Jane Simmons - Ship's Cat Doris - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408319598
    • Publication date:05 Jul 2012

Ship's Cat Doris

By Jane Simmons
Illustrated by Jane Simmons

  • Paperback
  • £5.99

A beautifully illustrated tale of growing up and finding your place in the world...

When Bosun chooses a kitten to be his new ship's cat, he thinks he's a she and names him Doris! But Doris soon finds this isn't his only problem: making friends with the ship's dogs is tricky, and standing up to the shipyard bully will take a lot of courage... Will Doris ever be a true ship's cat?

Meet a brilliant cast of animal characters in this charming Cornwall story of friendship and belonging, with beautiful black and white illustrations throughout.

Biographical Notes

Jane has tried her hand at landscape gardening, futon making, teaching basket weaving and soft toy making but only truly loves writing and illustrating children's books. The success of Jane's Daisy titles has been phenomenal. Her artwork is irresistible and Daisy, the little duck with big feet, is loved the world over. Jane, her partner, and her menagerie of rescued pets travel the Mediterranean on an ex-fishing boat - and her adventures have provided the inspiration for Ship's Cat Doris.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408308967
  • Publication date: 02 Jun 2011
  • Page count: 176
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
A charming read. — Books For Keeps
Absorbing and satisfying. — Carousel
Orchard Books

Ellen the Explorer Fairy

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orion Children's Books

Dear Katie

Katie Thistleton
Authors:
Katie Thistleton

Real answers to real problems! Advice on life's tough stuff from children's TV and radio presenter Katie Thistleton.Growing up is hard. This book makes it a little bit easier. Exploring the sometimes challenging issues everyone faces as part of growing up, Katie will answer questions from real kids and teens with real issues. From falling outs with friends to disagreements with family, trouble at school to concerns about mental or physical health, Katie will cover every topic with thoughtful and emotionally sensitive advice that will resonate with readers. With additional guidance from TV and radio doctor Radha Modgil, as well as psychotherapist Sally Angel, this book is full of advice and guidance to help kids through the difficult years of growing up.

Wayland

Australia

Kevin Pettman
Authors:
Kevin Pettman
Orchard Books

Deception

Teri Terry
Authors:
Teri Terry

Some things can't be cured, can't be stopped, can't die ... Don't miss this startling second book in a breathtaking new trilogy from Teri Terry, queen of the teen thriller and author of the bestselling SLATED trilogy.An epidemic is sweeping the country.You are among the infected. There is no cure; and you cannot be permitted to infect others. You are now under quarantine. The 5% of the infected who survive are dangerous and will be taken into the custody of the army.With Shay gone, Callie has no way of communicating with her brother, Kai. But together they must discover the origins of the disease. As the epidemic becomes ever more widespread and survivors are being hunted like witches by authorities fearful of their strange new powers, speaking out is making Kai the new number one target. And he's running out of places to hide.From the author of the international sensation Slated comes the second book in a powerful new story of survival and transformation; love and power.

Orchard Books

Erth Dragons 3

Chris d'Lacey
Authors:
Chris d'Lacey
Orchard Books

Midnight Feast

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical series where best friends become Secret Princesses! This book is a special long length for even more magical fun. Best friends Charlotte and Mia can't bear it when Charlotte's family moves far away. But when they become trainee Secret Princesses they begin an amazing adventure together - and they can see each other whenever they like!Once in a blue moon, a tiara shaped constellation forms high in the sky above Wishing Star Palace. The four girls that make a wish on these special stars get their wishes granted by the Secret Princesses ... but Princess Poison is determined that this year the wishes won't come true ...Have you read all four books in series four: The Moonstone Collection?

Orchard Books

Pet Rescue

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks
Orchard Books

Verak the Storm King

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Orchard Books

Stage Spell

Rosie Banks
Authors:
Rosie Banks

A magical new series where best friends become Secret Princesses!Best friends Charlotte and Mia can't bear it when Charlotte's family moves far away. But when they become trainee Secret Princesses they begin an amazing adventure together - and they can see each other whenever they like!Once in a blue moon, a tiara shaped constellation forms high in the sky above Wishing Star Palace. The four girls that make a wish on these special stars get their wishes granted by the Secret Princesses ... but Princess Poison is determined that this year the wishes won't come true ...Have you read all four books in series four: The Moonstone Collection?

Orion Children's Books

The Cloak of Feathers

Nigel Quinlan
Authors:
Nigel Quinlan

A magical adventure filled with myth, mischief and misunderstandings, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones and those who love modern fairy tales with a comic twist.Once every hundred years, the small, forgotten, rural Irish town of Lisahee welcomes The Fairy Festival - a week of celebration where the mysterious and magical 'sidhe' emerge from the hill above the town and take residence alongside their human counterparts for seven days of ancient traditions and games. Filled with dancing, music, goblin markets and fae-folk, the festival has only one rule: never, ever, say 'the f word' - that's 'fairies' - a rule twelve-year-old Brian unfortunately breaks. When mayhem ensues, it's up to Brian and his friends to avoid the wrath of the King and Queen and help keep the town in one piece.

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Hounds and Hauntings

Janine Beacham
Authors:
Janine Beacham
Orion Children's Books

Silent Enemy and The Walk of Death

Jan Burchett, Sara Vogler
Authors:
Jan Burchett, Sara Vogler

The fifth and sixth instalments of this exciting spy series set in Tudor England, amid the intrigue and danger of Henry VIII's royal court, from the authors of books in the bestselling BEAST QUEST series.In DEADLY STORM the royal court of King Henry VIII is on the move - and in danger!A terrible storm forces the court to shelter in a nearby castle. The King is in disguise, and he's not the only person with a secret. Death stalks the castle - but is it the dreaded plague or something even more sinister? When a servant is found dead, it's clear that something terrible is going on.Can young spy, Jack Briars, and his friend, Cat Thimblebee, solve the mystery before the King himself becomes a target?While in FATAL VOYAGE, Jack and Cat are once again called upon to save the King's life, this time aboard his majestic new ship, Fair Anne. But will this adventure leave the pair all at sea?A thrilling adventure series featuring young spy Jack Briars and his friend, Cat Thimblebee. This is WOLF HALL for children.

Orion Children's Books

Asterix and the Chariot Race

Jean-Yves Ferri, Didier Conrad
Contributors:
Jean-Yves Ferri, Didier Conrad

Join Asterix and Obelix on a wacky new journey with your favourite characters, packed with laughs by the bucket-load and all the usual adventure and action!

Hodder Children's Books

The Girl with the Lost Smile

Miranda Hart
Authors:
Miranda Hart

The first children's book from award-winning, bestselling author and comedian Miranda Hart. Packed with humour and happiness, this is a story guaranteed to make you laugh and cry!Chloe Long has lost her smile. She's looked everywhere for it. (Under her pillow. Under her bed. Under her nose. Obviously.)She's tried everything to bring it back. (Her favourite cake. Her favourite gran. Her favourite joke. Obviously.) But nothing seems to be working! Until one night, something utterly magical happens - and Chloe finds herself on an adventure that is out of this world ... THE GIRL WITH THE LOST SMILE takes you on an action-packed, magical journey that celebrates the power of the imagination, the wonder of true friendship and is guaranteed to make you smile. 'That personality and voice belong to a uniquely cherished comedian ... there's nobody like Miranda.' Daily Mail

Hodder Children's Books

The Unicorn's Foal

Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Contributors:
Jessica Ennis-Hill, Elen Caldecott, Erica-Jane Waters
Orchard Books

The Ultimate Guide: All the fun, facts and magic of My Little Pony

Hodder Children's Books

The Wizards of Once

Cressida Cowell
Authors:
Cressida Cowell
Hodder Children's Books

Stories of Wizards and Witches

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

A Sticky Situation

Abie Longstaff, James Brown
Contributors:
Abie Longstaff, James Brown
Orion Children's Books

Bedknobs and Broomsticks

Mary Norton, Anthony Lewis
Contributors:
Mary Norton, Anthony Lewis

When the witch next door falls off her broomstick, it's the start of an amazing adventure for Carey, Charles and Paul. Her spell turns out better than she'd hoped, and gives the children an enchanted bedknob which whisks them off anywhere they want, even back in time. Mary Norton, award-winning author of THE BORROWERS, weaves her magic in these two stories, THE MAGIC BEDKNOB and BONFIRES AND BROOMSTICKS.