Jane Simmons - Ship's Cat Doris - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408319598
    • Publication date:05 Jul 2012

Ship's Cat Doris

By Jane Simmons
Illustrated by Jane Simmons

  • Paperback
  • £5.99

A beautifully illustrated tale of growing up and finding your place in the world...

When Bosun chooses a kitten to be his new ship's cat, he thinks he's a she and names him Doris! But Doris soon finds this isn't his only problem: making friends with the ship's dogs is tricky, and standing up to the shipyard bully will take a lot of courage... Will Doris ever be a true ship's cat?

Meet a brilliant cast of animal characters in this charming Cornwall story of friendship and belonging, with beautiful black and white illustrations throughout.

Biographical Notes

Jane has tried her hand at landscape gardening, futon making, teaching basket weaving and soft toy making but only truly loves writing and illustrating children's books. The success of Jane's Daisy titles has been phenomenal. Her artwork is irresistible and Daisy, the little duck with big feet, is loved the world over. Jane, her partner, and her menagerie of rescued pets travel the Mediterranean on an ex-fishing boat - and her adventures have provided the inspiration for Ship's Cat Doris.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408308967
  • Publication date: 02 Jun 2011
  • Page count: 176
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
A charming read. — Books For Keeps
Absorbing and satisfying. — Carousel
Orchard Books

The Squirrels Who Squabbled

Rachel Bright, Jim Field
Contributors:
Rachel Bright, Jim Field
Franklin Watts

Greeks

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason

The terrible Ancient Greeks are coming! Invaders and Raiders: Greeks describes how the Ancient Greeks set up a mighty empire from the viewpoint of a young Persian warrior. The hugely powerful Greek army, Greek daily life and customs are all explored against a backdrop of the famous battles of Marathon and Thermopylae. The book concludes with a look at Ancient Greece's expansion and eventual decline as the power of the Roman Empire grew. It also assesses Ancient Greece's legacy today. Illustrated with a mix of illustrations and found objects, each book describes a great civilisation, its customs and organisations, how it began and expanded, and finally how it ended.

Franklin Watts

Romans

Paul Mason
Authors:
Paul Mason
Wayland

Mountains

Louise Spilsbury, Richard Spilsbury
Authors:
Louise Spilsbury, Richard Spilsbury
Hodder Children's Books

Swapsies

Fiona Roberton
Authors:
Fiona Roberton
Hodder Children's Books

Lucie Goose

Danny Baker, Pippa Curnick
Contributors:
Danny Baker, Pippa Curnick
Hodder Children's Books

Toto the Ninja Cat and the Great Snake Escape

Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
Contributors:
Dermot O’Leary, Nick East
Orchard Books

Pirate Stew

Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
Contributors:
Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson

A quick-witted shrimp saves his friends from the pirates' cooking pot in this comical undersea caper about friendship, tolerance ... and CLEANING!Scrubadub the Shrimp LOVES to clean. He polishes the crabs, trims the reeds, shampoos the fish and grooms the frogs, until all his friends have had ENOUGH. But when the seafood friends are scooped from the sea by hungry pirates, only Scrubadub can save them from the stew pot ... using his super cleaning powers!This funny and engaging story will encourage even the messiest children to tidy up!Lou Carter's richly funny rhyming story is reminiscent of Julia Donaldson and hilariously illustrated by rising star Nikki Dyson, illustrator of Zippo the Super Hippo.Perfect for fans of Jonny Duddle's The Pirates Next Door and The Pirate-Cruncher.

Hodder Children's Books

The Famous Five Treasury

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton

This beautiful large-format anthology of Famous Five short stories and favourite scenes, plus fun facts, history and puzzles, is fully illustrated in colour by Laura Ellen Anderson, who has reimagined the Five for young readers today. Meet all the friendly pets the Famous Five have encountered, join the group on their travels and share their delicious feasts. This is the perfect gift for fans - and to introduce new readers to Julian, Dick, Anne, George and Timmy. Join the adventure!Celebrate the 75th anniversary of the Famous Five, Enid Blyton's most famous and well-loved characters, with this lavish new collection.

Franklin Watts

Great Cake Off

Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Authors:
Steve Barlow, Steve Skidmore
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Rubies and Runaways

Janine Beacham
Authors:
Janine Beacham

The Clockwork Sparrow meets Downton AbbeyIt's a bitterly cold winter in Yorke and Rose Raventhorpe and her butler Heddsworth are stuck with Rose's unpleasant cousin Herbert, and his equally horrible butler, Bixby. When an orphan boy named Orpheus interrupts the Cathedral's Mistletoe Service, saying that his sister has been kidnapped, Rose vows to help. Solving the mystery will be a lot better than accompanying ghastly Herbert! But the investigation is more complicated than Rose has anticipated and will lead her and her butler friends through fancy tea-rooms, horrible factories, secret underground passages and more... Knives aren't just for cutting cucumber sandwiches, you know . . .

Orchard Books

The Greatest Stories Ever Told

Tony Bradman, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Tony Bradman, Tony Ross
Hodder Children's Books

Fergus Barnaby Goes on Holiday

David Barrow
Authors:
David Barrow

Fergus Barnaby and his parents try to leave for their holidays in this wonderfully entertaining debut picture book.A heart-warming, stylish and delightfully funny celebration of friendship and kindness in the heart of the big city, from Sebastian Walker Award winner David Barrow.Fergus Barnaby is going on holiday. He has packed his suitcase ... but there's something missing.He has lent his bucket and spade to Fred!And his swimming goggles to Emily Rose!And his kite to Teddy!Off he goes to fetch them again and again - will the holiday ever begin? Visit David at davebarrowillustration.co.uk and follow him at @DaveBarrow3.

Hodder Children's Books

Five Go To Billycock Hill

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Orchard Books

Tiana the Toy Fairy: The Land of Sweets

Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Contributors:
Daisy Meadows, Georgie Ripper
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Bear and Chook

Lisa Shanahan, Emma Quay
Contributors:
Lisa Shanahan, Emma Quay

Bear and Chook are best friends. But while Bear likes adventure, Chook prefers the quiet life. One sunny day by the pond, Chook lets himself get drawn into Bear's wild ideas ... with disastrous results! A wonderfully warm read-aloud story about the adventures of two very different friends.More info, teachers' guide and activity downloads available at www.bearandchook.com.au

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

When The Clock Strikes Cupid

Mattel
Authors:
Mattel

The first chapter book in a brand new paperback series that's perfect for the younger fans of Ever After High, these stories put a spelltacular spin on classic fairytales!Things have gone topsy-turvy at Ever After High. After Faybelle casts a spell on the midterm hexams, the students unhexpectedly find themselves inside the wrong storybooks. Cupid thinks it's fairy fableous to be Cinderella - even if it's just for the day! But when she notices her wicked stepsisters secretly sneaking out of the Prince's Royal Ball, Cupid decides to investigate with the help of her friends, Hopper Croakington III and Madeline Hatter. Together, they discover that the stepsisters might not be as wicked as they seem... Can Cupid flip this story on its crown and make it a Happily Ever After for everyone?© 2017 Mattel. All Rights Reserved.

Franklin Watts

Bronze Age

Moira Butterfield
Authors:
Moira Butterfield

What's the first Bronze Age object you can think of? The Moel Hebog shield or the beautiful gold Mold Cape? Did you know that thousands more bronze, gold, pottery, bone and wooden objects have been found from this prehistoric time in human history? All of these objects can tell us a lot about ancient people. We know about the animals they kept from burials of animal bones. We know about the tools they used from axes, swords and arrowheads that have been found, and we know about their everyday life and culture from the remains of the homes they lived in, objects dug out of graves, the boats they built and the sacred objects they threw into lakes and rivers. All over Britain, Bronze Age artefacts have been Found!. Uncover the stories of thirteen incredible finds, what they can tell us about life back then and how they might relate to your life today.Found! is a series of six books that span British archaeological finds from the Stone, Bronze and Iron Ages, Roman Britain, the Viking Age and the Anglo Saxons. Ideal for readers aged 9+ studying history topics at Key Stage 2.

Franklin Watts

Stone Age

Moira Butterfield
Authors:
Moira Butterfield

What's the first Stone Age object you can think of? Stonehenge? Did you know that thousands more stone, bone and wooden objects have been found from this prehistoric time in human history? All of these objects can tell us a lot about ancient people. We know about the animals they hunted from cave paintings and animal bones. We know about the tools they used from the flint axes and spearheads, and we know about their everyday life and culture from the caves and homes they lived in, the stone circles they built and the everyday objects they left behind. All over Britain, Stone Age artefacts have been Found!. Uncover the stories of thirteen incredible finds, what they can tell us about life back then and how they might relate to your life today.Found! is a series of six books that span British archaeological finds from the Stone, Bronze and Iron Ages, Roman Britain, the Viking Age and the Anglo Saxons. Ideal for readers aged 9+ studying history topics at Key Stage 2.

Hodder Children's Books

6: The Secret of Old Mill

Enid Blyton, Tony Ross
Contributors:
Enid Blyton, Tony Ross