Jane Simmons - Ship's Cat Doris - Hachette Children's Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781408319598
    • Publication date:05 Jul 2012

Ship's Cat Doris

By Jane Simmons
Illustrated by Jane Simmons

  • Paperback
  • £5.99

A beautifully illustrated tale of growing up and finding your place in the world...

When Bosun chooses a kitten to be his new ship's cat, he thinks he's a she and names him Doris! But Doris soon finds this isn't his only problem: making friends with the ship's dogs is tricky, and standing up to the shipyard bully will take a lot of courage... Will Doris ever be a true ship's cat?

Meet a brilliant cast of animal characters in this charming Cornwall story of friendship and belonging, with beautiful black and white illustrations throughout.

Biographical Notes

Jane has tried her hand at landscape gardening, futon making, teaching basket weaving and soft toy making but only truly loves writing and illustrating children's books. The success of Jane's Daisy titles has been phenomenal. Her artwork is irresistible and Daisy, the little duck with big feet, is loved the world over. Jane, her partner, and her menagerie of rescued pets travel the Mediterranean on an ex-fishing boat - and her adventures have provided the inspiration for Ship's Cat Doris.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781408308967
  • Publication date: 02 Jun 2011
  • Page count: 176
  • Imprint: Orchard Books
A charming read. — Books For Keeps
Absorbing and satisfying. — Carousel
Orchard Books

Adventure Duck vs the Armadillo Army

Steve Cole
Authors:
Steve Cole

There's no ducking out - it's time for this ordinary, wise-quacking duck to become . . . A Hero!Ay, chihuahua! Adventure Duck and his zebra sidekick, Ziggy, have a spicy new mission. Their nemesis, Power Pug, has a dastardly new scheme to take over the world with a range of mind-control chocolate treats. With the help of a llama with projectile spit, Adventure Duck and Ziggy set out to foil the pug's nefarious plans to dig up the rainforest to build an enormous chocolate factory. But an army of armadillos stands in their way... Can the superhero amigos find a chink in the armadillos' armour and save the rainforest from destruction?

Orchard Books

Glitterhoof's Secret Garden

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

A secret world full of magic, unicorns and friendship! The brand-new series from the bestselling Daisy Meadows, author of RAINBOW MAGIC and MAGIC ANIMAL FRIENDS, and the most-borrowed children's author in UK libraries.Join best friends Lucy and Aisha as they discover a secret world full of unicorns, magic and friendship! Journey with them to the beautiful kingdom of Unicorn Valley, where the beautiful Queen Aurora rules kindly over the unicorns and all other magical creatures. But when the Dark Unicorn Selena tries to steal the throne, good magic everywhere is under threat. Can the girls and their new unicorn friends find a way to save the kingdom?

Orchard Books

Sparklesplash and the Mermaid Adventure

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows

A secret world full of magic, unicorns and friendship! The brand-new series from the bestselling Daisy Meadows, author of RAINBOW MAGIC and MAGIC ANIMAL FRIENDS, and the most-borrowed children's author in UK libraries.Join best friends Lucy and Aisha as they discover a secret world full of unicorns, magic and friendship! Journey with them to the beautiful kingdom of Unicorn Valley, where the beautiful Queen Aurora rules kindly over the unicorns and all other magical creatures. But when the Dark Unicorn Selena tries to steal the throne, good magic everywhere is under threat. Can the girls and their new unicorn friends find a way to save the kingdom?

Hodder Children's Books

Agent Weasel and the Fiendish Fox Gang

Nick East
Authors:
Nick East
Orchard Books

New Blood (1)

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Hodder Children's Books

Summer Adventure Stories

Enid Blyton
Authors:
Enid Blyton
Wren & Rook

Incredible Journeys: Discovery, Adventure, Danger, Endurance

Levison Wood, Sam Brewster
Contributors:
Levison Wood, Sam Brewster
Orchard Books

Help! I Smell a Monster

Justin Davies
Authors:
Justin Davies

This book STINKS . . . of monsters!When Alice is sent to stay with her Uncle Magnus, she soon realises that his job agency isn't quite ... normal. It helps monsters find work that makes the most of their unique talons - er, talents. Alice is shocked to discover that monsters are EVERYWHERE. There's even a Cyclops working in the castle as a pastry chef! But when he suddenly disappears, Alice smells something fishy. Can she and her uncle sniff out the missing monster before it's too late?Perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and David Solomons.

Orchard Books

Grandma Dangerous 3

Kita Mitchell
Authors:
Kita Mitchell
Hodder Children's Books

Claude: Anyone For Strawberries?

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith

Meet Claude - the ordinary dog with an extraordinary life. Now the star of his very own TV show on Disney Junior with 52 episodes airing in 2018. Whether he's on Pawhaven beach or visiting Armslength Keep all sorts of wacky adventures happen to Claude and his best friend, Sir Bobblysock.Claude and Sir Bobblysock are looking forward to a nice breakfast of delicious strawberries - but there are none to be found! Everyone has snapped them up to eat at the Pawhaven Tennis Championship. Claude has to win the championship to make sure Sir Bobblysock doesn't miss out on strawberries-for-breakfast day, but can he do it? A fantastic new storybook based on the Disney Junior TV show.Praise for Alex T. Smith's Claude series:'Illustrated with humour and elegance' The Times'With quirky illustrations and plenty of humour' MetroClaude in the City was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize and selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club. Claude Going for Gold won the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award. Alex T. Smith was the official World Book Day illustrator in 2014.Follow Alex at alextsmith.com and on Twitter: @Alex_T_Smith

Orchard Books

Dawnblaze Saves Summer

Daisy Meadows
Authors:
Daisy Meadows
Orchard Books

Adventure Duck vs Power Pug

Steve Cole, Aleksei Bitskoff
Contributors:
Steve Cole, Aleksei Bitskoff
Hodder Children's Books

Claude: All About Keith

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith

Meet Claude - the ordinary dog with an extraordinary life. Now the star of his very own TV show on Disney Junior with 52 episodes airing in 2018. Whether he's on Pawhaven beach or visiting Armslength Keep all sorts of wacky adventures happen to Claude and his best friend, Sir Bobblysock.Claude and Sir Bobblysock are happily taking a stroll in sunny Pawhaven when they hear an extremely loud WAIL! A poor little duckling is lost! Can the two friends keep him happy and find his mummy?!A fantastic new storybook based on the Disney Junior TV show.Praise for Alex T. Smith's Claude series:'Illustrated with humour and elegance' The Times'With quirky illustrations and plenty of humour' MetroClaude in the City was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize and selected for the Richard and Judy Book Club. Claude Going for Gold won the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award. Alex T. Smith was the official World Book Day illustrator in 2014.Follow Alex at alextsmith.com and on Twitter: @Alex_T_Smith

Orion Children's Books

Emily Windsnap and the Pirate Prince

Liz Kessler
Authors:
Liz Kessler

Meet Emily Windsnap! Ordinary girl on land, magical mermaid in water... Bubbling with magic, fun, friendship and oceans of adventure. A must-read for girls aged 8+.When Emily Windsnap's boyfriend Aaron is captured by pirates there's only one option - join a rival pirate crew and persuade them to help rescue him. The Pirate Prince agrees, as long as Emily assists in finding the Trident's Treasure first.But as if boarding a pirate ship weren't dangerous enough, Emily soon discovers that pirates hate mermaids. If her true identity is revealed, her life - and Aaron's - will be at risk.How will Emily keep her secret when the only way to win the treasure is by turning into a mermaid?

Orion Children's Books

Hangman's Crossing

Will Mabbitt
Authors:
Will Mabbitt
Orchard Books

Runaway Hamster

Lucy Daniels
Authors:
Lucy Daniels
Orchard Books

Querzol the Swamp Monster

Adam Blade
Authors:
Adam Blade
Quercus Children's Books

The Last Life of Prince Alastor

Alexandra Bracken
Authors:
Alexandra Bracken

Every family has secrets - but not every family has a secret pact with a demon.The thrilling second book in the darkly comic PROSPER REDDING series - with enough twists and turns to make every reader dizzy. Perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket, Jonathan Stroud and Skulduggery Pleasant.Prosper is the only unexceptional Redding in his remarkable family. So, when he discovers that an 800-year-old demon called Prince Alastor is responsible for their luck - and that this demon is currently living inside him - he's more than a little surprised.Worse luck, now Prosper needs a favour from him.Prosper's sister Prue has fallen into the clutches of evil queen Pyra, and only Alastor can help get her back. The fiendish prince agrees to be Prosper's guide through the demon realm under one condition - Prosper must enter into a contract of eternal servitude to him in the afterlife. With Prue in mortal danger, Prosper has no choice but to agree. Can Prosper rescue his sister and ever make it out alive, and if he does, will his afterlife be damned for all eternity?

Hodder Children's Books

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets

Alex T. Smith
Authors:
Alex T. Smith

From the international bestselling creator of Claude comes a brand new hero: Mr Penguin. Indiana Jones meets Hercule Poirot in this series from Alex T. Smith. Follow Mr Penguin and Colin as they crash-land on a snowy mountain. Will they be able to solve the mystery of the missing pets? What are the strange noises coming from the abandoned fortress? And will Mr Penguin conquer his fear of flying?Find out in the second Mr Penguin book with plenty of slapstick humour, mystery and adventure. Highly illustrated throughout with a striking black and orange design.Praise for Mr Penguin and the Lost Treasure:'Addictive slapstick' - Guardian'The perfect introduction to mystery stories' - ScotsmanClaude won the 5-9 young fiction Sainsbury's Children's Book Award, was selected for the Waterstone's Children's Book Prize, the Richard and Judy Book Club and is now a TV star on Disney Junior. Alex T. Smith was a World Book Day Illustrator. Follow him on Twitter @Alex_T_Smith

Hodder Children's Books

Oi Duck-billed Platypus

Kes Gray, Jim Field
Contributors:
Kes Gray, Jim Field