Alison Murray - Hickory Dickory Dog - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds

Hickory Dickory Dog

By Alison Murray

  • Paperback
  • £6.99

Zac and his dog, Rufus, are inseparable. So when Zac experiences his first day at school, Rufus does too...Wherever Rufus goes, fun and mischief are certain to follow!

Zac and Rufus, like all best friends, stick together. So, when Zac goes to playschool, his pup goes too! Zac's little dog wants to join in with EVERYTHING - painting time, lunchtime, even garden time . . . resulting in one very messy pup at home time!

This engaging story, with its warm, retro art style, is an entertaining introduction to playschool.

Alison Murray is the creator of Apple Pie ABC and One, Two That's My Shoe! as well as Little Mouse.

Biographical Notes

Alison Murray grew up in Lanarkshire near Glasgow and studied Textile Design at Glasgow School of Art. After graduating she moved to London and worked in a variety of jobs including bookseller and rug designer before completing a MA in Design for Interactive Media at Middlesex University. She then co-founded, created and built a successful Interactive Media company and sold it before moving back to Scotland. Alison has now found her niche, writing and illustrating children's picture books. Her first book was the highly-acclaimed Apple Pie ABC, closely followed by One, Two That's My Shoe!, both published by Orchard and both featuring her characters, Georgie and Grace. Alison became Scottish Book Trust's first Writer-in-Residence. As part of her residency, she developed a book, Little Mouse, with a group of parents involved in the Home-Start scheme which was published by Orchard. Alison lives in Glasgow with her husband, her daughter and their dog.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408311998
  • Publication date: 04 Jul 2013
  • Page count: 32
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
A friendly introduction to what a school day looks like - and how much fun might be in store. — The Horn Book Magazine
Hodder Children's Books

Will You Help Me Fall Asleep?

Anna Kang, Chris Weyant
Contributors:
Anna Kang, Chris Weyant
Hodder Children's Books

Hugless Douglas and the Baby Birds

David Melling
Authors:
David Melling

Join Douglas for springtime magic in a new adventure. This bestselling series has sold over 1.6 million copies to date in 24 languages!When a nest full of eggs comes crashing down Hugless Douglas offers to look after them until Swoopy Bird has built a new home. But Douglas soon discovers a hug is not enough to keep a little egg safe. David Melling is one of the UK's best-loved author-illustrators and his ninth book about Douglas the brown bear is as funny and compelling as the first. It combines brilliantly imaginative illustrations with an endearing sense of what it is like to be a small child learning about the world.'A new Hugless Douglas book is always a cause for celebration.' - Daily Mail

Pat-a-Cake

Super Squiggles

Pat-a-Cake, Ana Bermejo
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Ana Bermejo

A fun and creative way to help children master the skills they need before they start school.Super Squiggles is packed with lines, shapes, and patterns to trace, mazes to follow and puzzles to solve. Children will have fun getting to grips with the pre-school skills of pen control and mark-making, the ideal preparation for learning to write.The consultant-approved activities are fun to do and are combined with brilliant, engaging art that children will love.Also available: Let's Count!

Pat-a-Cake

Let's Count!

Pat-a-Cake, Ana Bermejo
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Ana Bermejo

A fun and creative way to help children master the skills they need before they start school.Let's Count is packed counting games to play and number puzzles to solve. Children will have fun getting to grips with the pre-school skills of pen control as they learn about numbers, the ideal preparation for learning to write.The consultant-approved activities are fun to do and are combined with brilliant, engaging art that children will love.Also available: Super Squiggles

Hodder Children's Books

Little Tigers

Jo Weaver
Authors:
Jo Weaver

Mother Tiger and her two cubs journey through their jungle habitat, searching high and low for the perfect new home where they will be safe. A beautifully illustrated celebration of the love between parent and child and the wonders of the natural world. With its mesmerising, atmospheric charcoal drawings and lyrical storytelling, Jo Weaver's new picture book has the feel of an instant classic. Perfect for fans of BBC's Planet Earth.Jo Weaver was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration New Talent Awards.

Hodder Children's Books

Kipper: The Blue Balloon

Mick Inkpen
Authors:
Mick Inkpen
Hodder Children's Books

The Colour of Happy

Laura Baker, Angie Rozelaar
Contributors:
Laura Baker, Angie Rozelaar

A beautiful exploration of feelings shown through colour as one little boy navigates a range of emotions - from happiness and excitement to hope and love, all on his way to present a gift to his mum.Blue is for the calm I feel wandering in the spring.Yellow is for happy when I spot a special thing.This book is the perfect introduction to both emotions and colours.

Orchard Books

Happy to Be Me

Emma Dodd
Authors:
Emma Dodd
Hodder Children's Books

Amazing

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony

A joyful new picture book by the award-winning Steve Antony, creator of the bestselling Please Mr Panda.A little boy and his pet dragon are the very best of friends. They laugh, they sing, they dance, they snooze. They are both amazing - just like everyone else!A celebration of friendship and being yourself with a positive message about celebrating diversity. The perfect platform to start conversations about the importance of understanding and acceptance. Steve Antony is the winner of the Oscar's First Book Prize and has been nominated for the Kate Greenaway Medal and shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize.

Hodder Children's Books

Knock Knock Alien

Caryl Hart, Nick East
Contributors:
Caryl Hart, Nick East
Hodder Children's Books

Everybunny Dream

Ellie Sandall
Authors:
Ellie Sandall

A delightful bedtime routine - perfect for snuggling up and sharing.Cuddle up and snuggle tight.Close your eyes and say goodnight.A cosy group,A peaceful scene...EVERYBUNNY DREAM!Also look out for: Everybunny Dance and Everybunny Count!Praise for Follow Me: 'Lyrically written, Follow Me has a mesmeric quality that leaves you wanting to enjoy multiple consecutive readings. A real gem.' - Huffington PostFollow Ellie on Twitter at @elliesandall

Pat-a-Cake

Bath Time

Pat-a-Cake, Mojca Dolinar
Contributors:
Pat-a-Cake, Mojca Dolinar
Orchard Books

Orchard Bedtime Stories

Margaret Mayo, Alison Murray
Contributors:
Margaret Mayo, Alison Murray
Orchard Books

The Snow Queen Classic Pop-up and Play

Hans Christian Andersen, Laura Barrett
Contributors:
Hans Christian Andersen, Laura Barrett

The ultimate gift edition of Hans Christian Andersen's classic tale, with intricate silhouette artwork and a pop-up-and-play theatre finale.Unfold the concertina pages to follow Gerda's epic journey to the palace of the Snow Queen to rescue her best friend Kai, bewitched by a splinter of ice from an enchanted mirror. Reveal a beautiful pop-up palace on the final page and interact using the stand-up play figures. Discover enchanting silhouette artwork from artist Laura Barrett alongside a simple, evocative retelling of this famous tale. With a decorative foiled cover, this lavish gift book is a must-have addition to any child's bookshelf.

Orchard Books

Cinderella

Ursula Jones, Jessica Courtney Tickle
Contributors:
Ursula Jones, Jessica Courtney Tickle
Orchard Books

The Unicorn Prince

Saviour Pirotta, Jane Ray
Contributors:
Saviour Pirotta, Jane Ray

If you love The Frog Prince and The Elves and the Shoemaker, you'll love this tale of love, magic ... and unicorns!Annis and her grandmother live in a cold, draughty castle on top of a hill, which they share with their chickens and their cow. They may be poor, but Annis's heart is full of kindness. Offering a home to an injured unicorn and a family of fairies one day, her kindness is magically rewarded. But will her good fortune bring her happiness and love?This entrancing contemporary fairy tale is brought gloriously to life by Hans Christian Andersen Award nominee Jane Ray.

Wren & Rook

The World of the Whale

Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward
Contributors:
Smriti Prasadam-Halls, Jonathan Woodward
Hodder Children's Books

Going to the Volcano

Andy Stanton, Miguel Ordonez
Contributors:
Andy Stanton, Miguel Ordonez

Join two intrepid explorers on the perfect day out - visiting a volcano! A brilliantly funny rhyming story from multi-award-winning author Andy Stanton, who was shortlisted for the 2018 Laugh Out Loud Picture Book Award for Danny McGee Drinks the Sea. Buckle up and jump on board for the funniest, most EXPLOSIVE picture book of the year - you'll want to read it again and again-o!Join two intrepid explorers as they take a train-o, jump on a plane-o, ride a Great Dane-o (down the lane-o) on their way to look at the volcano. Nothing could possibly go wrong - could it?!A hilariously anarchic, brightly illustrated rhyming story from multi-award-winning author Andy Stanton. Andy has won a string of awards for his Mr Gum books, including the Red House Children's Book Award, the Roald Dahl Funny Prize, and the Blue Peter Book Award for Best Book With Pictures (twice).Miguel Ordonez is the illustrator of the New York Times bestselling Your Baby's First Word Will Be Dada, written by Jimmy Fallon, the Emmy and Grammy award-winning host of NBC's The Tonight Show.

Hodder Children's Books

Goodnight, Mr Panda

Steve Antony
Authors:
Steve Antony

'An ideal book for kids to learn about the importance of good manners.' Sun 'There's a new pre-school politeness tsar in town.' The Times Mr Panda and his friends are getting ready for bed. But some won't brush their teeth, others won't have a bath, and one won't even wear pyjamas! It's down to Mr Panda to show them how to do bedtime properly. Steve Antony's Mr Panda has taken the children's book world by storm, selling over 600,000 copies since it was first published.

Orchard Books

Giraffes Can't Dance Board Book

Giles Andreae, Guy Parker-Rees
Contributors:
Giles Andreae, Guy Parker-Rees