Jane Simmons - Ship's Cat Doris - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408319598
    • Publication date:05 Jul 2012

Ship's Cat Doris

By Jane Simmons
Illustrated by Jane Simmons

  • Paperback
  • £5.99

A beautifully illustrated tale of growing up and finding your place in the world...

When Bosun chooses a kitten to be his new ship's cat, he thinks he's a she and names him Doris! But Doris soon finds this isn't his only problem: making friends with the ship's dogs is tricky, and standing up to the shipyard bully will take a lot of courage... Will Doris ever be a true ship's cat?

Meet a brilliant cast of animal characters in this charming Cornwall story of friendship and belonging, with beautiful black and white illustrations throughout.

Biographical Notes

Jane has tried her hand at landscape gardening, futon making, teaching basket weaving and soft toy making but only truly loves writing and illustrating children's books. The success of Jane's Daisy titles has been phenomenal. Her artwork is irresistible and Daisy, the little duck with big feet, is loved the world over. Jane, her partner, and her menagerie of rescued pets travel the Mediterranean on an ex-fishing boat - and her adventures have provided the inspiration for Ship's Cat Doris.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408308967
  • Publication date: 02 Jun 2011
  • Page count: 176
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
A charming read. — Books For Keeps
Absorbing and satisfying. — Carousel
Orchard Books

The Dark Wizard

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Franklin Watts

Earthquakes and Tsunamis

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard
Franklin Watts

Human Rights

Alice Harman, David Broadbent
Contributors:
Alice Harman, David Broadbent
Wayland

The Ancient Olympic Games

Travel back in time to Ancient Greece to discover the origins of the Olympic Games.Bright, bold and dynamic artwork bring to life the origins of the Olympic Games. Find out about the legend behind the games, the original events and the excitement that filled Olympia during the Olympic Festival.

Orchard Books

Help! I Smell a Monster

Justin Davies, Kim Geyer
Contributors:
Justin Davies, Kim Geyer

This book STINKS . . . of monsters! A hilariously funny debut, perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and David Solomons.When Alice is sent to stay with her Uncle Magnus, she soon realises that his job agency isn't quite ... normal. It helps monsters find work that makes the most of their unique talons - er, talents. Alice is shocked to discover that monsters are EVERYWHERE. There's even a Cyclops working in the castle as a pastry chef! But when he suddenly disappears, Alice smells something fishy. Can she and her uncle sniff out the missing monster before it's too late?

Franklin Watts

The Ancient Egyptians

Sonya Newland
Authors:
Sonya Newland

Which genius ideas and inventions began with the ancient Egyptians? What did they develop that we use to this day? In this book, aimed at readers aged nine and over, find out how the ancient Egyptians built their temples and pyramids, irrigated and farmed their land, and took care of their people during life and after death. Discover their brilliant developments in farming, paper-making, time-keeping and medicine and how they have influenced the way we live today. The 'Genius Of' series explores the major discoveries, inventions, influence and legacies of key periods in history.

Franklin Watts

Volcanoes and Avalanches

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard

Look inside natural disasters and discover how they work!Natural disasters devastate communities. They reshape the landscape and can alter people's ways of life in an area for years after the event. Learn all about volcanoes and avalanches. Find out how they form, where they are most to happen and how scientists study them through diagrams and case studies.Explore how natural disasters work by cracking them open and looking at them from the inside. How do they happen? How are they destructive? What happens on the inside of each phenomena? And where in the world are the danger zones? This series explore each of these questions in detail.This series uses detailed artwork, cutaways and images from real-life to give a rounded view of each event. Perfect for readers aged 9 and up.

Franklin Watts

Family Differences

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head
Franklin Watts

Space

Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds
Authors:
Paul Calver, Toby Reynolds
Hodder Children's Books

The Squurms at No. 322

Kes Gray, Chris Jevons
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Chris Jevons
Wayland

A Guide to Space

Kevin Pettman
Authors:
Kevin Pettman

Think you know everything there is to know about space? Think again! This fact-packed bumper book is filled with everything you ever wanted to know about space ... and more! Using vivid colours, graphic visuals and bold designs, this guide brings space to life on the page with a modern and engaging approach to information.

Wayland

Meet the Minibeasts

Sarah Ridley
Authors:
Sarah Ridley

Become a minibeast expert with this easy-to-understand guide to the wonderful and important creatures that live beside us. Have you ever wondered what the difference between a moth and a butterfly is? Or have you ever thought about how bees live together? This fascinating and comprehensive book for children aged 6+ is full of interesting facts and brilliant photographs. It also features guides to spotting your favourite minibeast in their natural habitats.Minibeasts covered: ants, aphids, bees, beetles, bugs, butterflies, centipedes, cicadas, crickets, damselflies, dragonflies, earwigs, flies, grasshoppers, harvestmen, millipedes, mites, moths, pond skaters, slugs, snails, spiders, termites, ticks, wasps, woodlice, worms.

Franklin Watts

Buildings, Bridges and Tunnels

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards
Wayland

First Man on the Moon

Ben Hubbard
Authors:
Ben Hubbard

A gripping illustrated account of the historic first moon landingsAn exciting narrative non-fiction account of the first moon landing, designed to publish in time for the 50th anniversary of this historic milestone in space exploration Pacey, accessible text recounts the story of the first moon landing, from its beginnings in the Space Race, to early missions, the successful Apollo 11 voyage, Armstrong's legendary first steps on the moon and the astronauts' heart-stopping return to EarthFully illustrated throughout, with fresh, modern artwork breathing new life into this famous story. Perfect for readers aged 8 and up.

Franklin Watts

Plastic Planet

Georgia Amson-Bradshaw
Authors:
Georgia Amson-Bradshaw

A powerful look at how plastic pollution is becoming the biggest environmental disaster of a generation Once hailed as a miraculous invention, plastic has become the indestructible scourge of our Earth. It has infiltrated every part of our planet, from the deepest oceans to most remote ice fields. It chokes our wildlife, litters our beaches and even pollutes our drinking water. The world is reaching a crisis point.Plastic Planet looks at plastic through the ages, exploring what it is, how it's made and how we have become so dependent on it in a single-use, disposable world. It highlights the social inequality of plastic pollution and explores how plastic has become a widespread and dangerous pollutant that is inextricably linked to climate change. The book looks ahead to possible solutions to our plastic crisis, from global changes such as changing people's mindsets, to innovations such as compostable plastics, to practical solutions such as recycling and bottle return schemes.

Orchard Books

The Frozen Fortress

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade

X-Men meets Beast Quest at the school for superheroes! An epic adventure series from bestselling author Adam BladeOrdinary kids with extraordinary powers gather in a secret school to be trained to fight the forces of darkness.

Franklin Watts

Overcoming Fear of Failure

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

Lots of people suffer from a fear of failure. It is one of the biggest causes of anxiety and stress for school students. Fear of failure can make us afraid to try new things. For some it means that they have to come first at everything they do. For many fear of failure is linked with low self-esteem. It can make people feel inadequate and ruin their self-confidence. This book explores why we fear failure and how we can overcome it - from understanding that making mistakes isn't always bad to breaking out of our comfort zones. The book ties in with the 'growth mindset' theory - that success is based on hard work, trying and being prepared to fail and pick yourself up again.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.

Franklin Watts

Cultural Issues

Honor Head
Authors:
Honor Head

This book looks at cultural issues between family and school friends including religion, diet, clothes and attitudes. It looks at family expectations and the desire to blend in with peers. It emphasises respect for cultural differences in and out of school and tolerance and an acceptance of a different way of behaving. The book includes practical advice and links to organisations that can help. The consultant is the chief executive of the Race Equality Foundation.It is part of the series My Life, Your Life, which takes a sensitive and positive look at some of the issues that concern children aged 10+. It explores issues including sexuality, gender, self-esteem, prejudice and discrimination and promotes and encourages discussion. By thinking creatively and critically, children can learn to accept their differences, embrace diversity and improve their sense of self and how they fit into the bigger picture. Each title also provides advice in the form of practical ways to cope with distressing or difficult situations.

Franklin Watts

A Noble History of Knights

Izzi Howell
Authors:
Izzi Howell

In Knights, find out all about the very first knights who served King Charlemagne. Battle your way through the Middle Ages with spears, swords and lances and find out about Knights overseas, including what happened during the crusades. Discover the samurai and sipahis - knights from Japan and the Ottoman Empire. Find out whether you'd have the skills to keep the peasants in line, to loyally serve your king, or win a jousting tournament.Blast Through the Past takes a look at some of the most influential jobs (legal or otherwise!) and gets under the skin of of the most famous and infamous, the cleverest and the barmiest people who have shaped history. Take a chronological look at knights, spies, ancient warriors, explorers and more, and discover if you have what it takes to be a pirate on the high seas, an undercover agent or a fearsome gladiator.Blast Through the Past is a series aimed at children aged 8+.

Franklin Watts

In the Home

Jon Richards
Authors:
Jon Richards