and the shockwaves that it sent around the world, leading to economic crisis and financial panic and plunging millions into unemployment, eviction from their homes and grinding poverty. Explore the legacy of the Great Depression internationally, both in terms of the bad things that came out of it, such as political ferment leading to the rise of fascism, and the good things, including the expansion of the welfare state and provision for those in need, technological innovation and the rise of the cinema industry.

Wayland

Did Anything Good Come Out of... WWII?

Emma Marriott
Authors:
Emma Marriott

This book looks at the events leading to the World War II, the most widespread war in history, in which the major participants used all their industrial, economic and scientific might to wage 'total war'. It examines the legacy of the war, both in terms of the bad things that came out of it, such as the fear and mistrust between the USA and Russia that led to the Cold War, and the good things, including advances in medicine and computing and the establishment of the United Nations.